Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:22:17 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1531370 times)
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 11:46:54 PM
 #681

I am seeing "Stratum connection timed out" messages in the log and not getting credit on coinotron.
This is a known issue with Coinotron (it was first reported here).
The problem is the following: the frequency at which Coinotron sends out notifications is proportional to the speed of each miner, and (since share difficulty is fixed at a relatively high value) slow miners can go 120 seconds without any communication with the server. When that happens, cpuminer thinks that the connection to the pool is dead, and tries to reconnect. This is the same logic used by cgminer/bfgminer, and I believe it makes sense, because it's up to the pool to refresh the work at regular intervals and ensure that new transactions are getting included in block candidates. Letting a miner work on data older than 2 minutes is not acceptable.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481451737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451737
Reply with quote  #2

1481451737
Report to moderator
shawnim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 25, 2013, 01:22:37 AM
 #682

Thanks for the quick reply and the pointer to the original discussion Pooler!
Since it has been 3 months, I guess Coinotron decided not to bother fixing it.
Can you recommend another pool for ltc/ftc mining with pooler-cpuminer?
Thanks!
Shawn
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 25, 2013, 07:47:38 AM
 #683

Can you recommend another pool for ltc/ftc mining with pooler-cpuminer?
All other pools I have tried seem to work fine with cpuminer. You can find a list of Litecoin pools here.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
gigica viteazu`
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455

beast at work


View Profile
August 29, 2013, 10:34:38 AM
 #684

For the fun of it I compiled cpuminer on Raspberry PI, which is overclocked to 800MHz

Scrypt mining runs at 0.36khs  Grin


 Grin

running on default (not overclocked) raspberry pi (archlinux)

Code:
[2013-08-29 11:30:21] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-08-29 11:30:59] thread 0: 1662 hashes, 0.29 khash/s

BURST-3FDG-W622-8KAF-E52KP
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 08:47:10 AM
 #685

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Doesn't compile Sad

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:41:38 AM
 #686

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:44:13 AM
 #687

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:55:51 AM
 #688

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 10:16:01 AM
 #689

Code:
./autogen.sh
configure.ac:13: installing './compile'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.guess'
configure.ac:4: installing './config.sub'
configure.ac:6: installing './install-sh'
configure.ac:6: installing './missing'
Makefile.am:12: warning: 'INCLUDES' is the old name for 'AM_CPPFLAGS' (or '*_CPPFLAGS')
Makefile.am: installing './INSTALL'
Makefile.am: installing './depcomp'
configure.ac:114: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.

Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl (see first post).

By the way, installing from the tarball is the preferred method, as it's easier and more portable (it doesn't require you to run autotools).

I have libcurl installed. I'm guessing you used some deprecated feature that was removed in the latest version of the autotools.

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.

I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 10:37:05 AM
 #690

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.
I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.
You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 11:21:09 AM
 #691

I don't think there's a problem with your particular version of autotools. I've seen the above error message on some distros that fail to provide libcurl.m4 with the libcurl development package, and installing the file manually solved the issue. As you can see the error message is very cryptic, and that's one of the reasons why end users should prefer building from tarball.
I'm using Arch, and I'm not an end user.
You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.

According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:21:42 PM
 #692

You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.
According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?
Unfortunately different distros have different philosophies on this.
Jeff Garzik, the original author of cpuminer and pushpool, commented on this problem a long time ago, and I think he has a point there.
https://github.com/jgarzik/pushpool/pull/31

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:31:15 PM
 #693

You may want to check this yourself, but if I remember correctly Arch is one of those distros.
I'm on Gentoo right now, and have no problem building on it because Gentoo's curl package includes libcurl.m4.
According to this, it shouldn't be necessary: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/24610
Thoughts?
Unfortunately different distros have different philosophies on this.
Jeff Garzik, the original author of cpuminer and pushpool, commented on this problem a long time ago, and I think he has a point there.
https://github.com/jgarzik/pushpool/pull/31

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 12:47:45 PM
 #694

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.
That may be true, but I couldn't find an official source confirming this. Even more importantly, I couldn't find a reason why the m4 file shouldn't be distributed with libcurl itself, given that if I'm not mistaken it's maintained as part of libcurl.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 01:01:20 PM
 #695

But even curl upstream recommends distributing their m4 file with your source.

Quote from: falconindy
While it's true that you _could_ rely on the target system to have these files on hand, you're then opening yourself up to differences in versioning that might cause a different breed of trouble for folks building from git. libtool and autohell is self contained in this manner, and we can confidently distribute a known good build system intact with the source. curl upstream even recommends distributing their m4 file with your source code.
That may be true, but I couldn't find an official source confirming this. Even more importantly, I couldn't find a reason why the m4 file shouldn't be distributed with libcurl itself, given that if I'm not mistaken it's maintained as part of libcurl.

*shrug* Oh, well. I'll just find it online and fetch it to build the latest git.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1Jp2R7dF9gYr872FkXiap2MaYaHNEfwWhZ -- XMR: 42QWoLF7pdwMcTXDviJvNkWEHJ4TXnMBh2Cx6HNkVAW57E48Zfw6wLwDUYFDYJAqY7PLJUTz9cHWB5C4wUA7UJPu5wPf4sZ -- GPG Key ID: 0x88CBE71ADD5FB10F
cassieheart
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 01:46:11 PM
 #696

Is there a x86 and x64 version already compiled where i can just enter my info save click and run ? I am lost when it comes to this stuff Wink
simpic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 382


View Profile
September 08, 2013, 07:17:18 PM
 #697

I discover this program today!
Finally i can use my old pc to mine alt coin!

Thank you.

Pt0x
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267



View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:22:33 AM
 #698

I discover this program today!
Finally i can use my old pc to mine alt coin!

Thank you.

You should mine Primecoins. Right now it´s the only altcoin that runs mostly on CPU. (There is a GPU miner but it needs to be optimized).

BTC: 17sz6AoYVpwXjaStmnVCsGTufUhvrAMhTw , LTC: LUWo5J289f6MZhmZLTYWDzUyqyJd2n9JwB , XPM: AG98KMnHmZwoLorB4o3Kt7bbFMsn9rcDYS
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
October 20, 2013, 09:35:44 PM
 #699

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).

It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
 
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 12:37:07 PM
 #700

i think I know what's causing the program to hang after the "unable to parse newline terminated string" message. It's stratum_send_line holding the socket mutex while in an infinite loop trying to send data over an unresponsive/malfunctioning socket, while at the same time the stratum_disconnect() function tries to re-establish the socket after some kind of problem with the exisiting socket (timeout or not receiving any data).
It might make sense to try to fix this upstream in the cpuminer code, don't you think?
I think it's the first time I hear about this problem. Do you know of a way to reproduce the issue? It would be nice if you could file a bug report via the issue tracker at GitHub.

EDIT: For future reference, here's the link to bug report. (It turned out to be an issue with the Windows port used for cudaMiner.)

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!