Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:42:45 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1529061 times)
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 01:31:42 PM
 #201

Wow!

My prevous minerd did 1.8Kh/s per core. This new one does 3.9Kh/s per core!

Thanks Smiley

P.S. Core2duo SU7300
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
February 12, 2012, 05:35:06 PM
 #202

Phenom ii x4 955 @ 3.6GHz

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 05:37:23 PM
 #203

Alright folks, time for a version bump.

Version 2.1.3
  • Support for extensions "midstate" (reduces network bandwidth usage) and "submitold" (used by p2pool).
  • Smart handling of long polling failures: switch to short scantime if long polling fails.
  • It is now possible to specify username and password in the URL, like this: --url http://username:password@host:port/.
  • Added a --version option, and (finally) cleaned up the output of the --help option.
  • The miner will now complain about non-option arguments, instead of simply ignoring them.
  • Minor bug fixes.

The source code is, as always, available at GitHub. No binaries yet, sorry, I couldn't find diki on IRC. Windows binaries here.

Brief note on the -s/--scantime option
I have seen people suggest various values for this option in order to reduce stales when mining in pools.
The funny thing is that, to my knowledge, all Litecoin pools have long polling permanently enabled (which is good), and when long polling is enabled the scantime parameter is completely ignored.
For this reason, the use of this parameter only makes sense when you are mining solo.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
MCWey8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53

[ Poor Miner ]


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:27:20 PM
 #204

2.1.3 Linux - Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual  CPU  E2180  @ 2.00GHz - 5.7 KHs

2.1.2 Windows - Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual  CPU  T6400  @ 2.00GHz - 6.0 KHs

2.1.2 Windows - AMD C-50 Dual @ 1.00GHz - 1.36 KHs

2.1.3 Linux - AMD Athlon @ 700MHz - 0.4 KHs
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 01:20:29 AM
 #205

Binaries of version 2.1.3 for Windows are now available.
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/downloads

UPDATE: A 64-bit binary for Mac OS X is now also available.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
stcupp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
February 15, 2012, 11:59:50 PM
 #206

this took my AMD AM2+ phenemon from 4 kh/s to 16 kh/s!

hangover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 05:57:25 AM
 #207

hangover: this version should build correctly with binutils 2.15. Let me know if the assembler still complains.

pooler, everything builds correctly, thank you!

If you find this post useful, you can donate some bitcoins to 1EEVoXSDU2o4jYED394wR1bKMVezsmiU4T
cabin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 02:37:39 PM
 #208

I notice at 100% CPU it does cut into the GPU hash rate for bitcoin a little (on the same machine). I wonder if an option for 'intensity' could be added so it could be configured to use only 95% CPU?

1Cabinz1RSccAbFx2DikYomSKeMupy7M6V
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 04:03:08 PM
 #209

use 1 less thread. Works good on my i7's
cabin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
February 19, 2012, 04:05:00 PM
 #210

that's what I've been doing.. but it's a little harsh when there's only 2 cores Smiley

1Cabinz1RSccAbFx2DikYomSKeMupy7M6V
ZedZedNova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 04:34:02 AM
 #211

If you are running linux or Mac OS X you can use the "nice" command to alter how the process is scheduled.

Windows has something similar, but I don't recall what it is. Probably accessible from Perfmon or Resource Monitor.

- Zed

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 10:37:32 AM
 #212

Yes, in Task Manager, there is something called Priority, you can set it to whatever you like, but NEVER to real-time.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
LoWang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145



View Profile
February 20, 2012, 12:12:43 PM
 #213

or you can use command start to launch a program with a set priority
start "title" /low command
cabin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 03:06:54 PM
 #214

This is on windows and the process priority is already as low as it can go. Anyways not a big deal overall.

1Cabinz1RSccAbFx2DikYomSKeMupy7M6V
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
February 20, 2012, 05:45:58 PM
 #215

This is on windows and the process priority is already as low as it can go. Anyways not a big deal overall.

You may want to try out one of these free utilities, that allow you to limit the maximum CPU usage of a process:
http://deztec.jp/x/05/faireal/BES-index.html
http://threadmaster.tripod.com/

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:57:27 AM
 #216

(Just looked into this "LiteCoin" thing today) Followed the instructions on pool-x for my i7-2600k, got 8.8 khash total for 4 cores.

Just replaced the default files with your ones, now getting 10.5 khash, PER CORE, for a total of 42.0 khash

Wow   Shocked
How in the world are you getting 10.5 KH/s per core?

Buy & Hold
shakti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 08:42:35 AM
 #217

(Just looked into this "LiteCoin" thing today) Followed the instructions on pool-x for my i7-2600k, got 8.8 khash total for 4 cores.

Just replaced the default files with your ones, now getting 10.5 khash, PER CORE, for a total of 42.0 khash

Wow   Shocked
How in the world are you getting 10.5 KH/s per core?
4 threads on i7 2600k can give 10.5 kh/s pro thread Smiley

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 08:49:03 AM
 #218

(Just looked into this "LiteCoin" thing today) Followed the instructions on pool-x for my i7-2600k, got 8.8 khash total for 4 cores.

Just replaced the default files with your ones, now getting 10.5 khash, PER CORE, for a total of 42.0 khash

Wow   Shocked
How in the world are you getting 10.5 KH/s per core?
4 threads on i7 2600k can give 10.5 kh/s pro thread Smiley
Huh?
LoWang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:04:28 PM
 #219

(Just looked into this "LiteCoin" thing today) Followed the instructions on pool-x for my i7-2600k, got 8.8 khash total for 4 cores.

Just replaced the default files with your ones, now getting 10.5 khash, PER CORE, for a total of 42.0 khash

Wow   Shocked

I just installed 64bit Linux on core i5 2400 @3.1GHz and it runs up to 30kh/s! So I think this is possible to achieve with i7. Fuzzy did you notice if turboboost activates or not? According to Intel it can go up to 3.8GHz
http://ark.intel.com/products/52214/Intel-Core-i7-2600K-Processor-(8M-Cache-3_40-GHz)
Unfortunatelly I was not able to run lm-sensors on that Linux so I cannot check.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:23:14 PM
 #220

I got 46kh/s on a 2600K @ 4.5GHz after compiling the miner on ubuntu (which was a pain in the ass).

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!