Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 02:04:50 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1529487 times)
Galane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 02:11:31 AM
 #841

How do I get the 64 bit version to work with doge.netcodepool.org? The command line on their getting started page isn't right, it doesn't recognize --scrypt. Remove one - and it still doesn't work.

Tried this

minerd -scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum.netcodepool.org:4093 -u Galane.workername -p mypasswordonlyIknow

and that does nothing at all, not even an error message. This is the CPU miner program that pool recommends, would be nice if they also had correct directions on how to use it.

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on a Dell Inspiron E1505 with 4 gig (3.25 thanks to stupid Intel chipset hobbling) RAM, Core2 Duo T5600 1.83 GHz CPU. I only really use the laptop when I'm away from home so it may as well earn its keep when not being used.
1481033090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033090
Reply with quote  #2

1481033090
Report to moderator
1481033090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481033090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481033090
Reply with quote  #2

1481033090
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gibithecat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 04:38:50 AM
 #842

hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
LightningCrash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 05:14:00 AM
 #843

Sun Fire T1000 6-core @ 1GHz
Oracle Solaris 11.1

at 24 threads each gets .06kh/s =1.44kh/s

They're $75 on ebay, 180W power consumption.

If I mine all month I can turn $10 of power into 75 cents worth of altcoins Cheesy

compiling with -O3 made this .07 per thread, for a total of 1.68Kh/s
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 09:14:32 AM
 #844

I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Sounds like you ran out of resources on that particular box. Care to share some system information? Architecture, distro, kernel version, what kind of other programs you have running at the same time, and the output of free and ulimit -s would be nice.


How do I get the 64 bit version to work with doge.netcodepool.org? The command line on their getting started page isn't right, it doesn't recognize --scrypt. Remove one - and it still doesn't work.
There's no "--scrypt" (that's cgminer/bfgminer) or "-scrypt" option. The correct syntax is "--algo=scrypt", or "-a scrypt", as you can see from the output of "minerd --help".

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
shinkudo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 03:49:12 PM
 #845

I need a CPU Windows Miner. I downloaded it from http://cgb.smalltimeminer.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted
I however seem to run properly or can not fault. someone please help me. I need 64 bit windown.
thank you Cry
Galane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 03:29:33 AM
 #846

Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword
shinkudo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 04:16:19 AM
 #847

thank you. but I still can not run on Win 2008 64 bit vps. you please give me the full version to run on vps can not windown 2008. thank you very much. I've downloaded at http://cgb.smalltimeminer.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted but apparently it is not enough to run. thank you very much
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 05:20:02 AM
 #848

Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword

It's been said before, but let me repeat it: the -s option does nothing when you mine in a pool (both when using Stratum and when using long polling). It only makes sense to use it if you are mining solo.

Also, for optimal performance it is usually best to have exactly one thread per logical (as opposed to physical) core, which is what cpuminer does by default. The -t option is normally used to start fewer threads, so as to limit the system load.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
shinkudo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 07:07:30 AM
 #849

Here's what you need for the CPU miner. I'm running four threads, two per CPU core. Increase the number after -t for more threads. Replace stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 with your pool server and port number. (This is a small pool, just over 800 workers currently.)

minerd -a scrypt -t 4 -s 6 -o stratum+tcp://www.shibepool.com:3333 -O UserName.WorkerName:YourPassword
ooks like you're digging Doge. thank you but I want to dig CGB. you can help me. thanks for reading
Whagwan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 05:27:29 PM
 #850

Ok, this might be a stupid question but...

I've downloaded the win64 version of cpuminer from the first page in this thread, and I try running it with a batch file containing:

$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://useast.middlecoin.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password

as in the first page.

CPU miner very quickly opens then shuts again too quickly to read what is in the terminal.  I get the same response when I run:

$ ./minerd --help

LTC: LWhAGwANQHzT5YNg9GjKzoggg4AoxtdzvZ
BTC: 1WHaGWAN8zUJMoaWwNETXx2BqPPbyYL7r

Rent my rigs!
http://www.betarigs.com/rig/19
http://www.betarigs.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
January 24, 2014, 05:33:19 PM
 #851

Ok, this might be a stupid question but...

I've downloaded the win64 version of cpuminer from the first page in this thread, and I try running it with a batch file containing:

$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://useast.middlecoin.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password

as in the first page.

CPU miner very quickly opens then shuts again too quickly to read what is in the terminal.  I get the same response when I run:

$ ./minerd --help

Try minerd.exe   

The ./minerd is for Linux/UNIX/Mac (specifying ./ means "in this directory" for executables).

$ means just the commandline prompt in Linux.  Windows equivalent would be C:\

Chef Ramsay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile
January 24, 2014, 06:43:13 PM
 #852

hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.
silicon_chip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 02:27:23 PM
 #853

hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.

If you are using a windows system, the easiest way is to go to the folder where you have your miner.
Create a new text file called Miner.txt   
Open the file and paste in   "minerd.exe  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password" without the " " and changing settings to match your pool.
Save it. Then rename it Miner.bat    You may need to switch off the "Hide extensions for known file types" option in windows.
Now if you click on Miner.bat it should open your mining program.
If it opens in a text editor, it is named Miner.bat.txt  , you just can't see the .txt bit.
If it flashes up and disapears, you have something not set correctly.
If you add "pause" to the  bottom of your miner.bat file, it will stop before disappearing.
That should let you see what needs changing.

I would engage you in a battle of wits, but I will not strike an unarmed opponent.
shinkudo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 01:29:15 PM
 #854

I need vps windown. Who can sponsor me, or help me find a place for [Suspicious link removed], thanks Cry Cry Cry Cry
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 02:48:25 AM
 #855

I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Sounds like you ran out of resources on that particular box. Care to share some system information? Architecture, distro, kernel version, what kind of other programs you have running at the same time, and the output of free and ulimit -s would be nice.


Appreciate the help.  Alas, when I just came back from a weekend trip and tried to reproduce, I couldn't.  FYI, it is a Gentoo Linux system built on a AMD A4-6300 APU.  Super low end, only 15 kh/s between the two cpus, but the system is running a 7870 and I couldn't see wasting the cycles.

Cassey
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 11:11:19 PM
 #856

I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.

Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.


Thanks all!

Sharecoin: SNxYAnB7rgRdZCEqzm5bkMu6ZTPGpaP6Y3
The One
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 03:11:36 AM
 #857

Just using this for the first time....

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:22:34 AM
 #858

I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.
Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
I'm not sure I understand what the question is. Anyway, cpuminer defaults to starting as many mining threads as logical CPU cores, which normally gives the best results performance-wise. If your CPU does not support hyper-threading, then logical cores are basically the same as physical cores; if it does support hyper-threading, you will have 2 logical cores per physical.

Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.
You will see that message every time a solution (a share if you're mining in a pool) is accepted or rejected by the server. Since finding solutions is a random process, the message is not supposed to come up at regular intervals.

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share
If you're mining solo it means you found a block, if you're mining in a pool it means you found a share.
The percentage refers to how many of the solutions you've submitted so far have been accepted.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 05:25:43 PM
 #859

Is mining on the CPU less effective than GPU, and that is why solutions aren't coming up as commonly as they do in a GPU based miner?

Sharecoin: SNxYAnB7rgRdZCEqzm5bkMu6ZTPGpaP6Y3
The One
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 07:02:01 PM
 #860

xxxxx\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://de2.miningpool.co:4101 --userpass=xx:xx

Any other commands to expand on this as after 5 minutes it gets disconnected.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!