Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:18:45 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271812 times)
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 03:02:13 PM
 #1021

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

Something appears dramatically wrong. I downloaded it two seperate times to two seperate computers and both of the old iso files are 799mb, but both of the new ones are only 84mb.

I re-formatted a known newish working usb and installed the iso. It installed way too quickly (which is what made me take note of the file size). I then copied th old 2048 persistence fileto the usb. The only option in the boot menu was default. It did not boot and only gave an error message;
"Invalid or corrupt kernel image"

EDIT

Did a Quick format on the usb, re-copied the previous iso and menu is back, boots normally, I did not take the time to copu a live-rw file this time.

EDIT 2

I dl'ed from the link a few posts up. will re-try from front page in a bit when "life" gives me a chance. 8^)

EDIT 3

Something is definitely off. I just tried to download it from the link on the first page and it was only 300mb or so. I just deleted it and am trying again.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
1481361525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361525
Reply with quote  #2

1481361525
Report to moderator
1481361525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361525
Reply with quote  #2

1481361525
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481361525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361525
Reply with quote  #2

1481361525
Report to moderator
1481361525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361525
Reply with quote  #2

1481361525
Report to moderator
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 03:04:25 PM
 #1022

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

I have some feed back and this may be directly related to me since I use smartcoin

-1) I noticed that the prefinal version of linuxcoin does not cleanly reboot ( could be an issue for remote administration
-2) may want to make the final default persistent boot option
-3) for some reason I have to run my aticonfig commands as root now where that wasn't needed on the .2b version ( causes issues with smartcoin)
-4) the packaged install of smartcoin does not work ( may be easier to just include a install script that will install the latest version if the end user would like to utilize it )
+5) it does boot faster
+6) I like the secure bitcoin client ( even though I dont use a local wallet )

This is just what I have noticed when playing with it in the last 30 min may have more later

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 03:10:32 PM
 #1023

Using 0.2prefinal in persistent mode. I'm having some difficulty with the Secure Bitcoin Client. First time I set it up it seemed to work fine. It issued a passphrase and all seemed well for that session. However, in subsequent sessions when the secure bitcoin client is launched and the passphrase is entered it opens with an entirely different coin key shown. I tried to create a new key and the secure client locked up.

What is the correct procedure for establishing a persistent, secure bitcoin client?

Sounds like a bug. I'll take a look later this evening bud. Ty for reporting !!

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

Something appears dramatically wrong. I downloaded it two seperate times to two seperate computers and both of the old iso files are 799mb, but both of the new ones are only 84mb.

I re-formatted a known newish working usb and installed the iso. It installed way too quickly (which is what made me take note of the file size). The only option in the boot menu was default. It did not boot and only gave an error message;
"Invalid or corrupt kernel image"

sounds like a corrupt download ? Try redownloading using the links provided in the first post. I did have another file on the server for a brief time maybe you got that ?

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

I have some feed back and this may be directly related to me since I use smartcoin

-1) I noticed that the prefinal version of linuxcoin does not cleanly reboot ( could be an issue for remote administration
-2) may want to make the final default persistent boot option
-3) for some reason I have to run my aticonfig commands as root now where that wasn't needed on the .2b version ( causes issues with smartcoin)
-4) the packaged install of smartcoin does not work ( may be easier to just include a install script that will install the latest version if the end user would like to utilize it )
+5) it does boot faster
+6) I like the secure bitcoin client ( even though I dont use a local wallet )

This is just what I have noticed when playing with it in the last 30 min may have more later


1) Yes I have noticed this and I think it has something to do with plymouth. I'm looking into it now ;.)
2) Could do ? Not really considered this but it sounds like a good idea !!
3) May be due to the added security features of linuxcoin ? I will take a look later.
4) Umm it was tested ? What exactly is happening your end ?

Thanks for reporting these issues guys. I'll keep you updated as usual Cheesy
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 03:13:35 PM
 #1024

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

I have some feed back and this may be directly related to me since I use smartcoin

-1) I noticed that the prefinal version of linuxcoin does not cleanly reboot ( could be an issue for remote administration
-2) may want to make the final default persistent boot option
-3) for some reason I have to run my aticonfig commands as root now where that wasn't needed on the .2b version ( causes issues with smartcoin)
-4) the packaged install of smartcoin does not work ( may be easier to just include a install script that will install the latest version if the end user would like to utilize it )
+5) it does boot faster
+6) I like the secure bitcoin client ( even though I dont use a local wallet )

This is just what I have noticed when playing with it in the last 30 min may have more later

-1) Same experience here.
-2) I agree, make persistent mode the default.
-3) I've always used root for aticonfig.
-4) Haven't tried smartcoin yet, but my first cursery attempt to use guiminer failed and not tried it again.
-5) agreed.
-6) See my previous post, having some problems with sercure bitcoin client.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 03:17:39 PM
 #1025

Hey again guys Cheesy !! I've had no feedback what so ever lol I don't know if this is a good thing or bad lol ??

I have some feed back and this may be directly related to me since I use smartcoin

-1) I noticed that the prefinal version of linuxcoin does not cleanly reboot ( could be an issue for remote administration
-2) may want to make the final default persistent boot option
-3) for some reason I have to run my aticonfig commands as root now where that wasn't needed on the .2b version ( causes issues with smartcoin)
-4) the packaged install of smartcoin does not work ( may be easier to just include a install script that will install the latest version if the end user would like to utilize it )
+5) it does boot faster
+6) I like the secure bitcoin client ( even though I dont use a local wallet )

This is just what I have noticed when playing with it in the last 30 min may have more later

-1) Same experience here.
-2) I agree, make persistent mode the default.
-3) I've always used root for aticonfig.
-4) Haven't tried smartcoin yet, but my first cursery attempt to use guiminer failed and not tried it again.
-5) agreed.
-6) See my previous post, having some problems with sercure bitcoin client.

GUIminer has a small bug atm because it cannot find the phatk kernel using poclbm. You can just setup a new miner using phoenix for now. I've already fixed this for the final version. I sort of expected a few issues due to the amount of changes. Thats why I didn't really want to ask the guys hosting to upload this version and wait for the final version.
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 03:18:02 PM
 #1026

...make persistent mode the default.

Please!

With transient as second option

I was never able to figure out what all the other options are for and/or they did nothing, and have been deleting them so as not to confuse people.


Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 04:43:00 PM
 #1027

Quote

1) Yes I have noticed this and I think it has something to do with plymouth. I'm looking into it now ;.)
2) Could do ? Not really considered this but it sounds like a good idea !!
3) May be due to the added security features of linuxcoin ? I will take a look later.
4) Umm it was tested ? What exactly is happening your end ?

Thanks for reporting these issues guys. I'll keep you updated as usual Cheesy

1) thank you
2) just a thought
3) no worries I can adjust
4) I have spoken with the SmartCoin Author an it appears that there is a specific process to set it up
     a) sudo su
     b) svn update
     c) bash ./smartcoin_install.sh
     d) smartcoin needs to be run as rot due to added security ( so far I have only been able to get it to work by launching it from xwindows )

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 06:50:29 PM
 #1028

Using 0.2prefinal in persistent mode. I'm having some difficulty with the Secure Bitcoin Client. First time I set it up it seemed to work fine. It issued a passphrase and all seemed well for that session. However, in subsequent sessions when the secure bitcoin client is launched and the passphrase is entered it opens with an entirely different coin key shown. I tried to create a new key and the secure client locked up.

What is the correct procedure for establishing a persistent, secure bitcoin client?

Got to the bottom of this one Cheesy Seems as if I was having one of my special moments when I wrote this. Of course your key changes because the script starts the bitcoin client then does the wallet transfer lol. Can you do me a favor and try this version .

EDIT: two secs Wink
Code:
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 07:26:00 PM
 #1029

Two things about linuxcoin-v0.2-prefinal.iso:

1. "Install LinuxCoin onto a HDD"-YouTube manual doesn't work any more. Grub can't be installed ... How can I do it now? I had to move back to linuxcoin-v0.2.1b.iso.

2. Why is /opt/miners/phoenix/phoenix.py not executable by default now? In the previous version it was!

EnzoMatrix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 08:36:44 PM
 #1030

Two things about linuxcoin-v0.2-prefinal.iso:

1. "Install LinuxCoin onto a HDD"-YouTube manual doesn't work any more. Grub can't be installed ... How can I do it now? I had to move back to linuxcoin-v0.2.1b.iso.

2. Why is /opt/miners/phoenix/phoenix.py not executable by default now? In the previous version it was!


Glad you said something I was going to attempt to move my install to HD but I am waiting on the 0.2-final

--Enzo

Donate Address := 1Ng89ohn4mjWg7SsQizYUPRdVjtWm4d9p3
bansal
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 09:53:02 PM
 #1031

Wondering if anyone has any ideas to help me with this, I got linuxcoin installed with two 6970s and works fine, it is mining away.  I put together another rig with two 6950s, and x server won't load.  I used a generic PCI-e card to boot up with x server and left one 6950 card in, and was able to boot up, and I can see the one 6950 with aticonfig, catalyst won't come up says drivers not installed, and poclbm only recognizes the CPU. 

Any help or insight would be appreciated.  Thanks.
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:17:13 PM
 #1032

Wondering if anyone has any ideas to help me with this, I got linuxcoin installed with two 6970s and works fine, it is mining away.  I put together another rig with two 6950s, and x server won't load.  I used a generic PCI-e card to boot up with x server and left one 6950 card in, and was able to boot up, and I can see the one 6950 with aticonfig, catalyst won't come up says drivers not installed, and poclbm only recognizes the CPU. 

Any help or insight would be appreciated.  Thanks.

try running sudo aticonfig --initial --adapter=all

Smiley

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 27, 2011, 10:26:05 PM
 #1033

Two things about linuxcoin-v0.2-prefinal.iso:

1. "Install LinuxCoin onto a HDD"-YouTube manual doesn't work any more. Grub can't be installed ... How can I do it now? I had to move back to linuxcoin-v0.2.1b.iso.

2. Why is /opt/miners/phoenix/phoenix.py not executable by default now? In the previous version it was!


1) Don't install this version to your HDD it's only out for a few more days then you can have the final version. What errors you getting with grub ?
2) Probably forgot to set the permissions on that file. I'll fix it up for the final version.

Wondering if anyone has any ideas to help me with this, I got linuxcoin installed with two 6970s and works fine, it is mining away.  I put together another rig with two 6950s, and x server won't load.  I used a generic PCI-e card to boot up with x server and left one 6950 card in, and was able to boot up, and I can see the one 6950 with aticonfig, catalyst won't come up says drivers not installed, and poclbm only recognizes the CPU.  

Any help or insight would be appreciated.  Thanks.

You will have to excuse me but I don't quite get you ? Does aticonfig work with one card and catalyst says there's no drivers or it works with the one card one but doesn't  ? I have come across the odd troubles down to a bug with acpi routing. You could try appending the boot line and adding

Code:
pci=noacpi

It's solved a load of weird troubles my end Cheesy
malavita
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 01:24:52 AM
 #1034


You will have to excuse me but I don't quite get you ? Does aticonfig work with one card and catalyst says there's no drivers or it works with the one card one but doesn't  ? I have come across the odd troubles down to a bug with acpi routing. You could try appending the boot line and adding

Code:
pci=noacpi

It's solved a load of weird troubles my end Cheesy


That's odd: if I disable ACPI support in the BIOS I can't even boot, but you're saying to disable it at boot.

Somebody's gotta finance this revolution - you can help by donating supplies, ammo, field hospital beds or simply BTCs here: 1QBNASECM8z2LLojkqZH3s2F8Ur7nhafNc
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 04:04:55 AM
 #1035

Sorry dude, life is getting in the way at the moment... Friday and over the weekend I'll have time to test

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
sirky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 11:19:05 AM
 #1036

I get a segmentation fault when I run cgminer. Probably an issue with that miner though, and not linuxcoin.
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 12:07:50 PM
 #1037

Got full downloads this time. Slightly smaller than previous version. Boots up! New splash no where as nice as previous. Nice not have all the text on boot, but it takes a full 50 seconds to get to desktop.

Did not copy live-rw file yet, only booted to default.

Only managed to fiddle with "secure client" for about 1/2 hour...extremly confusing password issues...will test thoroughly soon, but at this point I think it needs more work to be ready for the average user.


Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 12:16:29 PM
 #1038

I get a segmentation fault when I run cgminer. Probably an issue with that miner though, and not linuxcoin.

Can you post what was happening at the time and the actual error ?


You will have to excuse me but I don't quite get you ? Does aticonfig work with one card and catalyst says there's no drivers or it works with the one card one but doesn't  ? I have come across the odd troubles down to a bug with acpi routing. You could try appending the boot line and adding

Code:
pci=noacpi

It's solved a load of weird troubles my end Cheesy


That's odd: if I disable ACPI support in the BIOS I can't even boot, but you're saying to disable it at boot.

This doesn't disable ACPI this just disables the use of ACPI routing information during the PCI configuration stages. I think pci=nobios will work too.



Got full downloads this time. Slightly smaller than previous version. Boots up! New splash no where as nice as previous. Nice not have all the text on boot, but it takes a full 50 seconds to get to desktop.

Did not copy live-rw file yet, only booted to default.

Only managed to fiddle with "secure client" for about 1/2 hour...extremly confusing password issues...will test thoroughly soon, but at this point I think it needs more work to be ready for the average user.

Thanks for testing Smalleyster !! Can you elaborate more on what you found confusing ? I wouldn't test the secure bitcoin client yet. I've found the troubles with the script and have fixed them up. Its hard for a smoker like me to keep track of everything I do Cheesy I'm a very scatty person and I'm fiddling with one thing then over to the next without looking at what I done previously Cheesy I am full retard when it comes down to organizational skills lol

And you don't like the new boot screen Cheesy !! lol Ok I'll make it look a lot more slick on the final version. I was thinking of a spinning bitcoin that fills up with color as the system loads ? I wanted to move from the old splashy to plymouth because it's alot more powerful !!
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 12:29:56 PM
 #1039

@drg33n

On a positive note: with 0.2pre-final I'm getting faster hashrates on my 5830s & 5850s to the tune of 8 - 12 MH/s increase at same OC settings as version 0.2.1b!


If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 12:47:09 PM
 #1040

@drg33n

On a positive note: with 0.2pre-final I'm getting faster hashrates on my 5830s & 5850s to the tune of 8 - 12 MH/s increase at same OC settings as version 0.2.1b!



Great news !! I was worried about this due to the supposed performance decrease when rolling with grsecurity. I've got to say apart from the initial booting stage I haven't found no difference what so ever. Also with readahead and preload linuxcoin should run a bit faster.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!