Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 10:09:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1880350 times)
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 696


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 05:26:42 PM
 #621

Ah OK, that explains it then. Can you please point me in the right direction to run minerd from the cmd line? Many thanks!
I don't use Windows, so I can't tell you what you have to do step by step, but you probably want to create a batch (.bat) file and write the command to start the miner in it, complete with all the options you want. There are basic usage examples in the first post.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
1510956555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956555
Reply with quote  #2

1510956555
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510956555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956555
Reply with quote  #2

1510956555
Report to moderator
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 05:35:35 PM
 #622

Ah OK, that explains it then. Can you please point me in the right direction to run minerd from the cmd line? Many thanks!
I don't use Windows, so I can't tell you what you have to do step by step, but you probably want to create a batch (.bat) file and write the command to start the miner in it, complete with all the options you want. There are basic usage examples in the first post.
I would assume that glon wants to solo mine since he wanted to do it from litecoin-qt.  That having been said, litecoin.conf would also need updated with options such as these:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=Miner
rpcpassword=1234
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=*
I don't know if this even works in the Windows Litecoin-QT distributable, but if it does, the conf file would be in the same place as the wallet.dat file.  Perhaps a link to some old bitcoin mining 101 type post would be better suited to getting him going (since the solo-configuration is essentially the same).
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 05:46:08 PM
 #623

Ah OK, that explains it then. Can you please point me in the right direction to run minerd from the cmd line? Many thanks!
I don't use Windows, so I can't tell you what you have to do step by step, but you probably want to create a batch (.bat) file and write the command to start the miner in it, complete with all the options you want. There are basic usage examples in the first post.
I would assume that glon wants to solo mine since he wanted to do it from litecoin-qt.  That having been said, litecoin.conf would also need updated with options such as these:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=Miner
rpcpassword=1234
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=*
I don't know if this even works in the Windows Litecoin-QT distributable, but if it does, the conf file would be in the same place as the wallet.dat file.  Perhaps a link to some old bitcoin mining 101 type post would be better suited to getting him going (since the solo-configuration is essentially the same).

The guide I used does not mention this config file. And no I do not want to solo-mine... is that even a good idea?

I guess I just need some example cmd line for minerd so I will look into the first page of this topic for hints, thanks.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 696


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 05:48:26 PM
 #624

I would assume that glon wants to solo mine since he wanted to do it from litecoin-qt.
The Mining tab in the old Litecoin-Qt 0.6.3 also allowed pool mining.
Solo mining with a CPU at the current difficulty would be a bit of a wild goose chase, by the way. Wink

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 06:55:50 PM
 #625

I would assume that glon wants to solo mine since he wanted to do it from litecoin-qt.
The Mining tab in the old Litecoin-Qt 0.6.3 also allowed pool mining.
Solo mining with a CPU at the current difficulty would be a bit of a wild goose chase, by the way. Wink
Good to know.  Even single GPU solo mining is a bit of a wild goose chase at this point.
Mysik86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 06:48:21 AM
 #626

A couple of Windows users reported what is probably the same issue over a month ago: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/issues/21
Two other Windows users I asked said they could download the archives and run the miner with no problem at all, though, so I closed the issue when the original reporter stopped answering my questions.
For what it's worth, I have no problem accessing the files hosted at Sourceforge, so I'd be grateful if you could provide some more detail. Operating system, browser information, and what error you get exactly would be a good start.
Please also try to download the files from this page and see if there's any difference.

Sorry, but no difference.
I've tried on Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox - both tries failed.

On Google Chrome - I've got error "unexpected network error"
On Mozilla Firefox - error "File can't be saved - Mozilla can't read the source file" (I've translate it from my language, so the error may be little different)

I use Win 7 32-bit
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 07:26:10 AM
 #627

Building cpuminer on Solaris8 fails as it doesn't have <stdint.h>, using <inttypes.h> instead fixes the problem.

Quote
uname -a
SunOS adeint2s 5.8 Generic_117350-28 sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise Solaris

./minerd -V
cpuminer 2.3.2
libcurl/7.31.0 zlib/1.1.3

Just in case you care for an eosl'ed operating system.  Grin
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 696


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 08:17:57 AM
 #628

Building cpuminer on Solaris8 fails as it doesn't have <stdint.h>, using <inttypes.h> instead fixes the problem.
Just in case you care for an eosl'ed operating system.  Grin
Sure! Cheesy
After reading the documentation of autoconf, I think it should be pretty safe to just replace stdint.h with inttypes.h for all systems.
Quote
The C99 standard says that inttypes.h includes stdint.h, so there's no need to include stdint.h separately in a standard environment. Some implementations have inttypes.h but not stdint.h (e.g., Solaris 7), but we don't know of any implementation that has stdint.h but not inttypes.h.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:55:54 PM
 #629

Just reporting that the cpuminer 2.3.2 was successfully forked into a CUDA enabled version (called cudaMiner). Thanks for all the work on the stratum protocol - the nVidia users are going to love this! Another feature they keep asking me for is failover support for multiple pools. And some have asked for a logging feature that logs just the most important data to disk (i.e. found shares and whether or not they were accepted) - without all the periodically reported kHash/s statistics.


GoldBit89
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 515


Its all about the Gold


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:22:14 PM
 #630

Just reporting that the cpuminer 2.3.2 was successfully forked into a CUDA enabled version (called cudaMiner). Thanks for all the work on the stratum protocol - the nVidia users are going to love this! Another feature they keep asking me for is failover support for multiple pools. And some have asked for a logging feature that logs just the most important data to disk (i.e. found shares and whether or not they were accepted) - without all the periodically reported kHash/s statistics.



+1

thank you very much Smiley

FTC  6nvzqqaCEizThvgMeC86MGzhAxGzKEtNH8 |WDC WckDxipCes2eBmxrUYEhrUfNNRZexKuYjR  |BQC bSDm3XvauqWWnqrxfimw5wdHVDQDp2U8XU
BOT EjcroqeMpZT4hphY4xYDzTQakwutpnufQR |BTG geLUGuJkhnvuft77ND6VrMvc8vxySKZBUz |LTC  LhXbJMzCqLEzGBKgB2n73oce448BxX1dc4
BTC 1JPzHugtBtPwXgwMqt9rtdwRxxWyaZvk61
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 696


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 07:35:23 AM
 #631

And some have asked for a logging feature that logs just the most important data to disk (i.e. found shares and whether or not they were accepted) - without all the periodically reported kHash/s statistics.
There's a -q option for preventing the miner from printing the per-thread hashmeter.
To save the output on disk you can just redirect stderr to a file.
Code:
minerd -q [OPTIONS] 2> myfile

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
ryen123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 268


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 08:47:55 PM
 #632

Hi pooler i'm using the latest cudaminer client by cbuchner1 which includes stratum support based on your cpuminer. I've gotten an error message "stratum_recv_line failed to parse a newline-terminated string". Since it might be stratum related, cbuchner1 advised to post this here. So far it has happened only twice.

Chicago P2Pools DASH - Dallas P2Pools DASH - Los Angeles P2Pools DASH - Frankfurt P2Pools DASH | Vertcoin 1 | Vertcoin 2
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 696


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 08:58:01 PM
 #633

Hi pooler i'm using the latest cudaminer client by cbuchner1 which includes stratum support based on your cpuminer. I've gotten an error message "stratum_recv_line failed to parse a newline-terminated string". Since it might be stratum related, cbuchner1 advised to post this here. So far it has happened only twice.
That can happen if the server you're connected to has a hiccup; the miner should try to reconnect automatically in a matter of seconds.
If you suspect a compatibiliy bug in the miner, feel free to pm me your full connection details so that I can try mining at your pool and see what the problem is.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
ryen123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 268


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 04:43:48 AM
 #634

Hi pooler i'm using the latest cudaminer client by cbuchner1 which includes stratum support based on your cpuminer. I've gotten an error message "stratum_recv_line failed to parse a newline-terminated string". Since it might be stratum related, cbuchner1 advised to post this here. So far it has happened only twice.
That can happen if the server you're connected to has a hiccup; the miner should try to reconnect automatically in a matter of seconds.
If you suspect a compatibiliy bug in the miner, feel free to pm me your full connection details so that I can try mining at your pool and see what the problem is.

Ok thanks pooler. I'll monitor and see the situation. So far only happened those two times.

Thanks also for implementing stratum into the miner client. No more need for proxy.

Chicago P2Pools DASH - Dallas P2Pools DASH - Los Angeles P2Pools DASH - Frankfurt P2Pools DASH | Vertcoin 1 | Vertcoin 2
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
July 14, 2013, 01:23:26 PM
 #635

I'm getting 100% of boooos. Has it something to do with cpuminer?

Thank me || accuse me...with evidence.
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 888


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2013, 01:37:06 PM
 #636

I'm getting 100% of boooos. Has it something to do with cpuminer?

Which Pool?

With the latest CPUminer make sure you connecting to a Stratum server

For instance. stratum+tcp://pool.ejpool.info:9332

For more information.

http://www.ejpool.info/index.php?page=gettingstarted

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
Dr. Death
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 06:09:53 AM
 #637

cant download from github, says there was a problem with the file origin
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:45:14 AM
 #638

cant download from github, says there was a problem with the file origin

Works fine at my PC:

Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer.git
Cloning into 'cpuminer'...
remote: Counting objects: 1183, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (690/690), done.
remote: Total 1183 (delta 678), reused 972 (delta 489)
Receiving objects: 100% (1183/1183), 670.15 KiB | 496 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (678/678), done.
DanoTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:10:01 PM
 #639

A couple of Windows users reported what is probably the same issue over a month ago: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/issues/21
Two other Windows users I asked said they could download the archives and run the miner with no problem at all, though, so I closed the issue when the original reporter stopped answering my questions.
For what it's worth, I have no problem accessing the files hosted at Sourceforge, so I'd be grateful if you could provide some more detail. Operating system, browser information, and what error you get exactly would be a good start.
Please also try to download the files from this page and see if there's any difference.

Sorry, but no difference.
I've tried on Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox - both tries failed.

On Google Chrome - I've got error "unexpected network error"
On Mozilla Firefox - error "File can't be saved - Mozilla can't read the source file" (I've translate it from my language, so the error may be little different)

I use Win 7 32-bit

I suspect it is your antivirus or firewall... Avast identified it as a threat. It is just a false positive.

"Alms for the poor..."
bitcoin: 12nccuqxxAaaqKirdsfriHNQB9V1kF94E4
litecoin: LUw9w4cF8FxyBEzYZDznFEW16wKKpJ4oKi
Dr. Death
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:12:19 PM
 #640

A couple of Windows users reported what is probably the same issue over a month ago: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/issues/21
Two other Windows users I asked said they could download the archives and run the miner with no problem at all, though, so I closed the issue when the original reporter stopped answering my questions.
For what it's worth, I have no problem accessing the files hosted at Sourceforge, so I'd be grateful if you could provide some more detail. Operating system, browser information, and what error you get exactly would be a good start.
Please also try to download the files from this page and see if there's any difference.

Sorry, but no difference.
I've tried on Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox - both tries failed.

On Google Chrome - I've got error "unexpected network error"
On Mozilla Firefox - error "File can't be saved - Mozilla can't read the source file" (I've translate it from my language, so the error may be little different)

I use Win 7 32-bit

I suspect it is your antivirus or firewall... Avast identified it as a threat. It is just a false positive.

firewall off and still the same thing, dunno how to turn off avast, i am also using Win 7, but 64 bits
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!