Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2024, 09:46:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 [250] 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Antminer S1 Sales open] Price changes daily, now 0.414 BTC for 180GH/s  (Read 346282 times)
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 09:56:16 AM
 #4981

3 more antminer S1 units came in today - 4.5TH Smiley



however, 1 unit arrived with a lot of thermal paste leakage, and another took damage to the capacitor (see pic below).   



Right now i am running it with the capacitor pulled off fully (cleanly removed, it practically fell off on its own when i reached in to grab it out with a pair of tweezers) and 16 of the chips on that board show 'x' and the hashrate of the unit (stock clocks) is 155GH.  Rebooting is a crapshoot of anything from all 36 working down to only 2 or 3 working.

should be a clean and easy fix monday - I dont trust my precision soldering enough to DIY a small component, and my base of operations has someone capable


Nice setup, can you advice whats you using on side of S1? is it wooden board or plexi glass ?
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 11:35:48 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 02:37:12 PM by allcoinminer
 #4982

I like to order 2 more S1 anticipating ROI.
Can anyone give you account after removing all your personal data for coupon use?

Brought 2 S1 today but got no email confirmation. Please check and confirm.
https://blockchain.info/tx/04d68e02d63fdca5dca3530a990b7c89f91405508a53d522d4d547ee613784f2

I have never had an email from Bitmain, Ants always arrive, you can log in to your account and check the status of payment/shipping.

Tracking number usually showing up within 1-2 days of order.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 12:46:43 PM
 #4983

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 12:48:55 PM
 #4984

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp

oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:10:24 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 01:21:16 PM by oskuro
 #4985

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks


You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


Mmm but i read that corsair can run up to 2 s1s,  its not a better option than that Dell?  Just comparing prizes maybe yeah its cheaper but its a good psu? And can
run 2 s1s? And that dell psu comes with conectores for s1 or i need to buy cables?
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:20:11 PM
 #4986

Does Anyone have an extra coupon for a S2 in Dallas, TX area that they can spare???
Someone trustworthy.
Kindly would appreciated.


I do.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:26:36 PM
 #4987

Just a headsup, the CX500 on sale at newegg for $50 + $20 rebate.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139027
I have 1 on an oc'd ant and it works great. If you can find a way to turn in multiple rebates, then you can get a bunch of these at $30 each. Would only cost $150 to power 1TH/s.

You can do that with 3 of these for slightly more, but you can power 6 ants and no mail in rebates
http://minersource.net/products/dell-750w-psu-slash-adapter

Whats the point buying piece of pcb which cost more than psu?
I dont get it, check this:

Cables costs: 2gbp
psu cost is :12gbp

You can plug up to 2 units on one PSU by them cables.

All my PSU have mods to slow the fan. As original one are sooo loud.

No issues what so ever.




Where can i buy then necessary cables for using dell with s1? . And u know how much kw/h consumes s1 with that dell psu? ?
Threader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:29:29 PM
 #4988

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


The more powerful versions of those server power supplies (2000w) that can handle 3-4 S1s are the only way to go if you have an isolated remote set-up where jetnoise is a non issue because the cost advantage over ATX form factor power supplies is huge. On the other hand if your just looking to power 1 or 2 S1's in your house I would rather go the with an ATX PS that just plugs right in without the need for adapters or soldering wires, is quiet and can be reused for other things or easily sold.
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:53:07 PM
 #4989

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp



If you are running the miner in your house the Dell PSU is loud! I like the eVGA 1300 watt. It will run 3 oc ants and can be found for $200 or less and is silent.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 01:59:53 PM
 #4990

Ok thanks guys.  Right now i Will have 1 and in my bedroom so better a quiet psu like corsair xD
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 02:11:27 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 08:34:54 PM by s1lverbox
 #4991

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp



If you are running the miner in your house the Dell PSU is loud! I like the eVGA 1300 watt. It will run 3 oc ants and can be found for $200 or less and is silent.

Not true, please find thread about adding 47ohm resistor to fan in psu. I wil add video shortly of 3 dell units and noise what they making
Video showing 3 units on test bench in spare room: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHz2XERDvak&feature=youtu.be
IBM 2000w can be grabbed for like $60
 and you talking about psu for $200. obviously you doing this as hobby.
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 02:28:22 PM
 #4992

Just a headsup, the CX500 on sale at newegg for $50 + $20 rebate.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139027
I have 1 on an oc'd ant and it works great. If you can find a way to turn in multiple rebates, then you can get a bunch of these at $30 each. Would only cost $150 to power 1TH/s.

You can do that with 3 of these for slightly more, but you can power 6 ants and no mail in rebates
http://minersource.net/products/dell-750w-psu-slash-adapter

Whats the point buying piece of pcb which cost more than psu?
I dont get it, check this:

Cables costs: 2gbp
psu cost is :12gbp

You can plug up to 2 units on one PSU by them cables.

All my PSU have mods to slow the fan. As original one are sooo loud.

No issues what so ever.




Where can i buy then necessary cables for using dell with s1? . And u know how much kw/h consumes s1 with that dell psu? ?

This is on my psu- cables done myself. Overal cost was like 5 gbp per pair
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 02:32:26 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 08:34:21 PM by s1lverbox
 #4993

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


The more powerful versions of those server power supplies (2000w) that can handle 3-4 S1s are the only way to go if you have an isolated remote set-up where jetnoise is a non issue because the cost advantage over ATX form factor power supplies is huge. On the other hand if your just looking to power 1 or 2 S1's in your house I would rather go the with an ATX PS that just plugs right in without the need for adapters or soldering wires, is quiet and can be reused for other things or easily sold.

This jet noise is easy to work around with adding resistor 47ohm to red wire on psu fan.
This resistor will lower speed about 2/3 which is more than enough cool and keep noise down.

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1005

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:02:37 PM
 #4994

3 more antminer S1 units came in today - 4.5TH Smiley



however, 1 unit arrived with a lot of thermal paste leakage, and another took damage to the capacitor (see pic below).   


Nice setup, can you advice whats you using on side of S1? is it wooden board or plexi glass ?

a few units i cut out some thin cardboard (the type for frozen pizza boxes) in the right shape to  fit well on the gap of the antminer and try to improve the airflow going through the entire length. It works, but I really want to make myself some exact measurements and make more of them properly using thicker cardboard or even some very thin plywood/plastic that will be less flimsy.

the satck of 3 units just has a big box lid pressed against it, held in place by the power supplies. it does a nice job at getting the temperatures down slightly. I plan to add to these stacks a little bit soon once i figure out some more power supplies that use PCIe cables (since when stacked the screw terminals are inaccessible)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:42:17 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2014, 03:56:29 PM by samsonn25
 #4995

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp



If you are running the miner in your house the Dell PSU is loud! I like the eVGA 1300 watt. It will run 3 oc ants and can be found for $200 or less and is silent.

Not true, please find thread about adding 47kohm resistor to fan in psu. I wil add video shortly of 3 dell units and noise what they making
Video showing 3 units on test bench in spare room: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHz2XERDvak&feature=youtu.be
IBM 2000w can be grabbed for like $60
 and you talking about psu for $200. obviously you doing this as hobby.

2000 watts on high end platinum psus can save $500+ in a year in electricity costs if your running it close to max 24/7.

Check the efficiency on some of the server psus you guys are talking about.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3766
Merit: 3909



View Profile
May 03, 2014, 03:51:15 PM
 #4996

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks


You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


Mmm but i read that corsair can run up to 2 s1s,  its not a better option than that Dell?  Just comparing prizes maybe yeah its cheaper but its a good psu? And can
run 2 s1s? And that dell psu comes with conectores for s1 or i need to buy cables?

Not really re running two S1 on one CX750, especially if you want to overclock to 393.75mhz (~420-425W) or even 375mhz (~400W).
I run three overclocked S1 on two Corsair CX750M. For an individual S1, Corsair CX500 or CX500M would do.
vodic62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 07:14:27 PM
 #4997

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


The more powerful versions of those server power supplies (2000w) that can handle 3-4 S1s are the only way to go if you have an isolated remote set-up where jetnoise is a non issue because the cost advantage over ATX form factor power supplies is huge. On the other hand if your just looking to power 1 or 2 S1's in your house I would rather go the with an ATX PS that just plugs right in without the need for adapters or soldering wires, is quiet and can be reused for other things or easily sold.

This jet noise is easy to work around with adding resistor 47kohm to red wire on psu fan.
This resistor will lower speed about 2/3 which is more than enough cool and keep noise down.



47 kOhm is nonsense. You probably mean 47 Ohm... But guys, you should really care about psu efficiency, not price. If it's running 24/7, it's much more important.
s1lverbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1039


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 08:33:43 PM
 #4998

I will receive my s1 next week,   what altcoins you mine with s1? . And i want to buy a corsair cx750m is a good psu?  Thanks

You will spend to much money for PSU, just go for dell poweredge 2950 750w and it will cost you like $25 or 15gbp


The more powerful versions of those server power supplies (2000w) that can handle 3-4 S1s are the only way to go if you have an isolated remote set-up where jetnoise is a non issue because the cost advantage over ATX form factor power supplies is huge. On the other hand if your just looking to power 1 or 2 S1's in your house I would rather go the with an ATX PS that just plugs right in without the need for adapters or soldering wires, is quiet and can be reused for other things or easily sold.

This jet noise is easy to work around with adding resistor 47kohm to red wire on psu fan.
This resistor will lower speed about 2/3 which is more than enough cool and keep noise down.



47 kOhm is nonsense. You probably mean 47 Ohm... But guys, you should really care about psu efficiency, not price. If it's running 24/7, it's much more important.

Snap, you right.
Why i did use that kOHM i dont know.
Thanks for pointing this out.
ceslick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161
Merit: 100

digging in the bits... now ant powered!


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2014, 11:40:41 PM
 #4999

@Bitmain, when you shipping the next batch of orders?

http://www.integratedideas.net  - Home of Rock Solid Miners
NZ Based BTC P2Pool: http://www.integratedideas.net/p2pool-btc/  -  NZ Based DOGE P2Pool: http://www.integratedideas.net/p2pool-doge/
Cloud mining with CEX.IO: https://cex.io/r/2/ceslicknz/0/
mark978
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 04:11:51 AM
 #5000

Looks like I have a failed ethernet port/Control board from my last batch  Undecided

Power the S1 up and only the green led on the ethernet port flashes. No activity from the amber light. The red led on the control board is solid, and the green led slowly pulses.

Can't access the webgui or ssh in. Tried port scanning on .0.99 through .2.99 and nothing. Disconnect each blade, try swapping sides, still nothing.

Here is the odd part. When I power the S1 up, about 5 minutes later the entire antfarm (9 total) will all go down, showing pool status "dead" for all of them!
Unplug the ethernet for the broken one and they will all come back online, happily hashing away! Is the damaged control board sending out malformed packets?

I have emailed bitmain, as I bought it direct. Hope a replacement happens quickly!
Pages: « 1 ... 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 [250] 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!