Bitcoin Forum
November 15, 2018, 05:17:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 834529 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1376


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 03:06:14 AM
 #2241

Is there a way to force cgminer not to use var diff?
I prefer to mine at diff 1 as long as it possible....

You can use the --fix-protocol option to force getwork. It may be some more days before I turn on var diff for getwork. But in general, the diff is set by the server and the miner can't override it.

I have found that during the recent pool outages that cgminer is not switching to backup pools.  Bitminter is marked dead, then alive, but no work issued.

Any ideas before I raise this in the cgminer thread?

I guess this is because the pool wasn't down but horribly slow. Too slow should probably be considered down, for some definition of "too slow."

I bet that will be a lot easier to fix after about another week passes. After all the 50 BTC per block rewards have scrolled off.

Then just set it to 25 BTC.

A lot of hassle not worth the effort, IMO, to have it deal with the 'switchover' event mid graph.

For the reward graph, I would like to add some buttons in the future to move forward and back in time, though. So I would like to have the 25/50 BTC change work in the graph. I tried to fix it but it's not quite working. A bit out of it with the flu at the moment, so not at regular programming speed.

I am sitting here in NJ USA I have the same flu! Get well!

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1542259058
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542259058

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542259058
Reply with quote  #2

1542259058
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542259058
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542259058

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542259058
Reply with quote  #2

1542259058
Report to moderator
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 09, 2012, 05:51:30 PM
 #2242

Anyone else having comm problems?  Two of my miners keep crashing "pool 0 stratum submission failure".

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1376


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 06:39:03 PM
 #2243

Anyone else having comm problems?  Two of my miners keep crashing "pool 0 stratum submission failure".

M


  I have been unable to log in.   get transport error. when I use my open id.  Since I use multiple pcs to run my video cards I happen to be logged into the site one 1 of the 9 pcs I have.  all other  pcs and a mac that is not a worker can't log in.  It is fine for me in one sense since I can check my workers on the on pc. All 9 are running  but if a work crashes I won't be able to sign it back in.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1020


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 07:09:07 PM
 #2244

I am sitting here in NJ USA I have the same flu! Get well!

Thanks, you get well too. It's an annoying one.

Anyone else having comm problems?  Two of my miners keep crashing "pool 0 stratum submission failure".

M


  I have been unable to log in.   get transport error. when I use my open id.  Since I use multiple pcs to run my video cards I happen to be logged into the site one 1 of the 9 pcs I have.  all other  pcs and a mac that is not a worker can't log in.  It is fine for me in one sense since I can check my workers on the on pc. All 9 are running  but if a work crashes I won't be able to sign it back in.

I see in the website logs some communication errors with both Yahoo and Google spread out over a period of 1 hour. The last error was about 40 minutes ago, and both Yahoo and Google logins appear to be working now. Not sure what caused that - can't remember seeing any problems with Google or Yahoo before.

About the Stratum errors, is that something that happens rarely? Every once in a while I see errors in the log about garbled data being submitted. Is there a more detailed error message? Are you saying the miner actually crashes when this happens and you have to restart it?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1376


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 09, 2012, 07:17:30 PM
 #2245

yeah I just logged in on a second machine. so it is gone for now.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
December 09, 2012, 07:44:59 PM
 #2246

I see in the website logs some communication errors with both Yahoo and Google spread out over a period of 1 hour. The last error was about 40 minutes ago, and both Yahoo and Google logins appear to be working now. Not sure what caused that - can't remember seeing any problems with Google or Yahoo before.

About the Stratum errors, is that something that happens rarely? Every once in a while I see errors in the log about garbled data being submitted. Is there a more detailed error message? Are you saying the miner actually crashes when this happens and you have to restart it?

No details when it happens.  One machine (3 gpus) cgminer crashes.  Another (3 gpus) it hangs.  The third (1 gpu) it recovers w/o a problem.  I've never figured out why or what the differences are among the machines, aside from the obvious GPU count.  It might be a driver thing, but playing with drivers is a pain and time consuming process, so I leave well enough alone. 

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 07:50:46 PM
 #2247

Can you guys told all ports which are used currently for testing? What's the port for Stratum, var diff or GBT?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 07:52:57 PM
 #2248

Can you guys told all ports which are used currently for testing? What's the port for Stratum, var diff or GBT?
Stratum is on 3333 and 5050, GBT is on 8332 (I think). Both of them are out of testing and have variable difficulty enabled.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 08:11:51 PM
 #2249

Thank you. I am using miner BTCMiner from Ztex, which only supports var diff (I think). Can I use it's advantages on standard protocol GetWork (used by BTCMiner)?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 08:21:26 PM
 #2250

Thank you. I am using miner BTCMiner from Ztex, which only supports var diff (I think). Can I use it's advantages on standard protocol GetWork (used by BTCMiner)?
Not yet. Variable difficulty hasn't been enabled on GW yet.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 08:53:42 PM
 #2251

Can you guys told all ports which are used currently for testing? What's the port for Stratum, var diff or GBT?
Stratum is on 3333 and 5050, GBT is on 8332 (I think). Both of them are out of testing and have variable difficulty enabled.

To DrHaribo:
This information should be included on first post in topic, as you declare full support to Stratum and GBT - but nowhere we can find info how to connect to it, except single posts inside this huge topic.

Thank you. I am using miner BTCMiner from Ztex, which only supports var diff (I think). Can I use it's advantages on standard protocol GetWork (used by BTCMiner)?
Not yet. Variable difficulty hasn't been enabled on GW yet.

Thanks for info. I will be waiting Smiley

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1020


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 09:46:28 PM
 #2252

This information should be included on first post in topic, as you declare full support to Stratum and GBT - but nowhere we can find info how to connect to it, except single posts inside this huge topic.

You mean there are people who don't read every post in this thread? This is a bit of a shock. Cheesy

Sorry, I forgot to add that - thanks Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2012, 10:04:46 PM
 #2253

You welcome Wink
So are you going to include var diff to GetWork protocol? It would be great to see, if it's available and useful, of course.

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 08:55:30 AM
 #2254

Since around midnight UTC my stats on bitminter show 0 contribution to shifts but my miner is still showing accepted for my work and my hash rate submitted is fine on my miner... Do you know what is happening? I have not changed any configuration at my end.

I'm on 8332 with bfgminer 2.9.4. Going to play around with other ports in the meantime...

EDIT: changed my miner version back to prior to stratum so I'm back to LP and it seems to work now so something is up with me and stratum at the moment... Can you clarify the port I'm supposed to use with bfgminer 2.9.4 or a specific cgminer version that might work better?

Cheers

Will

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1020


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 09:34:01 AM
 #2255

EDIT: changed my miner version back to prior to stratum so I'm back to LP and it seems to work now so something is up with me and stratum at the moment... Can you clarify the port I'm supposed to use with bfgminer 2.9.4 or a specific cgminer version that might work better?

It's 3333 or 5050. So you can use --url stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

It looks like you have a gap where you were not mining from last night till this morning (euro time). Looks like you fell out around the time I did a pool server restart. I have heard of miners crashing when the pool disconnects them, although I think it's rare. It could also be that it stayed on a failover pool and didn't switch back?

What exact problems or errors are you seeing when you use stratum? And was the miner crashed in this instance, or did you see anything else to explain why it wasn't mining?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 103


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 10:55:18 AM
 #2256

The only way to use stratum/gbt is to connect through cgminer or similar correct? Can't use the bitminter GUI?

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1020


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 11:27:17 AM
 #2257

The only way to use stratum/gbt is to connect through cgminer or similar correct? Can't use the bitminter GUI?

Yeah, BitMinter client uses getwork with rollntime. I will be adding Stratum and GBT later.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 103


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 11:38:01 AM
 #2258

The only way to use stratum/gbt is to connect through cgminer or similar correct? Can't use the bitminter GUI?

Yeah, BitMinter client uses getwork with rollntime. I will be adding Stratum and GBT later.


So assuming ASICS ship first half of January, do I need to get cgminer setup or will the GUI support it by then? Or do you think Getwork with rollntime will be sufficient for a few Single SC's?

If I will need to use a miner other than the Bitminter app, what do you recommend for BFL equipment? Before bitminter I was using GUIMiner but was getting some strange bugs.

Thanks

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1020


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 12:00:47 PM
 #2259

So assuming ASICS ship first half of January, do I need to get cgminer setup or will the GUI support it by then? Or do you think Getwork with rollntime will be sufficient for a few Single SC's?

My goal is for BitMinter client to work with BFL SCs from the day you receive them. If I don't have time for everything then that will be with getwork with rollntime. That's good enough for running ASICs. It doesn't allow you to inspect blocks like GBT or give you the low bandwidth usage of Stratum, but it certainly works.

When it comes to bASIC it looks like I won't have remote access to any units until miners have them. It also looks like it will be more complex to add support for them than the BFL units. That means if you ordered bASIC you will want to find a miner that will support them from day 1 so your bASIC doesn't sit idle.

Avalon, from what I understand, comes with a (tiny) computer with preinstalled software. You just plug it in and it runs.

If I will need to use a miner other than the Bitminter app, what do you recommend for BFL equipment? Before bitminter I was using GUIMiner but was getting some strange bugs.

I don't think I want to go there. The GBT versus Stratum discussions are bad enough. If you ordered bASIC then you will probably want to check the bASIC forums to see which miner authors they are working with to get support from day 1.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 01:14:59 PM
 #2260

...
Avalon, from what I understand, comes with a (tiny) computer with preinstalled software. You just plug it in and it runs.
...
software=cgminer

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!