Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:17:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: An (even more) optimized version of cpuminer (pooler's cpuminer, CPU-only)  (Read 1528550 times)
chrissyboomboom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
November 08, 2012, 07:04:08 AM
 #461

What stops me/someone from only joining the pool when it's near the end of a block then?
1480832269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832269
Reply with quote  #2

1480832269
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480832269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832269
Reply with quote  #2

1480832269
Report to moderator
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 08, 2012, 07:27:20 AM
 #462

What stops me/someone from only joining the pool when it's near the end of a block then?
Nothing... you can't predict the 'end' of a block in the first place...

When you're mining, you're brute-forcing a hash which solves the block at a certain difficulty. It could take 1 second for you to find a hash that meets the criteria, it could take you months.

You're just trying as many hashes as you can until one of them is good (measured in hashes-per-second, which is how you're judging your speed)

-- Smoov
thirdchance57
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 12:39:22 AM
 #463

is anybody else haveing a problem with avast tagging cpuminers as a trojan? ufasoft is also being tagged

abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 02:55:11 AM
 #464

hi i was wondering if it can take advantage of the intel avx extension? or be compiled with it thx
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 09:34:32 AM
 #465

is anybody else haveing a problem with avast tagging cpuminers as a trojan? ufasoft is also being tagged
dosnt matter.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 11:49:34 AM
 #466

is anybody else haveing a problem with avast tagging cpuminers as a trojan? ufasoft is also being tagged
Some malware people have been including the miners (including cgminer) as a payload in their trojans to get their botnets mining for them.

I keep sending false positive reports in, explaining that they are just payload, and if they are going to keep flagging them, at least flag them as a low threat so we can just click 'ignore'.

Yer just going to have to add them to the exclusion lists. You'll have to put it in at least two places. One is the shield settings, and in the scan settings. I couldn't tell you exactly where right now, I am not at that computer.

I just put the entire folders for them as exceptions, and also excepted all of the blockchain files too, or avast will be constantly scanning them whenever they change.

-- Smoov

ps: only download the miners from the official sources/threads!

btctalk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 01:00:50 AM
 #467

what exactly is this (booo) thing ?
is the shares accepted or ...?

Code:
[2012-12-03 19:59:26] thread 1: 33288 hashes, 10.21 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 2: 12 hashes, 9.92 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 0: 12 hashes, 10.06 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 3: 55092 hashes, 10.27 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/134 (99.25%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/135 (98.52%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/136 (97.79%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 1: 6636 hashes, 9.89 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 134/137 (97.81%), 40.13 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 0: 8172 hashes, 9.88 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 135/138 (97.83%), 39.96 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-12-03 19:59:30] thread 0: 12096 hashes, 10.07 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:30] accepted: 136/139 (97.84%), 40.14 khash/s (yay!!!)


Super Bitcoiner Club http://superbitcoiner.com
Persian Bitcoin Community - http://btctalk.com - http://fb.com/IranBitcoin
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 02:11:50 AM
 #468

what exactly is this (booo) thing ?
is the shares accepted or ...?

Code:
[2012-12-03 19:59:26] thread 1: 33288 hashes, 10.21 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 2: 12 hashes, 9.92 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 0: 12 hashes, 10.06 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 3: 55092 hashes, 10.27 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/134 (99.25%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/135 (98.52%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 133/136 (97.79%), 40.45 khash/s (booooo)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 1: 6636 hashes, 9.89 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 134/137 (97.81%), 40.13 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] thread 0: 8172 hashes, 9.88 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:28] accepted: 135/138 (97.83%), 39.96 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2012-12-03 19:59:30] thread 0: 12096 hashes, 10.07 khash/s
[2012-12-03 19:59:30] accepted: 136/139 (97.84%), 40.14 khash/s (yay!!!)


% of accept hashes goes down, therefore to logic boooo is a stale, yay the opposite.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
btctalk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 06:52:46 AM
 #469

Also when I used sha256 I got too many Yay and too many (booooo)s in follow...

Super Bitcoiner Club http://superbitcoiner.com
Persian Bitcoin Community - http://btctalk.com - http://fb.com/IranBitcoin
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 550


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 04:50:52 PM
 #470

Most of my mining hardware runs on Linux, but I have a Windows box on my desk at work.  I'd rather have minerd running as a daemon, but the Windows binary doesn't provide that as an option.  I could launch it minimized with a batch file called by a shortcut, but it still shows up in the taskbar.

A little bit of digging turned up some VBScript that can launch a program invisibly: no window, no taskbar, nothing to indicate it's running other than an entry in the task manager.  Some more digging turned up a way to renice the program so it doesn't interfere as much with normal usage.

Code:
' launch minerd

Set WshShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.Run chr(34) & "C:\Program Files\pooler-cpuminer-2.2.3-win32\minerd.exe" & Chr(34) & " -a scrypt -o http://ltc.kattare.com:9332/ -O username.workername:password", 0
Set WshShell = Nothing

' renice it to idle priority

strComputer = "."
Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")
Set colProcesses = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_Process Where Name = 'minerd.exe'")
For Each objProcess in colProcesses
    objProcess.SetPriority(64)
Next

Change the path to minerd.exe as appropriate.  I'm using the burnside Litecoin pool; change the pool URL and authentication options as appropriate.  Save as minerd.vbs, add it to the startup group, and it'll run hidden when you log in.  If necessary, use the task manager to kill it.

The only downside is that you don't get to monitor mining progress, as logging support isn't implemented in the Windows binary and there's no window to check.

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | Gridseed Miners - $25 off your first order | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
socrates
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
December 30, 2012, 06:06:30 PM
 #471

Where can I find a guide on how to use minerd? I have tried --help but I cannot determine how to use it to mine solo. Also, where do I specify the address where found blocks will go to?

thanks.
btctalk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile WWW
December 31, 2012, 07:45:46 AM
 #472

Where can I find a guide on how to use minerd? I have tried --help but I cannot determine how to use it to mine solo. Also, where do I specify the address where found blocks will go to?

thanks.


you need a litcoind that would push works and get the mined litecoins in its default address
the usage would be :

Code:
minerd -o http://litecoindserver:port -O ANameOrAnotherLitecoinAddress:x

Super Bitcoiner Club http://superbitcoiner.com
Persian Bitcoin Community - http://btctalk.com - http://fb.com/IranBitcoin
socrates
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
December 31, 2012, 07:15:09 PM
 #473

Where can I find a guide on how to use minerd? I have tried --help but I cannot determine how to use it to mine solo. Also, where do I specify the address where found blocks will go to?

thanks.


you need a litcoind that would push works and get the mined litecoins in its default address
the usage would be :

Code:
minerd -o http://litecoindserver:port -O ANameOrAnotherLitecoinAddress:x

Thanks. What is AName for the parameter -O ? and what does :x stand for?
pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 01, 2013, 12:34:13 PM
 #474

you need a litcoind that would push works and get the mined litecoins in its default address
the usage would be :

Code:
minerd -o http://litecoindserver:port -O ANameOrAnotherLitecoinAddress:x

As far as I know you can't specify an address to mine to when using litecoind directly. You need to use the username and password in your litecoin.conf file.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
January 03, 2013, 09:17:32 AM
 #475

Hi pooler,

as stratum is getting available to more LTC pools (ltcmine, notroll.in, p2pool) - do you have any plans to support it in future cpuminer (or rollproxy) releases?

pooler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 03, 2013, 10:35:09 AM
 #476

Hi pooler,

as stratum is getting available to more LTC pools (ltcmine, notroll.in, p2pool) - do you have any plans to support it in future cpuminer (or rollproxy) releases?

I'd like to implement it, but I can't say when I'll be able to. I'm pretty busy in this period.

BTC: 15MRTcUweNVJbhTyH5rq9aeSdyigFrskqE · LTC: LTCPooLqTK1SANSNeTR63GbGwabTKEkuS7
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 05, 2013, 06:52:07 PM
 #477

I must be utilising this wrongly;

it tells me its initialising 4 threads but nothing more, even minutes later. do i need this in the litecoin directory?

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
January 05, 2013, 08:32:46 PM
 #478

I must be utilising this wrongly;

it tells me its initialising 4 threads but nothing more, even minutes later. do i need this in the litecoin directory?
full command line ur using or this is just guessing.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 05, 2013, 09:57:19 PM
 #479

I must be utilising this wrongly;

it tells me its initialising 4 threads but nothing more, even minutes later. do i need this in the litecoin directory?
full command line ur using or this is just guessing.

cgminer --scrypt -o http://mine.pool-x.eu:8337 -u klondike_bar.1 -p x --shaders 40 --intensity 13 --worksize 64 -g 1 --gpu-engine 285 --gpu-memclock 760

its an nvidea NVS 3100m. default clocks are 300/800, but i found decreasing them slightly has little effect on hashrate but drastically improves on hardware errors (went from about 1 accept per 4 errors down to 5 accepts per 1 error)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
January 05, 2013, 10:33:37 PM
 #480

I must be utilising this wrongly;

it tells me its initialising 4 threads but nothing more, even minutes later. do i need this in the litecoin directory?
full command line ur using or this is just guessing.

cgminer --scrypt -o http://mine.pool-x.eu:8337 -u klondike_bar.1 -p x --shaders 40 --intensity 13 --worksize 64 -g 1 --gpu-engine 285 --gpu-memclock 760

its an nvidea NVS 3100m. default clocks are 300/800, but i found decreasing them slightly has little effect on hashrate but drastically improves on hardware errors (went from about 1 accept per 4 errors down to 5 accepts per 1 error)
invalid, this is the wrong thread! this thread is for cpuminer (minerd) not cgminer!

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!