Bitcoin Forum
January 29, 2022, 07:23:26 AM *
News: Vote on the 2021 community awards
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836756 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 01:17:47 PM
 #2141

Hmm. So cgminer tries GBT first, and if it sees no Stratum header it stays on GBT?
In order of priority, cgminer will try to mine on stratum first, gbt second and getwork if all else fails, based on what order I think mining should occur. As far as I'm concerned, it's up to the pool operator to decide what they think is most important to prioritise. If you want to put a stratum redirect header in your GBT based pool, that's entirely your choice, knowing that cgminer will then use stratum preferentially. You can see the way cgminer prioritises the different protocols based on what I think is best for miners and pools, and the rest is up to you.

Generally I would like to support all 3 options and let the user choose.

I was wondering if by putting a Stratum header on getwork responses but not on GBT responses I have made a choice for the user.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
1643441006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643441006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643441006
Reply with quote  #2

1643441006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1643441006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643441006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643441006
Reply with quote  #2

1643441006
Report to moderator
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 01:32:07 PM
 #2142

I just mined a block #210275
Total income (minting + fees): 25.52300001 BTC
CDF: 34.7%
https://bitminter.com/block/btc/00000000000000351a6ff160ad066d99eeaf812f936c776c9fd0055120adb39d
 Grin

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 12:13:20 PM
Last edit: December 02, 2012, 12:30:24 PM by DrHaribo
 #2143

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
hahahafr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 12:57:16 PM
 #2144

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

I donated 1 BTC to 15SSRJdHfhjcRU7woXR9sYKPUXNS4ScaaB. Thank you Doc!




                                           ◢◣                      ◢◣
                                     ◢████◣           ◢████◣
                               ◢████████◣◢████████◣
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████◤██████
                               ███████████◤████████
                               █████████◤██████████
                               ███████◤████████████
                               █████◤██████████████
                               █████◣                       ◢█████
                               ███████◣            ◢███████
                               █████████◣◢█████████
                               ◥████████◤◥████████◤
                                    ◥████◤            ◥████◤
                                          ◥◤                      



HYDAX
       Secure  
   Efficient
   Simple  
   Medium 
    Twitter  
    Telegram 
[/center
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:11:49 PM
 #2145

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


so far cgminer 2.9.5 is running fine on 3334 with stratum  Grin
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 03:34:57 PM
 #2146

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

M

It's testing time again!

GBT and getwork testing on port 9000. Stratum testing on port 3334.

Stratum in production will go on port 3333 with 5050 as an option if 3333 is a problem for you.

There's an X-Stratum HTTP header in all responses on port 9000. Looks like cgminer has a --fix-protocol option that makes it not switch to Stratum. But it seems to use getwork in that case. Any way to force GBT? Until the pool supports the more advanced GBT features, I think it makes sense to tell the miner where the Stratum port is.

What's new on testports:
  • Stratum: brand new
  • GBT: add workaround for bug in cgminer prior to 2.9.4
  • var diff: max diff 16

Already 5 Stratum connections active. If you are mining with a Stratum or GBT capable bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm then please join in and help test this.

For Stratum connect to: stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3334
For GBT or getwork: http://mint.bitminter.com:9000
(you may need to force your miner to use GBT or getwork, whichever you want to try)


I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 03:43:56 PM
 #2147

I have my miners pointing at stratum now.  I miss the stats.  I assume this is production testing, so I still get paid for my work? Smiley

Yeah, this is a case of that ugly thing called "testing in production". Cheesy

So yes, you get paid, and work done on the test port shows in most statistics but not current hashrate (worker page, top50 list, etc). But if you refresh the workers page after 10-15 seconds you can see the number of accepted proofs of work go up.

36 Stratum connections at the moment. Everything running smoothly.

I do see the test port reporting statistics wrong, not always counting Stratum users for the current number of users and workers in the pool. I'm working on fixing that. You can't see the wrong numbers now, but I need to fix it before this goes live on the regular port.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 10:44:02 PM
 #2148

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 02, 2012, 11:04:07 PM
 #2149

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.


Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.

I'm also confused why cgminer is submitting shares that are under difficulty.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 655
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 11:08:00 PM
Last edit: December 03, 2012, 12:46:05 AM by juhakall
 #2150

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.


Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.

I'm also confused why cgminer is submitting shares that are under difficulty.

M

It's changing between 2 and 4 for me. Reject rate is ~1.5% ~1.9%.

-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3486
Merit: 1382


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 02, 2012, 11:33:53 PM
 #2151

Worth revisiting the stratum vardiff discussion and conclusions over the next 4 pages of forum starting here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1357099#msg1357099

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 655
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 01:43:14 AM
 #2152

Rewards page isn't working correctly anymore, it seems to assume a 50 BTC block reward for the expected average.

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 10:00:32 AM
 #2153

Thanks for testing, guys! Just restarted with some tweaks to var diff and logging, and fixed the stats issue.

Testing continues. Let me know if you have any issues at all on the test port. So far things are running very well and I'm considering setting this up on the main port very soon.

I forgot to mention the new version also has some decent reduction in CPU usage. It will be interesting to see the effect all these changes will have on CPU usage and reject rates.

Please add stratum to the main port.  I miss the statistics. Sad

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 07:31:14 PM
 #2154

Running good here.  One thing I'm seeing is the server can't seem to decide what difficulty to give.  Largest miner is ~2.6GH/s.  At startup, it's on difficulty 2.  Then it switches to 1.  Then it switches back to 2.  Right now it's on one.
It's changing between 2 and 4 for me. Reject rate is ~1.5% ~1.9%.

Yes, some users will be on the boundary between two difficulties. This currently gives a lot of rejects in cgminer. But they do no harm and they will disappear in a later cgminer version when it starts using the new stratum way of handling difficulty.

Stratum was recently changed to better handle changing difficulty. We'll have to expect it can take some time before everyone have changed their implementations.

Rewards page isn't working correctly anymore, it seems to assume a 50 BTC block reward for the expected average.

Oops, will look into this.

Please add stratum to the main port.  I miss the statistics. Sad

Coming right up.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 08:36:41 PM
 #2155


Stratum on the main port looks good so far with cgminer 2.9.5,

In case anyone is wondering why cgminer is still showing LP you have to restart it before it detects the stratum

Congrats on the upgrade Doc!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 08:48:42 PM
 #2156

All the new changes are now live on the regular ports. Testport has shut down for now.

Variable difficulty ("var diff") settings: minimum 1, maximum 16, and default at 2 when your hashrate is unknown. The maximum will be increased when ASICs come out. The server will adjust your difficulty aiming for 20 submitted proofs of work per minute.

Port 8332 has getwork with difficulty 1 for now. This means you can still use leases from hashpower.com - var diff will be activated for getwork once hashpower supports var diff.

Port 8332 also has GBT with var diff.

Port 3333 and 5050 has Stratum with var diff. New work pushed at 30 second intervals.

If you want to use GBT or Stratum you may want to update your miner config and/or restart bfgminer/cgminer/poclbm to get it running with a new protocol.

BitMinter client will get support for other protocols later. It runs getwork with rollntime now and will use var diff once activated on the server.

Let me know if you have any questions or experience any problems.

Congrats on the upgrade Doc!

Thanks! That was a lot of work and many changes that just went live. Good to finally finish all that and see it running smoothly (knock on wood).

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 03, 2012, 08:50:49 PM
 #2157

Please add stratum to the main port.  I miss the statistics. Sad
Coming right up.

Woohoo!  Stats again!

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 09:25:01 PM
 #2158

Sorry for the web server barely being able to move. There's a DDoS attack in progress. Sad

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 03, 2012, 09:31:40 PM
 #2159

Doc,
Are you restarting pool? A lot of rejects and 503 open id login error?

PS: I just saw your post..Is DoS affecting mining or just web is attacked?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2012, 09:51:39 PM
 #2160

Seems a change on the server is causing miners to sometimes run crazy. Working on it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!