Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2022, 02:14:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 [262] 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836774 times)
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 11:17:50 PM
 #5221

Hey Doc,

Where can I find a explanation on worker settings. I just turned on the notification if one of my workers goes below a certain threshold but I see other settings in there and don't really understand them.

Thanks,
Bill

General advice, set your minimum difficulty to your hashrate in GH/s divided by 1.4. Some info on difficulty and work submits per minute:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3142713#msg3142713

Anything else?
So if my hashrate is 600Ghs, then I would want to seet my worker min diff to 429 if were rounding up to the next whole.
In case this got missed, just wana be sure I'm looking a this right even though I guess you'd have to be sort of dumb to not understand take x and divide by 1.4.

I've seen other sites say to take your hash and multiple by 1.4

Ex: 10 x 1.4 = 14

To be decided...
1670206486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670206486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670206486
Reply with quote  #2

1670206486
Report to moderator
Activity + Trust + Earned Merit == The Most Recognized Users on Bitcointalk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1670206486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670206486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670206486
Reply with quote  #2

1670206486
Report to moderator
1670206486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670206486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670206486
Reply with quote  #2

1670206486
Report to moderator
1670206486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670206486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670206486
Reply with quote  #2

1670206486
Report to moderator
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 12:38:59 AM
 #5222

In case this got missed, just wana be sure I'm looking a this right even though I guess you'd have to be sort of dumb to not understand take x and divide by 1.4.

I've seen other sites say to take your hash and multiple by 1.4

Ex: 10 x 1.4 = 14
I believe with a difficulty of 14 and 10 GH/s, you'd be submitting roughly 12 shares per minute. Your stats would be a little bit more inaccurate on the website, but you would save a bit more bandwidth.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
caminilegroup
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 12:43:49 AM
 #5223

In case this got missed, just wana be sure I'm looking a this right even though I guess you'd have to be sort of dumb to not understand take x and divide by 1.4.

I've seen other sites say to take your hash and multiple by 1.4

Ex: 10 x 1.4 = 14
I believe with a difficulty of 14 and 10 GH/s, you'd be submitting roughly 12 shares per minute. Your stats would be a little bit more inaccurate on the website, but you would save a bit more bandwidth.

I was told this by another pool owner for stratum users. Especially ones who use stratum proxy

So when you enter the difficulty, you are entering a minimum difficulty.

Quote
As for difficulty, it is increased by variable difficulty if your minimum difficulty is not high enough for the hash rate of your connection.  When pointing multiple machines at one proxy, the total speed of all hardware pointed at the proxy is used for vardiff (since stratum defines difficulty per connection, not worker).

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-ovXWOzMvw5w/UqZkSP8PoHI/AAAAAAAAQZY/l6thukHhiPk/s0/Screen%2520Shot%25202013-12-09%2520at%25206.45.44%2520PM.png
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:45:53 AM
 #5224

In case this got missed, just wana be sure I'm looking a this right even though I guess you'd have to be sort of dumb to not understand take x and divide by 1.4.

I've seen other sites say to take your hash and multiple by 1.4

Ex: 10 x 1.4 = 14
I believe with a difficulty of 14 and 10 GH/s, you'd be submitting roughly 12 shares per minute. Your stats would be a little bit more inaccurate on the website, but you would save a bit more bandwidth.
Didnt really get the clarification I needed but ty.

In case this got missed, just wana be sure I'm looking a this right even though I guess you'd have to be sort of dumb to not understand take x and divide by 1.4.

I've seen other sites say to take your hash and multiple by 1.4

Ex: 10 x 1.4 = 14
I believe with a difficulty of 14 and 10 GH/s, you'd be submitting roughly 12 shares per minute. Your stats would be a little bit more inaccurate on the website, but you would save a bit more bandwidth.

I was told this by another pool owner for stratum users. Especially ones who use stratum proxy

Quote
As for difficulty, it is increased by variable difficulty if your minimum difficulty is not high enough for the hash rate of your connection.  When pointing multiple machines at one proxy, the total speed of all hardware pointed at the proxy is used for vardiff (since stratum defines difficulty per connection, not worker).
So if you have 4 machines running 100gh, then wheater your multiplying or dividing it's done per 100 / machine and not the combined total off 400 ?

If fthat's the ase, then one would need a worker for each of the 4 machines.

To be decided...
cenicsoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 01:24:34 AM
 #5225

Doc, have you made any progress on finding a solution to the excessive stale Namecoin blocks?

BannerCoin - officially trading on EtherDelta.
BannerView.com - Energize your Business Online, powered by BannerOS, the platform that turns your website into a powerful business tool.
caminilegroup
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 03:12:08 AM
 #5226

Quote
---Getting to long---

So if you have 4 machines running 100gh, then whether you're multiplying or dividing it's done per 100 / machine and not the combined total of 400 ?

If that's the case, then one would need a worker for each of the 4 machines.

Not completely certain about that one, maybe doc can elaborate on it. I will definitely ask the other guy about it. I have 4 v2 blades and it shows ~40-44 GH/s but I did a little experiment and set my minimum to 4 and checked the proxy about an hour later and it showed a diff of 32 so it was being adjusted automatically, only thing is when my wife started streaming Netflix on the tv and I started loading the network it dropped to 16. So if you want to keep it above a certain number set it to that.

I will say this, slush's proxy with the midstate compiled is faster than bfg miner in proxy mode. Slush's I average 41 GH/s, BFG Miner I averaged 35 GH/s, big difference in my opinion.
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 07:01:24 AM
 #5227

Doc, have you made any progress on finding a solution to the excessive stale Namecoin blocks?

Namecoin has some nasty bugs and it may be a bumpy ride until they get fixed. I don't have time to work on namecoin. Bitminter is a lot of work by itself. But namecoin has some new developers now - hopefully they can fix it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 08:10:28 AM
 #5228

Hey Doc, without going too many replies up... can you shed some light on this ?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3898860#msg3898860

To be decided...
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3598
Merit: 5001



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:50:25 PM
 #5229

can't sign in.


 I get this:

OpenID Failure: 0x707: Fatal transport error: peer not authenticated



I use my yahoo email and I am signed into yahoo. tried on safari  chrome and firefox

3) Never invest more than you can afford to lose
2)Not your keys not your coins.
1) be like JJG just DCA
Trekkie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:55:51 PM
 #5230

can't sign in.


 I get this:

OpenID Failure: 0x707: Fatal transport error: peer not authenticated



I use my yahoo email and I am signed into yahoo. tried on safari  chrome and firefox

Appears something is amiss.   All the miners I have are down, and if you look at the stats page, they're not mining anything anywhere.
ici_lemmy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 100

Hydax Exchange


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:56:45 PM
 #5231

Quote
Pool 0 http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 not responding
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 02:08:30 PM
 #5232

Apologies for the short downtime. Had to ban a couple users who were hammering the server.

Mining is back to normal.

If you can't connect anymore, let me know and include your IP address.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
ici_lemmy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 100

Hydax Exchange


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:38:44 PM
 #5233

Whaou, problem solved fast.
Thank's Dr.
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Hodl!


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:43:44 PM
 #5234

Wonder if that was deliberate to try and affect the difficulty change.

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
Cascaders28
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:52:20 PM
 #5235

Everything just went idle on me and I'm getting connection timed out and ran out of work errors. Website doesn't seem to be tracking any mining either.  Huh
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Hodl!


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:01:57 PM
 #5236

Miners still connected here but website down.

Edit: and back up, but not showing worker speed.

Edit: and now showing speed normally... nothing to see here, move along. Cheesy

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
Cascaders28
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:10:40 PM
 #5237

Well I'm mining again but that was a weird little 15 minute outage. Things seem to be normal now  Smiley
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1728
Merit: 1018


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:49:14 PM
 #5238

My miners are staying connected and submitting shares but the stats on the webpage keeps intermittently reporting my hashrate as zero.  I can't tell yet if it is affecting my shifts adversely or not.
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 06:21:26 PM
 #5239

My miners are staying connected and submitting shares but the stats on the webpage keeps intermittently reporting my hashrate as zero.  I can't tell yet if it is affecting my shifts adversely or not.

The live hashrates on the websites are having intermittent issues. Sorry about that. It doesn't affect anything except the website display.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 07:13:57 PM
 #5240

We had a bit of a bumpy ride earlier today as botnets and buggy clients were causing very high server load. I had to ban 11500 IP addresses.

If you have problems connecting to the pool now, contact me at operator@bitminter.com and include your IP address. You can get the IP using http://www.whatismyip.com/ or similar services.

A botnet hammering the server with getwork requests from many thousand IP addresses: banned. If you are legally mining with many computers, please connect them through a Stratum proxy to reduce the load on the server. bfgminer can do that job or Slush's Stratum proxy.

Some clients using getwork or getblocktemplate making several hundred connections to the server: banned for now. I will try to contact the users individually to get this fixed as it is not that many users. I have seen this happen with some bfgminer users (and not others). I don't know if other clients are affected or what exactly causes this issue. The easy fix is to switch to stratum. Use -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 to connect using Stratum. I have enabled Stratum on port 443 so you can use that in case you have firewall issues.

Three users opening over 1000 Stratum connections: banned. I'll look into this in more detail later.

A few users with cgminer older than version 2.7, with a bug causing it to spam the server with getwork requests. Seriously? Please upgrade your mining client. These dinosaur versions may be automatically banned in the future - this is the final notice.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Pages: « 1 ... 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 [262] 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!