Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:25:55 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271312 times)
sal002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 03:28:43 PM
 #501

Will there be a nice upgrade path for us existing LinuxCoin users (apt-get upgrade, perhaps?)

Find the coin to mine (with JSON API and charting) at http://www.coinchoose.com
http://www.multipool.in - Always mine the most profitable coin
1480839955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839955
Reply with quote  #2

1480839955
Report to moderator
1480839955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839955
Reply with quote  #2

1480839955
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 03:42:56 PM
 #502

No it's true I tested last nite but lots and lots of system crashes ?

I dont get it then. My XFX 5870 wont go over 900Mhz with 11.6 drivers. Are you using some special command or something?

I haven't got a clue why this hasn't worked for you ? I won't be adding 11.6 to linuxcoin anyway it's very VERY unstable, stick with 11.5 for now.


Will there be a nice upgrade path for us existing LinuxCoin users (apt-get upgrade, perhaps?)

Unfortunately not the final version will be capable of this but I really don't have much time to get this out. as you've probably read I'm having some troubles in real life atm and just wanted to provide you guys with something with all the bugs fixed and user requests before I go AWOL for a little bit Wink Hopefully to return on top of things and not homeless Cheesy


I could not get linuxcoin to detect my Z68 gigabyte network card or a wireless usb adapter that was suppose to work with linux, thus the kernel must be older.  Also my Biostar Viotech 3100+ Via C7-d Cpu 1.6ghz Ddr2 Av Comb  Could not load the 64 bit os.  Maybe 32 bit.  

Sorry didn't see you there. Again 32bit support will have to go on the back burner for now as it would require me to rebuild the whole of linuxcoin with 32bit in mind. The final version will have both 32 / 64 bit support. I will look into your net card now. LinuxCoin's kernel has just been upgraded Wink

So we have ..

miners updated.
fixed spelling errors
fixed filemanager
added user requests ntp, java, screen etc
new look
shinny new kernel 2.6.39-2
tftpd, apache2 @ dnsmasq for running linuxcoin as a pxe server.
wireless server setup script
easy home folder encryption (migration supported only a couple of commands to complete)
added vino / remmina (remote desktop client and server)

You guys have about four hours till I pack this up and distribute it Cheesy Any requests ? get them in now of they won't be included !!
Departure
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 04:55:41 PM
 #503

yeah an installer!!!!

It would be nice to install it on HD and use as any other OS

malavita
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:01:19 PM
 #504

DrGr33n is drake - love the Drake!! Smiley  Coinage to follow as soon as I get it mining :-)

Somebody's gotta finance this revolution - you can help by donating supplies, ammo, field hospital beds or simply BTCs here: 1QBNASECM8z2LLojkqZH3s2F8Ur7nhafNc
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:21:44 PM
 #505

yeah an installer!!!!

It would be nice to install it on HD and use as any other OS

I will add a little bash script to dump this into a HDD Cheesy

DrGr33n is drake - love the Drake!! Smiley  Coinage to follow as soon as I get it mining :-)

lol thanks Wink Last screenshot of the uber sexy all new linuxcoin with some new and old features at work Cheesy

kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:59:03 PM
 #506

yeah an installer!!!!

It would be nice to install it on HD and use as any other OS

I'm pretty sure the exact same procedure used to install it onto a USB flash drive will work on a hard drive too.  I can't think of any good reasons why it wouldn't, except that unetbootin might not be willing.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:07:02 PM
 #507

yeah an installer!!!!

It would be nice to install it on HD and use as any other OS

I'm pretty sure the exact same procedure used to install it onto a USB flash drive will work on a hard drive too.  I can't think of any good reasons why it wouldn't, except that unetbootin might not be willing.

You can do this but its not ideal. I'll post a video guide over night Wink
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 12:36:36 AM
 #508

I haven't got a clue why this hasn't worked for you ? I won't be adding 11.6 to linuxcoin anyway it's very VERY unstable, stick with 11.5 for now.

I got it working now and 11.6 does allow you to overclock outside of BIOS limits. The problem is that I was not installing the drivers properly. The driver seems stable in Ubuntu 11.06, but I guess it has different versions of X and other software.
godofal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


TACNAYN - destroyer of worlds


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 01:40:25 AM
 #509

this looks kickass, if it is what i think it is xD

i havent read up about linux and all so heres some newb questions xD

if i put this on a flash drive, i plug it in, set bios to boot from USB, itl boot and be ready to go right?
i can also just mine in a pool, instead of solo?
would i need to change anything for it to work with any setup (motherboard, CPU, graphics card) in the software before starting?
can i change things to optimize it? (more Mhash/s then when i dont)

is it possible to run a server for something like teamspeak?
and can i add a bigger (usb)flash drive that's accesible over the network and internet? (file sharing/streaming)
any chance of getting a bittorrent client to work?

from what i understand, the last 3 things will be the hardest Cheesy
im up for some challenges, and im pretty tech-savvy, but i just never really got into the whole linux environment, but would love to Cheesy

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:40:25 AM
 #510

if i put this on a flash drive, i plug it in, set bios to boot from USB, itl boot and be ready to go right?

Yup

i can also just mine in a pool, instead of solo?

Yup

would i need to change anything for it to work with any setup (motherboard, CPU, graphics card) in the software before starting?

No it should work on most systems providing they can run a 64bit OS

can i change things to optimize it? (more Mhash/s then when i dont)

sure Wink

is it possible to run a server for something like teamspeak?

easy via the package manager.

and can i add a bigger (usb)flash drive that's accesible over the network and internet? (file sharing/streaming)

not sure what you mean ?

any chance of getting a bittorrent client to work?

Code:
apt-get install vuze

godofal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


TACNAYN - destroyer of worlds


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:59:32 AM
 #511


can i change things to optimize it? (more Mhash/s then when i dont)

sure Wink
and how would one do that, and how much extra performance could one squeeze out? alot, or just .0001% or something?

Quote
is it possible to run a server for something like teamspeak?

easy via the package manager.
i assume thats the "installer" for linux?

Quote

and can i add a bigger (usb)flash drive that's accesible over the network and internet? (file sharing/streaming)

not sure what you mean ?

well, adding a second USB flash drive, HDD, or something like that, and make it accesible for anyone in my local network and via the internet, password protected ofc
just for storing some music, maybe having some of the torrents, that kinda stuff

thanks btw!

trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 04:22:41 AM
 #512

I'm just trying this for the first time, and when I try to boot it just sits at "Verifying DMI Pool Data.........."

It detects the usb stick as USB-HDD0 and I've set that as the boot device?

The rest looks straight forward, I just can't get it to boot lol.

can someone help me with this?

Created a partition, formatted as FAT32
unetbootin to install linuxcoin
boot is set as above

it just hangs??

edit: tried a different usb stick and it is working

now setting up
SlipperySlope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

Stephen Reed


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 04:50:41 AM
 #513

Quote
I had to format my USB stick on a Windows computer.  I tried just about everything under the Sun to get it working from my GNU/Linux computer, but all I ever got was "Boot error" when attempting to load the OS on my mining rig.  Incidentally the USB stick booted fine on other computers.  Then I finally came across the following post that resolved my issue: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/237445-30-boot-external

Right.  FAT32 is a proprietary Microsoft format and you need to perform that operation on a windows device.  When I got linuxcoin working, thats the only step that needed Windows.
CydeWeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:10:44 AM
 #514

I tried upgrading Catalyst to 11.6 on my 0.2a Linuxcoin install, and without going into details, let's just say that either I fuxored it up or it simply didn't want to work  Roll Eyes  So I'm back to stock 0.2a again with Catalyst 11.5.  Needless to say I am eagerly awaiting Linuxcoin 0.2b with Catalyst 11.6 so I can throw some additional overclocking on my 5830s.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:27:02 PM
 #515

I tried upgrading Catalyst to 11.6 on my 0.2a Linuxcoin install, and without going into details, let's just say that either I fuxored it up or it simply didn't want to work  Roll Eyes  So I'm back to stock 0.2a again with Catalyst 11.5.  Needless to say I am eagerly awaiting Linuxcoin 0.2b with Catalyst 11.6 so I can throw some additional overclocking on my 5830s.

LinuxCoin 0.2b wont be shipped with 11.6. You can install the latest catalyst manually yourself or wait for the update to take place in a few weeks. Now uploading the ISO guys Cheesy
evlew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 404



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:46:31 PM
 #516

Too late to make a request?

I do not like the transparent root/lxterminals I usually change my background to a black one so I can read everything easily, but if I reboot it doesn't save.  So far my easiest solution is to save the background pic to desktop and set it each time, but that is annoying.  I noticed if i changed to one of the other included backgrounds it also wouldn't save.

is there a way to make it save background changes?  Or disable transparency on the terminals?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:04:29 PM
 #517

Too late to make a request?

I do not like the transparent root/lxterminals I usually change my background to a black one so I can read everything easily, but if I reboot it doesn't save.  So far my easiest solution is to save the background pic to desktop and set it each time, but that is annoying.  I noticed if i changed to one of the other included backgrounds it also wouldn't save.

is there a way to make it save background changes?  Or disable transparency on the terminals?

Already been sorted bud Wink
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:51:48 PM
 #518

I haven't got a clue why this hasn't worked for you ? I won't be adding 11.6 to linuxcoin anyway it's very VERY unstable, stick with 11.5 for now.

I got it working now and 11.6 does allow you to overclock outside of BIOS limits. The problem is that I was not installing the drivers properly. The driver seems stable in Ubuntu 11.06, but I guess it has different versions of X and other software.

hugolp,

can you share how you installed catalyst 11.6 on a linuxcoin 0.2a?

TIA

spiccioli
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:17:14 PM
 #519

I haven't got a clue why this hasn't worked for you ? I won't be adding 11.6 to linuxcoin anyway it's very VERY unstable, stick with 11.5 for now.

I got it working now and 11.6 does allow you to overclock outside of BIOS limits. The problem is that I was not installing the drivers properly. The driver seems stable in Ubuntu 11.06, but I guess it has different versions of X and other software.

hugolp,

can you share how you installed catalyst 11.6 on a linuxcoin 0.2a?

TIA

spiccioli



I manged to do it...
You need to have a persistent install of linux
Then use this manual
...
http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Debian

But...
One line in there is
sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg <package>

You need to do
sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run --install
instead... It did not let me build a package (what ever it means)

I did had evantually 1 problem.. You need to uninstall aticatalyst before you install the new one...\and I think I deleted also opencl...
Anyway if you dont want to uninstall the old catalyst you can just do

sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run --install  --push

Then it overwrite the files already there... But they say its not good...

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
evlew
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 404



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:31:31 PM
 #520

Already been sorted bud Wink

In that case thank you very much.  And.... RELEASE RELEASE RELEASE!!  Wink

Sent ya a little coinage.  I know it's not much, but hopefully it helps, and hopefully I will be able to donate more in the future.
edit: Its coming from tradehill so might take a little to get to ya.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!