Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 02:58:58 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1803819 times)
gigica viteazu`
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457

beast at work


View Profile
August 29, 2013, 10:34:38 AM
 #681

For the fun of it I compiled cpuminer on Raspberry PI, which is overclocked to 800MHz

Scrypt mining runs at 0.36khs  Grin


 Grin

running on default (not overclocked) raspberry pi (archlinux)

Code:
[2013-08-29 11:30:21] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-08-29 11:30:59] thread 0: 1662 hashes, 0.29 khash/s

BURST-3FDG-W622-8KAF-E52KP
1506308338
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506308338

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506308338
Reply with quote  #2

1506308338
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 08:47:10 AM
 #682

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Doesn't compile Sad

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:41:38 AM
 #683

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:44:13 AM
 #684

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:55:51 AM
 #685

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 10:16:01 AM
 #686

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.

I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 10:37:05 AM
 #687

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.
I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.
You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 11:21:09 AM
 #688

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.
I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.
You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.

According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:21:42 PM
 #689

You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.
According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?
Unfortunately different distros have different philosophies on this.
Jeff Garzik, the original author of cpuminer and pushpool, commented on this problem a long time ago, and I think he has a point there.
https://github.com/jgarzik/pushpool/pull/31

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:31:15 PM
 #690

You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.
According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?
Unfortunately different distros have different philosophies on this.
Jeff Garzik, the original author of cpuminer and pushpool, commented on this problem a long time ago, and I think he has a point there.
https://github.com/jgarzik/pushpool/pull/31

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:47:45 PM
 #691

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.
That may be true, but I couldn't find an official source confirming this. Even more importantly, I couldn't find a reason why the m4 file shouldn't be distributed with libcurl itself, given that if I'm not mistaken it's maintained as part of libcurl.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 01:01:20 PM
 #692

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.
That may be true, but I couldn't find an official source confirming this. Even more importantly, I couldn't find a reason why the m4 file shouldn't be distributed with libcurl itself, given that if I'm not mistaken it's maintained as part of libcurl.

*shrug* Oh, well. I'll just find it online and fetch it to build the latest git.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
cassieheart
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 01:46:11 PM
 #693

Is there a x86 and x64 version already compiled where i can just enter my info save click and run ? I am lost when it comes to this stuff Wink
simpic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473


View Profile
September 08, 2013, 07:17:18 PM
 #694

I discover this program today!
Finally i can use my old pc to mine alt coin!

Thank you.

Il primo sito ad aver parlato di bitcoin in Italia: MoneyWantersForum (20 maggio 2010)
Pt0x
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 268



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:22:33 AM
 #695

I discover this program today!
Finally i can use my old pc to mine alt coin!

Thank you.

You should mine Primecoins. Right now it´s the only altcoin that runs mostly on CPU. (There is a GPU miner but it needs to be optimized).

BTC: 17sz6AoYVpwXjaStmnVCsGTufUhvrAMhTw , LTC: LUWo5J289f6MZhmZLTYWDzUyqyJd2n9JwB , XPM: AG98KMnHmZwoLorB4o3Kt7bbFMsn9rcDYS
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
October 20, 2013, 09:35:44 PM
 #696

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).

It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
 
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 12:37:07 PM
 #697

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).
It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
I think it's the first time I hear about this problem. Do you know of a way to reproduce the issue? It would be nice if you could file a bug report via the issue tracker at GitHub.

EDIT: For future reference, here's the link to bug report. (It turned out to be an issue with the Windows port used for cudaMiner.)

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 04:26:17 AM
 #698

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).
It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
I think it's the first time I hear about this problem. Do you know of a way to reproduce the issue?

I reported this problem in this thread 3 months ago here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=55038.msg2754826#msg2754826 although I was not sure where the problem came from.

BTC 1HxvAEC4nj37hyenz9DwsyrMMnkwzpbzno PPC PU6zS8RRBWP2UxhuRFengGsu8n4tEYB5xV XPM AJAgBpPjGQoL38mrtW91dVqhbMHqu25vfG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
November 01, 2013, 08:22:14 AM
 #699

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).
It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
I think it's the first time I hear about this problem. Do you know of a way to reproduce the issue?
I reported this problem in this thread 3 months ago here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=55038.msg2754826#msg2754826 although I was not sure where the problem came from.
Yes, sorry, I didn't forget about you. What I really meant is that I had never heard of this problem by any cpuminer user, so I wanted to know if Christian knew of a way to reproduce the issue with cpuminer.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
igormkd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 10:13:09 PM
 #700

Whats the problem ??

Code:

[2013-11-03 00:12:20] Stratum detected new block
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 3: 6920 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 4: 6936 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 0: 6848 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 1: 6700 hashes, 0.25 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 2: 6860 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 5: 6892 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 6: 6832 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:20] thread 7: 6828 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:48] thread 5: 6988 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:48] accepted: 0/1 (0.00%), 2.05 khash/s (booooo)
[2013-11-03 00:12:50] thread 0: 7496 hashes, 0.26 khash/s
[2013-11-03 00:12:50] accepted: 0/2 (0.00%), 2.05 khash/s (booooo)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!