Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:18:23 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1529529 times)
dicser
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 03:46:58 PM
 #1061

 stratum+tcp://www.crypthash.fr:3334 -u ser.x -p y
1481041103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041103
Reply with quote  #2

1481041103
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481041103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041103
Reply with quote  #2

1481041103
Report to moderator
1481041103
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041103

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041103
Reply with quote  #2

1481041103
Report to moderator
dicser
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 03:48:15 PM
 #1062

I have a cpu athlon fx 8320
junky998
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 09:05:54 PM
 #1063

What's the "-s" in command line used for?
Thanks.
junky998
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 06:39:22 AM
 #1064

What's the "-s" in command line used for?
Thanks.

anyone can help on this?  Grin
Thank you.
PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 07:43:26 AM
 #1065

What's the "-s" in command line used for?
Thanks.

anyone can help on this?  Grin
Thank you.
  -s, --scantime=N      upper bound on time spent scanning current work when long polling is unavailable, in seconds (default: 5)
DELTA9
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 06:10:01 AM
 #1066

Can someone please upload latest windows binaries
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 10:56:47 AM
 #1067

Hi guy,

I'm a total newbie to mining, and just stumbled over cpuminer and this thread, because I was looking for info on what's possible with an Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz / 8GB RAM that's running here 24/7 mostly idle anyway. It only has nVidia Corporation G72 [GeForce 7500 LE] graphics, so GPU mining is out of question, and I can't connect anything USB, so no ASIC neither.

I can see that CPU mining is considered to be dead, but on the other side what the heck.

Can someone please point out what would make most sense to mine with such low specs?

  • Bitcoin or Litecoin?
  • Pool, P2Pool or Solo?
  • If Pool, does it make any difference which pool with such low specs?

Any hint highly appreciated.

Greetings,

M.

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 12:36:41 PM
 #1068

Hi guy,

I'm a total newbie to mining, and just stumbled over cpuminer and this thread, because I was looking for info on what's possible with an Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz / 8GB RAM that's running here 24/7 mostly idle anyway. It only has nVidia Corporation G72 [GeForce 7500 LE] graphics, so GPU mining is out of question, and I can't connect anything USB, so no ASIC neither.

I can see that CPU mining is considered to be dead, but on the other side what the heck.

Can someone please point out what would make most sense to mine with such low specs?

  • Bitcoin or Litecoin?
  • Pool, P2Pool or Solo?
  • If Pool, does it make any difference which pool with such low specs?

Any hint highly appreciated.

Greetings,

M.
Neither Litecoin, especially not Bitcoin.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 12:55:34 PM
 #1069

Can someone please point out what would make most sense to mine with such low specs?
  • Bitcoin or Litecoin?
  • Pool, P2Pool or Solo?
  • If Pool, does it make any difference which pool with such low specs?
Any hint highly appreciated.
Neither Litecoin, especially not Bitcoin.

Well, any recommendation then?

What do you guys do with cpuminer?

usao
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 01:26:01 PM
 #1070

Can someone please point out what would make most sense to mine with such low specs?
  • Bitcoin or Litecoin?
  • Pool, P2Pool or Solo?
  • If Pool, does it make any difference which pool with such low specs?
Any hint highly appreciated.
Neither Litecoin, especially not Bitcoin.

Well, any recommendation then?

What do you guys do with cpuminer?
Take a look at coinwarz.com and whattomine...
Look for coins with fairly quick block times.
Since you aren't going to make any real money anytime soon, I would suggest coins with high block payouts, just to you can visually see coin values with fewer leading zeros...
If you like pools, my personal favorites are:
coinmine.pw - very nice GUI.
nicehash.com - Pays out in BTC directly so you don't have to worry about getting the best prices at the exchange.
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 03:09:51 PM
 #1071

What do you guys do with cpuminer?
Take a look at coinwarz.com and whattomine...
Look for coins with fairly quick block times.
Since you aren't going to make any real money anytime soon, I would suggest coins with high block payouts, just to you can visually see coin values with fewer leading zeros...
If you like pools, my personal favorites are:
coinmine.pw - very nice GUI.
nicehash.com - Pays out in BTC directly so you don't have to worry about getting the best prices at the exchange.

I've taken a look at coinwarz & whattomine, I've played around with different sortings, but I don't really have a clue where this is leading me. So a low block time + high block reward is the key?

Any specific recommendations?

It really would be interesting to know what others here are using their cpuminer for, after all it's still being actively developed and obviously used, so someone hopefully can share a little more info.

I know this may be completely pointless, after more reading I'm considering to buy an Antminter S3 for getting starting with something making more sense, but my thought was that mentioned server with Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz is running 24/7 at little load anyway and it does not cost my anything, so why not using it for some mining?

usao
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 03:20:34 PM
 #1072

What do you guys do with cpuminer?
Take a look at coinwarz.com and whattomine...
Look for coins with fairly quick block times.
Since you aren't going to make any real money anytime soon, I would suggest coins with high block payouts, just to you can visually see coin values with fewer leading zeros...
If you like pools, my personal favorites are:
coinmine.pw - very nice GUI.
nicehash.com - Pays out in BTC directly so you don't have to worry about getting the best prices at the exchange.

I've taken a look at coinwarz & whattomine, I've played around with different sortings, but I don't really have a clue where this is leading me. So a low block time + high block reward is the key?

Any specific recommendations?

It really would be interesting to know what others here are using their cpuminer for, after all it's still being actively developed and obviously used, so someone hopefully can share a little more info.

I know this may be completely pointless, after more reading I'm considering to buy an Antminter S3 for getting starting with something making more sense, but my thought was that mentioned server with Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz is running 24/7 at little load anyway and it does not cost my anything, so why not using it for some mining?
Well, the Antminer is a SHA ASIC, which is completely different from a Scrypt CPU miner...
For Scrypt/CPU, I just pulled-up coinwarz and very few coins are paying better than LTC.
So, you could mine LTC with cpuminer at a pool such as www.wemineltc.com. You will get a very small payout, but you can do it fairly easily.
If you don't mind playing with the exchanges and trading coins, then coinwarz is (currently) showing EMD, CAP, KGC, USDe as possible coins.
None of them are very stable though, so if you want to mine and not have to chase the coins, LTC would be better choice.
I wouldn't recommend solo-mining with a CPU, so look for a pool which has some of these coins.
If that's too much hastle for the small reward, then just go for LTC in a straight pool.
Good info on LTC pools can be found at: https://litecoin.info/Mining_pool_comparison
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 05:05:38 PM
 #1073

Thanks a lot, usao, that was of great help.

I've cpuminer already in use on WeMineLTC, which I chose because they have their own CPU Mining Server. It seems to be working as supposed to:

Code:
[2014-08-07 18:59:05] thread 1: 144492 hashes, 2.89 khash/s
[2014-08-07 18:59:06] Stratum requested work restart
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] stratum_recv_line failed
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] Stratum connection interrupted
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 7: 168804 hashes, 2.91 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 5: 169020 hashes, 2.92 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 1: 164748 hashes, 2.84 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 0: 165708 hashes, 2.86 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 3: 166056 hashes, 2.86 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 2: 165300 hashes, 2.85 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 6: 168156 hashes, 2.90 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] thread 4: 168804 hashes, 2.91 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:05] Stratum requested work restart
[2014-08-07 19:00:40] thread 6: 98880 hashes, 2.92 khash/s
[2014-08-07 19:00:40] accepted: 30/30 (100.00%), 23.07 khash/s (yay!!!)

I can see such Stratum requested work restart, stratum_recv_line failed and Stratum connection interrupted quite frequently, but I guess that's normal?

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 05:10:47 PM
 #1074

I can see such Stratum requested work restart, stratum_recv_line failed and Stratum connection interrupted quite frequently, but I guess that's normal?

"Stratum requested work restart" is totally normal, and should happen every time a new block appears on the network.
"Stratum connection interrupted", on the other hand, is not normal. It indicates a network failure, which could be due to your Internet connection or to the remote server.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 05:29:23 PM
 #1075

I can see such Stratum requested work restart, stratum_recv_line failed and Stratum connection interrupted quite frequently, but I guess that's normal?
"Stratum requested work restart" is totally normal, and should happen every time a new block appears on the network.
"Stratum connection interrupted", on the other hand, is not normal. It indicates a network failure, which could be due to your Internet connection or to the remote server.

Seems to be the remote server, I've tested it with Crypto Miner on my LG G2 and have seen the same error there.

kisrap
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

A FIDUS ACHATE, STAYS LOST IN FLIGHT


View Profile
August 08, 2014, 10:31:41 AM
 #1076

i have tried to run it on my windows but it says mining termitted

kisrap
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

A FIDUS ACHATE, STAYS LOST IN FLIGHT


View Profile
August 08, 2014, 10:34:48 AM
 #1077

i have tried to run it on my windows but it says mining termitted
it says unsupported non-option argument miner, any help

ottong
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 09, 2014, 12:23:35 PM
 #1078

my comp not strong to mining
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
elhee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 02:12:04 PM
 #1079

Current Version: 2.4 (May 20, 2014) - Changelog
Source tarball: http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.tar.gz
Binaries for Windows:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-win32.zip (32-bit)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-win64.zip  (64-bit)
Binaries for Linux:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-linux-x86.tar.gz (x86)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-linux-x86_64.tar.gz (x86-64)
Binaries for Mac OS X: (courtesy of shawnp0wers and Tachikoma)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-osx32.zip (32-bit)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4-osx64.zip (64-bit)

SHA-256 Checksums
Code:
3d5b7bc01ff52db013d8a551984f9699864e0def5b87528813e34c168662837a  pooler-cpuminer-2.4.tar.gz
641b39a0ee7d533209b91a811da9b6a84b2c27f599a0e1c2d4ff113a5fd7e3ac  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
fcf6b8ab25f0a2bbb142102a9eb01b600ddbe9b4362ff1870ebb3a2462b4da36  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-linux-x86.tar.gz
9886a72d47a43eec126f56df8b510b6cc1a0a82448c02080da5eb19e53fcca0e  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-osx32.zip
77a5581aa2b133802f555b48f8123724e294799861236bbca718eae2daa04297  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-osx64.zip
fa70992d541dae073cbf5fd47ed646f0c961ddffa7fa5690a6e0f8f139c0eaef  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-win32.zip
6f53f2f7d7c5ce78c74282e5b74ba6b5da22d5173f4a7bfddb57b21c1fc24f38  pooler-cpuminer-2.4-win64.zip

Basic usage examples
Code:
$ ./minerd --url=http://myminingpool.com:9332 --userpass=my.worker:password
$ ./minerd --url=stratum+tcp://myminingpool.com:3333 --userpass=my.worker:password
For more information:
Code:
$ ./minerd --help

Building instructions
Installing dependencies for building on Debian, Ubuntu and other APT-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential libcurl4-openssl-dev
Installing dependencies for building on Fedora, RHEL, CentOS and other yum-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo yum install gcc make curl-devel
Installing dependencies for building on OpenSUSE and other ZYpp-based distros:
Code:
$ sudo zypper in gcc make libcurl-devel
Recipe for building on Linux:
Code:
$ wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/cpuminer/files/pooler-cpuminer-2.4.tar.gz
$ tar xzf pooler-cpuminer-*.tar.gz
$ cd cpuminer-*
$ ./configure CFLAGS="-O3"
$ make

FAQ / Troubleshooting

Q: Should I call this miner "cpuminer" or "minerd"?
A: The software package is called "cpuminer". "minerd" ("miner daemon") is just the name of the executable file provided by the package.

Q: My antivirus flags the Windows binary as malware.
A: That's a known false positive. More information here.

Q: Can I mine (insert your cryptocoin here) with this miner?
A: Only if its proof-of-work algorithm is scrypt or SHA-256d. This miner does not currently support other algorithms such as Keccak, scrypt-jane, X11, etc. Forks of this project may provide additional algorithms, but I do not maintain them and they are not discussed here, so if you have questions about them please contact their authors.

Q: When running configure I get the error "C compiler cannot create executables".
A: Make sure you typed CFLAGS="-O3" with a big O, not with a zero.

Q: autogen.sh dies with "error: possibly undefined macro: AC_MSG_ERROR".
Q: configure chokes on something like "LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.15.2, ,'".
A: Make sure you have installed the development package for libcurl. If you have and you're still getting the error when compiling from git, try compiling from tarball instead.

Q: I'm trying to connect to a Stratum server, but I get "HTTP request failed: Empty reply from server".
A: Make sure you specified the correct protocol in the server URL (stratum+tcp://).

Q: Is there any command-line option I can play with to make it mine faster?
A: No. The miner automatically picks the best settings for the CPU it is run on.

Q: What's the difference between the two algorithms, scrypt and sha256d?
A: They are completely different proof-of-work algorithms. You must use scrypt for Litecoin, and you must use sha256d for Bitcoin. The default algorithm is scrypt, so for Bitcoin mining you have to specify --algo=sha256d.

Q: Will this miner use a lot of RAM when using the scrypt algorithm?
A: No, that's a GPU thing.

Q: How do I make the miner write its output to a file instead of printing it to the screen?
A: Just redirect the standard error stream to file:
Code:
minerd [OPTIONS] 2> myfile
You may also want to use the --quiet/-q option to disable the per-thread hashmeter.
On *nix, you probably also want to use the --background/-B option to fork in the background.


Original post (December 19, 2011) follows. Please note that most of the technical details are now outdated.

I have recently rewritten the heart of the scrypt hashing function used by the jgarzik/ArtForz cpuminer in assembly language, to see if this could bring some more speed. Apparently it did. Smiley
The source code is now available at GitHub:
https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer
The build process for Linux should be the same as before.

In the new code I tried to take full advantage of SSE2 instructions, which are available since the Pentium 4. Unfortunately, AMD's implementation of these instructions is not as fast as Intel's... well, ok, sadly it's nearly two times slower. For this reason, I had to write separate versions of the hashing functions. You don't need to worry about this, though, since the new function should be able to auto-detect your cpu and automatically select the best algorithm.

Long polling patch
This release also includes a new --timeout option that I originally added to solve a problem with long polling. Apparently the LP thread doesn't behave nicely under certain network conditions, as reported by various users. So, if you experienced high stale rates with the previous miner, you should definitely try out this new version.
Many thanks to SockPuppet, aka shawnp0wers, who helped me nail down the issue!

Some Technical Details
The current release includes four different implementations of the scrypt core, each one designed for a different hardware.
  • A fallback plain x86 version, to be used when SSE2 instructions are not available (Pentium III, Athlon XP and earlier processors).
  • A 32-bit version using SSE2, for use on the Pentium 4, Pentium M, Core, Atom, plus all 64-bit cpus running in a 32-bit OS.
  • A 64-bit version for Intel processors, i.e. Core 2, i3, i5, i7. This version can in most cases double the speed of the previous miner.
  • A 64-bit version for AMD processors, i.e. Athlon 64, Phenom, Sempron and the like. The speed increase here can range from 5% to 80%.
The first two versions only get compiled in the 32-bit miner, the last two only in the 64-bit miner. The miner uses the CPUID instruction to choose which version to use.

Compiler Flags
One cool aspect of assembly code is that users no more need to play with compiler flags to get the best performance. Configuring the build with just CFLAGS="-O3" is now more than enough to get efficient code. This also means that we no more need separate specialized binaries for Intel and AMD cpus. Just a 32-bit and a 64-bit version.

Personal Notes
Someone on IRC asked me why I am releasing this miner, instead of keeping it for myself or for my pool. Well, that's exactly the point. It is important for Litecoin that everybody has access to the most efficient mining software!
Someone might worry about the effect of this release on market prices, but consider this: if everybody starts using the new miner, the hash rate will go up, but so will difficulty, so nothing will ultimately change. I actually think this new miner will be very beneficial to Litecoin, because it should make mining easier for beginners (see compiler flags).
As crazy_rabbit wrote in another thread, one big plus of Litecoin is that everybody can participate. Well, consider this: now you can effectively mine on an Atom! Smiley

Alright folks... I hope you enjoy the performance boost. Consider this as my Christmas present to the community! Cheesy
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Bag of Bitcoins


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 06:34:46 AM
 #1080

Just out of curiosity, because I've seen the following in the help output of minderd:

Quote
--coinbase-addr=ADDR  payout address for solo mining
--coinbase-sig=TEXT  data to insert in the coinbase when possible

Does minerd really support solo mining, and if yes, how to set it up?

Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!