Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2018, 06:26:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 833203 times)
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 11:48:44 PM
 #2461

No fee? How do you pay for the servers? Independently wealthy?
Sounds Fishy...
I'm pretty sure Doc is a multi-trillionaire.

In all seriousness, though, it's worth the 2% donation to get instant payouts.
1529605607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529605607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529605607
Reply with quote  #2

1529605607
Report to moderator
1529605607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529605607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529605607
Reply with quote  #2

1529605607
Report to moderator
1529605607
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529605607

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529605607
Reply with quote  #2

1529605607
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
maunderingcabal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


Don't dwell in the past, don't dream of the future


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 01:35:46 AM
 #2462

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

You like my post? Buy me a beer for ฿0.01
13KKQYQLmDFaTtcoPDtnt3My1PPUdcc8AL
My website/blog/bitcoin store
PatrickOMFG
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 29, 2013, 02:28:24 AM
 #2463

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

I'm using stratum on bitminter and mining NMC just fine.

BTC: 1D3jEc7b2bxeKxXoXiXpunm7hv8CkMZgkr
maunderingcabal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


Don't dwell in the past, don't dream of the future


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 03:08:27 AM
 #2464

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

I'm using stratum on bitminter and mining NMC just fine.

good to hear. that's selling point for me to go back to this pool.

You like my post? Buy me a beer for ฿0.01
13KKQYQLmDFaTtcoPDtnt3My1PPUdcc8AL
My website/blog/bitcoin store
maunderingcabal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


Don't dwell in the past, don't dream of the future


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 03:21:58 AM
 #2465

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

I'm using stratum on bitminter and mining NMC just fine.

What url do you use for your miner, can't get stratum to work Sad

You like my post? Buy me a beer for ฿0.01
13KKQYQLmDFaTtcoPDtnt3My1PPUdcc8AL
My website/blog/bitcoin store
PatrickOMFG
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 29, 2013, 03:26:27 AM
 #2466

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

I'm using stratum on bitminter and mining NMC just fine.

What url do you use for your miner, can't get stratum to work Sad

stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

BTC: 1D3jEc7b2bxeKxXoXiXpunm7hv8CkMZgkr
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 07:17:42 AM
 #2467

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

There's nothing in Stratum itself that would prevent merged mining. Merged mining happens on BitMinter whether you use Stratum, GBT or getwork.

No fee? How do you pay for the servers? Independently wealthy?
Sounds Fishy...

Most users donate and the pool is around the break even point.

The competition between pools is very hard. For instance, several pools offer PPS at a much too low fee, with a great risk of the pool going bankrupt. After the reward halving things are changing a bit though, as transaction fees and namecoins have become a larger part of the mining income. I guess those can offset the risk if not paid out. They are paid out by BitMinter though.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
maunderingcabal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


Don't dwell in the past, don't dream of the future


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2013, 10:05:28 AM
 #2468

is it possible to mine NMC from stratum protocol? I don't think it works on any pool. I may go back to bitminter because of better transaction fees and payout. Anyone get NMC when they mine bitminter with stratum?!? Help me out guys.

There's nothing in Stratum itself that would prevent merged mining. Merged mining happens on BitMinter whether you use Stratum, GBT or getwork.

No fee? How do you pay for the servers? Independently wealthy?
Sounds Fishy...

Most users donate and the pool is around the break even point.

The competition between pools is very hard. For instance, several pools offer PPS at a much too low fee, with a great risk of the pool going bankrupt. After the reward halving things are changing a bit though, as transaction fees and namecoins have become a larger part of the mining income. I guess those can offset the risk if not paid out. They are paid out by BitMinter though.


The 2.5% you donate as a fee seems to be totally worth it! It pays out instantly and even if the block is no good. Plus automatic FULL payout at as low as 0.001 BTC and NMC, I have hopped around to a bunch of pools and this one is the least restrictive.

You like my post? Buy me a beer for ฿0.01
13KKQYQLmDFaTtcoPDtnt3My1PPUdcc8AL
My website/blog/bitcoin store
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2013, 09:46:10 PM
 #2469

BitMinter client v1.3.1 now out Smiley

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=31163.msg1491191#msg1491191

This should be stable on early (buggy) Java 7 releases. Even so, I recommend you grab the latest java too, if you don't already have it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2013, 07:24:24 AM
 #2470

Var diff coming for getwork users tomorrow.

This should not be a problem if you are running a recent miner version. If you see a lot of rejected work then you need to upgrade your miner. You still get paid for the accepted work, though, so you don't lose any income. If there are any questions or problems, let me know.

BitMinter client 1.3.0 and 1.3.1 work fine with var diff. If you are using version 1.1.2 or 1.2.0 you may see it count miscalculations (hardware errors) that are not actual errors and count accepted/rejected work wrong because it doesn't take difficulty into account.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
scrubadub
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2013, 01:14:08 PM
 #2471

Var diff coming for getwork users tomorrow.


Is this done on a per worker basis, or per account? If i have a few slow graphics cards, then bring up an asic what happens?
FreshJR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 01, 2013, 06:41:03 PM
 #2472

So Stratum vs GBT Huh

Which one should I use?  (I plan to continue using cgminer)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2562
Merit: 1094


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2013, 10:24:05 PM
 #2473

So Stratum vs GBT Huh

Which one should I use?  (I plan to continue using cgminer)
Stratum

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2013, 11:03:51 PM
 #2474

Variable difficulty ("var diff") is now enabled for those using the getwork protocol. It was already enabled for Stratum and GBT.

Let me know if you have any issues. Some older miners may not be happy with it, but they should still be able to mine.

I am observing a decent drop in CPU usage on the server, so I am quite happy with it so far. Wink

Max difficulty is still 16. This will be increased later as more ASICs turn up.

Is this done on a per worker basis, or per account? If i have a few slow graphics cards, then bring up an asic what happens?

This is per worker. If you have a slow GPU and an ASIC then you may want to use different worker accounts for them. It's not the end of the world if you don't though, it just adds variance.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 03:43:05 PM
 #2475

Could we have an option to set a minimum diff on the website, please?

I'm only cranking about 2.5gh, so the algorithm you use for vardiff doesn't quite push me over the edge, but I would like to set a minimum diff of 2 or 4, and accept the increased variance, just to reduce my network traffic.
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2013, 04:28:04 PM
 #2476

Could we have an option to set a minimum diff on the website, please?

I'm only cranking about 2.5gh, so the algorithm you use for vardiff doesn't quite push me over the edge, but I would like to set a minimum diff of 2 or 4, and accept the increased variance, just to reduce my network traffic.

Why don't you just switch to Stratum?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 04:34:15 PM
 #2477

I'm using Stratum.

Increasing the diff level could cut the/my *outgoing* number of packets in half or by a fourth.
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2013, 04:41:25 PM
 #2478

I'm using Stratum.

Increasing the diff level could cut the/my *outgoing* number of packets in half or by a fourth.

If you're using Stratum your bandwidth usage is already low, comparing to GetWork, which is still used by a lots of people. Diff on Stratum is sorted automatically based on your hashrate, to keep your bandwidth usage as same, low level, regardless of the hashing power. If you want to have static diff, changes has to be made to Stratum protocol itself, which may not be greatest idea, as it is working now as indented (dynamically).

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 04:57:07 PM
 #2479

I'm using Stratum.

Increasing the diff level could cut the/my *outgoing* number of packets in half or by a fourth.

If you're using Stratum your bandwidth usage is already low, comparing to GetWork, which is still used by a lots of people. Diff on Stratum is sorted automatically based on your hashrate, to keep your bandwidth usage as same, low level, regardless of the hashing power. If you want to have static diff, changes has to be made to Stratum protocol itself, which may not be greatest idea, as it is working now as indented (dynamically).
"If you're using Stratum your bandwidth usage is already low, comparing to GetWork"
Yes, I know.

"Diff on Stratum is sorted automatically based on your hashrate"
No. This is not inherent to Stratum. This is how BitMinter is setting vardiff.

"If you want to have static diff, changes has to be made to Stratum protocol itself"
False. Again, this is not inherent to Stratum.

You are making authoritative sounding responses without fully understanding the subject matter.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2013, 05:07:46 PM
 #2480

The server choosing the difficulty to go with the work it hands out is supported by all the mining protocols in use (Stratum, GBT, getwork).

Variable difficulty means that this difficulty is not a constant number. At BitMinter this is determined (at the moment) purely from the hashrate of your worker.

The lower difficulty on your work the more often you find proofs of work. Good thing is that it keeps your daily variance low. Bad side of it is adding to your outgoing bandwidth usage, the server's incoming bandwidth and the server's CPU load.

In the future I am thinking about letting users influence the difficulty by preference, within reason.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 ... 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 [124] 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!