Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 05:57:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 283308 times)
CydeWeys
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 05:57:54 PM
 #481

A little update. As I'm going to be busy for a while sorting my real life out I've decided to patch up linuxcoin 0.2a for now and release it as 0.2b. There are so many posts in this tread its hard to keep up with everything so if you would like something included please inbox me as soon as possible.

So far on the list.

Software update (complete)
add screen & ntp (complete)
fix pcmanfm (complete)
update license agreement script (in progress)
spelling errors etc. (complete)
More elegant way to initialize the ATI GPGPU's (in progress)

Added apache2, tftp, dnsmasq for booting the filesystem via network. I'll write a guide when uploading so you can use linuxcoin as a pxe server and distribute linuxcoin over a network.


Change the default background lxterminal color from transparent to black, as transparent is just unusable.

Have it use a blank screensaver by default instead of a random screensaver (this can suck away a lot of MHash/s if it randomly chooses a graphically intensive screensaver).

Great work on everything by the way!
1513533434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513533434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513533434
Reply with quote  #2

1513533434
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:21:47 AM
 #482

I tried to run Diablo miner, but get error java not found.
how to add java or give path to where java is?
It will be helpful as Diablo miner runs only one instance of miner for all cards. Its a great feature which is not mentioned directly or i didn't saw it.

About diablo's miner, it has a feature which all other miners lack for now.

In other miners, you select device from 0, poclbm its -d0, phoenix its -DEVICE=0, but in diablo device start from 1.

Just try this & u will see one miner mining in all cards u installed with only one worker.

Code:
./DiabloMiner-linux.sh -o api.bitcoin.cz -r 8332 -u YOURUSERNAME WITH WORKER -p PASSWORD OF WORKER -v 2 -w 128 -f 1

You can see, their is no where device mentioned. If you want to mention particular device then use -D 1 (capital D, small d is for debugging)
If you want to use all devices, then don't use -D at all.
Its a great feature not known to many as DiabloD3 not published so far directly in 1st post.
His miner sends data to pool from one miner only instead of 8, which may reduce pool data receiving & bandwidth.
With his miner you don't need to run 4 miners for 4 cards, just one miner is enough for 4 cards.





Please tell how to enable java.


Open Altcoin Github
Limxtec Telegram












Bitsend BSD
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first Masternodecoin with Segwit

www.bitcore.cc












Bitcore BTX
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first hybrid fork from BTC

www.bitsend.info












Diamond DMD
Technical Support
The Jewel of Crypto

www.bitsend.info












Bitcloud BTDX
Technical Support
Masternodecoin 12.2

https://bit-cloud.info/













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:51:51 AM
 #483

I tried to run Diablo miner, but get error java not found.
how to add java or give path to where java is?
It will be helpful as Diablo miner runs only one instance of miner for all cards. Its a great feature which is not mentioned directly or i didn't saw it.

About diablo's miner, it has a feature which all other miners lack for now.

In other miners, you select device from 0, poclbm its -d0, phoenix its -DEVICE=0, but in diablo device start from 1.

Just try this & u will see one miner mining in all cards u installed with only one worker.

Code:
./DiabloMiner-linux.sh -o api.bitcoin.cz -r 8332 -u YOURUSERNAME WITH WORKER -p PASSWORD OF WORKER -v 2 -w 128 -f 1

You can see, their is no where device mentioned. If you want to mention particular device then use -D 1 (capital D, small d is for debugging)
If you want to use all devices, then don't use -D at all.
Its a great feature not known to many as DiabloD3 not published so far directly in 1st post.
His miner sends data to pool from one miner only instead of 8, which may reduce pool data receiving & bandwidth.
With his miner you don't need to run 4 miners for 4 cards, just one miner is enough for 4 cards.





Please tell how to enable java.



EDIT: Complete Wink
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:13:28 AM
 #484

Complete? you added java?

Open Altcoin Github
Limxtec Telegram












Bitsend BSD
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first Masternodecoin with Segwit

www.bitcore.cc












Bitcore BTX
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first hybrid fork from BTC

www.bitsend.info












Diamond DMD
Technical Support
The Jewel of Crypto

www.bitsend.info












Bitcloud BTDX
Technical Support
Masternodecoin 12.2

https://bit-cloud.info/













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:15:42 AM
 #485

Complete? you added java?

yup and tested diablo Wink
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:22:04 AM
 #486

thanks.

Open Altcoin Github
Limxtec Telegram












Bitsend BSD
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first Masternodecoin with Segwit

www.bitcore.cc












Bitcore BTX
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first hybrid fork from BTC

www.bitsend.info












Diamond DMD
Technical Support
The Jewel of Crypto

www.bitsend.info












Bitcloud BTDX
Technical Support
Masternodecoin 12.2

https://bit-cloud.info/













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 03:54:21 AM
 #487

Just wanted to bump this I'm getting to the end of the bug fixes and everything is looking good Wink But if anybody would like anything else included please let me know now or it won't be included.  

What we have so far

miners updated.
fixed spelling errors
fixed filemanager
added user requests ntp, java, screen etc
new look
shinny new kernel 2.6.39-2
tftpd, apache2 @ dnsmasq for running linuxcoin as a pxe server.
wireless server setup script
easy home folder encryption (migration supported only a couple of commands to complete)

SCREENSHOTS:

     
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 06:40:39 AM
 #488

I just read that the new version of the linux Catalyst drivers, the 1.6, lets you overdrive the cards over the bios limits. I dont know if they are included already in Linuxcoin, but if they are not it would be a nice addition since it removes the need to flash the bios of the cards.

EDIT: For reference: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg258398#msg258398
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:10:00 AM
 #489

I just read that the new version of the linux Catalyst drivers, the 1.6, lets you overdrive the cards over the bios limits. I dont know if they are included already in Linuxcoin, but if they are not it would be a nice addition since it removes the need to flash the bios of the cards.

EDIT: For reference: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg258398#msg258398

Thanks for the info Cheesy A risky one !! Most if the hardware testing had been done with 11.4 I'm testing 11.6 as we speak Wink if I think it's stable enough I'll add it as an option via the package manager.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:34:11 AM
 #490

Thanks for the info Cheesy A risky one !! Most if the hardware testing had been done with 11.4 I'm testing 11.6 as we speak Wink if I think it's stable enough I'll add it as an option via the package manager.

Yeah, I know drivers are always an issue. If it was just a normal update I would not ask for it, but I think not having to flash your cards is worth it. This was actually the only thing that was missing in Linux for mining. Now you can use AMDOverdriveCtrl without stupid limits.

Well, one thing is missing in Linux and its being able to read the current and the temperature of the VCC's. RadeonVolt does it, but only for some 5850's. I wish there was a way to do it for 5870's.
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:21:28 AM
 #491

I could not get linuxcoin to detect my Z68 gigabyte network card or a wireless usb adapter that was suppose to work with linux, thus the kernel must be older.  Also my Biostar Viotech 3100+ Via C7-d Cpu 1.6ghz Ddr2 Av Comb  Could not load the 64 bit os.  Maybe 32 bit. 
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 09:58:19 AM
 #492

Sent you coinage. Working this hard when life kicks you in the balls means either you're a complete hard case - or in denial. Either way, you deserve praise and coins. More coins if you can make remote access n00b friendly (like in Ubuntu) without losing security.

Cheers mate!

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
malavita
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:08:19 PM
 #493

Hi,


Please disable screensaver by default and maybe TOR support?  :-)

Thx!!!

Somebody's gotta finance this revolution - you can help by donating supplies, ammo, field hospital beds or simply BTCs here: 1QBNASECM8z2LLojkqZH3s2F8Ur7nhafNc
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 01:34:31 PM
 #494

Hi,


Please disable screensaver by default and maybe TOR support?  :-)

Thx!!!

For me, having screensaver on blank screen takes fewer cycles than having it off altogether. Fewer cycles means less power use.....

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 01:38:21 PM
 #495

I just read that the new version of the linux Catalyst drivers, the 1.6, lets you overdrive the cards over the bios limits. I dont know if they are included already in Linuxcoin, but if they are not it would be a nice addition since it removes the need to flash the bios of the cards.

EDIT: For reference: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg258398#msg258398

Thanks for the info Cheesy A risky one !! Most if the hardware testing had been done with 11.4 I'm testing 11.6 as we speak Wink if I think it's stable enough I'll add it as an option via the package manager.

I dont know if you are done with this, but it seems to be a false rumor. I just tested it in my XFX and the 11.6 drivers do NOT allow me to go beyond the bios limits.
GimEEE
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Ride or Die


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 02:25:24 PM
 #496

Hi,
Please disable screensaver by default and maybe TOR support?  :-)
Thx!!!
For browsing?
mining through tor is a bad idea, would cripple the latency and boost stale shares

The only way to make sure people you agree with can speak is to support the rights of people you don't agree with.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 03:10:09 PM
 #497

I just read that the new version of the linux Catalyst drivers, the 1.6, lets you overdrive the cards over the bios limits. I dont know if they are included already in Linuxcoin, but if they are not it would be a nice addition since it removes the need to flash the bios of the cards.

EDIT: For reference: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg258398#msg258398

Thanks for the info Cheesy A risky one !! Most if the hardware testing had been done with 11.4 I'm testing 11.6 as we speak Wink if I think it's stable enough I'll add it as an option via the package manager.

I dont know if you are done with this, but it seems to be a false rumor. I just tested it in my XFX and the 11.6 drivers do NOT allow me to go beyond the bios limits.

No it's true I tested last nite but lots and lots of system crashes ?

Sent you coinage. Working this hard when life kicks you in the balls means either you're a complete hard case - or in denial. Either way, you deserve praise and coins. More coins if you can make remote access n00b friendly (like in Ubuntu) without losing security.

Cheers mate!

Thanks Oranofcorti !! Remote desktop will be added Wink

Hi,


Please disable screensaver by default and maybe TOR support?  :-)

Thx!!!

The screensaver is now disabled by default. You can activate it when you like Wink Tor is available via the package manager. I wont be adding this to linuxcoin due to space issues Wink We are up to a little over 800mb already.

 

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 03:27:09 PM
 #498

No it's true I tested last nite but lots and lots of system crashes ?

I dont get it then. My XFX 5870 wont go over 900Mhz with 11.6 drivers. Are you using some special command or something?
sal002
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile WWW
June 22, 2011, 03:28:43 PM
 #499

Will there be a nice upgrade path for us existing LinuxCoin users (apt-get upgrade, perhaps?)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 03:42:56 PM
 #500

No it's true I tested last nite but lots and lots of system crashes ?

I dont get it then. My XFX 5870 wont go over 900Mhz with 11.6 drivers. Are you using some special command or something?

I haven't got a clue why this hasn't worked for you ? I won't be adding 11.6 to linuxcoin anyway it's very VERY unstable, stick with 11.5 for now.


Will there be a nice upgrade path for us existing LinuxCoin users (apt-get upgrade, perhaps?)

Unfortunately not the final version will be capable of this but I really don't have much time to get this out. as you've probably read I'm having some troubles in real life atm and just wanted to provide you guys with something with all the bugs fixed and user requests before I go AWOL for a little bit Wink Hopefully to return on top of things and not homeless Cheesy


I could not get linuxcoin to detect my Z68 gigabyte network card or a wireless usb adapter that was suppose to work with linux, thus the kernel must be older.  Also my Biostar Viotech 3100+ Via C7-d Cpu 1.6ghz Ddr2 Av Comb  Could not load the 64 bit os.  Maybe 32 bit.  

Sorry didn't see you there. Again 32bit support will have to go on the back burner for now as it would require me to rebuild the whole of linuxcoin with 32bit in mind. The final version will have both 32 / 64 bit support. I will look into your net card now. LinuxCoin's kernel has just been upgraded Wink

So we have ..

miners updated.
fixed spelling errors
fixed filemanager
added user requests ntp, java, screen etc
new look
shinny new kernel 2.6.39-2
tftpd, apache2 @ dnsmasq for running linuxcoin as a pxe server.
wireless server setup script
easy home folder encryption (migration supported only a couple of commands to complete)
added vino / remmina (remote desktop client and server)

You guys have about four hours till I pack this up and distribute it Cheesy Any requests ? get them in now of they won't be included !!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!