Bitcoin Forum
March 02, 2021, 05:57:00 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 372 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836619 times)
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 11:50:57 AM
Last edit: February 22, 2013, 02:28:43 PM by loshia
 #2481

Doc,

Recently i found a block but cgminer did not report it. I have found blocks before with getwork and i was able to see Found block count > 0 matching the actual found blocks reported buy bitminter
I am curious how do you check valid shares when diff >1? What i mean is this:

According to my understanding it works like the following:

1. Mining software knows that it shall shall submit work only if its matching difficulty (let say 4).
2. Mining software shall check if valid shares which are less that required difficulty solve the block
3. If yes they shall be submitted to the pool even though they are not matching pool difficulty
4. Pool shall check first (or at least before diff match ) if the share submitted solves the block and later on if it matches difficulty right?

What i am asking is are any potential issues from both miner and pool if a share solving the block can be rejected by the pool or not sent by software?
I am just curious:)
10X

PS: just for the record i wanna check why cgminer does not report solved block. If you do keep log of share solving the blocks and you can paste here the winning share for block
http://bitminter.com/block/btc/0000000000000201264143a1bca71fc300d02bf0a3e0d8cd85a407024abd7129

will be great

10X
 

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
1614664620
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614664620

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614664620
Reply with quote  #2

1614664620
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1614664620
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614664620

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614664620
Reply with quote  #2

1614664620
Report to moderator
1614664620
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614664620

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614664620
Reply with quote  #2

1614664620
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 02:30:28 PM
 #2482

Recently i found a block but cgminer did not report it. I have found blocks before with getwork and i was able to see Found block count > 0 matching the actual found blocks reported buy bitminter

Maybe this is a bug in cgminer. Or if you have multiple workers, did you check them all?

1. Mining software knows that it shall shall submit work only if its matching difficulty (let say 4).
2. Mining software shall check if valid shares which are less that required difficulty solve the block

You mean above the required difficulty to solve the block. Above difficulty = below target.

3. If yes they shall be submitted to the pool even though they are not matching pool difficulty

The difficulty given by the pool (1-4096 currently) will always be lower than the difficulty for creating a block (currently 3.6 million).

Even if the mining difficulty was not capped (currently at 4096) you would still need a worker with a hashrate that would produce 20 bitcoin blocks per minute on average, for the server to give you a mining difficulty that is higher than the difficulty to create a block. If you receive enough ASICs for that then I recommend splitting them up over multiple worker accounts, at least until the network difficulty goes up.

What i am asking is are any potential issues from both miner and pool if a share solving the block can be rejected by the pool or not sent by software?

It could be a potential problem if you added a new worker that had 200 times the hashpower of the rest of the network. So if the current network hashrate is 30 TH/s and you add hardware doing 6000 TH/s on a single worker account, then we need to look into it. In that case, please let me know in advance. Wink

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 03:00:15 PM
 #2483

Recently i found a block but cgminer did not report it. I have found blocks before with getwork and i was able to see Found block count > 0 matching the actual found blocks reported buy bitminter

Maybe this is a bug in cgminer. Or if you have multiple workers, did you check them all?

1. Mining software knows that it shall shall submit work only if its matching difficulty (let say 4).
2. Mining software shall check if valid shares which are less that required difficulty solve the block

You mean above the required difficulty to solve the block. Above difficulty = below target.

3. If yes they shall be submitted to the pool even though they are not matching pool difficulty

The difficulty given by the pool (1-4096 currently) will always be lower than the difficulty for creating a block (currently 3.6 million).

Even if the mining difficulty was not capped (currently at 4096) you would still need a worker with a hashrate that would produce 20 bitcoin blocks per minute on average, for the server to give you a mining difficulty that is higher than the difficulty to create a block. If you receive enough ASICs for that then I recommend splitting them up over multiple worker accounts, at least until the network difficulty goes up.

What i am asking is are any potential issues from both miner and pool if a share solving the block can be rejected by the pool or not sent by software?

It could be a potential problem if you added a new worker that had 200 times the hashpower of the rest of the network. So if the current network hashrate is 30 TH/s and you add hardware doing 6000 TH/s on a single worker account, then we need to look into it. In that case, please let me know in advance. Wink

Thanks doc!

My explanation sucks.
What i am talking about is:

1.when i mine with getwork with diff 1 given by the pool i submit every share
2. When i mine with stratum and diff 8 given by the pool i submit one of eight at average - there is variation of course
3. Is it possible in theory that those 8 shares skipped to be able to solve the block? Because if i was using getwork with diff 1 given by the pool they shall be ok and submitted to the pool right?

Yes i do have two workers and checked them both - none of them was showing that block was fond and  no i do not have asic yet:)

If you have log of share which solved block http://bitminter.com/block/btc/0000000000000201264143a1bca71fc300d02bf0a3e0d8cd85a407024abd7129
please PM it to me
10X

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 03:20:30 PM
 #2484

1.when i mine with getwork with diff 1 given by the pool i submit every share
2. When i mine with stratum and diff 8 given by the pool i submit one of eight at average - there is variation of course
3. Is it possible in theory that those 8 shares skipped to be able to solve the block? Because if i was using getwork with diff 1 given by the pool they shall be ok and submitted to the pool right?

If your proof of work hash is above difficulty 1.6 million then it is also above difficulty 8, so there won't be any problems. Any proof of work that can create a valid block will be submitted by the client.

Edit: I emailed the data that was logged about your proof of work to the email address registered with your Bitminter account.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 03:34:23 PM
 #2485

1.when i mine with getwork with diff 1 given by the pool i submit every share
2. When i mine with stratum and diff 8 given by the pool i submit one of eight at average - there is variation of course
3. Is it possible in theory that those 8 shares skipped to be able to solve the block? Because if i was using getwork with diff 1 given by the pool they shall be ok and submitted to the pool right?

If your proof of work hash is above difficulty 1.6 million then it is also above difficulty 8, so there won't be any problems. Any proof of work that can create a valid block will be submitted by the client.

Edit: I emailed the data that was logged about your proof of work to the email address registered with your Bitminter account.


10X doc
Can i share this with Kon after i check it?


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 03:40:44 PM
 #2486

Can i share this with Kon after i check it?

Of course. Anonymize out your IP address if you want. I didn't do that as I was sending it only to your email address and it could be helpful to you.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 22, 2013, 08:39:54 PM
Last edit: February 22, 2013, 09:04:11 PM by loshia
 #2487

Doc,
I am waiting for my avalons to land. And i love your pool and i will mine here. However according to this thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=145885.0

-----------------------------------
4 please DO preconfigure the diff of ALL the pools (including the backup ones), var diff may slow down the machine at first until the diff is adjusted.
-----------------------------------

Var diff can slow things down a bit. Do you have plans to implement preconfigurable diff per worker in near feature? For 64300-64500 MHash/s diff about 64 shall be just right in order to have about 20 submited shares per minute and not to "flood" the pool right?

Best

PS: As long some instability issues are reported from avalon users a nice feature available via perks will be inactivity mail notification - per worker. What about it?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2013, 09:29:04 PM
 #2488

Var diff can slow things down a bit. Do you have plans to implement preconfigurable diff per worker in near feature? For 64300-64500 MHash/s diff about 64 shall be just right in order to have about 20 submited shares per minute and not to "flood" the pool right?

Bitminter adjusts the diff quite quickly. Asicminer tested the pool with much more hashrate than one Avalon and the pool adjusted (it maxed out at 64 at the time, but I have set a higher max now). That said, there are plans to allow setting a minimum diff.

PS: As long some instability issues are reported from avalon users a nice feature available via perks will be inactivity mail notification - per worker. What about it?

Yep, that's also on the TODO list.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 3087



View Profile
February 23, 2013, 05:05:02 AM
 #2489

email notice will be nice. I am waiting on BFL to produce my 2x Jalapenos and 1x little single.

We have slowed our coins the 19 20 21 and 22  have been lite but the pool has gone up a bit.  maybe the 23rd will be better. 

coins dropped under 30 usd

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 09:32:29 PM
 #2490

Having an issue with the server. Looking into it now.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2013, 09:45:12 PM
 #2491

Back up again. Sorry for the downtime.

bitcoind went haywire with disk accesses, but a restart cleared it up.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 12:38:07 AM
 #2492

Thank you Smiley  your work is appreciated...

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
Bitsilver.us
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 02:15:37 PM
 #2493

My apologies if you have already covered the subject, but ... what are your commits on the use of mining_proxy with the new ASIC boxes coming online?

And does anyone know if bfgminer supports the variable difficulty being talked about here?
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 922
Merit: 1003



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 03:20:06 PM
 #2494

And does anyone know if bfgminer supports the variable difficulty being talked about here?
Yes, for the past several versions. Your worker hashrate needs to be high enough, though. Roughly 20 shares/minute is the threshold I believe. I have a 1.6Ghps worker (~22 shares/minute) which never sees a difficulty higher than 1. A 12Ghps worker would see a difficulty of 8.
Bitsilver.us
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 04:48:12 PM
 #2495

And does anyone know if bfgminer supports the variable difficulty being talked about here?
Yes, for the past several versions. Your worker hashrate needs to be high enough, though. Roughly 20 shares/minute is the threshold I believe. I have a 1.6Ghps worker (~22 shares/minute) which never sees a difficulty higher than 1. A 12Ghps worker would see a difficulty of 8.

We have one bfgminer setup with 24Ghps total, so I'm assuming we should see the difficulty rising.  What this quickest way for me to check on that, and is the difficulty level something I can set myself?

Thanks for your feedback...
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 922
Merit: 1003



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 05:07:08 PM
Last edit: February 25, 2013, 05:28:26 PM by Epoch
 #2496

And does anyone know if bfgminer supports the variable difficulty being talked about here?
Yes, for the past several versions. Your worker hashrate needs to be high enough, though. Roughly 20 shares/minute is the threshold I believe. I have a 1.6Ghps worker (~22 shares/minute) which never sees a difficulty higher than 1. A 12Ghps worker would see a difficulty of 8.

We have one bfgminer setup with 24Ghps total, so I'm assuming we should see the difficulty rising.  What this quickest way for me to check on that, and is the difficulty level something I can set myself?

Thanks for your feedback...
To check, just connect your miner to the pool (-o http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 -u <user> -p <password>) and wait; whether you use stratum or not doesn't matter. It will start at difficulty 1 but in a short while (a minute or two) you will see the difficulty increase as the pool gets a better idea of your miner's speed. BFGMiner displays the target difficulty in real time as shares are submitted, so once you see that number change from '1', you know vardiff is working for you.

Something like this (the 'Diff 32/8' means that the target difficulty is 8 and the submitted share had a difficulty of 32):

Code:
[2013-02-24 21:19:11] Accepted 08e39d0a BFL69  pool 0 Diff 32/8

In your case with a  speed of 24Ghps you may see a difficulty of 16. As for setting this yourself, no, currently that is not possible at BitMinter. It is automatically adjusted by the pool based on your hashrate.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 05:20:01 PM
 #2497

My apologies if you have already covered the subject, but ... what are your commits on the use of mining_proxy with the new ASIC boxes coming online?

And does anyone know if bfgminer supports the variable difficulty being talked about here?

My recommendation is to not use proxies unless you actually need them. Bfgminer has Stratum and vardiff support built in, so you'd be better off connecting it directly to the pool. But  if you have multiple mining computers on a local network, you may save a little bandwidth by using a Stratum proxy instead of having each connect to the pool directly.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Bitsilver.us
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 06:15:36 PM
 #2498

Something like this (the 'Diff 32/8' means that the target difficulty is 8 and the submitted share had a difficulty of 32):

In your case with a  speed of 24Ghps you may see a difficulty of 16. As for setting this yourself, no, currently that is not possible at BitMinter. It is automatically adjusted by the pool based on your hashrate.

How does the pool take into account the miner's higher difficulty set point that would correlate to a lower submitted hash rate and the payout share?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 06:35:30 PM
 #2499

How does the pool take into account the miner's higher difficulty set point that would correlate to a lower submitted hash rate and the payout share?

It pretends like one proof of work mined at difficulty 32 is 32 proofs of work at difficulty 1. So the payout is fair, but there is a little more variance at higher difficulty. As far as I know this is how all the pools handle variable difficulty.

If you want to know more about that I'd suggest you check out organofcorti's blogpost about it: http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2012/10/71-variable-pool-difficulty.html

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Bitsilver.us
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 07:03:16 PM
 #2500

How does the pool take into account the miner's higher difficulty set point that would correlate to a lower submitted hash rate and the payout share?

It pretends like one proof of work mined at difficulty 32 is 32 proofs of work at difficulty 1. So the payout is fair, but there is a little more variance at higher difficulty. As far as I know this is how all the pools handle variable difficulty.

If you want to know more about that I'd suggest you check out organofcorti's blogpost about it: http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2012/10/71-variable-pool-difficulty.html


Cool, thanks for the insight, and I'll run through that blogspot ...
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 372 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!