Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:40:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 775704 times)
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
November 29, 2012, 02:12:47 PM
 #2161

If I put GBT on main port now then users with cgminer with GBT support but earlier version than 2.9.4 will get 100% rejects. I need to add a workaround for this bug before enabling GBT on the main port, otherwise it could be pretty painful for some users.
Ah, that makes sense. The solution I've used in the past with older bugger miner versions is the check the User-Agent. Wink

Why not keep them on separate ports :3333 for stratum seems to be the default port chosen by pools using it.
Yeah, it will be GBT and getwork on the regular port and Stratum on a different one. But the GBT/getwork responses will have an HTTP header informing the miner where to find the Stratum port.
BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

1481164803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164803
Reply with quote  #2

1481164803
Report to moderator
1481164803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164803
Reply with quote  #2

1481164803
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2012, 03:21:32 PM
 #2162

Now that I know GBT is on 9000, I'll point my miners there.  I don't recall seeing that on the website, and I certainly didn't wade through the 100 pages of data here.

EDIT: it seems stats don't report work if you use the GBT port. Sad

Yeah, it's only for testing. GBT will soon be on the regular port. Port 9000 may be unstable, and hashrate on that port won't show on the website. But you do get paid, and the hashrate will show in shifts, it just won't show as current hashrate.

It's a bit of a hack. In the future I will add proper support for multiple servers and they will show properly in the stats.

BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

Good to know, I'll just add the header on getwork responses then.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hahahafr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
November 29, 2012, 03:41:17 PM
 #2163

Don't forget Doc https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg1218046;topicseen#msg1218046

The 5050 is fine Wink

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
November 30, 2012, 01:09:11 AM
 #2164

Now that I know GBT is on 9000, I'll point my miners there.  I don't recall seeing that on the website, and I certainly didn't wade through the 100 pages of data here.

EDIT: it seems stats don't report work if you use the GBT port. Sad

Yeah, it's only for testing. GBT will soon be on the regular port. Port 9000 may be unstable, and hashrate on that port won't show on the website. But you do get paid, and the hashrate will show in shifts, it just won't show as current hashrate.

It's a bit of a hack. In the future I will add proper support for multiple servers and they will show properly in the stats.

I'm having sporadic conn problems here (ISP issue), so it's important that stats work for me.  That rules GBT out for the time being. Sad

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
MinorMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
November 30, 2012, 02:00:22 AM
 #2165

Don't you just 'love' how our luck got better AFTER the block reward drop ... bah

All contributions gratefully received 1G6Wia22Jnpz2DUisA5EoAC6KJ7MHm6QyP
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 30, 2012, 04:00:38 AM
 #2166

...
BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

Good to know, I'll just add the header on getwork responses then.

Um - that doesn't make much sense?

From a pool and miner point of view, there is no gain in using GBT when Stratum is available.
No miner implements transaction choice - does your pool even allow it?

So until there even exists a transaction choice somewhere (anywhere!), it would make sense to request the miner to use Stratum and thus GREATLY reduce the data transferred.

If the miner wants the MASSIVE amounts of extra data with GBT they can force GBT selection from the miner easily enough.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 08:39:29 AM
 #2167


Sure, I'll add one of those ports. What's special about them anyway?

...
BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

Good to know, I'll just add the header on getwork responses then.

Um - that doesn't make much sense?

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hahahafr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
November 30, 2012, 09:12:56 AM
 #2168


Sure, I'll add one of those ports. What's special about them anyway?

Mining behind a firewall is no joke, I did originally choose Bitminter because you were offering port 80 mining. These ports are the only ones I can reach.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 10:07:08 AM
 #2169

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?
In order of priority, cgminer will try to mine on stratum first, gbt second and getwork if all else fails, based on what order I think mining should occur. As far as I'm concerned, it's up to the pool operator to decide what they think is most important to prioritise. If you want to put a stratum redirect header in your GBT based pool, that's entirely your choice, knowing that cgminer will then use stratum preferentially. You can see the way cgminer prioritises the different protocols based on what I think is best for miners and pools, and the rest is up to you.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 01:17:47 PM
 #2170

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?
In order of priority, cgminer will try to mine on stratum first, gbt second and getwork if all else fails, based on what order I think mining should occur. As far as I'm concerned, it's up to the pool operator to decide what they think is most important to prioritise. If you want to put a stratum redirect header in your GBT based pool, that's entirely your choice, knowing that cgminer will then use stratum preferentially. You can see the way cgminer prioritises the different protocols based on what I think is best for miners and pools, and the rest is up to you.

Generally I would like to support all 3 options and let the user choose.

I was wondering if by putting a Stratum header on getwork responses but not on GBT responses I have made a choice for the user.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
November 30, 2012, 01:32:07 PM
 #2171

I just mined a block #210275
Total income (minting + fees): 25.52300001 BTC
CDF: 34.7%
https://bitminter.com/block/btc/00000000000000351a6ff160ad066d99eeaf812f936c776c9fd0055120adb39d
 Grin
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 12:14:41 AM
 #2172

A quick break down on the luck for 28 ,29 ,30, 1 

 54 blocks 

 0 stales

 0 orphans


  we should pull about 11 or 12 a day or 44 to 48 in 4 days.   so the last 4 days are better then average.

 0 stales and 0 orphans are really good. 54 to 0 .

 price has gone up a bit on coins  12.40 usd .  Still waiting for the asics to drop.  any one hear anything new?

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 12:13:20 PM
 #2173

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hahahafr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 241



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 12:57:16 PM
 #2174

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

I donated 1 BTC to 15SSRJdHfhjcRU7woXR9sYKPUXNS4ScaaB. Thank you Doc!

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 01:58:26 PM
 #2175

By the way, when using Stratum cgminer can sometimes show a reject
Code:
[2012-12-02 14:51:55] Rejected db3bb1b8 Diff 1/2 GPU 3  (Work below difficulty)
this is indeed below difficulty (1 is below 2). It stems from the way difficulty worked with Stratum in the past. This has been changed, and as soon as all servers and clients adopt the new way of handling difficulty I expect we'll no longer see such rejects. Anyway, it is nothing to worry about.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

I donated 1 BTC to 15SSRJdHfhjcRU7woXR9sYKPUXNS4ScaaB. Thank you Doc!

Thank you, sir, much appreciated Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:11:49 PM
 #2176

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


so far cgminer 2.9.5 is running fine on 3334 with stratum  Grin
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:34:57 PM
 #2177

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

M

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 03:43:56 PM
 #2178

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

Yeah, this is a case of that ugly thing called "testing in production". Cheesy

So yes, you get paid, and work done on the test port shows in most statistics but not current hashrate (worker page, top50 list, etc). But if you refresh the workers page after 10-15 seconds you can see the number of accepted proofs of work go up.

36 Stratum connections at the moment. Everything running smoothly.

I do see the test port reporting statistics wrong, not always counting Stratum users for the current number of users and workers in the pool. I'm working on fixing that. You can't see the wrong numbers now, but I need to fix it before this goes live on the regular port.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 10:44:02 PM
 #2179

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 11:04:07 PM
 #2180

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.


Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.

I'm also confused why cgminer is submitting shares that are under difficulty.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!