Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:08:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322232 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 09:41:25 PM
 #2041

Hi Guys,

I have been happily working with the new nv0018 image for about 4 days now. It's going well and I plan to continue my work with it! I thank everyone for their hard work and contributions to the project ...especially Fullzero of course.

Anyway, last night I tried to shut my rigs down for some changes I was going to make. I realized I couldn't shutdown! Every time it shut down it would boot right back up.

I have seen this before and it's an ACPI issue more often than not. But for kicks and giggles, I tried booting to my windows drive on the same hardware. It shut down without any issue at all. So I know that the problem is not a BIOS setting as some posts suggest. Windows shuts the rig down just fine.

I toyed with the kernel settings GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi=force"
( https://www.unixmen.com/fix-shutdown-power-computer-ubuntu-14-04/ )
but it didn't help...

I'm just wondering if anyone else has run into this? I'm using the Asus Z270-A motherboard:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813132936

These are nice MB's and let you run 7 cards on one Rig.


Some mobos will boot on keyboard or mouse activity; not sure what is going on here if this only occurs with ubuntu and not windows.  If you have another USB key; I would try making another nvOC key and seeing if it does the same.

1510996135
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996135

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996135
Reply with quote  #2

1510996135
Report to moderator
1510996135
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996135

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996135
Reply with quote  #2

1510996135
Report to moderator
1510996135
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996135

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996135
Reply with quote  #2

1510996135
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 09:45:09 PM
 #2042

I added logic based on Avarets experience with P106-100 (I don't have any of these so I am going on your report Avarets; let me know if these changes work)

Please let me know if there are any issues with these updates.

The script doesn't seem to start automatically.
If I run it manually there are some errors but mining process starts:

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyFailed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.


My guess is X isn't running; or isn't running properly. 

argonaute
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 09:57:32 PM
 #2043

Hi Fullzero,

what about extract all the wallet's altcoin address from 1bash and to put them in a specific file named wallet.cabinet ?

this way it would be easier when we want to upgrade the 1bash file for instance

cheers
WoolF911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 12:14:43 AM
 #2044

fullzero, can I mine Pascal Lite via NvOc? And can I mine it solo, without pool?
keno1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 03:03:57 AM
 #2045

Thank you very much for making such a wonderful OS.

Does NVOC v0018 have log file when miner restart after GPU soft crash?

In the v0018 1bash it does; in this updated version it only logs restarts.  This is because logging slightly decreases stability with using USB keys.  I will make watchdog logs a YES/NO option for the next 1bash.  For now you can open the watchdog file:

Code:
IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG

go to line 86:

Code:
kill $target #| tee -a ${LOG_FILE}

and remove the # so it reads:

Code:
kill $target | tee -a ${LOG_FILE}

and it will log soft crashes.


Thank you very much. I'll try.
newmz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:11:57 AM
 #2046

Hi @fullzero

when I recently upgraded my rig to run nvOC 0018, it did something nasty to an ssd that was connected to the rig which had a Windows 8.1 install on it. I remember reading something after it booted about how it was doing something to Windows partitions, and now if I remove the USB stick so the BIOs tries to boot from the SSD it says something like "NO OPERATING SYSTEM INSTALLED".

I do like to be able to swap to Windows to try out different things - do you have any idea how I may be able to repair the SSD so Windows will boot again? Or do I just have to go through the pain of installing it from scratch and unplug it when I use nvOC?
gs777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:32:18 AM
 #2047

First off all THANK YOU Fullzero for nvOC v0018!
Simply love it!

I have a question - WhatToMine shows great rev for DGB-Groestl (DGB), but I can not mine DGB with Myriad-Groestl algo
It always trying to mine with Skein algo.
If I'm not mistaken nvOC has this algo for Diamond(DMD)
so, how DGB-Groestl could be mined?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:37:59 AM
 #2048

Hi @fullzero

when I recently upgraded my rig to run nvOC 0018, it did something nasty to an ssd that was connected to the rig which had a Windows 8.1 install on it. I remember reading something after it booted about how it was doing something to Windows partitions, and now if I remove the USB stick so the BIOs tries to boot from the SSD it says something like "NO OPERATING SYSTEM INSTALLED".

I do like to be able to swap to Windows to try out different things - do you have any idea how I may be able to repair the SSD so Windows will boot again? Or do I just have to go through the pain of installing it from scratch and unplug it when I use nvOC?

Install from scratch.

Then make sure it is not attached or you will kill it

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
newmz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:41:54 AM
 #2049

Hi @fullzero

when I recently upgraded my rig to run nvOC 0018, it did something nasty to an ssd that was connected to the rig which had a Windows 8.1 install on it. I remember reading something after it booted about how it was doing something to Windows partitions, and now if I remove the USB stick so the BIOs tries to boot from the SSD it says something like "NO OPERATING SYSTEM INSTALLED".

I do like to be able to swap to Windows to try out different things - do you have any idea how I may be able to repair the SSD so Windows will boot again? Or do I just have to go through the pain of installing it from scratch and unplug it when I use nvOC?

Install from scratch.

Then make sure it is not attached or you will kill it

BUMMER! A warning would have been nice.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 08:11:27 AM
 #2050

I added logic based on Avarets experience with P106-100 (I don't have any of these so I am going on your report Avarets; let me know if these changes work)

Please let me know if there are any issues with these updates.

The script doesn't seem to start automatically.
If I run it manually there are some errors but mining process starts:

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyFailed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.


My guess is X isn't running; or isn't running properly. 
You've probably changed hostname? You have to add the new name to Xorg. If so, see http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/2016/06/change-hostname-ubuntu-16-04-without-restart/
Avarets
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 08:30:33 AM
 #2051

I added logic based on Avarets experience with P106-100 (I don't have any of these so I am going on your report Avarets; let me know if these changes work)

Please let me know if there are any issues with these updates.

The script doesn't seem to start automatically.
If I run it manually there are some errors but mining process starts:

Code:
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyFailed to connect to Mir: Failed to connect to server socket: No such file or directory
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

ERROR: The control display is undefined; please run `nvidia-settings --help` for usage information.


My guess is X isn't running; or isn't running properly.  
You've probably changed hostname? You have to add the new name to Xorg. If so, see http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/2016/06/change-hostname-ubuntu-16-04-without-restart/

No, I didn't.
I reverted previous version of script with my desribed changes and it works again.

Also I can confirm that with updated script overclocking parameters for P106-100 are applied properly.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 12:39:23 PM
 #2052

The following can be handy for ppl using ssh for their rig. Add to your .bashrc file the following lines:
Code:
#Alias for the screens
alias miner='screen -x miner'
alias temp='screen -x temp'
alias wdog='screen -x wdog'

After the command 'exec bash' or logging out and in again you can type miner / temp / wdog to go to the respective screens directly.
hatch789
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2017, 01:12:39 PM
 #2053

Hi @fullzero

when I recently upgraded my rig to run nvOC 0018, it did something nasty to an ssd that was connected to the rig which had a Windows 8.1 install on it. I remember reading something after it booted about how it was doing something to Windows partitions, and now if I remove the USB stick so the BIOs tries to boot from the SSD it says something like "NO OPERATING SYSTEM INSTALLED".

I do like to be able to swap to Windows to try out different things - do you have any idea how I may be able to repair the SSD so Windows will boot again? Or do I just have to go through the pain of installing it from scratch and unplug it when I use nvOC?

Install from scratch.

Then make sure it is not attached or you will kill it

BUMMER! A warning would have been nice.

Newmz, I had the identical thing happen to me. Most likely what happened is the boot record was wiped out on the hard drive where you had windows installed. I have not tried to recover mine yet but it should be a very simple thing. I would try something before taking philipma1957's advice; I would try putting a windows install disk into your DVD or USB key. Then run a recover. There is also (if I recall) an FSISK /MBR you can run.

I am going to try this myself but your windows partition should be fine, you're just missing an MBR. -No big deal really!

So give that some googling and you'll find it's easy to recover. Otherwise when I get to it this weekend. I will try to recover mine and let you know what I did to hopefully fix the issue.

Thanks,
-Hatch -= http://UbuMiner.com =-
_Parallax_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 02:47:01 PM
 #2054

The following can be handy for ppl using ssh for their rig. Add to your .bashrc file the following lines:
Code:
#Alias for the screens
alias miner='screen -x miner'
alias temp='screen -x temp'
alias wdog='screen -x wdog'

After the command 'exec bash' or logging out and in again you can type miner / temp / wdog to go to the respective screens directly.

It is better to add in .bash_aliases
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 627


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2017, 03:45:45 PM
 #2055

Also I have noticed a problem when using both PROFIT_SWITCHING and or WATCHDOG together; I will make changes to the next 1bash to fix it.

Would this happen to be the problem where all the executables disappear, you can't log back in after logging out, etc.?  I noticed that earlier this week when I gave v18 a shot...something would happen after it had been running an hour or two to where it wouldn't respond to anything but either SysRq-B at the keyboard or a reset or power cycle.  Also, the GPUs appeared to still be under full load, but NiceHash reported no activity.  I still had v17 on its stick, so dropping back to it was no problem.

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator
_Parallax_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 03:48:57 PM
 #2056

There is an idea how to more standartize the logs of programs for further processing them in scripts, notifications and monitoring:

I propose to do:

1) Create file  .screenrc in /home/m1 with content:
#
acladd root
multiuser on
logfile flush 1
log on
logfile /tmp/miner.output.tmp
caption always
caption string "%{= RW} $STY | host: %H | For return to terminal press: Ctrl+a d | %m/%d/%y %c:%s | go go to the mooooooon Smiley "
#

2) In the 1bash file, replace the line of the
screen -dmS miner $HCD -S $ETH_POOL -O $ETHADDR:x -U
on
/usr/bin/screen -c /home/m1/.screenrc -l -L -dmS miner $HCD -S $ETH_POOL -O $ETHADDR:x -U

For genoil, I use this script:
telegram.sh
#====================
#!/bin/bash

PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin

/usr/bin/tee /tmp/totalhash.log < /dev/null
/usr/bin/tail -n 1 /tmp/miner.log | awk '{print $2}' >> /tmp/totalhash.log

TOKEN=YOU_TELEGRAM_BOT_TOKEN
TOTALHASH="$(/bin/cat /tmp/totalhash.log)"
TARGET="$(/bin/cat /home/m1/target.log)"

FAN=$(/usr/bin/nvidia-smi --query-gpu=fan.speed --format=csv | awk '{print $1}' | tr '\n' ','|sed -e 's/,/  /g' -e 's/, $/\n/')
WATT=$(/usr/bin/nvidia-smi --query-gpu=power.draw --format=csv | awk '{print $1}' | tr '\n' ','|sed -e 's/,/  /g' -e 's/, $/\n/')
TEMP=$(/usr/bin/nvidia-smi --query-gpu=temperature.gpu --format=csv | awk '{print $1}' | tr '\n' ','|sed -e 's/,/  /g' -e 's/, $/\n/')
UPTIME=$(/usr/bin/uptime -p)
sleep 2

if [[ $TARGET > $TOTALHASH ]]; then
    wget -O /dev/null "http://crierbot.appspot.com/${TOKEN}/send?message=Warning!!!
host $(cat /etc/hostname) too slow hash
ip: $(ifconfig | grep inet | grep -v inet6 | grep -v 127.0.0.1 | cut -d: -f2 | awk '{printf $1}')
$UPTIME
$FAN
$WATT
$TEMP
Total Hash: $TOTALHASH"
    else
        echo > /dev/null
fi

/usr/bin/tee /tmp/miner.log < /dev/null
/usr/bin/tail -n 10 /tmp/miner.output.tmp | grep MH/s | awk '{print $3, $9}' | tr -d MH/s >> /tmp/miner.log
/usr/bin/tee /tmp/miner.output.tmp < /dev/null
#=====================

I created the /home/m1/target.log file and entered the approximate value of HASH for RIG
In crontab, I added the line that is executed every 3 minutes
*/3 *   * * *    m1      /home/m1/telegram.sh

The script compares the value from the /home/m1/target.log file with the value that
the /tmp/totalhash.log receives from the file and if there is a difference, sends me a notification.

I hope that our community optimizes this script and writes more universal, which wil work with all mining programs.



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:06:33 PM
 #2057

Hi Fullzero,

what about extract all the wallet's altcoin address from 1bash and to put them in a specific file named wallet.cabinet ?

this way it would be easier when we want to upgrade the 1bash file for instance

cheers

Maxximus007 and lost_post have been pushing for the separation of settings and implementation, and then further OO breakdown of settings; for a while now.

I have an idea that should make things easier for both users, and powerusers alike.  The first version of it might not meet the OO target Maxximus007 and lost_post are looking to, but one step at a time.

This week I have been distracted by the BTC situation; and helping others remove their coins from exchanges. 

I highly recommend using a Trezor: https://trezor.io/ for a Bitcoin wallet; it is a clever device which allows you to use a paperwallet without exposing your private keys to the computer you are using.  I remember reading its development announcement post; and thinking it was exactly what was needed to enable the average user to have a secure way of holding and using BTC.


salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 627


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2017, 04:10:13 PM
 #2058

I'm planning to experiment with Salfter's NiceHash switcher, but by reading the relevant code in 1bash and switch, it seems that the individual OC settings (per card) defined in 1bash won't be used at all - only the ones set per coin, applied to all the cards. Since I have a mix of different cards, each one must take different core and mem OC values. I have an initial idea of the code changes needed, but before doing that, I'd like to check if there's another way to do that already implemented (which I missed), or something already being developed in that sense.

I've not gotten around to it yet, but I have an idea for how to enable per-card, per-algorithm settings.

I've updated the switcher to accept either an integer or an array of integers for the various overclocking settings.  If you use arrays, you can provide custom settings to each card.

https://gitlab.com/salfter/nvoc-nicehash-switcher/commit/7480fc8c04622277fb638b46c5337c183908d855

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator
Bibi187
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


https://steemit.com/@bibi187


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2017, 04:11:37 PM
 #2059

Hi Fullzero,

what about extract all the wallet's altcoin address from 1bash and to put them in a specific file named wallet.cabinet ?

this way it would be easier when we want to upgrade the 1bash file for instance

cheers

Maxximus007 and lost_post have been pushing for the separation of settings and implementation, and then further OO breakdown of settings; for a while now.

I have an idea that should make things easier for both users, and powerusers alike.  The first version of it might not meet the OO target Maxximus007 and lost_post are looking to, but one step at a time.

This week I have been distracted by the BTC situation; and helping others remove their coins from exchanges. 

I highly recommend using a Trezor: https://trezor.io/ for a Bitcoin wallet; it is a clever device which allows you to use a paperwallet without exposing your private keys to the computer you are using.  I remember reading its development announcement post; and thinking it was exactly what was needed to enable the average user to have a secure way of holding and using BTC.



U can go to : https://www.ledgerwallet.com/products/ledger-nano-s is really good to Smiley private key never leave the device !

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
July 21, 2017, 04:12:13 PM
 #2060

fullzero, can I mine Pascal Lite via NvOc? And can I mine it solo, without pool?


I will add Pascal Lite to the list; in general adding support for solo mining is less important than many other requested changes so I can add things like this to the list; but they are not a priority.  In general when looking to solo mine any COIN should have instructions on how to do so on their OP or website.

Pages: « 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!