Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2015, 09:34:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.1 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 229186 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 04:53:10 PM
 #101

Hi,

I finally tried Linux and your ISO is the first.

Some things I found on this forum and tried which didn't work (and found no sollution for them):

Enable overclocking ..
Code:
aticonfig --enable-od
Result: aticonfig: unrecognized option ' --enable-od'
aticonfig: pairing the command line failed.
This should be:
Code:
aticonfig --od-enable

Code:
aticonfig --odsc 900,900 --adapter=youradapter
Works to set GPU to 900 and Mem to 900, but how to set mem to 300? When I try
Code:
aticonfig --odsc 900,300 --adapter=youradapter
it says that's not valid.

For mining, when I try
Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
./phoenix.py -u http://username:password@deepbit.net:8332/ -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0
I get: ./phoenix.py permission denied

I read someone else got this error but I did not read how he got around it.
Any help?



Yes seem s I put yet another typo Cheesy it should be --od-enable. You cannot set your memory below 900 because its the lowest you can set it as it probably locked by the bios. You can edit the bios on some cards to allow you to set it lower but its out of the scope of this post. I suggest you search the forums for instructions.

The last error with phoenix is due to the permissions not being set properly. there's several posts on this thread that explains how to get around this. In short run the command like this

Code:
python ./phoenix.pl .....
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
pocket dice Get 1000 SATOSHI FREE! Limited offer! CLAIM NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
1430948050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1430948050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1430948050
Reply with quote  #2

1430948050
Report to moderator
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 05:05:27 PM
 #102

The last error with phoenix is due to the permissions not being set properly. there's several posts on this thread that explains how to get around this. In short run the command like this

Code:
python ./phoenix.pl .....
Thank you for your reply.

So you suggest I try:
Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
python ./phoenix.pl -u http://username:password@deepbit.net:8332/ -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0
I get: Python: can't open file './phoenix.pl': [Errno 2] No such file or directory

I tried python /phoenix.pl and ./phoenix.pl too but no luck.
How could it be this works for some and not for others, while they are using the same ISO?

BTW the unetbootin link in your OP is broken.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 05:11:18 PM
 #103

Folax,

Code:
chmod +x poenix.pl
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 05:20:48 PM
 #104

Folax,

Code:
chmod +x poenix.pl
Thanks, tried that too:
Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
chmod +x phoenix.pl -u http://username:password@deepbit.net:8332/ -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0
chmod: invalid option -- 'k'
Is that the -k I used? When I take that out I get a bunch of errors of course...

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 05:33:36 PM
 #105

nooooooooooo  Grin these are separate commands. copy and paste them one at a time. and sorry for the typo it's pheonix.py not .pl

Code:
cd /opt/miners/phoenix
chmod +x phoenix.py
python phoenix.py -u http://username:password@deepbit.net:8332/ -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=128 DEVICE=0
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 06:33:08 PM
 #106

Ah had to make it into an executable Roll Eyes
Thanks both of you, looking forward to the new version of the ISO!

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 06:34:53 PM
 #107

Me too. I'm desperate for the v0.2 as I can't install atioverdrive in v0.1 and my cards are running very hot
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 07:52:25 PM
 #108

Me too. I'm desperate for the v0.2 as I can't install atioverdrive in v0.1 and my cards are running very hot
Why can you not install atioverdrive?

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 18, 2011, 07:56:01 PM
 #109

Comes up with some depencacies errors. I tried installing those packages separately with -f but it didn't work either. Also tried apt-get upgrade - no luck. One more problem - can't get persistence to work.
PabloW
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 02:35:07 AM
 #110

Is it easy to use linux to do mining with this distribution without having any great knowledge about linux? I have some VEEEEEEEEEERY basic experiencie. Is it worth to try?

I mean, its aall ready to go or I have to do something (anything) ?
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 05:03:03 AM
 #111

this probably isn't the appropriate place, but I didn't want to start a whole new thread, per suggestions I have started using the phatk kernal, but I've also tried some overclocking/underclocking on my 5970 using radeon bios editor, I can get the voltages to stick but for some reason I can not get the clock to come away from the default 750/1000... which I'd really like to do in bios (because windows won't let me go lower than 500 for ram) so that I can just boot and go in linux. I followed these instructions but the clock settings don't stick http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1739618&postcount=34
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 06:13:55 AM
 #112

Lol I can see people are struggling with 0.1a. It's not really for people with no experience with Linux. It has all the tools nessecery for overclocking and to change the fan speeds etc buy of you are used to GUIs your going to struggle with this version and I suggest you wait for 0.2a because it has all the GUIs included and has been designed with the Linux newb in mind.

I'm very close to finishing now. I've had some troubles with power supplies on the computer where Linuxcoin is installed and my crazy ex girlfriend lol so it's been a liitle slow coming but it will be well worth the wait trust me Cheesy
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 06:24:35 AM
 #113

Is it easy to use linux to do mining with this distribution without having any great knowledge about linux? I have some VEEEEEEEEEERY basic experiencie. Is it worth to try?

I mean, its aall ready to go or I have to do something (anything) ?
Read every post in this topic, make sure to make a txt file of every piece of info/code you find and start.
You will find trouble but also solutions in your txt file. I managed to get it working with help here, as you will read when you look at every post.

Good luck!

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 06:38:03 AM
 #114

Lol I can see people are struggling with 0.1a. It's not really for people with no experience with Linux. It has all the tools nessecery for overclocking and to change the fan speeds etc buy of you are used to GUIs your going to struggle with this version and I suggest you wait for 0.2a because it has all the GUIs included and has been designed with the Linux newb in mind.

I'm very close to finishing now. I've had some troubles with power supplies on the computer where Linuxcoin is installed and my crazy ex girlfriend lol so it's been a liitle slow coming but it will be well worth the wait trust me Cheesy

the reason I was asking if anyone knew how to get the memory downclocking to stick in radeon bios editor for the powercolor 5970 was because the aticonfig included did not allow me to set anything below 500, when I wanted to go to 300 for memory speed.
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 08:59:07 AM
 #115

Getting the memory down to 300 will give me about 20 Mhash/s extra per card, so yeah, would be great to being able to do that. Cool

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 09:18:50 AM
 #116

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154/2

Should get you to where you want to be Wink

I'm now finishing of the last bits and then will be uploading the next ISO Cheesy
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 09:20:16 AM
 #117

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154/2

Should get you to where you want to be Wink

I'm now finishing of the last bits and then will be uploading the next ISO Cheesy

thanks but I did read the whole RBE manual and even went to the side tutorial that was linked in the manual (the link I posted earlier http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1739618&postcount=34 )
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 09:33:03 AM
 #118

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154/2

Should get you to where you want to be Wink

I'm now finishing of the last bits and then will be uploading the next ISO Cheesy

thanks but I did read the whole RBE manual and even went to the side tutorial that was linked in the manual (the link I posted earlier http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1739618&postcount=34 )

Ahh ok well let me just finish what I'm doing here and I'll take a look at what you have posted and see if i can help you out bud.

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 10:18:04 AM
 #119

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154/2

Should get you to where you want to be Wink

I'm now finishing of the last bits and then will be uploading the next ISO Cheesy

thanks but I did read the whole RBE manual and even went to the side tutorial that was linked in the manual (the link I posted earlier http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1739618&postcount=34 )

Ahh ok well let me just finish what I'm doing here and I'll take a look at what you have posted and see if i can help you out bud.



That guide you posted should modify your BIOS to lower the limits. Can you post the output of

Code:
aticonfig --odgc
antz123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


BlightyCoin - UK Custom Bitcoin Miners!


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 01:54:42 PM
 #120

hows the upload coming along? I'm looking forward to trying out the new version!


One thing, does it come with AMDOverdrive?

https://i.imgur.com/XiDcM.png (http://blightycoin.nfshost.com/)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!