Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2017, 04:10:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1806370 times)
paulus51
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:20:59 PM
 #721

well i am wonder how does this look to you ?


1506399059
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506399059

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506399059
Reply with quote  #2

1506399059
Report to moderator
1506399059
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506399059

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506399059
Reply with quote  #2

1506399059
Report to moderator
1506399059
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506399059

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506399059
Reply with quote  #2

1506399059
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
OleOle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Are you like these guys?


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 10:25:56 PM
 #722

well i am wonder how does this look to you ?



Well, I'm no expert, far from it, but that looks fine to me... looks exactly how my cpuminer runs, so if your hashing is registering at your pool, that's you up and running I'd say.

Smiley



paulus51
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 01:02:40 PM
 #723

well thanks for your awnser it looks like this in my account :

just started miner :

     share                       Score     Last share at             Mhash/s*
       3                          6.6370     1 minute                 33.123


its not mega but works wel .......[ i think  Wink ]

4 cores all at work at 100%
temp about 69/70 degrees ! steady


using minerd.exe  7/10/2013 : 5:0pm 368kb size


are there any extra flags for CPU ?  Intell Quadcore Q6600 now runs on 2400mhz

i see here hardware comparison
at intel quadcore Q6600 some extraflags but can i use it with minerd.exe ?

        CPU                       Software                 extra flags
Quadcore Q6600     bitcoin-miner 0.10        -a 60 -g no -t 4   : these extra flags are special for this CPU !

senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile
November 27, 2013, 07:58:39 AM
 #724

Has anyone tried to compile this for 64bit?

I compiled it for 32bit (windows) without issue and the binary works normally. When I try to compile for 64bit (windows) it compiles fine, but the binary crashes with an error messages of "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)."

Any ideas?

..

Got it, my dlls weren't correct. Make sure you're using the correct dlls if you try to compile 64bit.

webants
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 01:11:31 AM
 #725

virus!
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 08:57:30 AM
 #726

Please read the FAQ before posting questions.

are there any extra flags for CPU ?
Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make it mine faster?
A: No. The miner automatically picks the best settings for the CPU it is run on.

virus!
Q: My antivirus flags the Windows binary as malware.
A: That's a known false positive. More information here.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
OleOle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


Are you like these guys?


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 11:06:16 AM
 #727

virus!


Shouting "Fire!" in a theatre?

Tsk tsk.

Cheesy


pluMmet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 06:18:09 PM
 #728

got it never mind Smiley

nurminen1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 11:36:24 AM
 #729

Please help!

I want to mine Betacoins with CPU for http://bet.ispace.co.uk/ with Azure Ubuntu 12.04lts Virtual machines.
What is the whole command to write for these Virtual machines when SSH:ing them with putty?

It's something like: "sudo add-apt..."
flexgroo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:50:09 PM
 #730

hmm i just downloaded this to try on my laptop while i sit here in afghanistan waiting to go home at the end of the month, and when i tried to start it the dos window pops up on my laptop, doing its thing and then i get an error

HTTP request failed: failed connect to 127.0.0.1:9332; no error
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds

and it just keeps repeting that over and over

BTC 13qcDv7PtNsc97zW4hoDoWg6Y2K4gNyyvz please donate anything trying to get enough to get in a pool, until i can find a good place to buy btc
BIL BVVMitegGu1RVwaEzfFLN8fkbJauF4ucHo New coin
[Buy BTC in the USA - Coinbase referral]
xzibits
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:52:41 PM
 #731

I can't seem to make this work for alternatepool.com .

Point Your Miner To:
stratum+tcp://miner.alternatepool.com:3333
Username: <Your BTC Address>


Code:
cpuminer -o stratum+tcp://miner.alternatepool.com:3333 -u 1ABGZH6oWW6QbkPG4JEajC2q2bFMaJAhci -p x

Here is my output:

Code:
[2013-12-03 22:44:06] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-12-03 22:44:06] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://miner.alternatepool.com:
3333
[2013-12-03 22:44:06] Binding thread 0 to cpu 0
[2013-12-03 22:44:23] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-03 22:44:23] ...retry after 15 seconds
[2013-12-03 22:45:07] stratum_recv_line failed
[2013-12-03 22:45:07] ...retry after 15 seconds
[2013-12-03 22:45:36] stratum_recv_line failed

btw, I have this working fine on multipool.us
paulus51
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 10:50:33 AM
 #732

hmm

i notice some strange things with this version :

i wanted to search for the newest dll's for this miner this is what i have found out :



pakage include :


name file :   pooler-cpuminer-2.3.2-win64.zip

includes :  [1] minerd.exe         --->  is 64bit version  
                [2] libcurl.dll            --->  is 64bit version [ newer version downloaded ]
                [3] pthreadGC2.dll    --->  "pthreadGC2.dll" (for 32-bit programs) or "pthreadGC2_64.dll" (for 64-bit programs)
                [4] zlib1.dll              --->  is 64bit version [ newer version downloaded ]


can you profide me the newest phtreadGC2XXX  for 64bit file please ??

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 11:15:25 AM
 #733

can you profide me the newest phtreadGC2XXX  for 64bit file please ??
It isn't clear to me why you'd want to update the DLLs, if those provided with the binary package work. If you are trying to make the miner faster, you are definitely looking in the wrong place.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
paulus51
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 11:30:05 AM
 #734

wel no i am not trying to make it faster...

but this version should be 64 bit right ?  that dll is for 32 bit , i am only asking for a 64 bit dll file

you did a great job on it thats not the point  Wink

i dont want to make it faster i just want my files be up to date , there is nothing wrong with i think ..........

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 11:35:29 AM
 #735

but this version should be 64 bit right ?  that dll is for 32 bit , i am only asking for a 64 bit dll file
That file should be 64-bit just like the rest. What makes you think it isn't? Just the filename?

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
paulus51
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 11:42:13 AM
 #736

well it issent the source it selfs say's it  Wink


i have done resource about this and the source ...


source force say : specific :  "pthreadGC2.dll" (for 32-bit programs) or "pthreadGC2_64.dll" (for 64-bit programs)


compiler issue ?

package the wrong dll file with it ?

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:01:52 PM
 #737

source force say : specific :  "pthreadGC2.dll" (for 32-bit programs) or "pthreadGC2_64.dll" (for 64-bit programs)
Not sure what you are referring to. The filename is just a name. As they say, a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

Anyway, I have briefly tested the 64-bit package with wine64, and as expected it doesn't work if I remove pthreadGC2.dll or if I replace it with the one from the 32-bit package. That pretty much proves that the file is 64-bit, to me. I'm not a Windows expert, but I do know that function calling conventions are different for 32-bit and 64-bit programs, so I very much doubt that a 64-bit program can use 32-bit libraries.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Spoetnik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


FUD Philanthropist™


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:21:25 PM
 #738

i noticed long ago in the miner_thread() function the scantime setting does not do anything
unless Stratum and Longpolling is NOT found.. i can prove this easily and show lines of source doe etc

SO this leads me to believe a lot of people out there are led to believe --scantime may be doing something when in fact it can't

Is this by design ?

i have made my own mod(s) on this mod of yours and fixed it so to speak. (i made a mod of cudaminer and quarkminer that are based on your miner)

so do you know what i am saying or should post the exact parts of the code ?

FUD first & ask questions later™
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:28:04 PM
 #739

i noticed long ago in the miner_thread() function the scantime setting does not do anything
unless Stratum and Longpolling is NOT found.. i can prove this easily and show lines of source doe etc

SO this leads me to believe a lot of people out there are led to believe --scantime may be doing something when in fact it can't

Is this by design ?

i have made my own mod(s) on this mod of yours and fixed it so to speak. (i made a mod of cudaminer and quarkminer that are based on your miner)

so do you know what i am saying or should post the exact parts of the code ?
Brief note on the -s/--scantime option
I have seen people suggest various values for this option in order to reduce stales when mining in pools.
The funny thing is that, to my knowledge, all Litecoin pools have long polling permanently enabled (which is good), and when long polling is enabled the scantime parameter is completely ignored.
For this reason, the use of this parameter only makes sense when you are mining solo.
Is having a lower scantime better when solo mining?
If you are solo mining you may want to set it to a lower value than the default (5 seconds), provided that the *coin daemon is running locally. That can lower the probability of your solutions getting rejected.
If you are mining at a pool, the option is completely ignored by the miner, as better solutions (long polling or Stratum) will then be available.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
pluMmet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 01:08:10 PM
 #740

Solo mining for the first time here.

When pool mining the cmd window shows my cpu info and reprints it when pool finds block.

Solo mining prints info just once (no blocks yet i get it) but how do i know its not just frozen?

It just says bind thread 8 times  (0-7) thats it. No mh reading or anything.

Is my little comp dead in the water or is this how cpuminer works while solo mining?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!