Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:20:36 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271769 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 03:46:58 PM
 #561

For people who cannot get persistency to work using the existing guides (like myself), here is another try which works for me (for LinuxCoin install):

You need:
USB thump drive
Windows PC
linuxcoin-vX (whatever version you want, get it here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7374.0)
BOOTICE (get it here: http://www.pendriveapps.com/bootice-partition-flash-drive-edit-boot-sector/)
unetbootin (get it here: http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/)

Creating 2 partitions:
A. Put the USB thumbdrive in the Windows PC
B. Format the USB thumbdrive FAT32
C. Start Bootice

(Make sure you have selected the USB thumbdrive. Don't mind the size in this image)
D. Select Parts Manage

E. Select ReFormat USB disk

F. Select USB-HDD mode (Multi Partitions) and click Next
G. Enter 1024 in the first field (Partition1) and select FAT32 on Partition1 and Partition4, leave the rest as it is and click OK.

H. It will ask you to confirm the reformat of the partitions, click OK if you agree and finally you will get a confirmation box telling you all is ok.
I. Close this tool.

J. Start Unetbootin
K. Select to use an ISO
L. enter 1024 in the field for persistence
M. Click Install and wait, when it offers to reboot: exit.

Creating persistency:
1. Take the USB thumbdrive from the Window PC and put it in your soon-to-be Linux miner box
2. Boot, select persistence mode
3. When booted, open a root terminal, type:
Quote
sudo su-
df
You should now get a list of your drives.
You should see /dev/sda2 mounted under /media/7A6D-A74F (or something like that)
sda is the drive, sda2 is the partition
4.
Quote
umount /media/7A6D-A74F
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda2 -L live-rw
5. It will not give a confirmation, now shut down the system and start it, selecting Persistence mode.
6. After rebooting, open a root terminal and do:
Quote
df
look at sda2, it should say: live/cow
For me it reads:
/dev/sda1 = /live/image
/dev/sda2 = /live/cow

Now you have persistence on your USB thumbdrive! Smiley

Note: I am obviously no Linux expert, or an expert in anything whatsoever, that is why I had to write this down, so I could do it again every time I need to. Please don't hesitate to correct me on anything, my girlfriend doesn't either...


Excellent guide Folax !! I'll put a link on the first post Wink
1481347236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347236
Reply with quote  #2

1481347236
Report to moderator
1481347236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347236
Reply with quote  #2

1481347236
Report to moderator
1481347236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347236
Reply with quote  #2

1481347236
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481347236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347236
Reply with quote  #2

1481347236
Report to moderator
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 03:47:22 PM
 #562

finally he gets it! Grin
malavita
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 04:14:07 PM
 #563

Excellent guide - I was able to do it w/ the original instructions using just a Win7 pc and Unetbootin, but I will try this in XP.

Thanks, Folax!!

Somebody's gotta finance this revolution - you can help by donating supplies, ammo, field hospital beds or simply BTCs here: 1QBNASECM8z2LLojkqZH3s2F8Ur7nhafNc
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:07:52 PM
 #564

Hey guys is there a program like Powertune included in Linuxcoin.  I have a few 6950's that I'd love to try it on.  Seems like I could be getting alot more out of these cards. 

If so please tell me how to run it.  I'm still learning linux.

Thanks for all the support.
Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:31:14 PM
 #565

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:39:16 PM
 #566

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I thought things like powertune were a seperate % boost altogether.
talpan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:32:20 PM
 #567

And you can download it here https://poolmunity.com/linuxcoin/linuxcoin-v0.2b.iso Smiley
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:07:31 PM
 #568

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:09:44 PM
 #569

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.

EDIT: Yes powertune is included in AMDOverdriveCtrl Cheesy

TFTP cluster guide is on its way Wink You lucky people hahaha Cheesy
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:38:09 PM
 #570

Hey guys,

This seems like great stuff but I seem to be struggling to utilize this and that.  I am very newbish to linux but I have used a fair share of command line in windows myself.  

Firstly, I saw the persistence guide a few moments ago and followed it up until the point where I am asked to open a root terminal ( I am certain I opened a root term ) and enter sudo su- df.  I have tried several variations of this command and have come up with 'unknown user: df' as the most promising and 'unknown command' as the most common.  I don't know if anyone else came across this error, if it is some mistake on my part or whatever.  Any help would be appreciated, thanks

I am excited about .2b, I wasn't able to get mining going in .2a, I did 'start_mining' but I think I may have been missing what to put into the 'kernel' portion.  I tried opencl and something else having to do with phatk or something (words found through searching), but had no success.

talpan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:58:18 PM
 #571

Hi

you have to type
sudo su
df

in two seperate lines Wink

regards, Talpan
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:00:14 PM
 #572

Hey guys,

This seems like great stuff but I seem to be struggling to utilize this and that.  I am very newbish to linux but I have used a fair share of command line in windows myself.  

Firstly, I saw the persistence guide a few moments ago and followed it up until the point where I am asked to open a root terminal ( I am certain I opened a root term ) and enter sudo su- df.  I have tried several variations of this command and have come up with 'unknown user: df' as the most promising and 'unknown command' as the most common.  I don't know if anyone else came across this error, if it is some mistake on my part or whatever.  Any help would be appreciated, thanks

I am excited about .2b, I wasn't able to get mining going in .2a, I did 'start_mining' but I think I may have been missing what to put into the 'kernel' portion.  I tried opencl and something else having to do with phatk or something (words found through searching), but had no success.


Only if you use phoenix miners you need to write what kernel to use...
anyway you can wite phatk to use phatk kernal and you can also write  poclbm to use poclbm kernal

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:02:22 PM
 #573

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.

EDIT: Yes powertune is included in AMDOverdriveCtrl Cheesy

TFTP cluster guide is on its way Wink You lucky people hahaha Cheesy

Right but I have to download the new version yes? Just makin sure peace
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:03:12 PM
 #574

Hi

you have to type
sudo su
df

in two seperate lines Wink

regards, Talpan

or just

Code:
sudo df

Cheesy
Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 09:04:11 PM
 #575

For anyone wanting to be able to open AMDOverdriveCtrl for multiple cards at once and quickly apply saved overclock + powertune settings, go to your root terminal and type the following:

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i

output should look like this:

INF: Nr. of Adapters: 9
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
Option 'i' requires a value.

Make a note of your active adapter #'s. In this case there are three active adapters listed @ 0,3 and 5.

Next up, open accessories "leafpad" and type/paste the following (replacing your card #s and quantity)..

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &

Save the file as "anyname" to the desktop, right click and select properties. click the checkbox to make the file executable under the permissions tab.

Double click, click execute and your consoles will all pop up. If you have 4 cards, it the shell script would look like this:

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 7 &




Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:05:38 PM
 #576

I will put a space between:
sudo su-
and:
df

I understand this could be confusing, thanks! Smiley

-edit-
made it into:
sudo df

Thanks Gr33n!

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 09:06:34 PM
 #577

AMDoverdriveCtrl is included, you run 1 instance (for card0) from the start menu icon, the next one from a console.

Search this forum for the commands.

Oh I see the new version has the powertune option... linuxcoin has the old version i guess.  Not sure how to install things on linuxcoin (gotta set up persistant mode first) but I guess I'll figure it out.

EDIT: Yes powertune is included in AMDOverdriveCtrl Cheesy

TFTP cluster guide is on its way Wink You lucky people hahaha Cheesy

Right but I have to download the new version yes? Just makin sure peace


Yup I'd get the new version most things have been updated and a lot of bugs fixed. If you wanted to install it you could just save it to your usb drive and when you boot

Code:
cd /live
dpkg -i AMDOverdriveCtrl*.deb

For anyone wanting to be able to open AMDOverdriveCtrl for multiple cards at once and quickly apply saved overclock + powertune settings, go to your root terminal and type the following:

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i

output should look like this:

INF: Nr. of Adapters: 9
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:17880608, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:20057984, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:22180816, AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
Option 'i' requires a value.

Make a note of your active adapter #'s. In this case there are three active adapters listed @ 0,3 and 5.

Next up, open accessories "leafpad" and type/paste the following (replacing your card #s and quantity)..

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &

Save the file as "anyname" to the desktop, right click and select properties. click the checkbox to make the file executable under the permissions tab.

Double click, click execute and your consoles will all pop up. If you have 4 cards, it the shell script would look like this:

#!/bin/sh

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 5 &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 7 &





Great info pigki Cheesy I'm not a fan of using GUI's so wasn't sure how to do this Cheesy

Guys I want to apologize for not including smartcoin Sad I wasn't aware the author had released a beta release and haven't contacted him yet to ask if he minded if I added smartcoin to linuxcoin.

I've added a link to his post with the links etc to smartcoin. I suggest people use this instead of start_mining as it was just a quick and dirty bash script really to guide peops through starting the miners.

Hope everyone is enjoying Linuxcoin and its playing nice with you Cheesy  Right I'm off for a nice cold beer and some cod !!
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:11:21 PM
 #578

Thanks bud worked perfectly, I now know how to install things in linux.  Bad news is the PowerTune really had zero effect on my MHS Sad
Jonathan Ryan Owens
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
June 27, 2011, 12:42:04 AM
 #579

For people who cannot get persistency to work using the existing guides (like myself), here is another try which works for me (for LinuxCoin install):

You need:
USB thump drive
Windows PC
linuxcoin-vX (whatever version you want, get it here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7374.0)
BOOTICE (get it here: http://www.pendriveapps.com/bootice-partition-flash-drive-edit-boot-sector/)
unetbootin (get it here: http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/)

Creating 2 partitions:
A. Put the USB thumbdrive in the Windows PC
B. Format the USB thumbdrive FAT32
C. Start Bootice

(Make sure you have selected the USB thumbdrive. Don't mind the size in this image)
D. Select Parts Manage

E. Select ReFormat USB disk

F. Select USB-HDD mode (Multi Partitions) and click Next
G. Enter 1024 in the first field (Partition1) and select FAT32 on Partition1 and Partition4, leave the rest as it is and click OK.

H. It will ask you to confirm the reformat of the partitions, click OK if you agree and finally you will get a confirmation box telling you all is ok.
I. Close this tool.

J. Start Unetbootin
K. Select to use an ISO
L. enter 1024 in the field for persistence
M. Click Install and wait, when it offers to reboot: exit.

Creating persistency:
1. Take the USB thumbdrive from the Window PC and put it in your soon-to-be Linux miner box
2. Boot, select persistence mode
3. When booted, open a root terminal, type:
Quote
sudo df
You should now get a list of your drives.
You should see /dev/sda2 mounted under /media/7A6D-A74F (or something like that)
sda is the drive, sda2 is the partition
4.
Quote
umount /media/7A6D-A74F
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda2 -L live-rw
5. It will not give a confirmation, now shut down the system and start it, selecting Persistence mode.
6. After rebooting, open a root terminal and do:
Quote
df
look at sda2, it should say: live/cow
For me it reads:
/dev/sda1 = /live/image
/dev/sda2 = /live/cow

Now you have persistence on your USB thumbdrive! Smiley

Note: I am obviously no Linux expert, or an expert in anything whatsoever, that is why I had to write this down, so I could do it again every time I need to. Please don't hesitate to correct me on anything, my girlfriend doesn't either...


I'm stuck at sudo df....

here's the output. anyone have ideas? it looks like the referenced /media/ mentioned in the post doesn't exist on my output. i have a tmpfs mounted on /live/cow but.. well.. i'm stuck. help!

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
aufs                   1862288     12352   1849936   1% /
tmpfs                     5120         0      5120   0% /lib/init/rw
tmpfs                   372460       572    371888   1% /run
tmpfs                     5120         0      5120   0% /run/lock
tmpfs                   744916        44    744872   1% /tmp
udev                   1853764         0   1853764   0% /dev
tmpfs                   744916       144    744772   1% /run/shm
/dev/sdb1              2096288   2095764       524 100% /live/image
tmpfs                  1862288     12352   1849936   1% /live/cow
tmpfs                  1862288         0   1862288   0% /live

Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 01:52:39 AM
 #580

Hm same here I am stuck at sudo df too. 

I just installed .02a with that little persistence tutorial and it worked fine.  I re did it once I saw a new version out.  Now with the new version I don't get the same thing when I type sudo df.  I don't believe I did anything different.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!