Bitcoin Forum
May 13, 2021, 02:48:06 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836740 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 10:02:58 PM
 #2161

Is merged mining still occurring with stratum?

I know other pools have dropped namecoin with stratum (btcguild and ozcoin for example).

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
1620874086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620874086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620874086
Reply with quote  #2

1620874086
Report to moderator
1620874086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620874086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620874086
Reply with quote  #2

1620874086
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1620874086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620874086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620874086
Reply with quote  #2

1620874086
Report to moderator
1620874086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620874086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620874086
Reply with quote  #2

1620874086
Report to moderator
1620874086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620874086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620874086
Reply with quote  #2

1620874086
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 11:10:51 PM
Last edit: December 04, 2012, 12:37:08 AM by DrHaribo
 #2162

Apologies for the bumpy ride.

Technical mumblings: There was an issue with longpoll (both getwork and gbt) because of a race condition. Seems it never triggered before I switched to a different java virtual machine. And of course it never triggered during testing, even with that JVM. Have to love those bugs that only occur in production.

I believe that issue should now be resolved.

Bad news is, I didn't know bfgminer requires mining.get_transactions to be implemented. Edit: it doesn't, actually.

So bfgminer is still acting up. But any miners running getwork or gbt should be fine again.

Working on the bfgminer issue.

Is merged mining still occurring with stratum?

Yes, merged mining happens whether you use stratum, gbt or getwork.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 11:14:16 PM
 #2163

Is merged mining still occurring with stratum?

Yes, merged mining happens whether you use stratum, gbt or getwork.


Great!  Gives you an edge over other pools.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 11:47:15 PM
 #2164

Looks like bfgminer isn't working with bitminter anymore.
kidgorgeous
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:09:53 AM
 #2165

BFGminer also not working on my RPi + 2 BFL singles :-/

1KHxCRniFNmS7ChiPqaewmokuCABk2PRQn
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 12:25:47 AM
 #2166

Issue with bfgminer fixed as well.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:38:17 AM
 #2167

Looks like bfgminer now is working onstratum.  I see less shares acceptedon  my console but the hashrate on bitminter looks right.  Is this the way its supposed to work. 
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 12:44:08 AM
 #2168

Looks like bfgminer now is working onstratum.  I see less shares acceptedon  my console but the hashrate on bitminter looks right.  Is this the way its supposed to work. 

Yeah, that's because of variable difficulty. When it says "Accepted f7564e7c Diff 16/4 GPU 0" that means this proof of work would be good enough when mining even at difficulty 16, but you are currently mining at difficulty 4. On the server this will count the same as 4 difficulty 1 proofs of work. So you will see the accepted count on the server go up by 4.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
lumberjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 12:44:27 AM
 #2169

Sorry for the web server barely being able to move. There's a DDoS attack in progress. Sad


Have you considered something like CloudFlare to help protect the front end? It won't do anything for the mining ports, but it might help defend the website.

Just a thought. I mention CloudFlare specifically because it's free. $$
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 06:14:52 AM
 #2170

Have you considered something like CloudFlare to help protect the front end? It won't do anything for the mining ports, but it might help defend the website.

In this instance it was a pool server bug undetected in testing that made the getwork miners go nuts. But yeah, I have considered CloudFlare. I may go for that in the future with more servers.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Luuzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 07:55:19 AM
 #2171

any plans on making fastest user list longer?

when I joined, the pool was 200ghash and I was ~2,5ghash and made it to top 25 that time, now pool is 10x faster and I'm only 2x faster and cant even fit to top 50 Tongue
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 10:27:48 AM
 #2172

any plans on making fastest user list longer?

There are no plans for that. And I think top 50 is as much as makes sense to display at one time.

But perhaps it could have multiple pages, like the block list.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
hahahafr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
December 04, 2012, 03:56:02 PM
 #2173

https://bitminter.com/block/btc/0000000000000467e7479e1e2566551f1fb803a8df29ab74ddcd71868de3371d

Last block mined has 0 TX in. Something might be wrong.




                                           ◢◣                      ◢◣
                                     ◢████◣           ◢████◣
                               ◢████████◣◢████████◣
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████◤██████
                               ███████████◤████████
                               █████████◤██████████
                               ███████◤████████████
                               █████◤██████████████
                               █████◣                       ◢█████
                               ███████◣            ◢███████
                               █████████◣◢█████████
                               ◥████████◤◥████████◤
                                    ◥████◤            ◥████◤
                                          ◥◤                      



HYDAX
       Secure  
   Efficient
   Simple  
   Medium 
    Twitter  
    Telegram 
[/center
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 05:42:51 PM
 #2174

Last block mined has 0 TX in. Something might be wrong.

Just some miners still on ancient cgminer versions. Those blocks are already rare and will be rarer as more people upgrade their miners. I send a message to upgrade whenever those miners get a reject, but I guess most miners aren't watching their logs that much.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 11:25:52 PM
 #2175

Last block mined has 0 TX in. Something might be wrong.

Just some miners still on ancient cgminer versions. Those blocks are already rare and will be rarer as more people upgrade their miners. I send a message to upgrade whenever those miners get a reject, but I guess most miners aren't watching their logs that much.


Can you explain it, please? What is so wrong with old versions?
Code:
BTC block at height 210874
Minted by: dynasty
That's mean dynasty have old, obsolete cgminer version and that's why we generated empty, useless block?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 06:40:55 AM
 #2176

Can you explain it, please? What is so wrong with old versions?

Old cgminer/bfgminer have a bug that suddenly make them request work from the server over and over as fast as they can. This amounts to a DDoS attack which can be quite heavy for the server. Giving those miners work that is as cheap as possible to produce is one of the many changes I made to keep things running smoothly even with those miners sometimes going nuts.

That's mean dynasty have old, obsolete cgminer version and that's why we generated empty, useless block?

Maybe. Long poll is also feeding miners empty blocks, so that could also be the reason. But those are not allowed to rollntime, so we are talking a very small amount of work. The chance to produce a block from this is very low.

Why use empty blocks for long poll? Because you can produce this work already before the block change. This way all miners are informed of the block change very quickly, which results in less rejected work.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 05, 2012, 12:01:57 PM
 #2177

Maybe. Long poll is also feeding miners empty blocks, so that could also be the reason. But those are not allowed to rollntime, so we are talking a very small amount of work. The chance to produce a block from this is very low.

Why use empty blocks for long poll? Because you can produce this work already before the block change. This way all miners are informed of the block change very quickly, which results in less rejected work.

I was thinking, why aren't pool operators announcing LP is being retired and force ppl to upgrade?  Even GBT is better than LP.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 01:39:02 PM
 #2178

I was thinking, why aren't pool operators announcing LP is being retired and force ppl to upgrade?  Even GBT is better than LP.

The protocol is getwork. Both GBT and getwork use long polling (LP) to detect block changes. With getwork the server has to generate work for the miners, while with GBT or Stratum the miners generate their own work. Long polling is much faster for getwork miners if you can generate the work beforehand, which is possible with empty blocks. With a few tricks like that, plus var diff and rollntime, getwork is still useable, even for ASICs. I'm not saying it's the best choice, though. Wink

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1357


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 05, 2012, 08:35:24 PM
 #2179

I was thinking, why aren't pool operators announcing LP is being retired and force ppl to upgrade?  Even GBT is better than LP.

The protocol is getwork. Both GBT and getwork use long polling (LP) to detect block changes. With getwork the server has to generate work for the miners, while with GBT or Stratum the miners generate their own work. Long polling is much faster for getwork miners if you can generate the work beforehand, which is possible with empty blocks. With a few tricks like that, plus var diff and rollntime, getwork is still useable, even for ASICs. I'm not saying it's the best choice, though. Wink

Actually, unless every pool that has been using LP since the beginning has been unable to support LP without sending out empty blocks, there is no excuse.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 08:11:10 AM
 #2180

Actually, unless every pool that has been using LP since the beginning has been unable to support LP without sending out empty blocks, there is no excuse.

Faster long poll means less rejected work and fewer stale/orphan blocks, that's why.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!