Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:31:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1530196 times)
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 12:22:48 PM
 #141

Why would you want that? minerd, was originally meant for bitcoin, back when GPUs weren't around. Now that they are, not only is a CPU miner obsolete, it will only suck electricity, and you will literally not gain any bitcoins off of it.
And if you really want a CPU miner, get CGminer, it has that in(since it is originally, minerd).

Well I could use the extra heat in the winter.
But seriously, while the GPUs mining, my CPU is unstressed and feels rather obsolete.
I'll look into CGminer but by the looks of the first post it doesn't appear to be as user friendly as GUIMiner.

I haven't done the math, but I'm thinking you'll make more money mining the cpu chain, LTC for example.  And then selling them for bitcoins, rather than running your CPU to mine bitcoins directly.
That's what i do and what i suggest to do too
1481207483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207483
Reply with quote  #2

1481207483
Report to moderator
1481207483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207483
Reply with quote  #2

1481207483
Report to moderator
1481207483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207483
Reply with quote  #2

1481207483
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481207483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207483
Reply with quote  #2

1481207483
Report to moderator
1481207483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207483
Reply with quote  #2

1481207483
Report to moderator
mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 02:14:01 PM
 #142

I finally figured out how to use this........yes I'm a bit slow and new to using github stuff.... and it's doubled my hashing rate. I tried putting it on my btc mining rig but it makes my gpu's drop DRASTICALLY, any way to fix that?

Set low priority. In linux start the litecoin miner with "nice":

Code:
screen nice ./your_lite_coin_script

(Screen is optional; it lets you attach and detach console sessions)

IN windows open task manager and set process priority to lowest.

In windows you can also use "start /low /wait X:\path\to\minerd.exe --(params)" to start miner in low priority.

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
meti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 02:55:15 PM
 #143

Hi!

I just tried to build this form github on OsX 10.7.2 and got an error at ./configure :

checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
./configure: line 5107: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5107: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'

I don't know if it's just my system as i quite often fail to build something from source  Sad

1CwizNne7EM7E1jk9qBcrZwc9huCvKiooM Smiley
kjlimo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


View Profile WWW
January 05, 2012, 03:53:38 PM
 #144

I finally figured out how to use this........yes I'm a bit slow and new to using github stuff.... and it's doubled my hashing rate. I tried putting it on my btc mining rig but it makes my gpu's drop DRASTICALLY, any way to fix that?

Set low priority. In linux start the litecoin miner with "nice":

Code:
screen nice ./your_lite_coin_script

(Screen is optional; it lets you attach and detach console sessions)

IN windows open task manager and set process priority to lowest.

Yes, I have considered this, but haven't messed with it just yet.  I drop the priority for the dedicated cores I put to it, but haven't messed with running both a GPU and a CPU associated with the same core with the minerd at lower priority.

I may fiddle with it eventually, but it's only 6 cores that I have right now.  Not too much I'm leaving on the table given CPU chain value ATM.

CampBX for buying BTCs, Coinbase for selling BTCs or Vircurex or Cryptsy for trading alternate cryptocurrencies like DOGEs

PM me with any questions on these sites!  Happy to help!

Bitcoin Poker at Seals                  Strike Sapphire Casino  Free games every hour & day!
  Get Free Bitcoins here.

Spondoolies-Tech or KnC Miner for the fastest mining hardware available!

Bitpay to help your business accept bitcoin payments!
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 04:05:50 PM
 #145

Saw a 30-40% increase in speed on my 1090T! Fantastic work Smiley
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 05, 2012, 04:11:54 PM
 #146


Yes, I have considered this, but haven't messed with it just yet.  I drop the priority for the dedicated cores I put to it, but haven't messed with running both a GPU and a CPU associated with the same core with the minerd at lower priority.

It works just fine. No need to mess with assigning cores to threads. There is no bitcoin mining performance impact on my rigs from running litecoin miner.

Quote
I may fiddle with it eventually, but it's only 6 cores that I have right now.  Not too much I'm leaving on the table given CPU chain value ATM.

No fortunes no, but I mine about 1000 LTC per month with 2 rigs. For now at least, thats a bitcoin or two. Still nice.

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
January 05, 2012, 06:57:53 PM
 #147

On the windows version, I get ~11.34 kh/s per core on a 2600K @ 4.5GHz, or a total of 45.36 kh/s

Pretty fast!

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 08:30:30 PM
 #148


Yes, I have considered this, but haven't messed with it just yet.  I drop the priority for the dedicated cores I put to it, but haven't messed with running both a GPU and a CPU associated with the same core with the minerd at lower priority.

It works just fine. No need to mess with assigning cores to threads. There is no bitcoin mining performance impact on my rigs from running litecoin miner.

Quote
I may fiddle with it eventually, but it's only 6 cores that I have right now.  Not too much I'm leaving on the table given CPU chain value ATM.

No fortunes no, but I mine about 1000 LTC per month with 2 rigs. For now at least, thats a bitcoin or two. Still nice.
If you are realling mining a bitcoin or two per month, is it not better to give up? You are wasting more electricity than you are earning money...

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 05, 2012, 08:40:56 PM
 #149

These machines are on anyway, and the added power draw is on the order of 40W per CPU, depending on CPU (laptop is substantially less, main rig a tad more). That doesnt cost me $12 per month, but thats for everyone to calculate.

maxcarjuzaa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 09:36:48 PM
 #150

Is it possible to compile it under ubuntu 10.04? I am getting the following error.

./configure: line 5013: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5013: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'


I have the previous version running without issues on the system getting this error.


Thank you!
Choad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 09:52:40 PM
 #151

Is it possible to compile it under ubuntu 10.04? I am getting the following error.

./configure: line 5013: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5013: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'


I have the previous version running without issues on the system getting this error.


Thank you!

You need libcurl and libcurl-dev.  Run automake again, then configure.

Edit: You'll have to undo what automake did.  It seems like there's a command, but I forgot it, so I just deleted the directory and unzipped it again.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 11:12:22 PM
 #152

A quick update w/ the newer binaries for windows 64bit.
I tested them on a BD FX4100 @ stock speeds and it now gets 4.55kh/s / thread.
Quite an improvement! =)
Before, I got maybe 2.3kh/s / thread.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 12:14:15 PM
 #153

A quick update w/ the newer binaries for windows 64bit.
I tested them on a BD FX4100 @ stock speeds and it now gets 4.55kh/s / thread.
Quite an improvement! =)
Before, I got maybe 2.3kh/s / thread.
Same impressive increase for me: with the version published around December 20 I got like 3.6-3.8kh/s, now I'm at 5.0-5.1kh/s, on a P2X4 955 @ 3.6GHz (all that being per thread, of course). Going to try that on my Linux C2D E6550 ASAP...

Edit: no improvement for the C2DE6550. Well, this restored the AMD/Intel balance then  Grin

-
meti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 12:49:57 PM
 #154

Hi!

I just tried to build this form github on OsX 10.7.2 and got an error at ./configure :

checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
./configure: line 5107: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5107: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'

I don't know if it's just my system as i quite often fail to build something from source  Sad


Hm I got ./configure to finish normally after removing everything from macports and installing fink and libcurl via fink.

Now i'm getting these errors from make:

Code:
noname:cpuminer Matthias$ make
make  all-recursive
Making all in compat
Making all in jansson
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT dump.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/dump.Tpo -c -o dump.o dump.c
mv -f .deps/dump.Tpo .deps/dump.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT hashtable.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/hashtable.Tpo -c -o hashtable.o hashtable.c
mv -f .deps/hashtable.Tpo .deps/hashtable.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT load.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/load.Tpo -c -o load.o load.c
mv -f .deps/load.Tpo .deps/load.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT strbuffer.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/strbuffer.Tpo -c -o strbuffer.o strbuffer.c
mv -f .deps/strbuffer.Tpo .deps/strbuffer.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT utf.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/utf.Tpo -c -o utf.o utf.c
mv -f .deps/utf.Tpo .deps/utf.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT value.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/value.Tpo -c -o value.o value.c
mv -f .deps/value.Tpo .deps/value.Po
rm -f libjansson.a
ar cru libjansson.a dump.o hashtable.o load.o strbuffer.o utf.o value.o
ranlib libjansson.a
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/sw/include   -g -O2 -MT minerd-cpu-miner.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-cpu-miner.Tpo -c -o minerd-cpu-miner.o `test -f 'cpu-miner.c' || echo './'`cpu-miner.c
mv -f .deps/minerd-cpu-miner.Tpo .deps/minerd-cpu-miner.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/sw/include   -g -O2 -MT minerd-util.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-util.Tpo -c -o minerd-util.o `test -f 'util.c' || echo './'`util.c
mv -f .deps/minerd-util.Tpo .deps/minerd-util.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/sw/include   -g -O2 -MT minerd-scrypt.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-scrypt.Tpo -c -o minerd-scrypt.o `test -f 'scrypt.c' || echo './'`scrypt.c
mv -f .deps/minerd-scrypt.Tpo .deps/minerd-scrypt.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/sw/include   -g -O2 -MT minerd-scrypt-x86.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-scrypt-x86.Tpo -c -o minerd-scrypt-x86.o `test -f 'scrypt-x86.S' || echo './'`scrypt-x86.S
mv -f .deps/minerd-scrypt-x86.Tpo .deps/minerd-scrypt-x86.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/sw/include   -g -O2 -MT minerd-scrypt-x64.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-scrypt-x64.Tpo -c -o minerd-scrypt-x64.o `test -f 'scrypt-x64.S' || echo './'`scrypt-x64.S
scrypt-x64.S:147:Alignment too large: 15. assumed.
scrypt-x64.S:11:expecting operand before ','; got nothing
scrypt-x64.S:11:expecting operand before ','; got nothing
scrypt-x64.S:11:expecting operand before ','; got nothing
scrypt-x64.S:11:expecting operand before ','; got nothing
scrypt-x64.S:11:suffix or operands invalid for `rol'
scrypt-x64.S:11:suffix or operands invalid for `rol'
scrypt-x64.S:11:suffix or operands invalid for `rol'
scrypt-x64.S:11:suffix or operands invalid for `rol'

...and so on...


that was before from ./configure (looks ok to me) :

Code:
noname:cpuminer Matthias$ aclocal
noname:cpuminer Matthias$ ./autogen.sh
configure.ac:15: installing `./compile'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing `./config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing `./install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing `./missing'
compat/jansson/Makefile.am: installing `./depcomp'
Makefile.am: installing `./INSTALL'
noname:cpuminer Matthias$ ./configure
checking build system type... x86_64-apple-darwin11.2.0
checking host system type... x86_64-apple-darwin11.2.0
checking target system type... x86_64-apple-darwin11.2.0
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... ./install-sh -c -d
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... no
checking for nawk... no
checking for awk... awk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /usr/bin/grep
checking for egrep... /usr/bin/grep -E
checking whether gcc needs -traditional... no
checking whether gcc and cc understand -c and -o together... yes
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking syslog.h usability... yes
checking syslog.h presence... yes
checking for syslog.h... yes
checking for size_t... yes
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
checking for pkg-config... /sw/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for gawk... (cached) awk
checking for curl-config... /sw/bin/curl-config
checking for the version of libcurl... 7.23.1
checking for libcurl >= version 7.10.1... yes
checking whether libcurl is usable... yes
checking for curl_free... yes
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating compat/Makefile
config.status: creating compat/jansson/Makefile
config.status: creating cpuminer-config.h
config.status: executing depfiles commands

1CwizNne7EM7E1jk9qBcrZwc9huCvKiooM Smiley
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 06, 2012, 12:52:56 PM
 #155

blabla
Did you use pooler's expanded macro code?
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 01:32:21 PM
 #156

Yet more cheers for Pooler!

Previous is the Dec 20th miner vs the current one(per thread):

Mobile i7 q 720 - 1.7kh/s vs 1.9kh/s
I7-2600k @ 4.8ghz w/HT 5kh/s vs 6.25! (50kh/s from a single CPU!)

I started mining on one of my older ESXi machines:

Dual AMD Opteron 2216 (2.4ghz) - 1.7kh/s per thread

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
meti
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 01:42:20 PM
 #157

blabla
Did you use pooler's expanded macro code?

No. I don't really understand what you want me to do. I think I'll have to stay with the christmas binary.

1CwizNne7EM7E1jk9qBcrZwc9huCvKiooM Smiley
maxcarjuzaa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 01:51:43 PM
 #158

Is it possible to compile it under ubuntu 10.04? I am getting the following error.

./configure: line 5013: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 5013: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.10.1, ,'


I have the previous version running without issues on the system getting this error.


Thank you!

You need libcurl and libcurl-dev.  Run automake again, then configure.

Edit: You'll have to undo what automake did.  It seems like there's a command, but I forgot it, so I just deleted the directory and unzipped it again.

Problem Solved
1) sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev
2) delete directory
3) unzip
4) build
5) Working!!!! TY!

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 07, 2012, 03:42:30 PM
 #159

Here are the new binaries for Mac OS X, courtesy of shawnp0wers:

https://github.com/downloads/pooler/cpuminer/pooler-cpuminer-osx32-20120103.zip (OS X 10.4)
https://github.com/downloads/pooler/cpuminer/pooler-cpuminer-osx64-20120103.zip (OS X 10.6/7)

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Sherkel
aka Tombstoner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
January 08, 2012, 12:49:06 AM
 #160

OH MY GOD! This increased my hash rate on my laptop alone by almost a factor of 10! Thank you so much!

What do you get when you cross dominoes and The Matrix?
<A dominatrix!>
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!