Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:01:07 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 [238] 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 774932 times)
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 08:03:13 AM
 #4741

I'am going to research linux For my mining rig thank you for the suggestion .
Is there an easy way to get started with linux or is it just google the info?

I started with Ubuntu, but had to switch to Fedora on my main laptop, since Ubuntu had issues with my hardware. The German computer magazine touted Linux Mint (how apt a name for the BitMinter community ;-) ) as a very Linux noob friendly system in its October issue. There is lots of info on Google and trust me you will google a lot of things when getting started with Linux, until you get the hang of it. It's not as easy as downloading an .exe file and double click to install software, for example.

I guess for us coming from Windows a lot comes down to the desktop environment (initially anyway), so look at the screen shots on the distros' site. For a relative quick and easy way to try different distros I used: http://www.linuxliveusb.com/

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
1480802467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802467
Reply with quote  #2

1480802467
Report to moderator
1480802467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802467
Reply with quote  #2

1480802467
Report to moderator
1480802467
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802467

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802467
Reply with quote  #2

1480802467
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 11:30:40 AM
 #4742

I see, its just that vista is pretty known to have lots of problems. I am a Mac user so I am not sure of the details but I've heard that XP is a much more stable environment and that vista was the worst ever released. Not sure about Win 7 & 8 in general but I know some people are working on those without issue and i've never met anyone running vista before.

Just a tid bit.. but maybe you're right that the client should run on ANY computer since its java based, vista not being an exception. Maybe the Doc has some better advice.
On release vista was a mess granted ,since the patches the comparisons to win7 for performance is more or less on par so since I'am familiar with the interface I just did not see a need to buy or use win7 or 8 .
If someone points out that vista is causing any issues or win7 or 8 is superior then I am able to upgrade .
It iss just a pain in the ass getting used to a new os.

One other reason for not wanting to have windows 8 is that there was an official recommendation to some users not to upgrade since there is a built in monitoring or back door type deal with it .
If I can find the information I will post it here ,but Bitcoin is about keeping private and windows 8 about making you 100% public .



Perhaps you were referring to this article?

NSA Backdoor Exploit in Windows 8 Uncovered

In any event, I'm wanting to run my devices on a Linux device now, not just due to Microsoft's infamy in this arena, but because that's what it seems like most bitcoin developers are familiar with. (Namecoin-Qt doesn't even have a Mac binary yet....)


Dude the NSA has the keys to everything and not just Microsoft. But if you are going jump on Microsoft let me say this, when Microsoft discovers a bug in any of its products it tells the NSA first before going ahead and developing a patch to fix the bug.
Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 11:34:40 AM
 #4743

Richard Stallman saw it coming. I used to chuckle a bit that he was using a rubbish Loongson based netbook because the bios and firmware were all opensource, but I no longer do:
http://richard.stallman.usesthis.com/
overunity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 07:19:28 PM
 #4744

I see, its just that vista is pretty known to have lots of problems. I am a Mac user so I am not sure of the details but I've heard that XP is a much more stable environment and that vista was the worst ever released. Not sure about Win 7 & 8 in general but I know some people are working on those without issue and i've never met anyone running vista before.

Just a tid bit.. but maybe you're right that the client should run on ANY computer since its java based, vista not being an exception. Maybe the Doc has some better advice.

Bitminter is rock steady on Windows 7 for me.
I can't vouch for 8, but 7 is a big improvement on XP and Vista all round IMO.


Think I will go for win 7 ty
overunity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 07:21:12 PM
 #4745

I agree ,I'am running vista and the Bitminter client does not reconnect after the smallest of disruptions.

Try the latest version (1.4.2) and go "settings" -> "options..." then the "devices" tab. Set it to rescan every few seconds or minutes, and turn on "repeat rescan of failed ports". This will ensure that even though the hub or ASIC device doesn't work properly for a while after it disappears and reappears, BitMinter client will not give up after the first try, but will keep trying all COM ports over and over.

That's not on by default as all the error messages you would get if you have a COM port that is not an ASIC device are pretty annoying.


Done
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 08:51:13 PM
 #4746

Bitminter also gives me Namecoins is there anyway to convert them into BTC's or if they are worthless how do I stop farming them as well?

Thanks
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 08:57:55 PM
 #4747

Bitminter also gives me Namecoins is there anyway to convert them into BTC's or if they are worthless how do I stop farming them as well?

Thanks

You can set namecoin donation to 100% if you don't want them. Or you can sell them at exchanges like btc-e.com

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
cesmak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 716



View Profile
October 13, 2013, 08:58:22 PM
 #4748

You can excahnge for btc, for example on vircurex or btc-e.

Sorry for my poor english !  My poloniex lending bot [Release 1.5 ready !] https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1531889.0

|||||| Need a loan ? ==> https://btcpop.co/Home/1705/btk ||||||   ▁ ▂ ▄ ▅ ▆  Cloudmining 101 (ponzi risk assessment)  ▆ ▅ ▄ ▂ ▁
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 09:54:10 PM
 #4749

You can excahnge for btc, for example on vircurex or btc-e.

Sorry since I am not familiar with exchanges yet, how do I go about selling them and what should I expect to get for them?

Thanks
hackattack2077
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


back in the game


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 09:59:28 PM
 #4750

If I had a power outage and was running bitminter client for say 10 hours,does all my work/payout get lost? This has happened to me 3 times so far because of storms here. Does it automatically save the amount of work you did? I just paid 4 grand for 2 60gh/s machines from bflabs. Like right now,Im about to exit th program but dont kno if I can because all my work/pay will get lost? Does the pool always know how much work you put in,no matter if the program quits unexpectedly?

Successful Trades so far-
Haploid23,TangibleCryptography,FullLife,gigavps,imsaguy,superfastkyle,BCB,USD2BTC,astana,immukization,atc777,koukan exchange (awesome and fast service!!!!),DannyHamilton,Greendots,and escrow all the way through JohnK(Global Moderator/Grand Pooh-Ba) baby!!! (Now Dannyhamilton is my go to guy for escrow,he's a pro!)
westkybitcoins
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980

Firstbits: Compromised. Thanks, Android!


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 10:00:31 PM
 #4751

Dude the NSA has the keys to everything and not just Microsoft.

Well, it's true that there are other vulnerabilities that they can exploit, but since Linux is open source, it's not as easy as just having the OS developer build a back door right into the code.


I'am going to research linux For my mining rig thank you for the suggestion .
Is there an easy way to get started with linux or is it just google the info?

The easiest way may be to buy a system with Linux tested and pre-installed. From what I understand, Linux sometimes has trouble with hardware, specifically with having drivers for everything.

As far as using it, Google can get you off to a decent start if you're computer savvy, but some companies that sell the Linux OS (I believe Red Hat is one) also offer customer support.


You can excahnge for btc, for example on vircurex or btc-e.

Sorry since I am not familiar with exchanges yet, how do I go about selling them and what should I expect to get for them?

Thanks


Current exchange rate on BTC-e (http://btc-e.com) is about 225 NMC to 1 BTC. Very roughly, that makes them worth about $0.50 each.

Bitcoin is the ultimate freedom test. It tells you who is giving lip service and who genuinely believes in it.
...
...
In the future, books that summarize the history of money will have a line that says, “and then came bitcoin.” It is the economic singularity. And we are living in it now. - Ryan Dickherber
...
...
ATTENTION BFL MINING NEWBS: Just got your Jalapenos in? Wondering how to get the most value for the least hassle? Give BitMinter a try! It's a smaller pool with a fair & low-fee payment method, lots of statistical feedback, and it's easier than EasyMiner! (Yes, we want your hashing power, but seriously, it IS the easiest pool to use! Sign up in seconds to try it!)
...
...
The idea that deflation causes hoarding (to any problematic degree) is a lie used to justify theft of value from your savings.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2013, 10:03:03 PM
 #4752

If I had a power outage and was running bitminter client for say 10 hours,does all my work/payout get lost? This has happened to me 3 times so far because of storms here. Does it automatically save the amount of work you did? I just paid 4 grand for 2 60gh/s machines from bflabs. Like right now,Im about to exit th program but dont kno if I can because all my work/pay will get lost? Does the pool always know how much work you put in,no matter if the program quits unexpectedly?

No, nothing is lost. When the accepted proofs of work tick up in the client it means the server accepted the work, and the server keeps track of that. The stats in the client are just for the current session, since the last time you restarted the client. There's also a button to reset the stats in the client, which is quite safe to use, it won't affect the work registered at the server.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
hackattack2077
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


back in the game


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 10:22:20 PM
 #4753

Thank you.I just hit reset on all my engines,and fired up the program again. It was saying stuff like error extraneous data lost ok-that doesnt mean I lost my work correct?

Successful Trades so far-
Haploid23,TangibleCryptography,FullLife,gigavps,imsaguy,superfastkyle,BCB,USD2BTC,astana,immukization,atc777,koukan exchange (awesome and fast service!!!!),DannyHamilton,Greendots,and escrow all the way through JohnK(Global Moderator/Grand Pooh-Ba) baby!!! (Now Dannyhamilton is my go to guy for escrow,he's a pro!)
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
October 13, 2013, 10:22:51 PM
 #4754

Dude the NSA has the keys to everything and not just Microsoft.

Well, it's true that there are other vulnerabilities that they can exploit, but since Linux is open source, it's not as easy as just having the OS developer build a back door right into the code.


Yes but you don't seem to understand the magnitude of the issue. How many open source Linux servers are running at companies with more than 1000 users? Not a lot, I know this because a close friend of mine who will remain nameless (to protect his job) works for EMC and spends most of his time putting out fires and doing doing migrations and such for EMC/Microsoft traveling the world being onsite at places he's told me a few times that it would risk the security of his family if he told me where he was. The bottom line is we don't live in an open source world, the NSA has the keys to everything, even the products which hold our internet infrastructure together, and I am not trying to scare you or anyone I am just trying to put things into better perspective as most people are too blind to really see how deep the rabbit hole goes! Smiley

I am not really sure if open source is that safe to tell you truth that I am sure the NSA has a team of people working on that too, and I am sure in the future we'll hear something about as more and more people start to become self-aware and leak more info to the rest of the world.

That's my 2 cents. So don't be scared that someone is watching out for you! Smiley

cesmak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 716



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 07:57:23 AM
 #4755

You can excahnge for btc, for example on vircurex or btc-e.

Sorry since I am not familiar with exchanges yet, how do I go about selling them and what should I expect to get for them?

Thanks


The sites are : https://www.vircurex.com and https://www.btc-e.com you register on one of the sites (the alt coins quotations are very similar in the two exchangers, so choose one you like more, (if you have small ammounts use vircurex that has a transfer minimum limit lower than btc-e)) you receive (on the sites) a nmc addres, send there your nmc and when they are credited trade for btc.

Sorry for my poor english !  My poloniex lending bot [Release 1.5 ready !] https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1531889.0

|||||| Need a loan ? ==> https://btcpop.co/Home/1705/btk ||||||   ▁ ▂ ▄ ▅ ▆  Cloudmining 101 (ponzi risk assessment)  ▆ ▅ ▄ ▂ ▁
overunity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 10:16:22 AM
 #4756

The check boxes still do not save .

This is for multi core pc ,I have q6600 with 4 cores .

But,I seem to have made the performance of bitminter far more responsive and generally my computer loads things faster .

I have not read this info here so I will tell you what I did .

1) Right click on taskbar at bottom of desktop screen .

2) Click taskmanager .

3) Click tab called processes.

4) click on Image name ( this stops the processes moving up and down fast so you can click em )

5)right click bitcoin-qt.exe

6) click "set affinity" uncheck cpu 0 and cpu 1 ( these are the ones that are most used by my system )

7) clicked on javaw.exe and set affinity uncheck cpu o and cpu1.

8)also did it for bitguard.exe.

Basically my system uses the first 2 cores as priority so by limiting some programs to only the second 2 cores it allows my system to run on first two while things like java and bitcoin and what ever else we have running extra to focus on the generally unused no 3 and four cores .

My system was taking forever to startup due to bitcoin-qt dominating cores 1 and 2 ,now they run on 3 and 4 was boot up is back to what it used to be .

Hope this does the same for others .



philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 12:02:52 PM
 #4757

I posted this offer on bitcointalk


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310510.msg3335784#msg3335784


basically a decent deal 6.6gh of sticks and a pair of  hubs.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
Cascaders28
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 02:08:32 PM
 #4758

The check boxes still do not save .

This is for multi core pc ,I have q6600 with 4 cores .

But,I seem to have made the performance of bitminter far more responsive and generally my computer loads things faster .

I have not read this info here so I will tell you what I did .

1) Right click on taskbar at bottom of desktop screen .

2) Click taskmanager .

3) Click tab called processes.

4) click on Image name ( this stops the processes moving up and down fast so you can click em )

5)right click bitcoin-qt.exe

6) click "set affinity" uncheck cpu 0 and cpu 1 ( these are the ones that are most used by my system )

7) clicked on javaw.exe and set affinity uncheck cpu o and cpu1.

8)also did it for bitguard.exe.

Basically my system uses the first 2 cores as priority so by limiting some programs to only the second 2 cores it allows my system to run on first two while things like java and bitcoin and what ever else we have running extra to focus on the generally unused no 3 and four cores .

My system was taking forever to startup due to bitcoin-qt dominating cores 1 and 2 ,now they run on 3 and 4 was boot up is back to what it used to be .

Hope this does the same for others .






I don't think very many people are still CPU mining but this is a helpful tip for any processor intensive programs that might be affecting performance.
hackattack2077
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


back in the game


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 05:31:15 PM
 #4759

Can someone please help me. How the hell do I transfer my bitcoins Ive made from the bitminter website to my wallet? Is auto cash out thing the only option? I just dont understand the min threshold thing. If I just choose auto cash out,and set min threshold to say 1000 bcoins,will all of my coins be deposited to my address?

Successful Trades so far-
Haploid23,TangibleCryptography,FullLife,gigavps,imsaguy,superfastkyle,BCB,USD2BTC,astana,immukization,atc777,koukan exchange (awesome and fast service!!!!),DannyHamilton,Greendots,and escrow all the way through JohnK(Global Moderator/Grand Pooh-Ba) baby!!! (Now Dannyhamilton is my go to guy for escrow,he's a pro!)
TheQuin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 05:35:17 PM
 #4760

Can someone please help me. How the hell do I transfer my bitcoins Ive made from the bitminter website to my wallet? Is auto cash out thing the only option? I just dont understand the min threshold thing. If I just choose auto cash out,and set min threshold to say 1000 bcoins,will all of my coins be deposited to my address?

Just set the min to less than your balance.

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
FREEBITCO.IN Win up to $200 in BTC every hour. Absolutely free.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
Pages: « 1 ... 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 [238] 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!