Bitcoin Forum
July 08, 2020, 05:36:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1955291 times)
Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:26:11 PM
 #761

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

1594186611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594186611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594186611
Reply with quote  #2

1594186611
Report to moderator
1594186611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594186611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594186611
Reply with quote  #2

1594186611
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594186611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594186611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594186611
Reply with quote  #2

1594186611
Report to moderator
VanBreuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 07:29:40 PM
 #762

Hello all,

I'm not sure whether this is a server side problem or not. Pool: stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334

While current pre-compiled cpuminer returns this,

Code:
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] 6 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] Stratum authentication failed
[2013-12-14 18:35:22] ...retry after 30 seconds

I compiled this fork build suggested by the pool runner - https://github.com/Hartland/GPL-CPU-Miner/

And I get this instead:

./minerd -a scrypt -o stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/ -u XXXX -p XXXX -t6

Code:
[2013-12-14 18:18:26][2013-12-14 18:18:26] 6 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334/
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-14 18:18:26] ...retry after 30 seconds
[2013-12-14 18:18:57] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-14 18:18:57] ...retry after 30 seconds

Pool problem? Parameters problem? I haven't found answers so far, thank you in advance for any assistance.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:20:58 PM
 #763

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

What exactly are you seeing when you try to wget the binaries? We may be able to help diagnose.

pmconrad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 102


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2013, 08:59:50 PM
 #764


I'm not sure whether this is a server side problem or not. Pool: stratum+tcp://sexcoin.ecoining.com:3334


Apparently sexcoin pools are being DDOS'ed. See the sexcoin thread.

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 11:56:22 PM
 #765

Ok so this is the third day I've been trying to get this running. No luck. I am using Ubuntu 13.10 and I've been using a lot of tuts from here to try to install it. No luck. Last one I've used was from this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0 it gave me errors at ./autogen.sh telling me it doesn't exist. Is there some complete tutorial on how to install it. I can configure it later for different pools that is easy.

Why don't you just download the binaries from the first post for Linux.  There's a 32bit and 64bit one.  I have the 64bit running on my Lubuntu and Xubuntu workstations now from those binaries.
Because only line script is available to me. True it would be a lot easier that way if I could just use the binaries, but I can't. Can't believe there no tut that works around here.

Wait, so you're trying to run cpuminer on an Ubuntu server/station that you don't have permissions to wget and execute binaries but you do have permissions to compile?  Not quite seeing why you can't use wget to download the binaries from the shell.
I have permission to wget. It just doesn't ever do it to the end like it should. Tired several tutorials but none would work.

What exactly are you seeing when you try to wget the binaries? We may be able to help diagnose.
This is the last tutorial I tried:

git clone https://github.com/ali1234/cpuminer

cd cpuminer

./autogen.sh

./configure CFLAGS="-O3"

make

make install

It failed when I entered ./autogen.sh simply said it didn't exist. Tried some others before that and every time there would be some file missing that I didn't know how to get. I know hot to install git.

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 12:02:29 AM
 #766

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.

Zen00
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 05:07:56 AM
 #767

Is it normal for your CPU to beep constantly while using this program, and if not, what can I do to shut it up or fix it?

Mine CasinoCoin with the CasinoCoin Slashers, daily backups, fast transactions, block finder rewards, secured server!
LTC: Lf57yviumAnFGP8NJ2MSMz9f2xLj2Hicxv                                CSC: CKnzrwrck2EFzvTLxmLhNkVcdZatKPmTgk
If the MPOS wiki has been useful to you, consider donating to me as thanks for maintaining.
Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 11:01:17 AM
 #768

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 11:52:57 AM
 #769

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

minerd is the app... that means you successfully downloaded and untar'd the file.

When you get the -bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory, can you do a pwd and ls -l to show which directory you're in and the contents?  You may already be in there, so the No such file makes sense in that case.
If you are where I think you are, all you have to do is execute ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> with whatever parameters you need.  

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 03:36:21 PM
 #770

Ok.... But wasn't asking about cloning the git repository and compiling. You were obviously having problems with that.  I asked if you tried:

Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz

And what were you seeing when it "doesn't do it to the end like it should"?
That's what I offered to help with since you may have issues with how wget is handling the sourceforge download.
Ok I enter:
Code:
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
tar zxvf pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
After last one I just get one line which says: "minerd"
Then I enter
Code:
cd pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86
All I get is:
-bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory

That is all.

minerd is the app... that means you successfully downloaded and untar'd the file.

When you get the -bash: cd: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86: No such file or directory, can you do a pwd and ls -l to show which directory you're in and the contents?  You may already be in there, so the No such file makes sense in that case.
If you are where I think you are, all you have to do is execute ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> with whatever parameters you need.  

Well when I enter pwd I get:
Code:
/root

That is normal.
When I type Is -l I get:
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x 1 1000 1000 379680 Jul 10 13:57 minerd
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 169783 Jul 10 14:03 pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz
minerd is in gree
pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-linux-x86.tar.gz is in red if that means anything.

Also when I enter ./minerd --url http://whateverPool:8332 --user <me> --pass <pass> I get:
Code:
-bash: ./minerd: No such file or directory

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 04:04:40 PM
 #771

Hmm.  From the ls -l it shows you have minerd already to go so you should be all set.

Try this: chmod 777 minerd

Then try executing minerd again using your pool and username/password combo.  Don't just copy and paste the raw parameters I had above that list http://whateverPool. Those are just placeholders.  Use your own parameters for whatever pool and worker credentials you registered for.

Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 04:42:05 PM
 #772

Still getting:
-bash: ./minerd: No such file or directory

And I do use my pool data and worker credentials. That is not a problem.

allanlumi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 04:46:12 PM
 #773

you to know that you have to repack it befor you give the next order?Huh?

I have the same thing running on 8 servers Cheesy
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 15, 2013, 06:18:51 PM
 #774

Sheldor333 - ran it no problems testing it using what you sent me in PM... Check your messages for a screenlog/screenshot.

mota966
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 15, 2013, 07:20:40 PM
 #775

Is it possible to get stratum block information from a pool when solo mining, I know this can be done on cgminer but was wondering if the same can be done with cpuminer.
I appreciate your help.
Sheldor333
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 16, 2013, 01:49:24 AM
 #776

Sheldor333 - ran it no problems testing it using what you sent me in PM... Check your messages for a screenlog/screenshot.
This guy helped me a lot. Fixed what was bothering me. Thanks a LOT!!!

Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 510



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 01:48:00 AM
 #777

CPUminer is project of the Month at Sourceforge:
http://sourceforge.net/blog/december-2013-potm/
Congratulations.

belskiy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 06:54:07 AM
 #778

Maini want to cpu's on this pool: ru-1.litecoinpool.ru but nothing happens because of the internet, namely:
My internet connection is through a corporate proxy form: proxy.xxxxx with identifying users by username / password via http on port 8080. (in any case, so the browser works and all third-party programs, such 2GIS etc.).
All are advised to configure through mining_proxy, downloaded, tried to set up, nothing happens, the error outputs.
Not configure any known miner on cpu, through my proxy internet, I already broke my brain. Went through all the forums, nobody faced with proxies. Please help me with the settings.
flexgroo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 09:01:02 AM
 #779

hello guys, i am trying to mine a alt-coin in a pool and was told to user this program

i cant seem to figure it out, i download the one for windows 64 bit, i have win7

i extracted it to its own folder it had 4 files, i clicked on minerd to open it and it started its thing in dos... and then failed and is still failing every 30 seconds, i think i am missing a step or two, lol

like when to put in ip address, port, username, password for the pool i am trying to get in

with cgminer it gave me a prompt in dos to type those in, this doesnt let me do anything

http request failed: failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; no error
the error is json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds

please help i am trying to learn to mine on a windows laptop using CPU, i know it will suck and be slow and next to no hashrate, but its fun and i am learning something new...
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 17, 2013, 11:02:03 AM
 #780

hello guys, i am trying to mine a alt-coin in a pool and was told to user this program

i cant seem to figure it out, i download the one for windows 64 bit, i have win7

i extracted it to its own folder it had 4 files, i clicked on minerd to open it and it started its thing in dos... and then failed and is still failing every 30 seconds, i think i am missing a step or two, lol

like when to put in ip address, port, username, password for the pool i am trying to get in

with cgminer it gave me a prompt in dos to type those in, this doesnt let me do anything

http request failed: failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; no error
the error is json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds

please help i am trying to learn to mine on a windows laptop using CPU, i know it will suck and be slow and next to no hashrate, but its fun and i am learning something new...

Start up a separate CMD line window (you can do this from Start Button/Run and type CMD and hit enter).
Go to the directory you downloaded CPUMiner using cd c:\wherever\Folder\path.
Then type this filling in your Altcoin pool info:
Code:
minerd.exe -o http://[pool url]:[pool port] -u [username] -p [password]



Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!