Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:16:58 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271512 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 12:27:08 AM
 #801

Working on a wiki guys so all the info from this thread can be added plus more info etc. Will be up by the weekend. One thing that is lacking and I have overlooked to my peril is the lack of documentation Cheesy
 
also working on LinuxCoin 0.2 final as we speak. This on will be the last debian release as I'm switching distros. Should be ready in a week or so just want to take my time and look at getting this noob proof once and for all.
1481192218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192218
Reply with quote  #2

1481192218
Report to moderator
1481192218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192218
Reply with quote  #2

1481192218
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481192218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192218
Reply with quote  #2

1481192218
Report to moderator
1481192218
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481192218

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481192218
Reply with quote  #2

1481192218
Report to moderator
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2011, 12:43:05 AM
 #802

Working on a wiki guys so all the info from this thread can be added plus more info etc. Will be up by the weekend. One thing that is lacking and I have overlooked to my peril is the lack of documentation Cheesy
 
also working on LinuxCoin 0.2 final as we speak. This on will be the last debian release as I'm switching distros. Should be ready in a week or so just want to take my time and look at getting this noob proof once and for all.

I learned many years ago that it is extremely hard to make any system idiot proof, because we idiots are extremely ingenious!

I hope to be of service if I can (old time systems designer w/ Industrial Engineering and MBA as backgrounds. Old time AutoCAD geeks may remember me for SeCAD, AutoLog and ProCAD, I quit all that crap in 95)

Your instructions so far are way too free flowing offering way too many options for the clueless. I strongly suggest step 1 X, step 2 Y, step 3 Z...

I think the genius in your design is the whole miner on it's own "sandbox" USB.

IMHO the next step is another totally self contained bootable wallet USB that makes it super easy for both encryption and backup.

Now Grandma can mine and shop totally protected (I hope).

Briliant system. truly looking forward to being in the position of sending you some coin DrGreen.

Thank you.

(Now I gotta go learn LC!)

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 06:57:34 AM
 #803

To all those that want to have mining starting up with system:

put inside /etc/rc.local, before the
Code:
exit 0
command a call to a script like

Code:
/home/user/mining.sh

The mining.sh script can do what it likes, like starting up miners, calling other scripts, calling screen to detach them and so on.

I think that in this thread there are several examples of such a configuration.

spiccioli.
Fjordbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588

firstbits.com/1kznfw


View Profile WWW
July 07, 2011, 07:23:08 AM
 #804

Yes sorry its 64bit only. I didn't think anyone would be running old machines like that anymore Cheesy I could add a 32bit kernel if people required this ?

Is there a 32bit kernel now?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 12:27:33 PM
 #805

To all those that want to have mining starting up with system:

put inside /etc/rc.local, before the
Code:
exit 0
command a call to a script like

Code:
/home/user/mining.sh

The mining.sh script can do what it likes, like starting up miners, calling other scripts, calling screen to detach them and so on.

I think that in this thread there are several examples of such a configuration.

spiccioli.


Be careful using /etc/rc.local you scripts might be executed before the WDM can start your cards Cheesy
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:05:04 PM
 #806


Be careful using /etc/rc.local you scripts might be executed before the WDM can start your cards Cheesy

drgr33n,

you're right, I have a 

Code:
sleep 20

before /home/user/mining.sh to give it time to start X (this is on an USB key with a sempron CPU).

spiccioli.

kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:26:02 PM
 #807


Be careful using /etc/rc.local you scripts might be executed before the WDM can start your cards Cheesy

drgr33n,

you're right, I have a 

Code:
sleep 20

before /home/user/mining.sh to give it time to start X (this is on an USB key with a sempron CPU).

spiccioli.

Odd.  Why don't you just do it the right way?

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 05:40:05 PM
 #808

Yes sorry its 64bit only. I didn't think anyone would be running old machines like that anymore Cheesy I could add a 32bit kernel if people required this ?

Is there a 32bit kernel now?

No sorry I haven't created a 32bit version as yet. To rip out the core of linuxcoin and replace with a 32 bit so to speak would be lots of headache. I'm switching distros after the final release and then I will build up bot 32bit / 64bit and maybe even arm Cheesy

Working on the final version as we speak. Been tweaking pyopencl and have squeezed a 0.1% improvement lol !! << GEEK

EDIT:

450MH/s + radeon 5870 Cheesy
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 07:30:09 PM
 #809

Ha! well I can't seem to find any option to allow a 9 months old TigerDirect computer w/ AMD Athlon dual core 2.31 ghz boot to the USB. I knew it was a piece of crap.

Some computers will not show the USB boot option unless a bootable USB stick is plugged in at boot time, AND certain options to enable it are set in the BIOS. These vary from BIOS to BIOS.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 04:30:00 AM
 #810

Ha! well I can't seem to find any option to allow a 9 months old TigerDirect computer w/ AMD Athlon dual core 2.31 ghz boot to the USB. I knew it was a piece of crap.

Some computers will not show the USB boot option unless a bootable USB stick is plugged in at boot time, AND certain options to enable it are set in the BIOS. These vary from BIOS to BIOS.

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

I would have never guessed such a simple solution. I was getting ready to look into flashing the Bios with a more current version.

You sir are a gentleman and a scholar and I thank you for the bottom of my heart for not having to figure out how to cajole my wife into turning her computer into "the miner".

(did I say thank you?  8^)

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 07:13:36 AM
 #811


Be careful using /etc/rc.local you scripts might be executed before the WDM can start your cards Cheesy

drgr33n,

you're right, I have a 

Code:
sleep 20

before /home/user/mining.sh to give it time to start X (this is on an USB key with a sempron CPU).

spiccioli.

Odd.  Why don't you just do it the right way?


kjj,

because I don't want it running in a terminal on X, I'm headless.

spiccioli

ps. maybe I could just use it to start /home/user/mining.sh and then go my route... I'll try it Smiley

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 09:03:48 AM
 #812


Be careful using /etc/rc.local you scripts might be executed before the WDM can start your cards Cheesy

drgr33n,

you're right, I have a  

Code:
sleep 20

before /home/user/mining.sh to give it time to start X (this is on an USB key with a sempron CPU).

spiccioli.

 
Odd.  Why don't you just do it the right way?


kjj,

because I don't want it running in a terminal on X, I'm headless.

spiccioli

ps. maybe I could just use it to start /home/user/mining.sh and then go my route... I'll try it Smiley




Your headless but your still running your terminals using X ATI GPGPU's need X to access the hardware CUDA does not. If there was a way to access these resources without X I would of released another livecd with no WDM Cheesy


PS: LinuxCoin 0.2 final is imminent. I've really cleaned things up in this version and made sude EVERYTHING works.
1) I've added munin and wrote plugins to monitor everything via the nice little graphs I posted a link to the other day. All the plugin's auto detect your GPU's
2) PXE is now working great and very stable. 
3) Added more hardware support
4) Optimized pyopencl
5) Made small changes posted by user do disable asking for user input on reboot.
6) Updated software and security updates
7) Fixed permissions error with screen
Cool Updated smartcoin and working with the developer to get things running smoothly in linuxcoin.
9) Fixed bug with aticonfig not configuring the GPU's properly. Well fixed my error what caused aticonfig to bug out Cheesy

If you would like anything added or see something changed / fixed please let me know ASAP as this release will be the last till I finish switching distributions.   
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 02:43:47 PM
 #813

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 03:22:51 PM
 #814

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?


From the first post in this thread:


If you want to disable autologin edit /etc/inittab and

replace this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/login -f user </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

for this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

and reboot

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 03:59:53 PM
 #815

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?


From the first post in this thread:


If you want to disable autologin edit /etc/inittab and

replace this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/login -f user </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

for this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

and reboot


user@linuxcoin:~$ edit /etc/inittab
Warning: unknown mime-type for "/etc/inittab" -- using "application/octet-stream"
Error: no write permission for file "/etc/inittab"

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
talpan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:22:27 PM
 #816

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?


From the first post in this thread:


If you want to disable autologin edit /etc/inittab and

replace this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/login -f user </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

for this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

and reboot


user@linuxcoin:~$ edit /etc/inittab
Warning: unknown mime-type for "/etc/inittab" -- using "application/octet-stream"
Error: no write permission for file "/etc/inittab"


hi,

first become root via "su" and then type the password "live" in, you won't see anything, hit enter.
Now you type "nano /etc/inittab" and you can change it.

Hit ctrl-x, y, enter to save it.

regards, talpan
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 04:30:58 PM
 #817

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?


From the first post in this thread:


If you want to disable autologin edit /etc/inittab and

replace this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/login -f user </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

for this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

and reboot


user@linuxcoin:~$ edit /etc/inittab
Warning: unknown mime-type for "/etc/inittab" -- using "application/octet-stream"
Error: no write permission for file "/etc/inittab"


hi,

first become root via "su" and then type the password "live" in, you won't see anything, hit enter.
Now you type "nano /etc/inittab" and you can change it.

Hit ctrl-x, y, enter to save it.

regards, talpan

user@linuxcoin:~$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure
user@linuxcoin:~$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure

First one is "live" . Second is the pw that I supposedly set a while ago.

I've tried it a number of times to be sure I typed it in corectly.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2011, 04:34:47 PM
 #818

try

> sudo su

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:39:28 PM
 #819

I've managed to get persistence to work and go to termial and used:

sudo passwd user

to create a new password, BUT when I shutdown and reboot I am not asked for a password?

How do I create a pasword that is required upon boot?


From the first post in this thread:


If you want to disable autologin edit /etc/inittab and

replace this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/login -f user </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

for this

Code:
1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1

and reboot


user@linuxcoin:~$ edit /etc/inittab
Warning: unknown mime-type for "/etc/inittab" -- using "application/octet-stream"
Error: no write permission for file "/etc/inittab"


hi,

first become root via "su" and then type the password "live" in, you won't see anything, hit enter.
Now you type "nano /etc/inittab" and you can change it.

Hit ctrl-x, y, enter to save it.

regards, talpan

user@linuxcoin:~$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure
user@linuxcoin:~$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure

First one is "live" . Second is the pw that I supposedly set a while ago.

I've tried it a number of times to be sure I typed it in corectly.


Or just run a root terminal Cheesy

PS: Final PXE test @

http://94.197.185.117/monitor/
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:46:24 PM
 #820

Thought I'd setup LinuxCoin 0.2.1b on a VM in my Win7-64 gaming machine that could be launched to mine overnight. The build went OK, however, when I run Bitcoin the first time to populate blocks it eventually will give the following error and close:

"Warning: disk space is low"

I set the VM disk to 8GB and dynamic. If I re-launch Bitcoin it will populate a few more blocks and then give the same error, eventually it immediately errors out without finding all the blocks.

Any fix?

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!