Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 01:33:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222] 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 833213 times)
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 04:32:10 AM
 #4421

How does "Easy Mode" work?

Worker setting "work submits per minute" allows you affect the difficulty the server chooses for you. 20 is default. Set lower if you want higher difficulty to save bandwidth. With the "easy mode" perk you can also set a higher value than 20 (up to max 40)

Put simply, don't use it.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
1531877621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531877621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531877621
Reply with quote  #2

1531877621
Report to moderator
1531877621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531877621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531877621
Reply with quote  #2

1531877621
Report to moderator
1531877621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531877621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531877621
Reply with quote  #2

1531877621
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531877621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531877621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531877621
Reply with quote  #2

1531877621
Report to moderator
devalo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 06:39:32 AM
 #4422

  • Worker setting "work submits per minute" allows you affect the difficulty the server chooses for you. 20 is default. Set lower if you want higher difficulty to save bandwidth. With the "easy mode" perk you can also set a higher value than 20 (up to max 40).

What exactly does this change if you turn it on? Are there any OTHER benefits than just a lower bandwith consumption?

It is never too late to donate: 1NCLjgx9um6TPecd43sBkdGbBVZ9yfGxC3 (BTC)
La8YnGDm7hMEknmhqJNGvRvkVxGhQKPiUa (LTC)
NBRdDabXpRtWFQ2mU8mX7rbcvJ5BUiZCts (NMC)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 06:54:34 AM
 #4423

  • Worker setting "work submits per minute" allows you affect the difficulty the server chooses for you. 20 is default. Set lower if you want higher difficulty to save bandwidth. With the "easy mode" perk you can also set a higher value than 20 (up to max 40).

What exactly does this change if you turn it on? Are there any OTHER benefits than just a lower bandwith consumption?

Normally you can set submits per minute from 1 to 20. With the easy mode perk settings from 1 to 40 are allowed.

Lower values give your client higher difficulty. This means lower bandwidth usage for you, less server load for BitMinter, but higher variance in your daily mining income.

Higher values give you a lower difficulty. This means less variance in your daily mining income, but also causes more bandwidth usage for you and more work to do for BitMinter servers.

8 proofs of work at difficulty 1 are worth the same as 1 proof of work at difficulty 8. Both show as 8 proofs of work at the website. So the pay is the same, on average. Over time it evens out and it doesn't matter which setting you use (income-wise), but in the short run higher difficulty causes more variance in your daily mining income.

Organofcorti has crunched the numbers on this. You can read about it here: https://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2012/10/71-variable-pool-difficulty.html

I think the default setting at 20 is good. But some users have expressed concern that it still uses too much bandwidth for their taste. So now if you have an extremely slow internet connection you can reduce bandwidth usage even further than before. Other users have expressed concern that their mining difficulty causes too much daily variance in their mining income. Now they can get a lower difficulty and decrease their variance. But the easy mode perk is required for this because low difficulty mining is much harder on the server.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
cesmak
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 964
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:24:00 AM
 #4424

The website was updated with some new perks and worker settings.

Here are the changes:
  • API perk cost cut in half
  • New perks added for high work submits per minute mining (low difficulty), low hashrate notification emails, creating more than 5 workers (some users created several hundred workers which can be a strain on some operations), and a "pro minter" perk that gives you all the perks at a reduced price (you still need to activate them)
  • Added "config" buttons for each worker under "my account" -> "workers" with various settings
  • Worker setting "default worker" allows you to choose a worker that should be used in case you don't set a worker name in the client or you set one that doesn't exist
  • Worker setting "require password" allows you to disable the need for worker passwords (any password is accepted)
  • Worker setting "work submits per minute" allows you affect the difficulty the server chooses for you. 20 is default. Set lower if you want higher difficulty to save bandwidth. With the "easy mode" perk you can also set a higher value than 20 (up to max 40).
  • Worker setting "low hashrate warning" will email you if your worker goes below the chosen threshold.
  • Worker setting "stratum extranonce2" is a bit technical - really only needed for sub-pools
  • Worker setting "merged mining stale flush" can be turned on if you don't want the server to tell your client to flush all work when there is a namecoin block change. Not much point turning this off if you are mining with Stratum + it will cause more namecoin work rejects. But could save some bandwidth with gbt and getwork.
  • New users now automatically get a default worker with password disabled. The signup page now only takes a user name, plus optional email address
  • New workers are now created with password disabled. You can click "config" and set a password afterwards if you want one.

TL;DR: Have a look under "my account" -> "donations & perks" and "my account" -> "workers" in the website menu. Let me know if you have any questions or problems.

Update: note that changes made on the website can take 10-15 minutes to take effect on the mining server


Great work doc !

devalo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:24:32 AM
 #4425

  • Worker setting "work submits per minute" allows you affect the difficulty the server chooses for you. 20 is default. Set lower if you want higher difficulty to save bandwidth. With the "easy mode" perk you can also set a higher value than 20 (up to max 40).

What exactly does this change if you turn it on? Are there any OTHER benefits than just a lower bandwith consumption?

Normally you can set submits per minute from 1 to 20. With the easy mode perk settings from 1 to 40 are allowed.

Lower values give your client higher difficulty. This means lower bandwidth usage for you, less server load for BitMinter, but higher variance in your daily mining income.

Higher values give you a lower difficulty. This means less variance in your daily mining income, but also causes more bandwidth usage for you and more work to do for BitMinter servers.

8 proofs of work at difficulty 1 are worth the same as 1 proof of work at difficulty 8. Both show as 8 proofs of work at the website. So the pay is the same, on average. Over time it evens out and it doesn't matter which setting you use (income-wise), but in the short run higher difficulty causes more variance in your daily mining income.

Organofcorti has crunched the numbers on this. You can read about it here: https://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2012/10/71-variable-pool-difficulty.html

I think the default setting at 20 is good. But some users have expressed concern that it still uses too much bandwidth for their taste. So now if you have an extremely slow internet connection you can reduce bandwidth usage even further than before. Other users have expressed concern that their mining difficulty causes too much daily variance in their mining income. Now they can get a lower difficulty and decrease their variance. But the easy mode perk is required for this because low difficulty mining is much harder on the server.


Thank you for the clarification!

It is never too late to donate: 1NCLjgx9um6TPecd43sBkdGbBVZ9yfGxC3 (BTC)
La8YnGDm7hMEknmhqJNGvRvkVxGhQKPiUa (LTC)
NBRdDabXpRtWFQ2mU8mX7rbcvJ5BUiZCts (NMC)
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 11:32:00 AM
 #4426

Allowing users to set a minimum difficulty would be great. I can't be the only miner who doesn't like the idea of constantly changing difficulty. On BTC Guild, I can practically use a fixed difficulty by setting my minimum difficulty high enough. On BitMinter, I often ended up close to the threshold of two difficulties, and kept flipping between them indefinitely. I'm pretty sure cgminer handles that situation well, but being able to set a minimum difficulty would guarantee it.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1266


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 05:45:32 PM
 #4427

looking to buy these newer sticks


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0


  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now.  

I have hubs so this would be an easy upgrade .   I could bring my hash from 33gh to 198gh on the hubs I already have.

 If these are plug n play i would sell off all my am sticks in the next 2 weeks. and use that coin to buy these sticks.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
cspindor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 08:52:16 PM
 #4428

I am looking for a bitcoin miner operator that live in central Texas. I want to pay someone to set up my computer. I can not figure out the miner programs. Im using bitminter with great luck. (luck as in its working) I want to do some mining in other coins, but I am having no luck in setting one up. I need someone that knows how to do the software programing. I will pay for the service and bring my computer to you. all I need you to do is the work. if any one in central Texas has the time please post here.
Pentel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 09:37:49 PM
 #4429

Try:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6482.0

Here's offering tech support for most computer problems and last logged in on the 10th Sept.

cross/\'kros/ n: a thing they nail people to. Vircurex - Exchnage
PGP Key
BM-NC5DsQck3UyTHFv3fKCMBprw7BNVHUwH
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 11:33:07 PM
 #4430

Allowing users to set a minimum difficulty would be great.

Coming right up, sir.

looking to buy these newer sticks

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0

  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now. 

I'll try and find out. If they are Icarus compatible (like the ASICminer USB sticks) then they should work in BitMinter client.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Stack
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:46:14 PM
 #4431

Allowing users to set a minimum difficulty would be great.

Coming right up, sir.


Wicked! Go Doc!

norpick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 12:27:30 AM
 #4432

so can i clarify here, (yes im still getting to grips with this) if i activate my minimum donation on both Btc and Nmc of 1.50% then activate my perk for Easy Mode at 0.50% each which = 4% in total, my income will raise?
norpick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 02:36:48 AM
 #4433

8% in total.....
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 03:34:39 AM
 #4434

so can i clarify here, (yes im still getting to grips with this) if i activate my minimum donation on both Btc and Nmc of 1.50% then activate my perk for Easy Mode at 0.50% each which = 4% in total, my income will raise?
How do you figure? "Easy mode" won't affect your income at all, aside from reducing your variance a tiny bit.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 08:33:33 AM
 #4435

so can i clarify here, (yes im still getting to grips with this) if i activate my minimum donation on both Btc and Nmc of 1.50% then activate my perk for Easy Mode at 0.50% each which = 4% in total, my income will raise?

For prepay of both BTC and NMC plus the easy mode perk you need 2% BTC and 2% NMC donation - much cheaper than 4% of your total income, as the NMC is only a small part of it. Also, at that point you are at 2% donation so you could activate all perks through the "pro minter" perk.

Easy mode doesn't raise your income. It allows you to set a higher submits-per-minute setting for your workers, which will reduce your daily variance a bit. Read this where I explained how it works:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3142713#msg3142713

Especially interesting is Organofcorti's analysis on how high/low difficulty mining affects your variance.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 09:46:34 AM
 #4436

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0
  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now.  

Those will not work with the current BitMinter client versions. I'm looking into adding support for them.

You can use them on the BitMinter pool using some incarnation of cgminer or bfgminer though (either the regular or a fork).

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 11:30:38 AM
 #4437

I've seen BitFury ASIC users complain about sudden loss of hashrate on BitMinter, and that happened to me too. I mentioned about a fix on this thread earlier, but it wasn't exactly the best solution. Doc, I think you should take a look at your stratum code and see if the wrong behavior of the stratum proxy is causing problems on your pool, too.

gigavps' take on this problem, quite informative: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=206181.msg3138386#msg3138386

Miners on the BitFury thread having a problem: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=250249.msg3151205#msg3151205

eleuthria fixed this on BTC Guild by implementing a workaround on his pool code, because he thought it's unlikely that the stratum proxy will be fixed. Perhaps the same should be done on BitMinter?

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1266


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 01:59:15 PM
 #4438

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0
  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now.  

Those will not work with the current BitMinter client versions. I'm looking into adding support for them.

You can use them on the BitMinter pool using some incarnation of cgminer or bfgminer though (either the regular or a fork).



not good to hear.

 These may end up being a big hit with am stick users.

 lots of am sticks have sold and they will be too slow in 3 months or so.

   but all of us will have a big hub investment. well it is early in that game and for all I know am will build a better stick.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 03:42:03 PM
 #4439

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0
  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now.  

Those will not work with the current BitMinter client versions. I'm looking into adding support for them.

You can use them on the BitMinter pool using some incarnation of cgminer or bfgminer though (either the regular or a fork).



not good to hear.

 These may end up being a big hit with am stick users.

 lots of am sticks have sold and they will be too slow in 3 months or so.

   but all of us will have a big hub investment. well it is early in that game and for all I know am will build a better stick.

Well, they went for a different way to communicate between computer and hashing device. No mining client supports those units as of yet. There will at least be a cgminer fork that will get support. Maybe normal cgminer and bfgminer will get support for them as well. I hope I can add support in BitMinter client too. They look poised to become a block erupter usb killer. Wink

I've seen BitFury ASIC users complain about sudden loss of hashrate on BitMinter, and that happened to me too. I mentioned about a fix on this thread earlier, but it wasn't exactly the best solution. Doc, I think you should take a look at your stratum code and see if the wrong behavior of the stratum proxy is causing problems on your pool, too.

gigavps' take on this problem, quite informative: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=206181.msg3138386#msg3138386

Miners on the BitFury thread having a problem: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=250249.msg3151205#msg3151205

eleuthria fixed this on BTC Guild by implementing a workaround on his pool code, because he thought it's unlikely that the stratum proxy will be fixed. Perhaps the same should be done on BitMinter?

Yeah, working on an update that will tolerate stratum proxy's broken behavior. I'm not sure why this bug in stratum proxy can't simply be fixed, though? Has the project been abandoned?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 04:05:54 PM
 #4440

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=291456.0
  I wanted to know if they will plug n play on bitminter.  I run the asic miner sticks now.  

Those will not work with the current BitMinter client versions. I'm looking into adding support for them.

You can use them on the BitMinter pool using some incarnation of cgminer or bfgminer though (either the regular or a fork).



not good to hear.

 These may end up being a big hit with am stick users.

 lots of am sticks have sold and they will be too slow in 3 months or so.

   but all of us will have a big hub investment. well it is early in that game and for all I know am will build a better stick.

Well, they went for a different way to communicate between computer and hashing device. No mining client supports those units as of yet. There will at least be a cgminer fork that will get support. Maybe normal cgminer and bfgminer will get support for them as well. I hope I can add support in BitMinter client too. They look poised to become a block erupter usb killer. Wink

I've seen BitFury ASIC users complain about sudden loss of hashrate on BitMinter, and that happened to me too. I mentioned about a fix on this thread earlier, but it wasn't exactly the best solution. Doc, I think you should take a look at your stratum code and see if the wrong behavior of the stratum proxy is causing problems on your pool, too.

gigavps' take on this problem, quite informative: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=206181.msg3138386#msg3138386

Miners on the BitFury thread having a problem: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=250249.msg3151205#msg3151205

eleuthria fixed this on BTC Guild by implementing a workaround on his pool code, because he thought it's unlikely that the stratum proxy will be fixed. Perhaps the same should be done on BitMinter?

Yeah, working on an update that will tolerate stratum proxy's broken behavior. I'm not sure why this bug in stratum proxy can't simply be fixed, though? Has the project been abandoned?


slush is the one who should push the fix, but that might take a while. It's pretty much abandoned if he doesn't care. Maybe someone should fork it?

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
Pages: « 1 ... 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 [222] 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!