Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 12:31:00 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 834525 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 30, 2012, 01:09:11 AM
 #2161

Now that I know GBT is on 9000, I'll point my miners there.  I don't recall seeing that on the website, and I certainly didn't wade through the 100 pages of data here.

EDIT: it seems stats don't report work if you use the GBT port. Sad

Yeah, it's only for testing. GBT will soon be on the regular port. Port 9000 may be unstable, and hashrate on that port won't show on the website. But you do get paid, and the hashrate will show in shifts, it just won't show as current hashrate.

It's a bit of a hack. In the future I will add proper support for multiple servers and they will show properly in the stats.

I'm having sporadic conn problems here (ISP issue), so it's important that stats work for me.  That rules GBT out for the time being. Sad

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
1537878660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537878660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537878660
Reply with quote  #2

1537878660
Report to moderator
1537878660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537878660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537878660
Reply with quote  #2

1537878660
Report to moderator
1537878660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537878660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537878660
Reply with quote  #2

1537878660
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MinorMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 30, 2012, 02:00:22 AM
 #2162

Don't you just 'love' how our luck got better AFTER the block reward drop ... bah

All contributions gratefully received 1G6Wia22Jnpz2DUisA5EoAC6KJ7MHm6QyP
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1054


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 30, 2012, 04:00:38 AM
 #2163

...
BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

Good to know, I'll just add the header on getwork responses then.

Um - that doesn't make much sense?

From a pool and miner point of view, there is no gain in using GBT when Stratum is available.
No miner implements transaction choice - does your pool even allow it?

So until there even exists a transaction choice somewhere (anywhere!), it would make sense to request the miner to use Stratum and thus GREATLY reduce the data transferred.

If the miner wants the MASSIVE amounts of extra data with GBT they can force GBT selection from the miner easily enough.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 08:39:29 AM
 #2164


Sure, I'll add one of those ports. What's special about them anyway?

...
BFGMiner interprets the Stratum header as "prefer Stratum over the current protocol", so IMO it would be better if it were only offered to getwork requests.

Good to know, I'll just add the header on getwork responses then.

Um - that doesn't make much sense?

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hahahafr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 643
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 30, 2012, 09:12:56 AM
 #2165


Sure, I'll add one of those ports. What's special about them anyway?

Mining behind a firewall is no joke, I did originally choose Bitminter because you were offering port 80 mining. These ports are the only ones I can reach.

        ▄▄█████████▄▄
     ▄███████ ░████████▄
   ▄█████ ░██  ██  ██████▄
 ░███████  ██  ██ ░████████
░████  ██  ██  █▌ ▐█████████
▐████  ██  ██  █▌ ▐█████████▌
█████░ ▐█  ██  █  ████  █████
█████▌ ▐█████████████  ██████
█████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐██████
██████  ████████████ ░███████
▐█████  ███████████░ ▐██████▌
 ██████  ████████▀░ ▄███████
  ▀█████░  ▀███▀  ▄███████▀
    ▀█████▄░   ░▄███████▀
       ▀▀███████████▀▀

▄███▄                                                                  ▄███▄
█████░                                                                 █████
█████░                                                                 █████
█████░                                                                 █████
███████████▄▄       ▄███████▄    ▄███▄     ░▄███▄     ░▄██▄░   ▄▄███████████    ▄███████▄░      ▄▄██████▄▄
██████████████▌  ░▄███████████▄░ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒ ▐██████████████ ░▄███████████▄░  ▄████████████▄
███████████████▌░█████▀  ▀██████ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒▐█████▀  ▀██████░▐█████▀  ▀█████░▐█████▀  ▀█████▌░
█████▀░   ▀█████▒████      █████ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒█████░   ░░█████░█████░     ████▒█████      █████
█████░    ░█████▒████      █████ █████░   ░▐█████▌    ▓████▒█████░    ░█████░█████      ████▒█████      █████
█████░    ░█████░█████▄  ▄██████ ██████▄░▄████████▄░▄██████░▐█████▄░░▄█████▌░▐█████▄  ▄█████░▐█████▄  ▄█████▌
█████░    ░█████ ░█████████████░ ░████████████████████████░  ▐████████████▒  ░▀████████████░  ▀████████████▀
▀███▀░    ░▀███▀   ▀▀███████▀▀     ▀▀████████▀ ▀███████▀▀     ░▀████████▀       ▀███████▀▀     ░▀████████▀
  First Decentralized Social Ecosystem
  A SOCIAL NETWORK BUILT FOR THE BLOCKCHAINWORLD






───    APPLY FOR WHITELIST    ───
WEBSITE    WHITEPAPER   TELEGRAM
FACEBOOK  TWITTER         ANN
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 10:07:08 AM
 #2166

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?
In order of priority, cgminer will try to mine on stratum first, gbt second and getwork if all else fails, based on what order I think mining should occur. As far as I'm concerned, it's up to the pool operator to decide what they think is most important to prioritise. If you want to put a stratum redirect header in your GBT based pool, that's entirely your choice, knowing that cgminer will then use stratum preferentially. You can see the way cgminer prioritises the different protocols based on what I think is best for miners and pools, and the rest is up to you.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 01:17:47 PM
 #2167

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?
In order of priority, cgminer will try to mine on stratum first, gbt second and getwork if all else fails, based on what order I think mining should occur. As far as I'm concerned, it's up to the pool operator to decide what they think is most important to prioritise. If you want to put a stratum redirect header in your GBT based pool, that's entirely your choice, knowing that cgminer will then use stratum preferentially. You can see the way cgminer prioritises the different protocols based on what I think is best for miners and pools, and the rest is up to you.

Generally I would like to support all 3 options and let the user choose.

I was wondering if by putting a Stratum header on getwork responses but not on GBT responses I have made a choice for the user.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 01:32:07 PM
 #2168

I just mined a block #210275
Total income (minting + fees): 25.52300001 BTC
CDF: 34.7%
https://bitminter.com/block/btc/00000000000000351a6ff160ad066d99eeaf812f936c776c9fd0055120adb39d
 Grin

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1338


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 02, 2012, 12:14:41 AM
 #2169

A quick break down on the luck for 28 ,29 ,30, 1 

 54 blocks 

 0 stales

 0 orphans


  we should pull about 11 or 12 a day or 44 to 48 in 4 days.   so the last 4 days are better then average.

 0 stales and 0 orphans are really good. 54 to 0 .

 price has gone up a bit on coins  12.40 usd .  Still waiting for the asics to drop.  any one hear anything new?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 12:13:20 PM
 #2170

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hahahafr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 643
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 12:57:16 PM
 #2171

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

I donated 1 BTC to 15SSRJdHfhjcRU7woXR9sYKPUXNS4ScaaB. Thank you Doc!

        ▄▄█████████▄▄
     ▄███████ ░████████▄
   ▄█████ ░██  ██  ██████▄
 ░███████  ██  ██ ░████████
░████  ██  ██  █▌ ▐█████████
▐████  ██  ██  █▌ ▐█████████▌
█████░ ▐█  ██  █  ████  █████
█████▌ ▐█████████████  ██████
█████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐██████
██████  ████████████ ░███████
▐█████  ███████████░ ▐██████▌
 ██████  ████████▀░ ▄███████
  ▀█████░  ▀███▀  ▄███████▀
    ▀█████▄░   ░▄███████▀
       ▀▀███████████▀▀

▄███▄                                                                  ▄███▄
█████░                                                                 █████
█████░                                                                 █████
█████░                                                                 █████
███████████▄▄       ▄███████▄    ▄███▄     ░▄███▄     ░▄██▄░   ▄▄███████████    ▄███████▄░      ▄▄██████▄▄
██████████████▌  ░▄███████████▄░ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒ ▐██████████████ ░▄███████████▄░  ▄████████████▄
███████████████▌░█████▀  ▀██████ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒▐█████▀  ▀██████░▐█████▀  ▀█████░▐█████▀  ▀█████▌░
█████▀░   ▀█████▒████      █████ █████     ▒█████     ▒████▒█████░   ░░█████░█████░     ████▒█████      █████
█████░    ░█████▒████      █████ █████░   ░▐█████▌    ▓████▒█████░    ░█████░█████      ████▒█████      █████
█████░    ░█████░█████▄  ▄██████ ██████▄░▄████████▄░▄██████░▐█████▄░░▄█████▌░▐█████▄  ▄█████░▐█████▄  ▄█████▌
█████░    ░█████ ░█████████████░ ░████████████████████████░  ▐████████████▒  ░▀████████████░  ▀████████████▀
▀███▀░    ░▀███▀   ▀▀███████▀▀     ▀▀████████▀ ▀███████▀▀     ░▀████████▀       ▀███████▀▀     ░▀████████▀
  First Decentralized Social Ecosystem
  A SOCIAL NETWORK BUILT FOR THE BLOCKCHAINWORLD






───    APPLY FOR WHITELIST    ───
WEBSITE    WHITEPAPER   TELEGRAM
FACEBOOK  TWITTER         ANN
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:11:49 PM
 #2172

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


so far cgminer 2.9.5 is running fine on 3334 with stratum  Grin
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:34:57 PM
 #2173

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

M

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 03:43:56 PM
 #2174

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

Yeah, this is a case of that ugly thing called "testing in production". Cheesy

So yes, you get paid, and work done on the test port shows in most statistics but not current hashrate (worker page, top50 list, etc). But if you refresh the workers page after 10-15 seconds you can see the number of accepted proofs of work go up.

36 Stratum connections at the moment. Everything running smoothly.

I do see the test port reporting statistics wrong, not always counting Stratum users for the current number of users and workers in the pool. I'm working on fixing that. You can't see the wrong numbers now, but I need to fix it before this goes live on the regular port.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 10:44:02 PM
 #2175

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 11:04:07 PM
 #2176

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.


Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.

I'm also confused why cgminer is submitting shares that are under difficulty.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 11:08:00 PM
 #2177

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.


Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.

I'm also confused why cgminer is submitting shares that are under difficulty.

M

It's changing between 2 and 4 for me. Reject rate is ~1.5% ~1.9%.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gentarium, Gincoin, Raven
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 11:33:53 PM
 #2178

Worth revisiting the stratum vardiff discussion and conclusions over the next 4 pages of forum starting here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1357099#msg1357099

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 01:43:14 AM
 #2179

Rewards page isn't working correctly anymore, it seems to assume a 50 BTC block reward for the expected average.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gentarium, Gincoin, Raven
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 10:00:32 AM
 #2180

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.

Please add stratum to the main port.  I miss the statistics. Sad

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!