Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2021, 04:00:03 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1956750 times)
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 05:17:18 AM
 #1021

Do you guys know what stratum_gen_work function does? (cpu-miner.c -> line 653).
For example I don't understand the purpose of this line:
/* Increment extranonce2 */
   for (i = 0; i < sctx->xnonce2_size && !++sctx->job.xnonce2; i++);
1624204803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624204803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624204803
Reply with quote  #2

1624204803
Report to moderator
1624204803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624204803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624204803
Reply with quote  #2

1624204803
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624204803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624204803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624204803
Reply with quote  #2

1624204803
Report to moderator
1624204803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624204803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624204803
Reply with quote  #2

1624204803
Report to moderator
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1109
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 05:18:17 AM
 #1022

Forgive my ignorance, but what algos are supported? I dont see a list in the OP...
AFAIK scrypt and sha256d
So, no X11 or X13 support?
Does anyone know where I can find a X11 or X13 miner?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814
Merit: 507


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 08:04:02 AM
 #1023

Do you guys know what stratum_gen_work function does? (cpu-miner.c -> line 653).
For example I don't understand the purpose of this line:
/* Increment extranonce2 */
   for (i = 0; i < sctx->xnonce2_size && !++sctx->job.xnonce2; i++);

As stated in the comment, that line increments the extranonce2 field so that every time that new work is generated it is different. See the Stratum protocol specifications.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 08:08:55 AM
 #1024

Do you guys know what stratum_gen_work function does? (cpu-miner.c -> line 653).
For example I don't understand the purpose of this line:
/* Increment extranonce2 */
   for (i = 0; i < sctx->xnonce2_size && !++sctx->job.xnonce2; i++);

As stated in the comment, that line increments the extranonce2 field so that every time that new work is generated it is different. See the Stratum protocol specifications.

Thanks, I just don't understand why isn't it simply
Code:
sctx->job.xnonce2++

But that isn't very important for right now, I was just curious.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814
Merit: 507


View Profile
June 13, 2014, 08:55:03 AM
 #1025

Thanks, I just don't understand why isn't it simply
Code:
sctx->job.xnonce2++

Because xnonce2 is not an integer, but an array of bytes.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
konradp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 13, 2014, 08:56:11 AM
 #1026

Thanks, I just don't understand why isn't it simply
Code:
sctx->job.xnonce2++

Because xnonce2 is not an integer, but an array of bytes.

Ach, indeed, I didn't notice, thanks!
wintrop
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 16, 2014, 09:00:50 AM
 #1027

Hi all. Please tell me how to configure cpuminer under quark algorithm?

Grifftech2k4
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 16, 2014, 08:01:08 PM
 #1028

Is this usable with Talkcoin?
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 17, 2014, 02:46:02 AM
 #1029

Hi all. Please tell me how to configure cpuminer under quark algorithm?
Is this usable with Talkcoin?

Read the first post in the thread, the third Q and A item.  Your answers are there.

Basically, you walked into a Catholic Church asking about the Book of Mormon. Or the Koran.

primer-
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 19, 2014, 12:59:33 AM
 #1030

I'm looking to modify cpu-miner.c to include the entire command line. When compiled, instead of using options and args (./minerd -o XXX:XX -u xxx -p xxx -q -B) i want to specify them all in the source.
This has to work on all/most cpuminer forks, if anyone can do it, PM me for a 0.05BTC bounty.

Massimo80
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 05:31:46 AM
 #1031

I'm looking to modify cpu-miner.c to include the entire command line. When compiled, instead of using options and args (./minerd -o XXX:XX -u xxx -p xxx -q -B) i want to specify them all in the source.
This has to work on all/most cpuminer forks, if anyone can do it, PM me for a 0.05BTC bounty.

You want to hardcode command-line parameters into the source code? Why in the world would you want that? Recompiling the software from source everytime a paramater needs to be changed just doesn't make any sense.

If you want a simpler way to launch the program, just put the full command line in a script and then launch that.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 25, 2014, 08:37:48 PM
 #1032

I'm looking to modify cpu-miner.c to include the entire command line. When compiled, instead of using options and args (./minerd -o XXX:XX -u xxx -p xxx -q -B) i want to specify them all in the source.
This has to work on all/most cpuminer forks, if anyone can do it, PM me for a 0.05BTC bounty.

You want to hardcode command-line parameters into the source code? Why in the world would you want that? Recompiling the software from source everytime a paramater needs to be changed just doesn't make any sense.

If you want a simpler way to launch the program, just put the full command line in a script and then launch that.

Or better yet, make a JSON conf file.  minerd supports using configuration files with the -c parameter.  Any changes to configuration can be put in the conf file and then you'd only need to load ./minerd -c miner.conf everytime.

jarvis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 10:00:04 PM
 #1033

does this miner have an api function?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814
Merit: 507


View Profile
June 26, 2014, 10:04:21 PM
 #1034

does this miner have an api function?
No.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
skimmer333
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 04:24:44 AM
 #1035

Hi,
Noob question. I'm using win7-64bit
Can i solo mine using minerd?
If so, can you assist with the command line?
Is there anything else I need to install?

Cheers,
Skimmer.
alalalk71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 28, 2014, 08:49:43 AM
 #1036

Quote
minerd -a scrypt -t 12 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://doge-eu.poolerino.com:3333 -O alalalk71:a1s2d3f4
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://doge-eu.poolerino.com:33
33
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 2 to cpu 2
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 5 to cpu 5
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 9 to cpu 9
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 11 to cpu 11
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 0 to cpu 0
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 4 to cpu 4
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 6 to cpu 6
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 7 to cpu 7
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 10 to cpu 10
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] 12 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 3 to cpu 3
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 8 to cpu 8
[2014-06-28 13:18:14] Binding thread 1 to cpu 1
[2014-06-28 13:18:17] Stratum authentication failed
[2014-06-28 13:18:17] ...retry after 30 seconds
Stratum authentication failed  i  see this error and what can id o for resolve it ?
nuggetbram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 326
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 29, 2014, 12:44:09 PM
 #1037

I'm getting
Code:
fatal error: openssl/sha.h: no such file or directory
while trying to build on windows with mingw. I don't think there's any openssl packages I need to get for this so what have I done wrong?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814
Merit: 507


View Profile
June 29, 2014, 12:49:31 PM
 #1038

I'm getting
Code:
fatal error: openssl/sha.h: no such file or directory
while trying to build on windows with mingw. I don't think there's any openssl packages I need to get for this so what have I done wrong?

OpenSSL is referenced nowhere in the source code of cpuminer. You must be trying to compile something else, probably a fork of it.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
nuggetbram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 326
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 29, 2014, 01:16:32 PM
 #1039

I'm getting
Code:
fatal error: openssl/sha.h: no such file or directory
while trying to build on windows with mingw. I don't think there's any openssl packages I need to get for this so what have I done wrong?

OpenSSL is referenced nowhere in the source code of cpuminer. You must be trying to compile something else, probably a fork of it.

Yeah, this is a fork, skeincoin. Thought they were *mostly* identical and I'd get a faster response here (if any!)

Thanks anyway!
ag123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 04:37:58 AM
Last edit: July 04, 2014, 04:56:40 AM by ag123
 #1040

hi pooler,

here's some feature requests not sure if these features may have made it into the updated versions

1) a sharelog
cpuminer runs with debug output, however, the output are often not captured
a share log is needed, i.e. for the shares submitted to a mining pool it would be helpful to log the
- time
- disposition (accept or reject)
- target
- hash
- data

and perhaps some other info in a text sharelog file. this would help with verifying from historical submitted entries if there are issues

2) a GUI
today cpuminer is running with text messages, however, most PCs/laptops etc are already running in a windowing gui environment. it'd probably be a good idea to start developing a gui for it instead of showing k/hashes per sec or m/hashes per sec as texts, those could possibly become running graphs / charts in a window. it would also pave the way for more interactivity during the runs, e.g. the user can pause/start the activities and add future options

i'm thinking could use Qt or some similar cross platform gui libs to develop these. This would help simplying the programming task (Qt is cross platform - one code many platforms) and after all most of the offline bitcoin/litecoin etc wallets are using Qt for their Gui wallets.
the 'gui' can run in its own thread and is likely low cpu load consumption for that matter. The makefiles could have options to 'exclude' compiling the gui for those who's not interested in having it.

the 'old' text output can even be accomodated in the 'gui' thread by having applog push the text output into a queue and for the 'gui' thread pop them and to spool them out to stdout/stderr. the 'gui' thread can go in a loop waiting for commands so that you could implement features like pause / continue similar to the gui

just 2 cents
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!