Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:12:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1530293 times)
Massimo80
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 12:45:46 PM
 #961

Have you tried replacing the libcurl DLL with the one that came with cpuminer 2.3.2 (rename it as needed)?

This works. The problem really seems to be caused by libcurl.
1481227920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481227920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481227920
Reply with quote  #2

1481227920
Report to moderator
1481227920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481227920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481227920
Reply with quote  #2

1481227920
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481227920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481227920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481227920
Reply with quote  #2

1481227920
Report to moderator
1481227920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481227920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481227920
Reply with quote  #2

1481227920
Report to moderator
1481227920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481227920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481227920
Reply with quote  #2

1481227920
Report to moderator
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 03:11:46 PM
 #962

Hello, I'm using cpuminer to do some Litecoin mining using https://give-me-coins.com. The OS is Windows 7 x64.

Version 2.3.2 works fine; version 2.3.3 instead just keeps saying "...retry after 30 seconds", as if the pool server was unavailable (which is not the case).

The launch command is exactly the same for both versions:

Code:
minerd.exe -o stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 -O Username:Password

What's wrong here?


Your syntax is incorrect.
Your miner/s is/are not communicating with the pool hence "retry after 30 seconds" due to this.
It should look something more like this:

minerd --freq=850 --gc3355=comX --url=stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 --userpass=xxxx.x:xxxx

also, try minerd --help for help Wink

Good luck! Wink

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
Massimo80
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 03:27:27 PM
 #963

Your syntax is incorrect.
Your miner/s is/are not communicating with the pool hence "retry after 30 seconds" due to this.

My syntax is perfectly correct, please have a look at the README again.

2.3.2 always works, 2.3.3 works sometimes but not always; if the syntax was indeed incorrect, it would never work.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 03:28:44 PM
 #964

Code:
minerd.exe -o stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 -O Username:Password
Your syntax is incorrect.
It should look something more like this:
minerd --freq=850 --gc3355=comX --url=stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 --userpass=xxxx.x:xxxx

Massimo80's syntax is correct. wolfey2014's suggestion, on the other hand, includes inexistent parameters, which may apply to some ASIC fork of cpuminer, but not to the original software discussed in the present thread.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 03:40:07 PM
 #965

Code:
minerd.exe -o stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 -O Username:Password
Your syntax is incorrect.
It should look something more like this:
minerd --freq=850 --gc3355=comX --url=stratum+tcp://ltc-eu.give-me-coins.com:3333 --userpass=xxxx.x:xxxx

Massimo80's syntax is correct. wolfey2014's suggestion, on the other hand, includes inexistent parameters, which may apply to some ASIC fork of cpuminer, but not to the original software discussed in the present thread.

Sorry, I'm using ver for GC3355.... thought you were too. Just woke up when I first tried to help you.
Guess I should wait until I've had my coffee  Grin
Best of luck!

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
mac2k13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 05:30:28 AM
 #966

Help, I do want to try this mining using my lappy, however when I open the .exe file it just pop-up then gone,
I downloaded the 64bit since I have a 64bit version of windows.
Is there any step by step tutorial how to set this in a windows?please teach me how..

donate me BTC 1FtAc2GNg6NhaFjgAhgsU7BVTxRYbZrmTP
VirosaGITS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Want to save $? Use Coupon Code VOFF5 at GPUShack


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 10:13:40 AM
 #967

Help, I do want to try this mining using my lappy, however when I open the .exe file it just pop-up then gone,
I downloaded the 64bit since I have a 64bit version of windows.
Is there any step by step tutorial how to set this in a windows?please teach me how..

Google "batch file for *insert miner name here* + optionally your hardware". But there isint much out there you could profit from with mining with your laptop CPU, so check your profitability before mining.

Some mobile laptop gpus can be profitable but that is assuming your lappy has one in the first place.

Ethereum Mining Calculator - Simple, elegant, mobile-friendly Ethereum Mining Profitability Calculator
gpuShack mining hardware - Your one stop shop for all GPU mining related hardware! Use Coupon Code VOFF5 to save on any order.
ethOS - #ethereumOS on freenode - linux distro that mines Ethereum out-of-the-box.
gentacomp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211


View Profile
April 20, 2014, 05:39:58 PM
 #968

Any readme file ?
Description code for -t or -q etc... ?

Thank you

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/  Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Freebiescoin- 100% Free Distribution
Coffeecoin- 100% FREE Distribution:CC8zeK5Mq19W2yUdmhMXbLCmRqEkG7axTW
Let's color the MOON: YCtgk5JaBEt1WT7js29sh6W5my8dgcP2Sp
danncomm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 22, 2014, 11:59:18 PM
 #969

I have 5 gridseeds running on a raspberry running cpuminer, after about 10-15 min I get an error and it shuts down.
Here is a copy of what the error says:


[2014-04-22 18:56:33.030] 3@4: 3525 steps until frequency adjusts to 875MHz
[2014-04-22 18:56:33.078] 2@2: accepted 150/150 (100.00%) 71.8/358.9/1436.1 KH/s
[2014-04-22 18:56:33.182] 3@4: accepted 145/145 (100.00%) 71.7/359.0/1436.1 KH/s
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.138] 1@1 850MHz: Got nonce 5a603633, Hash <= Htarget!
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.138] 1@1: 3455 steps until frequency adjusts to 875MHz
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.274] 1@2 850MHz: Got nonce f1bb6966, Hash <= Htarget!
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.278] New job_id: 937422319785320987315862916310872228 Diff: 10


[2014-04-22 18:56:35.279] Stratum detected new block
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.280] Dispatching new work to GC3355 threads
[2014-04-22 18:56:35.281] 1@2: 3585 steps until frequency adjusts to 875MHz

*** glibc detected *** ./minerd: free(): invalid next size (fast): 0x00be9068 ***
Aborted


Anyone have a bright ideas to fix this?
sandor111
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2014, 01:57:40 PM
 #970

I have 5 gridseeds running on a raspberry running cpuminer, after about 10-15 min I get an error and it shuts down.
Here is a copy of what the error says:

...

Anyone have a bright ideas to fix this?

This isn't the right place to ask for support for a cpuminer fork, you should PM me directly (include the full log contents).

BTC 1AMsjqzXQpRunxUmtn3xzQ5cMdhV7fmet2
schenker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 29, 2014, 12:27:15 PM
 #971

Good day.

using cpuming,
minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333 --userpass=user:pass

results issued by the program below, the site btcguild.com dashboard also shows zero results.

where is the problem? (speed of the system and other related problems now are not interesting now, I want to understand the work prinitsipe)

[2014-04-29 14:16:09] thread 1: 151792 hashes, 2.83 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:09] accepted: 0/63 (0.00%), 11.58 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:27] thread 3: 178060 hashes, 2.93 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:30] thread 0: 69116 hashes, 2.99 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:30] accepted: 0/64 (0.00%), 11.75 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:32] thread 2: 84516 hashes, 2.83 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:32] accepted: 0/65 (0.00%), 11.58 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:36] thread 0: 16988 hashes, 2.79 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:36] accepted: 0/66 (0.00%), 11.38 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:37] thread 3: 29552 hashes, 2.97 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:38] accepted: 0/67 (0.00%), 11.42 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:57] thread 1: 136636 hashes, 2.82 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:57] accepted: 0/68 (0.00%), 11.41 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:16:59] thread 1: 4636 hashes, 2.84 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:16:59] accepted: 0/69 (0.00%), 11.43 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:17:05] thread 2: 100244 hashes, 3.00 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:17:05] accepted: 0/70 (0.00%), 11.60 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:17:16] thread 1: 47344 hashes, 2.83 khash/s
[2014-04-29 14:17:16] accepted: 0/71 (0.00%), 11.59 khash/s (booooo)
[2014-04-29 14:17:18] thread 0: 117296 hashes, 2.78 khash/s

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 29, 2014, 12:49:32 PM
 #972

minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333 --userpass=user:pass
You need to use the SHA-256d algorithm for Bitcoin mining. Add --algo=sha256d to your options.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
April 30, 2014, 06:40:34 PM
 #973

I just did a full re-install of my OS and noticed a new version of CPU miner was out (Before I was on 2.3, first one with stratum built in).   Anyway, I've installed the new version and while it works, with the same hash rates as before, I'm noticing I'm getting a ton of "accepted xx/xx (%) (booooo) compared to the older version.   Has something changed in newer versions?  If I stick my old boot hard drive into the machine the 2.3 version of CPU miner on it, it works on the same pools with nearly 100% accepted rate.   With this new version I'm getting accepted rates around 60-70%.

MacOS 10.9.2 (Clean install) and the latest version of CPU miner..    Can someone possibly walk me through how to uninstall this most recent version and the re-install using the older version? (I still have the older version in a folder backed up).



/edit  I successfully downgraded to version 2.3.2 and am back to seeing normal accepted rates.  I wonder what it is about 2.3.3 that causes so many "boooo" submissions?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 30, 2014, 07:06:08 PM
 #974

I just did a full re-install of my OS and noticed a new version of CPU miner was out (Before I was on 2.3, first one with stratum built in).   Anyway, I've installed the new version and while it works, with the same hash rates as before, I'm noticing I'm getting a ton of "accepted xx/xx (%) (booooo) compared to the older version.   Has something changed in newer versions?  If I stick my old boot hard drive into the machine the 2.3 version of CPU miner on it, it works on the same pools with nearly 100% accepted rate.   With this new version I'm getting accepted rates around 60-70%.
Weird. It would be nice if you could try all versions from 2.3 to 2.3.3 (they are all available at SourceForge) and see which of them seem not to work. Also, please post (or send me via pm) the exact command-line options you are using so that I can test if there's a problem with the server you are connecting to.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
April 30, 2014, 09:25:10 PM
 #975

I just did a full re-install of my OS and noticed a new version of CPU miner was out (Before I was on 2.3, first one with stratum built in).   Anyway, I've installed the new version and while it works, with the same hash rates as before, I'm noticing I'm getting a ton of "accepted xx/xx (%) (booooo) compared to the older version.   Has something changed in newer versions?  If I stick my old boot hard drive into the machine the 2.3 version of CPU miner on it, it works on the same pools with nearly 100% accepted rate.   With this new version I'm getting accepted rates around 60-70%.
Weird. It would be nice if you could try all versions from 2.3 to 2.3.3 (they are all available at SourceForge) and see which of them seem not to work. Also, please post (or send me via pm) the exact command-line options you are using so that I can test if there's a problem with the server you are connecting to.

Originally I was on 2.3 as I mentioned in the post, and now I am on 2.3.2 and it's working fine.  When I rm minerd from the usr/bin/minerd and replace it with the 2.3.3 version I get much lower.... well, it still says accepted but says "boo" and the percentage drops.

2.3.2 seems to work fine with near 100% accepted over several hours.

This was tested over the last 2 days on both give me coins and clevermining.

Launch strings are:
minerd --url stratum+tcp://us.clevermining.com:3333 --userpass <my address>:x -t 24
and
minerd --url stratum+tcp://ltc.give-me-coins.com:3334 --userpass <my worker>:x -t 24

I tried less threads to see if that helped and it made no difference.     This is a 2012 MacPro upgraded with dual 6 core 3.46 Xeon 5690's.  32GB RAM.  Fresh install of OSX 10.9.2.  The same result happened when tested on my older 2008 3.2Ghz 8 core MacPro. with 10.9.3 (Appleseed Beta release).
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 03:23:21 PM
 #976

I just did a full re-install of my OS and noticed a new version of CPU miner was out (Before I was on 2.3, first one with stratum built in).   Anyway, I've installed the new version and while it works, with the same hash rates as before, I'm noticing I'm getting a ton of "accepted xx/xx (%) (booooo) compared to the older version.   Has something changed in newer versions?  If I stick my old boot hard drive into the machine the 2.3 version of CPU miner on it, it works on the same pools with nearly 100% accepted rate.   With this new version I'm getting accepted rates around 60-70%.
Weird. It would be nice if you could try all versions from 2.3 to 2.3.3 (they are all available at SourceForge) and see which of them seem not to work. Also, please post (or send me via pm) the exact command-line options you are using so that I can test if there's a problem with the server you are connecting to.

Originally I was on 2.3 as I mentioned in the post, and now I am on 2.3.2 and it's working fine.  When I rm minerd from the usr/bin/minerd and replace it with the 2.3.3 version I get much lower.... well, it still says accepted but says "boo" and the percentage drops.

2.3.2 seems to work fine with near 100% accepted over several hours.

This was tested over the last 2 days on both give me coins and clevermining.

Launch strings are:
minerd --url stratum+tcp://us.clevermining.com:3333 --userpass <my address>:x -t 24
and
minerd --url stratum+tcp://ltc.give-me-coins.com:3334 --userpass <my worker>:x -t 24

I tried less threads to see if that helped and it made no difference.     This is a 2012 MacPro upgraded with dual 6 core 3.46 Xeon 5690's.  32GB RAM.  Fresh install of OSX 10.9.2.  The same result happened when tested on my older 2008 3.2Ghz 8 core MacPro. with 10.9.3 (Appleseed Beta release).

After borrowing a friend's MacBook and testing, I can confirm this issue.

It is not an issue specific to version 2.3.3, and actually doesn't even seem to be a bug in the code at all, but for some reason the OS X binary for version 2.3.3 produces 1/3 wrong hashes for algorithm scrypt. Binaries for all other platforms are not affected. The problem appears to be caused by a bug in the particular compiler used to produce the binary (Apple's version of Clang for OS X Lion), and is only triggered at -O2 or higher optimization levels. The issue does not appear if using gcc on OS X, nor does it appear with the latest version of Clang on Linux.

I have now updated the OS X package for version 2.3.3 with a binary compiled at -O1. It would be nice if you could confirm that it works.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 08:23:46 PM
 #977

Quote

After borrowing a friend's MacBook and testing, I can confirm this issue.

It is not an issue specific to version 2.3.3, and actually doesn't even seem to be a bug in the code at all, but for some reason the OS X binary for version 2.3.3 produces 1/3 wrong hashes for algorithm scrypt. Binaries for all other platforms are not affected. The problem appears to be caused by a bug in the particular compiler used to produce the binary (Apple's version of Clang for OS X Lion), and is only triggered at -O2 or higher optimization levels. The issue does not appear if using gcc on OS X, nor does it appear with the latest version of Clang on Linux.

I have now updated the OS X package for version 2.3.3 with a binary compiled at -O1. It would be nice if you could confirm that it works.

Seems to be working fine now with updated version 2.3.3 you posted overnight.   Thanks!

I know CPU mining is essentially dead, but it's nice to know you still maintain this.  Cheers!
007Snoopy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 10:45:28 AM
 #978

okay... 50 pages of posts, including upgrades etc...

Can you please modify post #1 with more relevant info.

I dl'd minerd and cpuminer... but no .exe

Step by step instructions would be rather nice, although I realise you couldn't possibly provide instructions for all possible hardware combinations...

A) Install / setup instructions
B) Links to alt cmd lines for specific installs (google docs spreadsheet combining all currently posted setups?)
C) Users posting (via PM) system specific cmd lines?)

Modify post 1 & 2 only to keep relevant

FYI my somewhat crappy system which happens to be a spare lappy, is a compaq presario v6000 which has no other use apart from sitting here chiunking away... even if it only does 256 H/s (yes not KH/s) lol more than ZERO is a benefit Smiley

Anywho... I'm confuc$ed as to where and how to even commence.

DL: pooler-cpuminer-2.3.3-win64
   : cpuminer-master (From post #2)

System: Compaq Presario (laptop) v6000
CPU: T7100 @ 1.80GHz
OS: Win7 (pro) x64 (SP1)
Ram: 1.0 Gb

Thanks in advance,
Snoops
Spoetnik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


FUD Philanthropist™


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 09:32:07 PM
 #979

Just wanted to post a Thank you.. i haven't posted on this topic in ages.

I appreciate all you've done (and chubner's work too) it's cool when people share and WITH source code.
I have enjoyed working on modding your code base.
And i was surprised to see v2.3.3 come out i just noticed pretty much.

I find myself randomly all of a sudden out of the blue working on mods of a mod of a mod of a mod lol

I thought of commenting here for one reason.. i was thinking of how a guy had worked a lot providing feedback on my test builds for ages.
and how it's encouraging when people say thanks or provide feedback or simply show some interest.. a donation on top of that is icing on the cake.

So what you have share has been a source of fun for me.. i don't make anything CPU mining but it's helped me learn how to use MingW lol

I also hope large botnets running your miner are donating to you or chubner too.. if they are making large money from your free work they should share some coin lol

PS: i don't think i remembered to thank you for adding stratum support Wink
not that these noobs mining Doge coin or what ever with their laptops know what i mean lol
the good old days of using a stratum-proxy ..ahh memories hahhaa

--  Generously donating premium top-shelf FUD to the community since 2013   --
My Trust Rating Rant  *
linelec
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 09:00:47 AM
 #980

Hi,

I don't know if the right place to ask about this - I've tried to compile from sources (on Slackware 14.1) and got these errors:



[....]

sha2.c:(.text+0x3e64): undefined reference to `sha256_use_4way'
sha2.c:(.text+0x9645): undefined reference to `sha256d_ms_4way'
minerd-scrypt.o: In function `scanhash_scrypt':
scrypt.c:(.text+0x4e): undefined reference to `sha256_use_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0x6ca): undefined reference to `scrypt_core'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xa81): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xa9f): undefined reference to `sha256_init_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xbce): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xbda): undefined reference to `sha256_init_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xd02): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xd3a): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xddb): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xe09): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xea0): undefined reference to `scrypt_core'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xeb7): undefined reference to `scrypt_core'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xec7): undefined reference to `scrypt_core'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xed7): undefined reference to `scrypt_core'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xf25): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xf44): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xf60): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
scrypt.c:(.text+0xfa1): undefined reference to `sha256_transform_4way'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [minerd] Error 1

[.....]






Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!