Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:01:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1530879 times)
socket
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 05:31:33 PM
 #761

The latest version of stratum-mining-proxy will also accept stratum connections.  What about trying it through the proxy in order to confirm whether or not the timeouts are related to the software's proxy features?

I didn't realize that.  I've seen so many versions of it floating around and the last one updated for scrypt is over a year old.  Do you happen to have a link?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 05:57:38 PM
 #762

The latest version of stratum-mining-proxy will also accept stratum connections.  What about trying it through the proxy in order to confirm whether or not the timeouts are related to the software's proxy features?

I didn't realize that.  I've seen so many versions of it floating around and the last one updated for scrypt is over a year old.  Do you happen to have a link?
Does this count?
https://github.com/CryptoManiac/stratum-mining-proxy.git
I'm not sure where I got that, but I think it will scrypt and stratum, and you can git clone from it.
socket
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:54:36 PM
 #763

Thanks The00Dustin!  I tried stratum against my mining proxy and it does indeed work (no updated needed).

I figured out my problem pooler, but it still leaves me in a bit of a quandary.

It works if I use the pools IP.  DNS seems to be the the issue here.. though I'm not sure why. It's not cpuminers fault at all... firefox does it locally on the system too (even with network.proxy.socks_remote_dns set to true).  It's an old server (rhel 6.1) I'm using ssh on to do the dynamic forwarding.  Next step is to spin up a RHEL 6.5 system and see if it acts differently at all.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 10:48:06 PM
 #764

It works if I use the pools IP.  DNS seems to be the the issue here.. though I'm not sure why. It's not cpuminers fault at all... firefox does it locally on the system too (even with network.proxy.socks_remote_dns set to true).  It's an old server (rhel 6.1) I'm using ssh on to do the dynamic forwarding.  Next step is to spin up a RHEL 6.5 system and see if it acts differently at all.
The prefix socks5h:// is intended for remote name resolving. socks5:// should resolve locally.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
allwelder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


BlockChain.hk


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 12:56:25 PM
 #765

Pooler,
Could you help to give me some instruction for the minning.
Now I have updated the wallet,and register and set up in http://doge.scryptpools.com/
And I have download the CGMiner Windows,but when started,it display failed.
What should I do ?
Thanks.

WAVES Team Member:WavesPlatform  Blockchain Tech News:  BlockChain.hk
dark143i
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:29:33 PM
 #766

New problem. The mining automatically stops. I mean I run. It shows active in Workers page. However after approx 30 minutes. The worker becomes inactive. I tried waiting for it to become active however Its still inactive and I had to rerun it.

I am using Centos.
shinjikenny123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 02:05:12 PM
 #767

could anyone generate sha1 hash for pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64.zip just to make sure its still the real file

Bitcoin: 1BosF3XmmAtmihnaDJyUHYqEXZGsBmYj53
socket
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 11:57:28 PM
 #768

It works if I use the pools IP.  DNS seems to be the the issue here.. though I'm not sure why. It's not cpuminers fault at all... firefox does it locally on the system too (even with network.proxy.socks_remote_dns set to true).  It's an old server (rhel 6.1) I'm using ssh on to do the dynamic forwarding.  Next step is to spin up a RHEL 6.5 system and see if it acts differently at all.
The prefix socks5h:// is intended for remote name resolving. socks5:// should resolve locally.

Yup that did it (silly me.. not sure why that didn't occur to me).  Thanks again pooler!
scarface
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 08:16:11 AM
 #769

any settings i can use to raise my hashes on my amd phenom ii x4 965

im only getting 25 khash/s using scrypt (about 5 per core)
mindrust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 04:43:09 PM
 #770

i couldnt get my worker working please help.

http://oi43.tinypic.com/vmwxu1.jpg

downloaded cpu miner,

server    stratum+tcp://doge.scryptpools.com

port       3333

user          weblogin.minername

pass           miner pass


no work, halp many

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:26:11 PM
 #771

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

VanBreuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 381



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 07:29:40 PM
 #772

Hello all,

I'm not sure whether this is a server side problem or not. Pool: stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334

While current pre-compiled cpuminer returns this,

Code:
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] 6 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] Stratum authentication failed
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] ...retry after 30 seconds

I compiled this fork build suggested by the pool runner - https://github.com/Hartland/GPL-CPU-Miner/

And I get this instead:

./minerd -a scrypt -o stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/ -u XXXX -p XXXX -t6

Code:
[2013-12-14 18:18:26][2013-12-14 18:18:26] 6 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] ...retry after 30 seconds
[2013-12-14 18:18:57] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-14 18:18:57] ...retry after 30 seconds

Pool problem? Parameters problem? I haven't found answers so far, thank you in advance for any assistance.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:20:58 PM
 #773

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

What exactly are you seeing when you try to wget the binaries? We may be able to help diagnose.

pmconrad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2013, 08:59:50 PM
 #774


I'm not sure whether this is a server side problem or not. Pool: stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334


Apparently sexcoin pools are being DDOS'ed. See the sexcoin thread.

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 11:56:22 PM
 #775

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

What exactly are you seeing when you try to wget the binaries? We may be able to help diagnose.
This is the last tutorial I tried:

git clone https://github.com/ali1234/cpuminer

cd cpuminer

./autogen.sh

./configure CFLAGS="-O3"

make

make install

It failed when I entered ./autogen.sh simply said it didn't exist. Tried some others before that and every time there would be some file missing that I didn't know how to get. I know hot to install git.

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 12:02:29 AM
 #776

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.

Zen00
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 05:07:56 AM
 #777

Is it normal for your CPU to beep constantly while using this program, and if not, what can I do to shut it up or fix it?

Mine CasinoCoin with the CasinoCoin Slashers, daily backups, fast transactions, block finder rewards, secured server!
LTC: Lf57yviumAnFGP8NJ2MSMz9f2xLj2Hicxv                                CSC: CKnzrwrck2EFzvTLxmLhNkVcdZatKPmTgk
If the MPOS wiki has been useful to you, consider donating to me as thanks for maintaining.
Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 11:01:17 AM
 #778

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 11:52:57 AM
 #779

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

minerd is the app... that means you successfully downloaded and untar'd the file.

When you get the -bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory, can you do a pwd and ls -l to show which directory you're in and the contents?  You may already be in there, so the No such file makes sense in that case.
If you are where I think you are, all you have to do is execute ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> with whatever parameters you need.  

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 03:36:21 PM
 #780

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

minerd is the app... that means you successfully downloaded and untar'd the file.

When you get the -bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory, can you do a pwd and ls -l to show which directory you're in and the contents?  You may already be in there, so the No such file makes sense in that case.
If you are where I think you are, all you have to do is execute ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> with whatever parameters you need.  

Well when I enter pwd I get:
Code:
/root

That is normal.
When I type Is -l I get:
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 1 1000 1000 379680 Jul 10 13:57 minerd
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 169783 Jul 10 14:03 pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
minerd is in gree
pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz is in red if that means anything.

Also when I enter ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> I get:
Code:
-bash: ./minerd: No such file or directory

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!