Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:49:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271954 times)
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 12:55:28 PM
 #21

please add AMDOverdriveCtrl.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

absolutely essential for over/underclocking.

DiabloMiner would be nice, too... (and keep your eye on Hashkill)
1481395780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395780
Reply with quote  #2

1481395780
Report to moderator
1481395780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395780
Reply with quote  #2

1481395780
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395780
Reply with quote  #2

1481395780
Report to moderator
1481395780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395780
Reply with quote  #2

1481395780
Report to moderator
1481395780
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395780

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395780
Reply with quote  #2

1481395780
Report to moderator
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 01:17:30 PM
 #22

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 01:51:02 PM
 #23

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?

0.05BTC says the MD5 hash you (and i) got is the hash for version 0.1a...
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 02:20:54 PM
 #24

I'm trying the OS now.  Is there a way to keep files around after reboot?  Every time I restart I lose all the changes I had made.

Yes use the USB version and choose persistence.
I just tried out to. I liked it very much and everything worked smoothly in my opinion I'm still convinced that this a very interesting project.
The only thing that bothers me is that I couldn’t get my wifi to work at all on my hp compaq6510b when using LinuxCoin. But if I remember correctly I have had this problem with other live distributions as well so LinuxCoin is not to blame.

Anyway. Great work!

What Wifi card ? I'll see if I can patch up Wink

please add AMDOverdriveCtrl.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

absolutely essential for over/underclocking.

DiabloMiner would be nice, too... (and keep your eye on Hashkill)

Nope I missed AMDOverdrivectl. Over/underclocking can be done using aticonfig Wink

Enable overclocking ..
Code:
aticonfig --enable-od

next lets get the clocks

Code:
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=your adapter

Set them to what you want.

Code:
aticonfig --odsc 900,900 --adapter=youradapter

And commit them

Code:
aticonfig --odcc --adapter=youradapter

And set the fan speed to 70% (a good setting for most 5XXX&6XXX cards)

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.youradapter aticonfig --pplib-cmd="set fanspeed 0 70"

Here's a little bash magic to test your card temps.


Code:
while true; do
        aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | tail -n1 | awk '{print "Current temp: " $5}' ;
        aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature | tail -n1 | awk '{print "Current temp: " $5}' ;
        echo $(aticonfig --odgc --adapter=0| grep GPU);
        echo $(aticonfig --odgc --adapter=1| grep GPU);
# Next lines are to check your balance if solo mining
#        BALANCE=$(bitcoind getbalance)
#        echo -ne "Bitcoin Balance: ${BALANCE}\r";
        sleep 35;
        clear
done

But I will look into adding AMDoverdrivectl. Diablo miner will be added on the next version and I will take a look at hashkill.

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?

The md5sun for the CD version is 28bc5b424e3f33779f67fbe4fe1a9a67 I'll update now.

Don't forget the USB version is uploaded now Wink
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 02:27:16 PM
 #25

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?

0.05BTC says the MD5 hash you (and i) got is the hash for version 0.1a...
I so far downloaded 2 files from this thread
1. file
Name: linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati.iso
Size:540 MB (567,076,684 bytes)



2.file
Name:linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
Size:684 MB (717,387,776 bytes)




I started usb download now.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 02:33:15 PM
 #26

The MD5 hash don't match with the file i downloaded from this site today.
my hash is   MD5: d50c4d3a38a1349111bac5f69b9571f1  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
while it says CD MD5: 71e5253bc5bda47003c57d71c52db869  linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
My file size is 684 MB (717,387,776 bytes) on win7 32.
Who is wrong?

0.05BTC says the MD5 hash you (and i) got is the hash for version 0.1a...
I so far downloaded 2 files from this thread
1. file
Name: linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati.iso
Size:540 MB (567,076,684 bytes)



2.file
Name:linuxcoin-v0.1b-ati-cd.iso
Size:684 MB (717,387,776 bytes)



The first one was the old ISO with the fglrx bug. The second is a mystery to me ??


dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 02:37:21 PM
 #27

strange, downloading usb, let's see what it shows/.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 03:54:07 PM
 #28

strange, downloading usb, let's see what it shows/.

Yep very strange ? Even more so that you managed to burn the ISO and use it lol !! Ok let me know how you get on. The persistent space on the USB install is only 512mb. You can add more by following the guide posted on the first post of this thread.

dmp1ce
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile WWW
May 07, 2011, 05:56:33 PM
 #29

I'm trying the OS now.  Is there a way to keep files around after reboot?  Every time I restart I lose all the changes I had made.

Yes use the USB version and choose persistence.
I must be doing something wrong then.  I booted with the persistence option.  I then open up xterm, installed vim and created a file.  I rebooted with "shutdown -r now", I booted back up with the persistence option but the changes I made were not there.

Any tips?

BTCmon - Support great bitcoin apps
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2011, 06:39:33 PM
 #30

Interesting project, but I found a few problems / irritants with it:

1. It's set for a UK keyboard (I think) and thus doesn't work with a US keyboard properly.
2. It's missing screen.  This is absolutely 100% essential for any mining box with multiple cores.
3. SDK 2.4 is about 15 Mh/s slower than 2.1 on a 5870 core at 900 MHz.  Should really replace 2.4 with 2.1.
4. Instructions on boot don't make any sense, specifically the line about "tar icd-registration.tgz -C /"  What are you trying to do here?  I assume you're trying to untar it to the root directory.  If that's the case, you forgot the essential command line parameters.  It should be "tar xvfz icd-registration.tgz -C /"
5. DHCP is not setup by default on the network connections.

Just my input!

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 09:21:53 PM
 #31

Interesting project, but I found a few problems / irritants with it:

1. It's set for a UK keyboard (I think) and thus doesn't work with a US keyboard properly.
2. It's missing screen.  This is absolutely 100% essential for any mining box with multiple cores.
3. SDK 2.4 is about 15 Mh/s slower than 2.1 on a 5870 core at 900 MHz.  Should really replace 2.4 with 2.1.
4. Instructions on boot don't make any sense, specifically the line about "tar icd-registration.tgz -C /"  What are you trying to do here?  I assume you're trying to untar it to the root directory.  If that's the case, you forgot the essential command line parameters.  It should be "tar xvfz icd-registration.tgz -C /"
5. DHCP is not setup by default on the network connections.

Just my input!


if i were british, i'd set up the keyboard that way too...  and everybody doesn't use DHCP - it's better to have to look at your own network settings.

as for SDK 2.4 vs. 2.1 - 2.4 is becoming required:  for the 6xxx AMDs, and for compatibility with OpenCL.so.1.  the latest (and potentially greatest) miner (Hashkill) doesn't even support 2.1 at all - and on my 5xxx's it's faster.  software moves on, y'know.

there's a link to configuring screen resolution.

all in all, for a beta-ish release, i find it *quite* good.
ericools
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 12:16:27 AM
 #32

Thank you, I was just going to ask about those instructions.  Also the keyboard messed with me a little since I do not know how to change it, but with some hunting I found the right keys. 

I am getting 141Mhash on my 5770 using poclbm now was 66 as I had it set up so thanks.  Pretty awesome!

Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 02:58:46 AM
 #33

Thank you, I was just going to ask about those instructions.  Also the keyboard messed with me a little since I do not know how to change it, but with some hunting I found the right keys. 

I am getting 141Mhash on my 5770 using poclbm now was 66 as I had it set up so thanks.  Pretty awesome!

you want to get AMDOverdriveCtrl.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

i've got a (Sapphire) 5770 that does 173 Mhash/sec with Hashkill, 166 with DiabloMiner.  960GPU, 250Mem, 1.125 overvolt.  runs at 67-68C.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 04:16:31 AM
 #34

Everything taken on board and work on the next version is already in progress. AMD overdrivectl has now been installed. icewm has been dropped for lxde much more configurable Wink and auto dhcp.

Language support will not be added but can be got after you have installed Linuxcoin.

As a few have pointed out I'm going to stick with SDK 2.4 and fglrx 11.3 to keep it up to date and for compatibility sake. You however are quite welcome to add 2.1 yourself. I'm going to take a bit of time on the next version as I don't want to rush things and get this right Wink

Here are some screenshots of the new interface Cheesy





Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 05:55:03 AM
 #35

wow!

looks really amazing.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 06:17:13 AM
 #36

Yep, looks very cool indeed.

Does it have VNC support, and if not could you add it?

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 06:43:14 AM
 #37

USB MD5 matches  f6ce932c9724546b5d05881b301d329e

I try with my 6870 card & share if i found anything, which helps this project.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 02:49:55 PM
 #38

wow!

looks really amazing.

Thanks Jamie Cheesy lxde looks like a much better option Cheesy even though its a little more bulky than icewm I think its much more user friendly and configurable.

I'm trying the OS now.  Is there a way to keep files around after reboot?  Every time I restart I lose all the changes I had made.

Yes use the USB version and choose persistence.
I must be doing something wrong then.  I booted with the persistence option.  I then open up xterm, installed vim and created a file.  I rebooted with "shutdown -r now", I booted back up with the persistence option but the changes I made were not there.

Any tips?

It was working my end ? but i did configure this manually to test and then dropped in one of unetbootin's casper-rw's There's a link on the first post of this thread. You could try building your usb stick that way Cheesy Plus you can increase the amount of persistent space.

I will take a look at this properly and make sure it works on the next release.
Yep, looks very cool indeed.

Does it have VNC support, and if not could you add it?

Yes I could do but this one is simple once loaded I plan to add a package directory to the USB version. Just drop any .deb's you want included on boot and they will be installed. Also synaptic package manager is now included so just load that up and type VNC, click and install.

I want to try and keep the extra stuff like VNC down to a minimum due to size restrictions.

USB MD5 matches  f6ce932c9724546b5d05881b301d329e

I try with my 6870 card & share if i found anything, which helps this project.

Muchas gracias sinor !! Cheesy Exactly what I need is for people to test on there hardware and give some feedback. I have a few 5XXX series radeon cards but really could do with peops testing on the newer hardware and give me some numbers. The pretty little extras are easy but I'm working blind on the hardware stuff ATM Cheesy
 
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 08, 2011, 03:43:25 PM
 #39

Impressive, very impressive. In the last 10 years of my computer experience, the very first Linux distro worked this much fast.
Damn small linux & linux mint was impressed me before. But Linuxcoin went a step further & everything is instant. may be due to portable.

But, i have a old 9400GT Nvidia & i tried in that machine.
A text window opened said, to install AMD APP, copy paste...
ctrl + c & ctrl + v , not working, so gone for edit copy, but no option to paste in terminal.
Then typed manually & used file manager to find the registration.Huh file as mentioned in the text file.
tried tar icd-registration.....-C/ |
But how to use pipe symbol, i don't know.
Pressing the "|" in my keyboard types ~~~~~.
Also, since cant able to give ip address, cant able to connect to my Lan.

Lack of DHCP & keyboard lang selection, made me to shutdown.
You took out many things in system/control panel.
But for newbies like me, working in terminal is worst than working in dos.
Please add network configuration, keyboard, mouse, display in GUI.
I hope thats enough to boot & mine only.

Still really impressive Linux distro in the view of an avid windows user of 12 years.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 03:57:50 PM
 #40

Impressive, very impressive. In the last 10 years of my computer experience, the very first Linux distro worked this much fast.
Damn small linux & linux mint was impressed me before. But Linuxcoin went a step further & everything is instant. may be due to portable.

But, i have a old 9400GT Nvidia & i tried in that machine.
A text window opened said, to install AMD APP, copy paste...
ctrl + c & ctrl + v , not working, so gone for edit copy, but no option to paste in terminal.
Then typed manually & used file manager to find the registration.Huh file as mentioned in the text file.
tried tar icd-registration.....-C/ |
But how to use pipe symbol, i don't know.
Pressing the "|" in my keyboard types ~~~~~.
Also, since cant able to give ip address, cant able to connect to my Lan.

Lack of DHCP & keyboard lang selection, made me to shutdown.
You took out many things in system/control panel.
But for newbies like me, working in terminal is worst than working in dos.
Please add network configuration, keyboard, mouse, display in GUI.
I hope thats enough to boot & mine only.

Still really impressive Linux distro in the view of an avid windows user of 12 years.

To change the keyboard to us type this into xterm

Code:
apt-get install console-common
install-keymap us

For copy ctrl+c and paste shift+insert

Next version has GUI's for all these settings Wink
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!