Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:28:37 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271498 times)
makiet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 07:51:21 AM
 #881

Sorry, my bad

But, the problem still remains

http://cC1.upanh.com/24.943.32065920.5Kx0/putty2.png
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481171317
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171317

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171317
Reply with quote  #2

1481171317
Report to moderator
1481171317
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171317

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171317
Reply with quote  #2

1481171317
Report to moderator
1481171317
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171317

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171317
Reply with quote  #2

1481171317
Report to moderator
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:16:21 AM
 #882

echo $DISPLAY: the system print an empty line
DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --odgt--adapter=all: -bash: DISPLAY:0: command not found

anyhelp, pleases



You can't echo $DISPLAY from a SSH session, you have to do it from inside the GUI.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 11:23:38 AM
 #883

echo $DISPLAY: the system print an empty line
DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --odgt--adapter=all: -bash: DISPLAY:0: command not found

anyhelp, pleases



You can't echo $DISPLAY from a SSH session, you have to do it from inside the GUI.

Yes you can you just need to set it up Wink

http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SSH_X11forwarding
makiet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:31:49 PM
 #884

It stayed the same

http://cC2.upanh.com/24.961.32085081.3la0/putty1.png
http://cC4.upanh.com/24.961.32085083.FFE0/putty2.png
http://cC7.upanh.com/24.961.32085086.Z2Y0/putty3.png

Did I miss something? I'm using Linux Coin 0.2.1b

//BTW: How many GPU LinuxCoin can support? I'm going to plug 7 5850s, now only 5 is ok.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:18:10 PM
 #885

xhost didn't allow you to take control of the screens. I'll look into this now. If your using persistence Just add

Code:
xhost +
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*

to /etc/init.d/gdm just before the exit 0; so it looks like this

Code:

  ;;
  *)
        echo "Usage: /etc/init.d/gdm {start|stop|restart|reload|force-reload|st$
        exit 1
  ;;
esac
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xhost +
exit 0

and reboot for now. I will look into this in a while.
makiet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:36:57 PM
 #886

Thank drgr33n

I'll try it and report here.

But how about my other question: How many GPU LinuxCoin can support? (The maximum GPUs can mine in one Linuxcoin machine?)
6 or 8 or 10?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:41:52 PM
 #887

Thank drgr33n

I'll try it and report here.

But how about my other question: How many GPU LinuxCoin can support? (The maximum GPUs can mine in one Linuxcoin machine?)
6 or 8 or 10?

Not sure never tried top overload but I would of thought as many as you can cram into one machine.
makiet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:50:38 PM
 #888

I heard there was a limit GPU OpenCL can support depend on OS.

OS can detect as many as I plug in. But on Windows, I'm sure 100% I can only mine with 4 GPU.

But with Linux, someone said 6, someone said 10 (Ubuntu).

sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 06:10:38 PM
 #889

Are you still coming out with a release version this week? If you say no, guess I will just have to use 0.2.1b and live with the bugs.



Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 06:41:00 PM
 #890

I heard there was a limit GPU OpenCL can support depend on OS.

OS can detect as many as I plug in. But on Windows, I'm sure 100% I can only mine with 4 GPU.

But with Linux, someone said 6, someone said 10 (Ubuntu).
In Ubuntu 11.04, i mined with 8 cards on MSI big bang marshal mother board. 4 * 5870 & 4 * 6970.
So, i am sure In Linux you can mine with 8 cards that too different series.
Many says 11.6 catalyst allows Windows to mine with 8 cards, but it didn't work for me. May be if you use same series & cards, it may mine.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 13, 2011, 07:36:35 PM
 #891

I heard there was a limit GPU OpenCL can support depend on OS.

OS can detect as many as I plug in. But on Windows, I'm sure 100% I can only mine with 4 GPU.

But with Linux, someone said 6, someone said 10 (Ubuntu).



Like I said I've never looked into this I will have a bit of a read up later.

Are you still coming out with a release version this week? If you say no, guess I will just have to use 0.2.1b and live with the bugs.




Should be ready by mid / end of the week.

Just updated the wiki to include a tested way of setting up X11 forwarding + how to enable VNC via SSH Wink enjoy !!
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 10:54:07 PM
 #892

Is anyone using GUI miner?  I was using it for a while but ssh is more stable than vnc - especially when straining the GPU for mining.  Just seems like a GUI interface may be easier for a lot of people who are unfamiliar with linux.  It was for me anyway.  May be something to think about adding???

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 10:58:31 PM
 #893

Is anyone using GUI miner?  I was using it for a while but ssh is more stable than vnc - especially when straining the GPU for mining.  Just seems like a GUI interface may be easier for a lot of people who are unfamiliar with linux.  It was for me anyway.  May be something to think about adding???

I've been fiddling with it to no avail so far in LinuxCoin.

I read where someone got it working using wine but so far I have failed to do so

It would be very beneficial to my efforts to educate my peers to have it running as the linux command line generates instant hostility whenever I mention or show it.

So for now I have to start my show and tell in windows to show the GUIminer.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 11:59:28 PM
 #894

Announcing:

NoobHowTo [A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet]

The Goal:

If you follow these steps in order you too will have:

A Portable and Reasonably Secure BitCoin Wallet System.


Pick the bottom link in my sig if you have any interest in a complete system built on Dr green's awesome LinuxCoin that includes simple to use encryption for your portable wallet.

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 14, 2011, 02:54:11 AM
 #895

Is anyone using GUI miner?  I was using it for a while but ssh is more stable than vnc - especially when straining the GPU for mining.  Just seems like a GUI interface may be easier for a lot of people who are unfamiliar with linux.  It was for me anyway.  May be something to think about adding???

I've been fiddling with it to no avail so far in LinuxCoin.

I read where someone got it working using wine but so far I have failed to do so

It would be very beneficial to my efforts to educate my peers to have it running as the linux command line generates instant hostility whenever I mention or show it.

So for now I have to start my show and tell in windows to show the GUIminer.

I'm sure others can improve on this but this is how I installed it:
- Use Synaptic or apt-get to install python-wxgtk2.8 (I just searched python wx in Synaptic and clicked the box)
- in root terminal
Code:
git clone https://github.com/Kiv/poclbm.git
(this will create poclbm directory so don't be in /opt/miners/ when you run it)

- cd into the poclbm directory you just created and run
Code:
python guiminer.py

I have no idea how to make an icon or run it without a terminal window but it's a great program for beginners, as long as you're not using remote access.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 11:14:34 AM
 #896

Is anyone using GUI miner?  I was using it for a while but ssh is more stable than vnc - especially when straining the GPU for mining.  Just seems like a GUI interface may be easier for a lot of people who are unfamiliar with linux.  It was for me anyway.  May be something to think about adding???

I've been fiddling with it to no avail so far in LinuxCoin.

I read where someone got it working using wine but so far I have failed to do so

It would be very beneficial to my efforts to educate my peers to have it running as the linux command line generates instant hostility whenever I mention or show it.

So for now I have to start my show and tell in windows to show the GUIminer.

I'm sure others can improve on this but this is how I installed it:
- Use Synaptic or apt-get to install python-wxgtk2.8 (I just searched python wx in Synaptic and clicked the box)
- in root terminal
Code:
git clone https://github.com/Kiv/poclbm.git
(this will create poclbm directory so don't be in /opt/miners/ when you run it)

- cd into the poclbm directory you just created and run
Code:
python guiminer.py

I have no idea how to make an icon or run it without a terminal window but it's a great program for beginners, as long as you're not using remote access.


Great post !!! If anyone has little gems like this please put them on the wiki !!!
V4Vendettas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
July 14, 2011, 11:23:07 AM
 #897

Just wanted to say to say thank you thank you thank you.

Without this thread and the op taking the time to do all he has done my mining would have died b4 it had a chance to come alive.

2 rigs up and running with this now and once I have a few more will defo donate  Wink

Lol 3 weeks ago I didnt even know what linux really was and now look at me go.



malavita
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
July 15, 2011, 02:05:57 AM
 #898

Anybody found a way to set Powertune via line command instead of AMDOverdriveCtrl for multiple adapters?  I found this, but not sure I can run/compile it under Linuxcoin:

@krumplee: how do you use this undocumented function?

Download ADL SDK from http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/ADL_SDK_3.0.zip
It is enough to copy adl_sdk.h into /usr/include

Save the following code as powercontrol.cpp

Code:
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <adl_sdk.h>

using namespace std;

extern "C"
{
    int ADL_Main_Control_Create (ADL_MAIN_MALLOC_CALLBACK, int);
    int ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get(int *);
    int ADL_Overdrive5_PowerControl_Set(int, int);
    int ADL_Overdrive5_PowerControl_Get(int, int *, int *);
}

void* __stdcall Alloc ( int iSize )
{
    void* lpBuffer = malloc ( iSize );
    return lpBuffer;
}

void __stdcall ADL_Main_Memory_Free ( void** lpBuffer )
{
    if ( NULL != *lpBuffer )
    {
        free ( *lpBuffer );
        *lpBuffer = NULL;
    }
}

int main()
{
        int adapters, a=99, b=99;
        if(ADL_Main_Control_Create (Alloc, 1) != ADL_OK)
        {
                cout << "ADL initialization error!" << endl;
                return -1;
        }
        
        if(ADL_Adapter_NumberOfAdapters_Get(&adapters) != ADL_OK)
        {
                cout << "Cannot get the number of adapters!" << endl;
                return -1;
        }
        cout << "Found " << adapters << " adapters" << endl;
        for(int i=0; i<adapters; i++)
        {
                if(ADL_Overdrive5_PowerControl_Set(i, 20) != ADL_OK)
                {
                        cout << "Failed to set " << i << " power control" << endl;
                        return -1;
                } else { cout << "Value set for " << i << endl; }
                
                if(ADL_Overdrive5_PowerControl_Get(i, &a, &b) != ADL_OK)
                {
                        cout << "Failed to get " << i << " power control" << endl;
                        return -1;
                }
                cout << "result: " << a << "%, b: " << b << endl;
        }
        return 0;
}

Finally compile:
g++ -DLINUX -o powercontrol powercontrol.cpp -latiadlxx


Somebody's gotta finance this revolution - you can help by donating supplies, ammo, field hospital beds or simply BTCs here: 1QBNASECM8z2LLojkqZH3s2F8Ur7nhafNc
Math Man
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 05:33:04 AM
 #899

Has anyone else run into these problems with SmartCoin and LinuxCoin together?  I tried the SmartCoin forum, but the developed said he'd never seen a problem like this.

I am running LinuxCoin 0.2b from a SSD with /home installed on a different partition.  I have difficulties immediately when installing SmartCoin.

When I try to install SmartCoin from either ssh or using a vnc client, I get the below message before being asked for root permissions.

Code:
./smartcoin_install.sh: line 39: Log: command not found
SQLite header and source version mismatch
2011-05-19 13:26:54 ed1da510a239ea767a01dc332b667119fa3c908e
2011-06-23 19:49:22 4374b7e83ea0a3fbc3691f9c0c936272862f32f2
SQLite header and source version mismatch
2011-05-19 13:26:54 ed1da510a239ea767a01dc332b667119fa3c908e
2011-06-23 19:49:22 4374b7e83ea0a3fbc3691f9c0c936272862f32f2
SQLite header and source version mismatch
2011-05-19 13:26:54 ed1da510a239ea767a01dc332b667119fa3c908e
2011-06-23 19:49:22 4374b7e83ea0a3fbc3691f9c0c936272862f32f2

Everything is okay with 'updatedb' and installing dependencies.  I manually checked that procmail, sqlite3, bc, sysstat, openssh-server are installed and updated.

Then I get this.
Code:
Setting up local machine in database...
SQLite header and source version mismatch
2011-05-19 13:26:54 ed1da510a239ea767a01dc332b667119fa3c908e
2011-06-23 19:49:22 4374b7e83ea0a3fbc3691f9c0c936272862f32f2

done.

Then it throws up the same SQlite header and source version mismatch error dozens of times and continues to give the same error when trying to auto-detect the GPUs and miners.

Locating the SDK path automatically works just fine.

If I decline the auto-detect and later manually try to add GPUs and miners manually, I get the following
Code:
SQLite header and source version mismatch
2011-05-19 13:26:54 ed1da510a239ea767a01dc332b667119fa3c908e
2011-06-23 19:49:22 4374b7e83ea0a3fbc3691f9c0c936272862f32f2
Please select the machine from the list above that is hosting this miner

I've tried purging sqlite3 and installing again to no avail.  I'm stuck and don't know what to do.  Any ideas?
smoothie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


LEALANA Monero Physical Silver Coins


View Profile
July 15, 2011, 07:19:05 AM
 #900

Should there be an associated block chain that distributes linuxcoins via mining?

███████████████████████████████████████

            ,╓p@@███████@╗╖,           
        ,p████████████████████N,       
      d█████████████████████████b     
    d██████████████████████████████æ   
  ,████²█████████████████████████████, 
 ,█████  ╙████████████████████╨  █████y
 ██████    `████████████████`    ██████
║██████       Ñ███████████`      ███████
███████         ╩██████Ñ         ███████
███████    ▐▄     ²██╩     a▌    ███████
╢██████    ▐▓█▄          ▄█▓▌    ███████
 ██████    ▐▓▓▓▓▌,     ▄█▓▓▓▌    ██████─
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓█,,▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓─  
     ²▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╩    
        ▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀       
           ²▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀`          
                   ²²²                 
███████████████████████████████████████

. ★☆ WWW.LEALANA.COM        My PGP fingerprint is A764D833.        SMOOTHIE'S HEALTH AND FITNESS JOURNAL          History of Monero development Visualization ★☆ .
LEALANA  PHYSICAL MONERO COINS 999 FINE SILVER.
 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!