Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:55:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1529178 times)
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 09:45:14 AM
 #641

cant download from github, says there was a problem with the file origin

Works fine at my PC:

Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer.git
Cloning into 'cpuminer'...
remote: Counting objects: 1183, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (690/690), done.
remote: Total 1183 (delta 678), reused 972 (delta 489)
Receiving objects: 100% (1183/1183), 670.15 KiB | 496 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (678/678), done.
1480964141
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964141

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964141
Reply with quote  #2

1480964141
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480964141
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964141

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964141
Reply with quote  #2

1480964141
Report to moderator
DanoTime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16



View Profile
July 15, 2013, 03:10:01 PM
 #642

A couple of Windows users reported what is probably the same issue over a month ago: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/issues/21
Two other Windows users I asked said they could download the archives and run the miner with no problem at all, though, so I closed the issue when the original reporter stopped answering my questions.
For what it's worth, I have no problem accessing the files hosted at Sourceforge, so I'd be grateful if you could provide some more detail. Operating system, browser information, and what error you get exactly would be a good start.
Please also try to download the files from this page and see if there's any difference.

Sorry, but no difference.
I've tried on Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox - both tries failed.

On Google Chrome - I've got error "unexpected network error"
On Mozilla Firefox - error "File can't be saved - Mozilla can't read the source file" (I've translate it from my language, so the error may be little different)

I use Win 7 32-bit

I suspect it is your antivirus or firewall... Avast identified it as a threat. It is just a false positive.

"Alms for the poor..."
bitcoin: 12nccuqxxAaaqKirdsfriHNQB9V1kF94E4
litecoin: LUw9w4cF8FxyBEzYZDznFEW16wKKpJ4oKi
Dr. Death
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:12:19 PM
 #643

A couple of Windows users reported what is probably the same issue over a month ago: https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/issues/21
Two other Windows users I asked said they could download the archives and run the miner with no problem at all, though, so I closed the issue when the original reporter stopped answering my questions.
For what it's worth, I have no problem accessing the files hosted at Sourceforge, so I'd be grateful if you could provide some more detail. Operating system, browser information, and what error you get exactly would be a good start.
Please also try to download the files from this page and see if there's any difference.

Sorry, but no difference.
I've tried on Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox - both tries failed.

On Google Chrome - I've got error "unexpected network error"
On Mozilla Firefox - error "File can't be saved - Mozilla can't read the source file" (I've translate it from my language, so the error may be little different)

I use Win 7 32-bit

I suspect it is your antivirus or firewall... Avast identified it as a threat. It is just a false positive.

firewall off and still the same thing, dunno how to turn off avast, i am also using Win 7, but 64 bits
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 08:40:14 AM
 #644

Version 2.3.2

  • This version includes new AVX2-specific scrypt and SHA-256d routines, which bring an 85%+ speedup to the new Intel Haswell processors. I have tested the new code on a Core i7 4770 (4 cores, 8 threads, 3.4 GHz), and the results seem pretty good: over 95 kh/s for scrypt, and over 50 MH/s for SHA-256d.


95 kh/s per core or in total?

Thank me || accuse me...with evidence.
Mysik86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 16, 2013, 10:33:41 AM
 #645

I suspect it is your antivirus or firewall... Avast identified it as a threat. It is just a false positive.

Yes, you had right... I've turn off Avast and I downloaded it, so thanks Smiley
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2013, 08:30:15 PM
 #646

Pooler, thanks for fixing the output on stderr. It now flushed one line at a time (instead of the whole buffer every 5 or so minutes), giving nice readable output in my Crypto Miners in Tray front-end.


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
fumble
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 12:05:15 AM
 #647

version 2.3.2
32bit version for sha256d is not working for me (just hangs) but works fine on scrypt.
I have no problems with the 64bit version for scrypt or sha256d.

Tested on 32bit win xp and server 2003

I use v2.2.3 if I need to run sha256d on 32bit systems.
mhps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 515


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 12:04:26 PM
 #648

I am using cbuchner1's cudaminer which is developed on top of cpuminer.  I have a show stopper problem with a new version of cudaminer which starts to have stratum support. I get this error message when mining on us.weminltc.com:

[...] stratum_recv_line failed to parse a newline-terminated string

Since it completely stops the miner, instead of skipping the line and keep working, I have to go back to getwork+stratum_proxy

ed: cudaminer : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.960;topicseen

BTC 1HxvAEC4nj37hyenz9DwsyrMMnkwzpbzno PPC PU6zS8RRBWP2UxhuRFengGsu8n4tEYB5xV XPM AJAgBpPjGQoL38mrtW91dVqhbMHqu25vfG
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 02:42:04 PM
 #649

version 2.3.2
32bit version for sha256d is not working for me (just hangs) but works fine on scrypt.
I have no problems with the 64bit version for scrypt or sha256d.

Tested on 32bit win xp and server 2003

I use v2.2.3 if I need to run sha256d on 32bit systems.

Confirmed on Windows XP, though interestingly enough it seems to run with no problem at all in wine.
Even more interesting is the fact that if I build it with a different version of gcc it appears to run fine everywhere. I have now uploaded this build, please see if it works for you.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
fumble
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:25:14 PM
 #650

version 2.3.2
32bit version for sha256d is not working for me (just hangs) but works fine on scrypt.
I have no problems with the 64bit version for scrypt or sha256d.

Tested on 32bit win xp and server 2003

I use v2.2.3 if I need to run sha256d on 32bit systems.

Confirmed on Windows XP, though interestingly enough it seems to run with no problem at all in wine.
Even more interesting is the fact that if I build it with a different version of gcc it appears to run fine everywhere. I have now uploaded this build, please see if it works for you.

sha256d is working on XP 32bit on new build.
no more stratum proxies yay!  (Although I did like seeing the difficulty level for each share)
Thanks Pooler!
Eli0t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 12:38:57 AM
 #651

(Although I did like seeing the difficulty level for each share)
Thanks Pooler!
yeah me too

LTC:  LKpJf3uk7KsHU73kxq8iFJrP1AAKN7Yni7  DGC:  DKXGvEbj3Rwgrm2QQbRyNPDDZDYoq4Y44d  XPM:  AWV5AKfLFyoBaMjg9C77rGUBhuFxz5DGGL
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 04:19:13 PM
 #652

I experiment with cpuminer 2.3.2 at different ARM computers and these are hashrates I measured:

=============================================
Toshiba AC100 subnotebook running Lubuntu 12.10, Nvidia Tegra2 chip, 2x 1000 MHz
ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe" && make
# LTC hashrate: 1.38 khash/s (2x 0.69)
# BTC hashrate: 820 khash/s (2x 410)

=============================================
HDMI stick MK802 II running debian 7.0 armhf, 1x 1000 MHz
ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l) with NEON support (Allwinner A10)

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe" && make
# LTC hashrate: 0.73 khash/s
# BTC hashrate: 566 khash/s

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mfpu=neon" && make
# LTC hashrate: 0.86 khash/s
# BTC hashrate: 600 khash/s

=============================================
BeagleBone Black running debian 7.0 armhf, 1x 1000 MHz
ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l) with NEON support, CPU is "double issue" (it can execute two instructions in parallel)

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe" && make
# LTC hashrate: 0.71 khash/s
# BTC hashrate: 555 khash/s

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe -mfpu=neon" && make
# LTC hashrate: 0.84 khash/s
# BTC hashrate: 589 khash/s

=============================================
Raspberry PI running debian 7.0 armhf, 1x 900 MHz (CPU overclocked from 700 to 900 MHz)
ARMv6-compatible processor rev 7 (v6l)

./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -pipe" && make
# LTC hashrate: 0.43 khash/s
# BTC hashrate: 258 khash/s
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 07:56:38 PM
 #653

ive done the same with my RPi and odroid-x2 jff Wink

RPi:
scrypt - 0.44 khash/s
sha256d - 258.40 khash/s

odroid-x2:
scrypt - 6.71 khash/s
sha256d - 4219 khash/s

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
daserpent1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
July 22, 2013, 06:22:57 PM
 #654

How do I make Minerd to run automatically everytime i restart my pc?
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 11:14:48 AM
 #655

How do I make Minerd to run automatically everytime i restart my pc?

You can use my front-end controller application Crypto Miners in Tray. Wink In addition to lots of automatic start/stop/watch/keep alive options, it has "Run with Windows" checkbox, which will autostart everything once you log in.


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
coin4mining
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 01:29:02 AM
 #656

what's the difference between scrypt and sha algo? why I'm always get boo when using scrypt algo? Thanks.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 07:57:12 AM
 #657

what's the difference between scrypt and sha algo? why I'm always get boo when using scrypt algo? Thanks.
They are completely different proof-of-work algorithms. You must use scrypt for Litecoin, and you must use sha256d for Bitcoin.

Added this to the FAQ on the first post.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
July 27, 2013, 08:08:48 AM
 #658

Hey pooler, which pool do you recommend?
Tgspring
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


learning more!


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:15:55 AM
 #659

pls scrypt-jane supported
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:33:18 PM
 #660

pls scrypt-jane supported

cpuminer was already forked and modified for scrypt-jane,it is here:

https://github.com/ali1234/cpuminer
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200147.0

Well, there are other options for improvement too, like adding support for OneCoin or CopperLark or j-Coin or MemoryCoin... ;-)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!