Bitcoin Forum
June 06, 2020, 03:24:51 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1955238 times)
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 24, 2014, 05:33:19 PM
 #841

Ok, this might be a stupid question but...

I've downloaded the win64 version of cpuminer from the first page in this thread, and I try running it with a batch file containing:

$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://useast.middlecoin.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password

as in the first page.

CPU miner very quickly opens then shuts again too quickly to read what is in the terminal.  I get the same response when I run:

$ ./minerd --help

Try minerd.exe   

The ./minerd is for Linux/UNIX/Mac (specifying ./ means "in this directory" for executables).

$ means just the commandline prompt in Linux.  Windows equivalent would be C:\

1591457091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591457091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591457091
Reply with quote  #2

1591457091
Report to moderator
1591457091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591457091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591457091
Reply with quote  #2

1591457091
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Chef Ramsay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1001



View Profile
January 24, 2014, 06:43:13 PM
 #842

hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.
silicon_chip
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 02:27:23 PM
 #843

hello guys,
im a newbie and i have just 1 question?
where do i put: ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password


right now i have the following error:

HTTP request failed:  Failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; No error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds


thank you for your help
I'm having the same problem and it won't even let me type anything into the window.

If you are using a windows system, the easiest way is to go to the folder where you have your miner.
Create a new text file called Miner.txt   
Open the file and paste in   "minerd.exe  --url=stratum+tcp://pool.phsblocks.com:3333 -u gibithecat.gibi -p password" without the " " and changing settings to match your pool.
Save it. Then rename it Miner.bat    You may need to switch off the "Hide extensions for known file types" option in windows.
Now if you click on Miner.bat it should open your mining program.
If it opens in a text editor, it is named Miner.bat.txt  , you just can't see the .txt bit.
If it flashes up and disapears, you have something not set correctly.
If you add "pause" to the  bottom of your miner.bat file, it will stop before disappearing.
That should let you see what needs changing.

I would engage you in a battle of wits, but I will not strike an unarmed opponent.
shinkudo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 01:29:15 PM
 #844

I need vps windown. Who can sponsor me, or help me find a place for [Suspicious link removed], thanks Cry Cry Cry Cry
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 470
Merit: 250

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 02:48:25 AM
 #845

I have this wonderful code running on several machines now - just soaking up what cycles are free (sorry BOINC!).

However, on ONE of my Linux systems I'm missing something.  I'm guessing I need to install some library or another, but I'm getting:

[2014-01-22 19:39:07] workio thread create failed

Immediately upon launching mined:  ./minerd  --url=stratum+tcp://lite.wemineltc.com:3334 --userpass=Cassey_Jean_Claude.farm2cpu:pass

Sounds like you ran out of resources on that particular box. Care to share some system information? Architecture, distro, kernel version, what kind of other programs you have running at the same time, and the output of free and ulimit -s would be nice.


Appreciate the help.  Alas, when I just came back from a weekend trip and tried to reproduce, I couldn't.  FYI, it is a Gentoo Linux system built on a AMD A4-6300 APU.  Super low end, only 15 kh/s between the two cpus, but the system is running a 7870 and I couldn't see wasting the cycles.

Cassey
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 11:11:19 PM
 #846

I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.

Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.


Thanks all!
The One
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 03:11:36 AM
 #847

Just using this for the first time....

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share

..C..
.....................
........What is C?.........
..............
...........ICO            Dec 1st – Dec 30th............
       ............Open            Dec 1st- Dec 30th............
...................ANN thread      Bounty....................

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 791
Merit: 505


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:22:34 AM
 #848

I have a quad core Intel chip, and CPUMiner is doing four threads (I assume this is how it's supposed to work, 1 thread per core?) I do not have a hyper-threaded processor.
Question 1: 1 thread to per 1 non-hyperthreaded core?
I'm not sure I understand what the question is. Anyway, cpuminer defaults to starting as many mining threads as logical CPU cores, which normally gives the best results performance-wise. If your CPU does not support hyper-threading, then logical cores are basically the same as physical cores; if it does support hyper-threading, you will have 2 logical cores per physical.

Question 2: I don't always see "accepted: x/y (%) xx.xx khash/s (yay!!!)". How often is this supposed to come up? I assume it's supposed to happen after every thread computes some khashes, but it isn't. Some additional information on this process would be very appreciated.
You will see that message every time a solution (a share if you're mining in a pool) is accepted or rejected by the server. Since finding solutions is a random process, the message is not supposed to come up at regular intervals.

I got accepted (100%) Yay!!!.......what does it mean? found a block or share
If you're mining solo it means you found a block, if you're mining in a pool it means you found a share.
The percentage refers to how many of the solutions you've submitted so far have been accepted.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 05:25:43 PM
 #849

Is mining on the CPU less effective than GPU, and that is why solutions aren't coming up as commonly as they do in a GPU based miner?
The One
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 07:02:01 PM
 #850

xxxxx\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://de2.miningpool.co:4101 --userpass=xx:xx

Any other commands to expand on this as after 5 minutes it gets disconnected.

..C..
.....................
........What is C?.........
..............
...........ICO            Dec 1st – Dec 30th............
       ............Open            Dec 1st- Dec 30th............
...................ANN thread      Bounty....................

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 791
Merit: 505


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 07:55:19 PM
 #851

Is mining on the CPU less effective than GPU, and that is why solutions aren't coming up as commonly as they do in a GPU based miner?
It depends on what you mean by "effective", but I would say it is. Mining with a "good" GPU is certainly more efficient than mining with a CPU, at least. For a more complete answer you should consult the mining hardware comparison.
The rate at which solutions get accepted depends both on your hash rate and on the share difficulty set by the pool. In general you need not care about it, especially given that share difficulty can vary dynamically.

xxxxx\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://de2.miningpool.co:4101 --userpass=xx:xx
Any other commands to expand on this as after 5 minutes it gets disconnected.
No. If it gets disconnected it's almost certainly either the pool's or your Internet connection's fault (most probably the pool's). I'm always happy to test mining servers for compatibility, but I cannot even connect to the one mentioned above.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
pizzaBot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2014, 06:15:25 PM
 #852

Is cpuminer customized for each type of coin, or can the same minerd be used to work against all kinds of coin mining pools?
Thanks
ikinga
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 03:06:31 PM
 #853

Hi, I downloaded it and configured it by creating a shortcut to the "minered" and edited it with:

C:\Users\my.name.domain\Documents\mine\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe – url=stratum+tcp://stratum7.dogehouse.org:9090 –userpass=ikinga:x

my.name.domain are obviously my personal info...

when I double click on it... it crashes. What did I do wrong?
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 09:00:19 PM
Last edit: January 31, 2014, 09:14:05 PM by mysticode
 #854

Hi, I downloaded it and configured it by creating a shortcut to the "minered" and edited it with:

C:\Users\my.name.domain\Documents\mine\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe – url=stratum+tcp://stratum7.dogehouse.org:9090 –userpass=ikinga:x

my.name.domain are obviously my personal info...

when I double click on it... it crashes. What did I do wrong?

Make a bat file instead of a shortcut, with the same command line information. However, after the main line in the bat, add a second line that says Pause. This will keep the command prompt window open instead of closing, showing you the error you are encountering.

Is mining on the CPU less effective than GPU, and that is why solutions aren't coming up as commonly as they do in a GPU based miner?
It depends on what you mean by "effective", but I would say it is. Mining with a "good" GPU is certainly more efficient than mining with a CPU, at least. For a more complete answer you should consult the mining hardware comparison.
The rate at which solutions get accepted depends both on your hash rate and on the share difficulty set by the pool. In general you need not care about it, especially given that share difficulty can vary dynamically.

xxxxx\pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64\minerd.exe --url=stratum+tcp://de2.miningpool.co:4101 --userpass=xx:xx
Any other commands to expand on this as after 5 minutes it gets disconnected.
No. If it gets disconnected it's almost certainly either the pool's or your Internet connection's fault (most probably the pool's). I'm always happy to test mining servers for compatibility, but I cannot even connect to the one mentioned above.

My GPU mining through cgminer is going fine to my pool, however CPUMiner is acting strange. It is not showing me sending any hashes. This is what it is showing almost all the time: http://i.imgur.com/eakS25T.png

What's going on?
HenriH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 10:13:56 PM
 #855

Thanks for cpuminer! Smiley

I have two small wishes:
- add "--shares" parameter, as seen in CGMiner/BFGMiner, to quit the program after n number of shares.
- add "--sharelog" parameter, as seen in CGMiner/BFGMiner, to log the mining process to a text file.

BFGMiner's README.txt:
--sharelog <arg>    Append share log to file
--shares <arg>      Quit after mining N shares (default: unlimited)

Henri.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 791
Merit: 505


View Profile
February 01, 2014, 12:10:48 AM
 #856

minerd.exe – url=stratum+tcp://stratum7.dogehouse.org:9090 –userpass=ikinga:x
Please make sure those options start with two hyphens (--), not with a Unicode dash, and that there is no space after the hyphens.

My GPU mining through cgminer is going fine to my pool, however CPUMiner is acting strange. It is not showing me sending any hashes. This is what it is showing almost all the time: http://i.imgur.com/eakS25T.png
What's going on?
If you send me the exact parameters you're using to connect I can give it a try.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
mysticode
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2014, 12:22:21 AM
 #857

minerd.exe – url=stratum+tcp://stratum7.dogehouse.org:9090 –userpass=ikinga:x
Please make sure those options start with two hyphens (--), not with a Unicode dash, and that there is no space after the hyphens.

My GPU mining through cgminer is going fine to my pool, however CPUMiner is acting strange. It is not showing me sending any hashes. This is what it is showing almost all the time: http://i.imgur.com/eakS25T.png
What's going on?
If you send me the exact parameters you're using to connect I can give it a try.

minerd.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u <my BTC ID> -p <anything>

I am connecting to middlecoin.com:3333 within my Mining Proxy that is listening on 8332.
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 791
Merit: 505


View Profile
February 01, 2014, 09:28:04 AM
 #858

My GPU mining through cgminer is going fine to my pool, however CPUMiner is acting strange. It is not showing me sending any hashes. This is what it is showing almost all the time: http://i.imgur.com/eakS25T.png
What's going on?
If you send me the exact parameters you're using to connect I can give it a try.
minerd.exe -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u <my BTC ID> -p <anything>
I am connecting to middlecoin.com:3333 within my Mining Proxy that is listening on 8332.
Which fork of slush's proxy are you using, exactly? Are you also connecting cgminer through the proxy, and if yes with what parameters? Does the issue also arise if you stay connected to the getwork port instead of letting it switch to Stratum (pass --no-stratum to minerd)?

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
noveske
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2014, 11:59:30 AM
 #859

Hi,

I am trying to compile on XP 32bit (that's all I currently have available) and I am having some problems:

I have installed MinGW32, MSYS, C, and C++ compilers.
Downloaded and compiled curl-7.30.0.tar.gz, and copied over the libcurl.m4 and curl-config files.
Downloaded 'pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2.tar.gz' from Sourceforge (I am assuming this is the source to use?).

I am trying to build for 32bit Windows, so I use the config command:

Code:
./configure --host=i686-w64-mingw32 CFLAGS="-O3"

This appears to complete without any issues, so I issue the make command and get the following error message:

Code:
noveske@xp /c/cpuminer-2.3.2
$ make
make  all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2'
Making all in compat
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat'
Making all in jansson
make[3]: Entering directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat/jansson'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat/jansson'
make[3]: Entering directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2/compat'
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2'
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I/c/MinGW/include   -O3 -MT minerd-cpu-miner.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/minerd-cpu-miner.Tpo -c -o minerd-cpu-miner.o `test -f 'cpu-miner.c' || echo './'`cpu-miner.c
In file included from c:\mingw\include\curl\curlbuild.h:124:0,
                 from c:\mingw\include\curl\curl.h:34,
                 from cpu-miner.c:37:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:38:2: error: #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible with winsock.h. Include winsock2.h instead."
 #error "ws2tcpip.h is not compatible with winsock.h. Include winsock2.h instead."
  ^
In file included from c:\mingw\include\curl\curlbuild.h:124:0,
                 from c:\mingw\include\curl\curl.h:34,
                 from cpu-miner.c:37:
c:\mingw\include\ws2tcpip.h:147:8: error: redefinition of 'struct ip_mreq'
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from c:\mingw\include\windows.h:93:0,
                 from cpu-miner.c:23:
c:\mingw\include\winsock.h:315:8: note: originally defined here
 struct ip_mreq {
        ^
In file included from cpu-miner.c:39:0:
miner.h:9:21: fatal error: pthread.h: No such file or directory
 #include <pthread.h>
                     ^
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [minerd-cpu-miner.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/cpuminer-2.3.2'
make: *** [all] Error 2

noveske@xp /c/cpuminer-2.3.2

Any help would be great, thanks
unamis76
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 02, 2014, 03:12:54 PM
 #860

Checksums in the first post don't match with the files, more specifically with the win32 one... Anything wrong?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!