Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2022, 03:46:48 PM *
News: Bitcointalk Community Awards
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 [266] 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836777 times)
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 07:19:09 PM
 #5301

How does blockchain determine which pool solves the block?

It doesn't. It doesn't even try to.

blockchain.info doesn't actually show who created or solved a block. It shows who they observed relaying the block first. What does this mean? Absolutely nothing. In a peer-to-peer network everyone are relaying blocks and transactions all the time. It doesn't mean anything. I saw a person threaten another person because the second person's bitcoin node had relayed a transaction stealing coins from the first person. Does it mean that the second person was the thief? No. Bitcoin nodes relay blocks and transactions indiscriminately all the time.

One can hope that blockchain.info will stop showing worthless information that is constantly being misinterpreted and could in some cases have dangerous consequences. But I'm not holding my breath.

This site actually tries to identify who created the block: http://blockorigin.pfoe.be/index.php

TL;DR: blockchain.info BAD, blockorigin.pfoe.be GOOD.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
1670428008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670428008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670428008
Reply with quote  #2

1670428008
Report to moderator
1670428008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670428008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670428008
Reply with quote  #2

1670428008
Report to moderator
1670428008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670428008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670428008
Reply with quote  #2

1670428008
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1007



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 10:59:44 PM
 #5302

Someone brought it up before and said that blockchain.info could be wrong, however, what's the official response from Doc when they report a block being found by Bitminter, but it doesn't get reported?  Block 275399 isn't showing in the block stats. https://blockchain.info/blocks/BitMinter

How does blockchain determine which pool solves the block?

Actually...275399 IS a BitMinter block.  Coinbase signature is included.


While Doc is right in most cases, Blockchain.info actually rarely uses the relayer, it uses Payment Addresses/Coinbase signatures first, then falls back to relayer if those don't match (AFAIK).  For example, I don't recall ever seeing a false positive for BTC Guild.  However, I can see a few obvious errors in their assignment to BitMinter once in a while (like an HHTT block that shows as BitMinter's).

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
Youngbill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 11:06:42 PM
 #5303

Doc,

My shifts start out good and stay that way for a day or two then they start to drop off and become erratic.  Should I be restarting the client or PC every so often?  I did notice you have options to automate certain things in the Bitminter client, is that something I should be using?

Thanks,
Bill

I have one client machine that runs constantly between 125-135ghs and another machine that runs between 4-5ghs yet I never see anything above 125ghs combined through the web site. I usually see 110-115 and sometimes in the 90s.  Is there any explanation for this or am I missing something?

Look at your average hashrates per shift. Those are more accurate since they are estimated for a whole shift, not just a couple minutes of mining.

https://bitminter.com/shifts

These hashrate estimates you see on the website only count accepted work. If you have a lot of rejected work and/or hardware errors (miscalculations) then that will affect the results.

DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:36:03 PM
 #5304

Actually...275399 IS a BitMinter block.  Coinbase signature is included.

Err... no?

Coinbase: �3SOCK\ �C�4/SockThing/HHTT

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
cenicsoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:42:06 PM
 #5305

Actually...275399 IS a BitMinter block.  Coinbase signature is included.

Looks like an HHTT block and is listed on their pool's website as claimed.

BannerCoin - officially trading on EtherDelta.
BannerView.com - Energize your Business Online, powered by BannerOS, the platform that turns your website into a powerful business tool.
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:47:08 PM
 #5306

My shifts start out good and stay that way for a day or two then they start to drop off and become erratic.  Should I be restarting the client or PC every so often?  I did notice you have options to automate certain things in the Bitminter client, is that something I should be using?

A couple users have reported increased memory usage as days go by and eventually sluggish response from Bitminter client. I run it for weeks/months at a time and have been unable to reproduce this issue.

If you are having this issue, a java heapdump would be greatly appreciated. You'll need JDK (java development kit) installed for this. http://stackoverflow.com/questions/407612/how-to-get-a-thread-and-heap-dump-of-a-java-process-on-windows-thats-not-runnin

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
cenicsoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
December 17, 2013, 11:54:51 PM
 #5307

This site actually tries to identify who created the block: http://blockorigin.pfoe.be/index.php

The above mentioned site doesn't seem to do anything unique other than scrape the pool web pages and can't tell if blocks are later invalid/orphaned.  Seems like using the coinbase signature would be the best, but then they'd need to know all of the pools' signatures and build a database from it.

Doc, I see you already told 'em how to find the coinbase signature for a given block:

http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/11158/is-there-a-way-to-find-the-coinbase-for-a-given-block-using-only-bitcoind-comman

Thanks, learned something new today!

BannerCoin - officially trading on EtherDelta.
BannerView.com - Energize your Business Online, powered by BannerOS, the platform that turns your website into a powerful business tool.
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Hodl!


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 06:48:56 PM
 #5308

A couple users have reported increased memory usage as days go by and eventually sluggish response from Bitminter client. I run it for weeks/months at a time and have been unable to reproduce this issue.

Why do I suspect they also have firefox open...

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:08:42 PM
 #5309

Is the site under attack? It show's 0.0TH/s and my miners aren't farming anything. Sad

An update would be nice!

Thanks,
Cascaders28
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:15:10 PM
 #5310

Things are down for me too. The client is showing disconnected and I'm not getting any stats from the website. I'm sure Dr. H is on it!
cspindor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:18:07 PM
 #5311

Me too. I can't connect the miners. and BM site is very slow to respond. as well as showing 0.0 for me and the pool.
Atomar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:23:48 PM
 #5312

AND BM did not pay'd allot lately :-(
vvvortex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:27:14 PM
 #5313

I've gotten my allotment for confirmed blocks (I don't have the instant perks) up until the connection went down.  I'm sure he's furiously trying to resolve this.
DrHaribo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2013, 01:31:20 PM
 #5314

Issue resolved. Pool should be running as normal.

Apologies for the downtime.

I'm looking into the details to ensure it won't happen again.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
cspindor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:34:58 PM
 #5315

Way to go Doc. My downtime was less than 15 minutes.

Thank you DOC!
OldDutchman777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 01:47:25 PM
 #5316

You are the best Doc!  Thanks for all you do.  Happy Holidays!! Smiley Smiley
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500


Hodl!


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 04:00:46 PM
Last edit: December 19, 2013, 08:53:31 PM by Flashman
 #5317

Do we still have minor issues? Hash at pool looks a little low to me in the last 2 hours since what seemed to be a partial outage and fix.... hard to say though, could be in inside variance.

edit: pulled it's socks up now, everything looks normal, maybe some network farts my end.

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1004


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
December 19, 2013, 09:27:29 PM
 #5318

Is the site under attack? It show's 0.0TH/s and my miners aren't farming anything. Sad

An update would be nice!

Thanks,

Farming?  Now we're bitcoin farmers?  Lol.  Then should we call or equipment "bitcoin harvesters"?
tom04137
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 461
Merit: 252


View Profile
December 20, 2013, 11:23:55 PM
 #5319

Mining is down for me. Website is slow and 0 Ghs.
colemab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 20, 2013, 11:28:23 PM
 #5320

Mining is down for me. Website is slow and 0 Ghs.

Roger that, down for me too.

Houston we have a problem . . . .
Pages: « 1 ... 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 [266] 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!