Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:30:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271504 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 03:14:57 AM
 #761

Been working on the wiki and PXE stuff today and made good progress. I'm going to be releasing a new version of the pxe scripts with the following changes.

Can now be run without persistence (I didn't realize but I can use a symlink to the filesystem)
Sets up the dhcpd server properly
Sets up software watchdog & auto reboot

Also have a video coming out right after showing you how to setup the PXE server, nodes and adding monitoring your nodes via munin. I have some plugins that you can use to monitor GPU temps / fan speeds / load and your hashrate Wink

Stand by for more info !!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 03:56:54 AM
 #762

drgr33n, rock on!  LinuxCoin + SmartCoin makes for a sexy mining setup.

Things I noticed when messing with the ATI commands:

AMDOverdriveCtrl is pretty buggy.  the -b flag doesn't engage the custom fan profile in the .ovdr file.  Also, when creating a custom .ovdr profile, the clock setting would revert back to whatver default level was set in the gui.  Settling on aticonfig commands ended up being the way to go.

I gotta give a shout out to jaebird as well.  Very helpful posts on getting things rebooting and running on startup.  Look forward to future development.

kripz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 06:20:09 AM
 #763

What kernel is this running?

 Merged mining, free SMS notifications, PayPal payout and much more.
http://btcstats.net/sig/JZCODg2
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 07:32:51 AM
 #764

AMDOverdriveCtrl is pretty buggy.  the -b flag doesn't engage the custom fan profile in the .ovdr file.  Also, when creating a custom .ovdr profile, the clock setting would revert back to whatver default level was set in the gui.  Settling on aticonfig commands ended up being the way to go.

AMDOverdriveCtrl is rock solid. As I said you need to set the fanspeed in the GUI in order to be saved in the profile, but you can edit the file and do it yourself.

The big advantage of AMDOverdriveCtrl is that it lets you change the voltage, either overvolting fro more speed or undervolting for less consumption, while aticonfig does not. Also, personally I find that being able to save a profile is more confortable and quick, but that is jus me.
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 07:41:55 AM
 #765

I was trying to get the fan speed profile to work (auto control) based on temps.  Even though it was set in the .over file the -b flag would not engage it.  I did not try a static fan speed setting.  Another thing, I have one card that doesn't like being clocked at 1000 so I set a .over profile at 950, it would spit out that it was seting the clock at 950, followed by output stating it was set back to 1000.  Maybe I am doing something g wrong but I could not get different clock profiles to run concurrently on different cards.

Folax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 09:20:35 AM
 #766

AMDOverdriveCtrl is pretty buggy.  the -b flag doesn't engage the custom fan profile in the .ovdr file.  Also, when creating a custom .ovdr profile, the clock setting would revert back to whatver default level was set in the gui.  Settling on aticonfig commands ended up being the way to go.

AMDOverdriveCtrl is rock solid. As I said you need to set the fanspeed in the GUI in order to be saved in the profile, but you can edit the file and do it yourself.

The big advantage of AMDOverdriveCtrl is that it lets you change the voltage, either overvolting fro more speed or undervolting for less consumption, while aticonfig does not. Also, personally I find that being able to save a profile is more confortable and quick, but that is jus me.
This is also my experience: do your settings in the GUI, leave it running, save the profile, edit profile with leafpad and adjust the numbers outside the (BIOS) limits. Save, reload profile and you're good to go.

My GF thinks I'm useless, if you think otherwise and can proof it to her, please do so and donate:
14wG6u2bAD9q1nLmLL9MST1ZzbTE9Pt8nG
Rino
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:06:21 PM
 #767

Hi, i am pretty bad at configuring linux, how do i get 0.2.1b to work without physical display? ssh works  but i cant start anything gpu-related from it. I tried DISPLY=:0, 0.1, it doesnt work.
Currently i am running 0.2a, it workes fine there and i use x11vnc to monitor stuff(everything on one screen and keeping ssh open caused 30% stales (i dont know why...)). Cant get x11vnc to work on 0.2.1b too.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:23:00 PM
 #768

Hi, i am pretty bad at configuring linux, how do i get 0.2.1b to work without physical display? ssh works  but i cant start anything gpu-related from it. I tried DISPLY=:0, 0.1, it doesnt work.
Currently i am running 0.2a, it workes fine there and i use x11vnc to monitor stuff(everything on one screen and keeping ssh open caused 30% stales (i dont know why...)). Cant get x11vnc to work on 0.2.1b too.

Remote desktop is pre setup you just need to tick the box to say you want to allow connections. Check out system in linuxcoin's menu. If you want to run ssh to monitor your cards there are a couple of things you need to do.

First I would change the password on the root account. Makes life easier and no security is needed really for a mining box.

Code:
ssh user@myip
sudo su
passwd root
xhost +
chmod uog+rw /dev/dri/card*

Now you can login as root and use your cards

Code:
ssh root@myip
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 02:58:30 AM
 #769

Little image of what I've got running atm Grin LinuxCoin running from my laptop acting as a server. My home mining box has everything unpluged except GPGPU's / proc / memory Going to do some power consumption & stability tests over the next few days.

mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:08:34 AM
 #770

Noob question: Does the remote machine logging onto the LinuxCoin desktop have to be running Linux? How does the remote machine need to be setup?

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:11:18 AM
 #771

Noob question: Does the remote machine logging onto the LinuxCoin desktop have to be running Linux? How does the remote machine need to be setup?

No, and with your favorite VNC client, respectively.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:10:12 AM
 #772

I was trying to get the fan speed profile to work (auto control) based on temps.  Even though it was set in the .over file the -b flag would not engage it.  I did not try a static fan speed setting.

Yes, that is the only option that does not work. It only works with the GUI on, dont know why. I have opened a bug, maybe you can add a comment so it picks the attention of the developer: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=3322352&group_id=387278&atid=1609264

But aticonfig does not allow this option neither (as far as I know).

Quote
Another thing, I have one card that doesn't like being clocked at 1000 so I set a .over profile at 950, it would spit out that it was seting the clock at 950, followed by output stating it was set back to 1000.  Maybe I am doing something g wrong but I could not get different clock profiles to run concurrently on different cards.

Are you setting it in the right performance level? Also, you can not set a gpu speed lower than the previous performance level. F.e. if performance level 1 has gpu speed at 975Mhz, you can not set pu in performance level 2 a gpu speed of 950Mhz. To have a pgu speed of 950Mhz on performance level 2, set the gpu speed in performance level 1 under 950Mhz.

In general you should not have a higher setting for anything, gpu spped, memory speed or voltage, in a lower performance level.

One more thing, it does not affect mining apparently, but it is also recommended that the memory speed is the same in all performance level, specially in the card connected to the screen (if any).
Xer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 01:16:38 PM
 #773

Any plans on integrating cdhowies FMP (Flexible Mining Proxy) into linuxcoin? with the way the current major pools go up and down like jojos it might be useful to have the proxy on a easy to use distro.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=5506.0
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 03:33:46 PM
 #774

Any plans on integrating cdhowies FMP (Flexible Mining Proxy) into linuxcoin? with the way the current major pools go up and down like jojos it might be useful to have the proxy on a easy to use distro.

http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=5506.0

Poclbm has an option for backup servers now, so no need to configure proxies or anything else. It also has the phatk kernel.
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:25:05 PM
 #775

First off awesome job!

I have a slight issue, I got LinuxCoin 0.2.1b up and running from a USB with the 1G persistence file, but every time I start a Phoenix miner I get a python depreciated warning. Has anyone else seen that?

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:38:12 PM
 #776

First off awesome job!

I have a slight issue, I got LinuxCoin 0.2.1b up and running from a USB with the 1G persistence file, but every time I start a Phoenix miner I get a python depreciated warning. Has anyone else seen that?

Just a warning don't worry its go to do with phoenix need to be modded slightly to come up to date with pyopencl. It wont affect anything Cheesy

Just for fun who wants to monitor my LinuxCoin PXE mock cluster ? lol

http://94.197.175.14/monitor/

It's going to be online for 24 hours for a stability test. Next I'm going to be holding a competition Cheesy Who can hack linuxcoin for a reward Wink
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:42:30 PM
 #777

Nice, very nice!  Grin

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:46:59 PM
 #778

Nice, very nice!  Grin

and not a hdd in sight Cheesy that box is running 0.2.1b with my new PXE scripts. will be releasing soon Wink
TheMoneyStorm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


Rock On Miners!


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 05:25:33 PM
 #779

and not a hdd in sight Cheesy that box is running 0.2.1b with my new PXE scripts. will be releasing soon Wink

Super Sweet Dr. Green (we don't need no stinkin hdd's) Grin, Awesome work man.

Sign Up At TradeHill To Buy And Sell Your Coins -  Send Tips To : 1LTnBJizU5nJJ8a3VUYPp2cUo4aSwr1BRq
TripHammer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:56:54 PM
 #780

Do you have an ETA on the new release? I'm rebuilding my rig want to know how long I have to get it ready Smiley

Also how do you create the live-rw files? any chance of a 4G one?

Thanks Dude!

Just in case Smiley 13AP8mCpruBQVtVWbQgYGSnBgGxe2g8ERe
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!