Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:49:31 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827147 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
November 08, 2011, 08:22:17 PM
 #2001

i had the exact same problem
i reverted to version 2.0.6 and it worked
1481402971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402971
Reply with quote  #2

1481402971
Report to moderator
1481402971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402971
Reply with quote  #2

1481402971
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481402971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402971
Reply with quote  #2

1481402971
Report to moderator
1481402971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402971
Reply with quote  #2

1481402971
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2011, 10:22:14 PM
 #2002

That won't help if it's the first time you're running it...

If you have a previous working version, you can copy all the .bin files from there into the directory of the new version and it should work. It remains a mysterious windows only bug.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
November 09, 2011, 02:29:04 AM
 #2003

I just wanted to reiterate the importance of having backup pools.  cgminer makes failover super easy and I actually get more shares submitted with multiple pools.  When my Pool 0 doesn't provide work fast enough, cgminer is smart enough to send a few shares to Pool 1 and then go back to the primary when it gets work.

What would be the best way to setup solo-mining as a backup? This would be helpful in case of another large scale DDOS attack that takes a bunch of pools out.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 02:31:47 AM
 #2004

I just wanted to reiterate the importance of having backup pools.  cgminer makes failover super easy and I actually get more shares submitted with multiple pools.  When my Pool 0 doesn't provide work fast enough, cgminer is smart enough to send a few shares to Pool 1 and then go back to the primary when it gets work.

What would be the best way to setup solo-mining as a backup? This would be helpful in case of another large scale DDOS attack that takes a bunch of pools out.

cgminer just sees your solo mine as another pool.  So from cgminer perspective it is the same (except the "url" is an IP address usually 127.0.0.1).  You need to setup your bitcoind to accept RPC calls and provide it a RPC username/pass in bitcoind.conf.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:03:27 AM
 #2005

I just wanted to reiterate the importance of having backup pools.  cgminer makes failover super easy and I actually get more shares submitted with multiple pools.  When my Pool 0 doesn't provide work fast enough, cgminer is smart enough to send a few shares to Pool 1 and then go back to the primary when it gets work.

What would be the best way to setup solo-mining as a backup? This would be helpful in case of another large scale DDOS attack that takes a bunch of pools out.
cgminer just sees your solo mine as another pool.  So from cgminer perspective it is the same (except the "url" is an IP address usually 127.0.0.1).  You need to setup your bitcoind to accept RPC calls and provide it a RPC username/pass in bitcoind.conf.
Have you tried this in 3.0.7?  I know from previous posts of solo miners (who I assume don't mine to a pool since they complained about this) that it actually doesn't show rejects like a pool because it knows they aren't shares because it knows the real difficulty target.  I wouldn't be surprised if you can still just add it to the list, but I also wouldn't be surprised if you needed to set up a pool so the target difficulty would match and the shares would get accepted (similar to how you can't mine two different chains directly from CGMiner [not merged mining], although they have different hash targets difficulty notwithstanding).
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:20:51 AM
 #2006

I just wanted to reiterate the importance of having backup pools.  cgminer makes failover super easy and I actually get more shares submitted with multiple pools.  When my Pool 0 doesn't provide work fast enough, cgminer is smart enough to send a few shares to Pool 1 and then go back to the primary when it gets work.

What would be the best way to setup solo-mining as a backup? This would be helpful in case of another large scale DDOS attack that takes a bunch of pools out.

I have solo mining setup as my last backup.

I start my bitcoin client with something like "bitcoin.exe -rpcuser=username -rpcpassword=password -server" from the bitcoin client directory.

Then I point CG Miner at "-o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u username -p password" just like any other pool.

So I have the Bitcoin client and CG Miner running all the time.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2011, 03:30:52 AM
 #2007

You can add solo mining as a backup in the current version as well, it just won't show any shares because there's no such thing, only block solves.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:35:27 AM
 #2008

You can add solo mining as a backup in the current version as well, it just won't show any shares because there's no such thing, only block solves.

How do we know for sure that it is actually working?  I'm still using 2.0.5 part of the time because it gives feedback that solo mining is working.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2011, 03:44:21 AM
 #2009

You can add solo mining as a backup in the current version as well, it just won't show any shares because there's no such thing, only block solves.

How do we know for sure that it is actually working?  I'm still using 2.0.5 part of the time because it gives feedback that solo mining is working.
Sam
Faith....

Or debug mode if you're really concerned.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 03:56:26 AM
 #2010

You can add solo mining as a backup in the current version as well, it just won't show any shares because there's no such thing, only block solves.

How do we know for sure that it is actually working?  I'm still using 2.0.5 part of the time because it gives feedback that solo mining is working.
Sam
Faith....

Or debug mode if you're really concerned.

I thought you were going to say something like that Smiley

As for debug mode, that would have a serious performance hit wouldn't it?

I'm fairly confident in my configuration now so I guess it doesn't matter much now moving forward as I can always fire up an older version to test if I felt the need.

I was a little unnerved when I stopped my client running in server mode and CG Miner kept hashing at full speed.  I would have thought it would have detected the failure.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2011, 04:30:37 AM
 #2011

The CPU usage of cgminer is extremely low. Most of the CPU usage you see is the driver interacting with the GPU. Even in debug mode there would be no demonstrable performance hit. As for hashing, it will hash if there's something to hash and something to communicate with. It won't keep hashing randomly on any old shit just to pass the time. So if it was hashing, then it was still communicating with something, or the driver hung.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 04:35:49 AM
 #2012

The CPU usage of cgminer is extremely low. Most of the CPU usage you see is the driver interacting with the GPU. Even in debug mode there would be no demonstrable performance hit. As for hashing, it will hash if there's something to hash and something to communicate with. It won't keep hashing randomly on any old shit just to pass the time. So if it was hashing, then it was still communicating with something, or the driver hung.

Hmm,  I may do some more testing on my config and see.  I'm sure I probably did something wrong or overlooked something.

Anyway I have *faith* that it's working correctly now. Smiley
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
November 10, 2011, 12:12:18 AM
 #2013

Bump.

Is cgminer better than guiminer and barelyclocked?

Does it support voltage changes on a lot of cards? Do they have to be of the same model?
Im using guiminer + barelyclocked ATM, but with BC I cannot change voltage or memory clocks on my non-ref VTX3D HD 6850 (only trixx does that well but I can only increase it), on my Sapphire non-ref HD 5850s I can only OC GPU core to 900MHz (memory and voltage changing works fine).

Ok, someone said I might get 7Mhash/s more, anyone got answers to my other questions? Smiley
Tartarus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 01:14:16 AM
 #2014

Bump.

Is cgminer better than guiminer and barelyclocked?

Does it support voltage changes on a lot of cards? Do they have to be of the same model?
Im using guiminer + barelyclocked ATM, but with BC I cannot change voltage or memory clocks on my non-ref VTX3D HD 6850 (only trixx does that well but I can only increase it), on my Sapphire non-ref HD 5850s I can only OC GPU core to 900MHz (memory and voltage changing works fine).

Ok, someone said I might get 7Mhash/s more, anyone got answers to my other questions? Smiley

There's options for engine/memory/voltage, but I ran AMDOverdriveCtrl before I fired up cgminer to modify the ranges, so I can't say if it will modify them outside the normal scope.  I think it might be easier for you to build/download cgminer, pause your current miner for a minute and try Smiley

Find the above useful?  Send tips to 1KjoJihf7GWHWeQFhDmaw4g7xorkmD13u
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 02:12:49 PM
 #2015

What messages does -quiet include?

Rejected shares?
Pool unavailable?
Not providing work fast enough?
Hardware failure?

Essentially I would like an output which has everything except accepted shares to make the logs more compact.  Is that possible?

I think -quiet also removes rejected share and "not fast enough" notifications so it is kinda too quiet.

Also what is the syntax for using -text-only and -quiet flags in configuration file.  I can get them working from commandline but trying
Code:
"quiet",
"text-only"
in config file results in parse error.  The example config file has no "valueless" configuration items so not sure what the syntax is.

I thought maybe I need a "dummy value" for the variable : value format so I tried
Code:
"quiet" : "0",
"text-only" : "0"

but I got a different parse error (invalid value for text-only).   Huh

Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 03:56:59 PM
 #2016

Code:
"quiet" : true

Works for me.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 04:11:31 PM
 #2017

Code:
"quiet" : true

Works for me.

DOH.   Roll Eyes

Thx.
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
November 10, 2011, 04:51:22 PM
 #2018

Avast suddenly started throwing false positives on cgminer recently.  I don't know if it was included in a recent defs update or what.  I have submitted a false positive report to Avast for review.  You're welcome!  Grin
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 07:59:02 PM
 #2019

Can the MSI Afterburner and ATI CCC be uninstalled from and Windoze XP mining systems since I'm using CG Miner for the clocking?
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 10, 2011, 08:03:17 PM
 #2020

Can the MSI Afterburner and ATI CCC be uninstalled from and Windoze XP mining systems since I'm using CG Miner for the clocking?
Thanks,
Sam

Yes.  I find the system a little more stable without CC.  Only other utility I use is GPU-Z because it has some nice monitoring features like checking VRM temps.
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!