Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:36:49 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 [114] 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 775144 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 11:27:17 AM
 #2261

The only way to use stratum/gbt is to connect through cgminer or similar correct? Can't use the bitminter GUI?

Yeah, BitMinter client uses getwork with rollntime. I will be adding Stratum and GBT later.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
1480905409
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905409

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905409
Reply with quote  #2

1480905409
Report to moderator
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 11:38:01 AM
 #2262

The only way to use stratum/gbt is to connect through cgminer or similar correct? Can't use the bitminter GUI?

Yeah, BitMinter client uses getwork with rollntime. I will be adding Stratum and GBT later.


So assuming ASICS ship first half of January, do I need to get cgminer setup or will the GUI support it by then? Or do you think Getwork with rollntime will be sufficient for a few Single SC's?

If I will need to use a miner other than the Bitminter app, what do you recommend for BFL equipment? Before bitminter I was using GUIMiner but was getting some strange bugs.

Thanks

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 12:00:47 PM
 #2263

So assuming ASICS ship first half of January, do I need to get cgminer setup or will the GUI support it by then? Or do you think Getwork with rollntime will be sufficient for a few Single SC's?

My goal is for BitMinter client to work with BFL SCs from the day you receive them. If I don't have time for everything then that will be with getwork with rollntime. That's good enough for running ASICs. It doesn't allow you to inspect blocks like GBT or give you the low bandwidth usage of Stratum, but it certainly works.

When it comes to bASIC it looks like I won't have remote access to any units until miners have them. It also looks like it will be more complex to add support for them than the BFL units. That means if you ordered bASIC you will want to find a miner that will support them from day 1 so your bASIC doesn't sit idle.

Avalon, from what I understand, comes with a (tiny) computer with preinstalled software. You just plug it in and it runs.

If I will need to use a miner other than the Bitminter app, what do you recommend for BFL equipment? Before bitminter I was using GUIMiner but was getting some strange bugs.

I don't think I want to go there. The GBT versus Stratum discussions are bad enough. If you ordered bASIC then you will probably want to check the bASIC forums to see which miner authors they are working with to get support from day 1.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 01:14:59 PM
 #2264

...
Avalon, from what I understand, comes with a (tiny) computer with preinstalled software. You just plug it in and it runs.
...
software=cgminer

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
December 10, 2012, 06:17:23 PM
 #2265

EDIT: changed my miner version back to prior to stratum so I'm back to LP and it seems to work now so something is up with me and stratum at the moment... Can you clarify the port I'm supposed to use with bfgminer 2.9.4 or a specific cgminer version that might work better?

It's 3333 or 5050. So you can use --url stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333

It looks like you have a gap where you were not mining from last night till this morning (euro time). Looks like you fell out around the time I did a pool server restart. I have heard of miners crashing when the pool disconnects them, although I think it's rare. It could also be that it stayed on a failover pool and didn't switch back?

What exact problems or errors are you seeing when you use stratum? And was the miner crashed in this instance, or did you see anything else to explain why it wasn't mining?


I'm just using commandline:

-o http://mint.bitminter.com:8332

without any stratum specified - but it says at the top that I'm using 'stratum' so I must be.

I noticed this morning and tried restarting, the blocks were successfully submitting and I was getting 'Accepted' and my miner was reporting normal hash rate, but nothing was showing on bitminter - which is odd - so as I had to go to work I just flipped to the old version (same commandline, but it uses LP instead)

I'm now back from work, and I switched the version back again - and it's back to using stratum and now the blocks are being accepted.  I seem to remember getting something about there being nothing in the block header when I restarted this morning, but do not have the logs for that.

Anyway - all fixed now... I think I missed mining around 1.3 btc so I just bet (and won) on satoshidice... so no loss Smiley

Will

AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
December 11, 2012, 04:56:27 AM
 #2266

So assuming ASICS ship first half of January, do I need to get cgminer setup or will the GUI support it by then? Or do you think Getwork with rollntime will be sufficient for a few Single SC's?

My goal is for BitMinter client to work with BFL SCs from the day you receive them. If I don't have time for everything then that will be with getwork with rollntime. That's good enough for running ASICs. It doesn't allow you to inspect blocks like GBT or give you the low bandwidth usage of Stratum, but it certainly works.

When it comes to bASIC it looks like I won't have remote access to any units until miners have them. It also looks like it will be more complex to add support for them than the BFL units. That means if you ordered bASIC you will want to find a miner that will support them from day 1 so your bASIC doesn't sit idle.

Avalon, from what I understand, comes with a (tiny) computer with preinstalled software. You just plug it in and it runs.

If I will need to use a miner other than the Bitminter app, what do you recommend for BFL equipment? Before bitminter I was using GUIMiner but was getting some strange bugs.

I don't think I want to go there. The GBT versus Stratum discussions are bad enough. If you ordered bASIC then you will probably want to check the bASIC forums to see which miner authors they are working with to get support from day 1.


Thanks Doc! I have only purchased bfl gear in part due to the issues you mentioned so good to get validation I likely made the right choice.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to read up on gbt vs stratum/etc?

Thanks again all.

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
December 11, 2012, 10:11:11 PM
 #2267

Bitminter.com seems to be down. Anyone confirm?

LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
December 11, 2012, 10:12:11 PM
 #2268

It is for me.

So, what's new?
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
December 11, 2012, 10:12:33 PM
 #2269

something wrong with the site?

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
December 11, 2012, 10:21:10 PM
 #2270

came back up for me

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 11, 2012, 11:20:06 PM
 #2271

Sorry for the short downtime. There was an issue with bitcoind which had to be restarted.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
December 12, 2012, 07:17:30 AM
 #2272

Is something going on with the pool? I am connected on the GUI using 1.3.0 mining with 1 7970 and 1 Single on this worker. I noticed my shares per shift and GH/S were a bit low(in stats) so looked at the bitminter client.

My single was running about hlf speed so I power cycled it and started again. When it came up it showed 1265 MH/s (over 150% normal) for the single for about 5 seconds, then dropped to 350mh/s and kept dropping. Stopped it at 250MH/s and ran a diagnostic with EasyMiner which showed all normal. Just reflashed the firmware and restarted bitminter client, seems like it is working ok now but kinda strange.

Ever hear of something like this?


Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 12, 2012, 08:48:22 AM
 #2273

Is something going on with the pool? I am connected on the GUI using 1.3.0 mining with 1 7970 and 1 Single on this worker. I noticed my shares per shift and GH/S were a bit low(in stats) so looked at the bitminter client.

My single was running about hlf speed so I power cycled it and started again. When it came up it showed 1265 MH/s (over 150% normal) for the single for about 5 seconds, then dropped to 350mh/s and kept dropping. Stopped it at 250MH/s and ran a diagnostic with EasyMiner which showed all normal. Just reflashed the firmware and restarted bitminter client, seems like it is working ok now but kinda strange.

Ever hear of something like this?


Yep quite a while back one of the two FPGAs in my BFL became randomly unreliable using the 832 bitstream.
Sometimes completely stopped mining in half the device.
Flashed it up to 880 (after messing with cgminer code and the device over a few weeks)
After reflash it was OK for a while then failed again.
2nd reflash and no problems since.
So ... yep that can cause a drop to half Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 08:17:29 AM
 #2274

Is something going on with the pool? I am connected on the GUI using 1.3.0 mining with 1 7970 and 1 Single on this worker. I noticed my shares per shift and GH/S were a bit low(in stats) so looked at the bitminter client.

My single was running about hlf speed so I power cycled it and started again. When it came up it showed 1265 MH/s (over 150% normal) for the single for about 5 seconds, then dropped to 350mh/s and kept dropping. Stopped it at 250MH/s and ran a diagnostic with EasyMiner which showed all normal. Just reflashed the firmware and restarted bitminter client, seems like it is working ok now but kinda strange.

Ever hear of something like this?


Yep quite a while back one of the two FPGAs in my BFL became randomly unreliable using the 832 bitstream.
Sometimes completely stopped mining in half the device.
Flashed it up to 880 (after messing with cgminer code and the device over a few weeks)
After reflash it was OK for a while then failed again.
2nd reflash and no problems since.
So ... yep that can cause a drop to half Smiley

Weird but seems to have gone away after reflash. I contacted bfl as now my fan is noisy and temp up by 2 degrees (still within normal range) so they are sending me a new fan and some thermal paste to refit the sink. Dont think the two issues are related but odd none the less.

Did you contact bfl about it and if so what was their response?

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 10:54:11 AM
 #2275

...

Weird but seems to have gone away after reflash. I contacted bfl as now my fan is noisy and temp up by 2 degrees (still within normal range) so they are sending me a new fan and some thermal paste to refit the sink. Dont think the two issues are related but odd none the less.

Did you contact bfl about it and if so what was their response?
Can't remember - probably not.

However, I contacted them when I first got the BFL coz it took 8 hours to 'burn in' but after that was OK until the problem much later.
The first day problems were most likely the heat sink since it rattled when I first got it - and running hot for 8 hours probably helped reseat it properly Smiley

The later problem went something like this:
damn it having problems, spent a week (or 2 or ?) messing with the cgminer code sometimes mining full speeds, sometimes half speed (power cycles sometimes helped) then finally decided, stuff this I'll put in a fast bitstream and see how long it takes to kill it Cheesy
880 didn't kill it Tongue I'm still using the 880.

I also found that with the 880 bitstream it worked at a much higher reported temperature without throttling.
At the moment it says 61.5C (when I first got the BFL it throttled around 50C with the 832 bitstream)

Last time it throttled/had a comm error was ... 8-Nov ... had 8 that day coz it was very hot here (it's now summer)
Previous was 16-Oct - 3 times - was a hot early evening and that's the time it throttled also.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
AfricanHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 04:27:37 AM
 #2276

Tried one of the faster streams a while back but was throttling bad, may try the others based on what you report. Also going to replace the fan and redo the thermal compound. If you have any ideas I'm all ears.

Thinking about doing business with johnniewalkerhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=72227?
First read this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=131841.0

Also, Join the National Rifle Association to protect 2nd Amendment Rights http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR020022
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2012, 05:28:52 AM
 #2277

Sorry, a technical issue made the pool unstable (many failed connection attempts if you didn't already have an active connection). Now fixed.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
December 16, 2012, 04:40:01 PM
 #2278

Looks like it's down / unstable again.
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
December 16, 2012, 04:41:10 PM
 #2279

Looks like it's down / unstable again.

indeed - it does appear to be down.

Will

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2012, 09:50:12 PM
 #2280

Apologies for downtime earlier today. I was away and had to use a cell phone to get things going again. Haven't really been able to investigate the issue much yet. But it seems to be running smoothly again after the restart. What I can say is that namecoind had crashed (as usual), but there must have been something more wrong.

Today's insight into networking magic for the techies:
One weird new thing I have learned about Linux/TCP lately. If namecoind is down and a process tries to connect to it, then Linux may pick the destination port to also be the source port for the connection. If this happens when connecting to localhost then the socket will connect to itself. Yes, even though you were connecting, not listening. After that the pool thinks it is talking to namecoind, but for every HTTP request it sends it doesn't get an HTTP response back, it gets its own HTTP request back. It is talking to itself. A real pain, and very odd behavior by the network stack in my opinion, whether it is by TCP specs or not.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 ... 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 [114] 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!