Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:15:54 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 ... 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 [1036] 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 1077 1078 1079 1080 1081 1082 1083 1084 1085 1086 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3929689 times)
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 02:22:34 PM
 #20701

Regarding your dumb-foundedness...  suck it!  Have a nice day.

It was a long block .... but yes, you have to be in it to win it!
And having peaked at about 11 Ph/s during the block, it ended when we were at 10.2 Ph/s .... rich pickings ..... sorry you missed out and have a nice day too!

1481177754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177754
Reply with quote  #2

1481177754
Report to moderator
1481177754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177754
Reply with quote  #2

1481177754
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177754
Reply with quote  #2

1481177754
Report to moderator
bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 02:27:11 PM
 #20702

Regarding your dumb-foundedness...  suck it!  Have a nice day.

It was a long block .... but yes, you have to be in it to win it!
And having peaked at about 11 Ph/s during the block, it ended when we were at 10.2 Ph/s .... rich pickings ..... sorry you missed out and have a nice day too!

Didn't miss out.  Got 0.45858841 from that block.  The f/w issue was with a small rig that's running on Betarigs.  Oh no!  Another thing not related to the pool.  Your miserable little head will probably explode.

pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 02:43:09 PM
 #20703

Regarding your dumb-foundedness...  suck it!  Have a nice day.

It was a long block .... but yes, you have to be in it to win it!
And having peaked at about 11 Ph/s during the block, it ended when we were at 10.2 Ph/s .... rich pickings ..... sorry you missed out and have a nice day too!

Didn't miss out.  Got 0.45858841 from that block.  The f/w issue was with a small rig that's running on Betarigs.  Oh no!  Another thing not related to the pool.  Your miserable little head will probably explode.

I see you are excitable .... and given up moving your rigs whence the pool hits 10 Ph/s or the block is over 9 hrs ..... well then, pick a number of what you may have earned, any number!

bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 02:48:45 PM
 #20704

Regarding your dumb-foundedness...  suck it!  Have a nice day.

It was a long block .... but yes, you have to be in it to win it!
And having peaked at about 11 Ph/s during the block, it ended when we were at 10.2 Ph/s .... rich pickings ..... sorry you missed out and have a nice day too!

Didn't miss out.  Got 0.45858841 from that block.  The f/w issue was with a small rig that's running on Betarigs.  Oh no!  Another thing not related to the pool.  Your miserable little head will probably explode.

I see you are excitable .... and given up moving your rigs whence the pool hits 10 Ph/s or the block is over 9 hrs ..... well then, pick a number of what you may have earned, any number!

You've really got something wrong with you.

pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 02:52:26 PM
 #20705

You've really got something wrong with you.

Lets get back on-topic ... pool is now 10.44 Ph/s ... is that some thresh-hold to behold?
PS. Did you notice the pool was, for a while yesterday, not setting diffs and did a longer than usual sync?

bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 03:06:20 PM
 #20706

You've really got something wrong with you.

Lets get back on-topic ... pool is now 10.44 Ph/s ... is that some thresh-hold to behold?
PS. Did you notice the pool was, for a while yesterday, not setting diffs and did a longer than usual sync?

Didn't notice the diffs but did notice the sync.  Might be coincidence but it looked like others were going slow too.  Maybe a network thing.

11 hours followed by 20 is crippling.

pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 03:10:20 PM
 #20707

You've really got something wrong with you.

Lets get back on-topic ... pool is now 10.44 Ph/s ... is that some thresh-hold to behold?
PS. Did you notice the pool was, for a while yesterday, not setting diffs and did a longer than usual sync?

Didn't notice the diffs but did notice the sync.  Might be coincidence but it looked like others were going slow too.  Maybe a network thing.

11 hours followed by 20 is crippling.

Yep, network was definitely slow(er) too (or at least it seemed so to me), but I think we also had issues of our own. Saying that, we've popped another one .... and that just as I was rebooting one of my rigs!

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 04:56:27 PM
 #20708

Thanks for the detailed info dmwardjr! I plan on trying this weekend.

You mention "This is an S3+ [I have 13 of  them].  All of them are clocked at 193 MHz and 0625 volts to achieve 390 GH/s and 238 watts at the wall [fan speeds are very low with 37 Celsius temps].  This also comes out to approximately .61 watts per GH/s."

What was the efficiency of the S3+ prior to reducing frequency and voltage?

Prior was [on average] 455 GH/s with 351 watts at the wall [Corsair AX860 PSU's] with same temps and all rigs at factory frequency default of 218.75 MHs.  I could not adjust the voltage on them at the time without the January 9, 2015 firmware update.  This comes out to ,77 watts per GH/s

BTC ADDRESS: 1HBSBwbFDg2XQii8cNJGAhLyd2mFS4jbG9
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:07:55 PM
 #20709

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

Wow!  Very odd!  You mentioned you installed the last two updates.  Did you have the August 26, 2014 Firmware update installed prior to installing the last two?  If you had August 7 and August 26, that may be the reason for the 500 error code.

BTC ADDRESS: 1HBSBwbFDg2XQii8cNJGAhLyd2mFS4jbG9
bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:11:00 PM
 #20710

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

Wow!  Very odd!  You mentioned you installed the last two updates.  Did you have the August 26, 2014 Firmware update installed prior to installing the last two?  If you had August 7 and August 26, that may be the reason for the 500 error code.

Not sure.  Going down the "If it's not broke don't fix it" route.

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:23:50 PM
 #20711

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

Wow!  Very odd!  You mentioned you installed the last two updates.  Did you have the August 26, 2014 Firmware update installed prior to installing the last two?  If you had August 7 and August 26, that may be the reason for the 500 error code.

Not sure.  Going down the "If it's not broke don't fix it" route.

I understand.  That was the same way I was thinking.  However, I decided to take a chance with a batch 8 S3+ for the sake of saving on power costs and it worked out for me.  Then, I decided to risk an older S3 [not S3+] purchased off of eBay and it managed to work out for me as well.  So I was able to save quite a bit on power costs.  Power costs are a big factory these days with bitcoin at it's present price.

BTC ADDRESS: 1HBSBwbFDg2XQii8cNJGAhLyd2mFS4jbG9
bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:33:55 PM
 #20712

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

Wow!  Very odd!  You mentioned you installed the last two updates.  Did you have the August 26, 2014 Firmware update installed prior to installing the last two?  If you had August 7 and August 26, that may be the reason for the 500 error code.

Not sure.  Going down the "If it's not broke don't fix it" route.

I understand.  That was the same way I was thinking.  However, I decided to take a chance with a batch 8 S3+ for the sake of saving on power costs and it worked out for me.  Then, I decided to risk an older S3 [not S3+] purchased off of eBay and it managed to work out for me as well.  So I was able to save quite a bit on power costs.  Power costs are a big factory these days with bitcoin at it's present price.

When I replace them it will be S5, SP20 or whatever new units they've released.

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:54:45 PM
 #20713

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

Wow!  Very odd!  You mentioned you installed the last two updates.  Did you have the August 26, 2014 Firmware update installed prior to installing the last two?  If you had August 7 and August 26, that may be the reason for the 500 error code.

Not sure.  Going down the "If it's not broke don't fix it" route.

I understand.  That was the same way I was thinking.  However, I decided to take a chance with a batch 8 S3+ for the sake of saving on power costs and it worked out for me.  Then, I decided to risk an older S3 [not S3+] purchased off of eBay and it managed to work out for me as well.  So I was able to save quite a bit on power costs.  Power costs are a big factory these days with bitcoin at it's present price.

When I replace them it will be S5, SP20 or whatever new units they've released.

I'm not sure when Bitmain will release the S5 again.  Or even if they will release it.  They seem to be pushing cloud mining with the S5 pretty hard at the moment and the option to buy the S5 at approximately $430 + shipping if you choose to have it shipped to you.  That is rather high in my opinion.  I jumped on a 15 unit package of the Spondooliestech.com SP20's while Bitmain was on their new year holiday.  I'm happy I did.  The SP20's are great rigs.

There are rumors that Spondooliestech will only sell their next generation rigs in bulk and they will be large form factor rigs [About 12U in size, which is very large].  They will also have an efficiency of .05 to .03 watts per GH/s.  That low of efficiency would be a miracle and would change mining BIG TIME!  I believe that low of efficiency is another reason why they would only sell in bulk.  Otherwise, the difficulty would go up astronomically.  That low of efficiency is phenomenal!  The Bitmain S5's efficiency is .51 watts per GH.  Spondooliestech is shooting for .05 to .03.  WOW!

BTC ADDRESS: 1HBSBwbFDg2XQii8cNJGAhLyd2mFS4jbG9
thedreamer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 03:25:00 AM
 #20714

I just started mining but been adding S3+'s, S5's and Sp20's to my rig. Still a baby setup compare dot you guys though. LOL

I do have to chime in though, I don't see the possibility of a 0.03-0.05 watt / GH possibility. Even if it's in a 100Th setup. No way, no how, with today's technology.
Only way is to do a hybrid of alternate Energy + grid power.
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2015, 04:07:33 AM
 #20715

I just started mining but been adding S3+'s, S5's and Sp20's to my rig. Still a baby setup compare dot you guys though. LOL

I do have to chime in though, I don't see the possibility of a 0.03-0.05 watt / GH possibility. Even if it's in a 100Th setup. No way, no how, with today's technology.
Only way is to do a hybrid of alternate Energy + grid power.


I'm pretty sure he was talking about the supposed next gen 16 nm or smaller technology as per the efficiency quote.

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
thedreamer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 04:49:49 AM
 #20716

I just started mining but been adding S3+'s, S5's and Sp20's to my rig. Still a baby setup compare dot you guys though. LOL

I do have to chime in though, I don't see the possibility of a 0.03-0.05 watt / GH possibility. Even if it's in a 100Th setup. No way, no how, with today's technology.
Only way is to do a hybrid of alternate Energy + grid power.


I'm pretty sure he was talking about the supposed next gen 16 nm or smaller technology as per the efficiency quote.

Still. I somehow doubt they have more efficient engineers than Intel or ATI/AMD, IBM, and even they have not reached such low power figures.

I just don't see it.. This next gen releases will probably be in the 0.30W/GH power figure, maybe high 20's if they really get some good dies made.

Besides if that becomes true. It will highly impact the BC Mining world and I don't think in a good way for smaller miners.  Grin
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2015, 05:14:29 AM
 #20717

I just started mining but been adding S3+'s, S5's and Sp20's to my rig. Still a baby setup compare dot you guys though. LOL

I do have to chime in though, I don't see the possibility of a 0.03-0.05 watt / GH possibility. Even if it's in a 100Th setup. No way, no how, with today's technology.
Only way is to do a hybrid of alternate Energy + grid power.


I'm pretty sure he was talking about the supposed next gen 16 nm or smaller technology as per the efficiency quote.

Still. I somehow doubt they have more efficient engineers than Intel or ATI/AMD, IBM, and even they have not reached such low power figures.

I just don't see it.. This next gen releases will probably be in the 0.30W/GH power figure, maybe high 20's if they really get some good dies made.

Besides if that becomes true. It will highly impact the BC Mining world and I don't think in a good way for smaller miners.  Grin

Well, KnC miner claims achieving 0.07 w/GHs for their new 16nm on their website here https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-118 . I'm sure other manufacturers will make the same or better claims. This is old news that companies have been working on this, but I'm pretty sure there won't be any physical devices until the end of this year at the earliest. 

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 03:20:24 PM
 #20718

The last 2 firmware updates do not work with my S3's.  Even after doing the updates in order.  F/W 5 & 6 create a 500 error on the miner status page and although the lights flash and they belch hot air there is no mining.  Reverted to F/W 4 and mining happily again.

what is the actual mindset that updates have to be installed in order when all an update is is a replacement of the OS, so a previous patch should have absolutely no mind of what was on the machine before, as the previous gets completely wiped out.

I haven't been following but the only way a previous could hinder a new one is if there is an actual mod being done to the chips which I am pretty sure there are no programmable chips on these. It all sounds to me like the newer versions are flakey and people are trying to find something to blame.
  I have all mine left alone and mining till they die. haven't touched them in 3 months. just letting everything wind down, got tired of chasing new hardware! never mind bitmain adding huge shipping and handling fees soured the taste of their equipment.
have spondoolies become more quiet yet?
 
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2015, 03:33:15 PM
 #20719

what is the actual mindset that updates have to be installed in order when all an update is is a replacement of the OS, so a previous patch should have absolutely no mind of what was on the machine before, as the previous gets completely wiped out.

My thoughts exactly ... to an extent.

.... but the only way a previous could hinder a new one is if there is an actual mod being done to the chips which I am pretty sure there are no programmable chips on these. ....

You'd be wrong because the controller board has a programable chip, and the PIC firmware is uploaded on each cold boot (not sure about a restart). I am actually convinced that this is where bitmain fudge things up, as the PIC firmware is obfuscated and no source code available. I have tried dis-assembling the firmware with no positive results as there are only so many hours in a day!

However, I believe the subsequent changes to the PIC firmware are to blame for the sporadic results with the latter firmware, so the logic would be the reverse of sequentially installing updates as the last firmware update wipes the lot off (as you correctly state)!

bigbitmine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Big Bit Mine


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 08:45:34 PM
 #20720

what is the actual mindset that updates have to be installed in order when all an update is is a replacement of the OS, so a previous patch should have absolutely no mind of what was on the machine before, as the previous gets completely wiped out.

My thoughts exactly ... to an extent.

.... but the only way a previous could hinder a new one is if there is an actual mod being done to the chips which I am pretty sure there are no programmable chips on these. ....

You'd be wrong because the controller board has a programable chip, and the PIC firmware is uploaded on each cold boot (not sure about a restart). I am actually convinced that this is where bitmain fudge things up, as the PIC firmware is obfuscated and no source code available. I have tried dis-assembling the firmware with no positive results as there are only so many hours in a day!

However, I believe the subsequent changes to the PIC firmware are to blame for the sporadic results with the latter firmware, so the logic would be the reverse of sequentially installing updates as the last firmware update wipes the lot off (as you correctly state)!

Although the S3's are reverted to original F/W and operating perfectly well again one does like to beep every now and then indicating it has briefly lost connection.  Not really bothered by it so I won't be messing with it again.

Pages: « 1 ... 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 [1036] 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 1044 1045 1046 1047 1048 1049 1050 1051 1052 1053 1054 1055 1056 1057 1058 1059 1060 1061 1062 1063 1064 1065 1066 1067 1068 1069 1070 1071 1072 1073 1074 1075 1076 1077 1078 1079 1080 1081 1082 1083 1084 1085 1086 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!