Bitcoin Forum
July 10, 2020, 06:39:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 419 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining  (Read 416829 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 12, 2017, 04:49:23 PM
 #1801

#On one of the longest running rigs I got a message that I'm low on space . Around 600mb . I have a SSD on that RIG .
Can the logs generated be that big ?
Claymore's logs are huge.

Quote
#Where can I find the claymore logs ? I can't see it in the 9.5 folder like on win
AFAIR, they are disabled with '-dbg -1' option. Change this if you need logs.

Quote
#In genoil ... how can I see the uptime of the rig ?
Rig or miner? Have no experience with genoil, but 'uptime' shell command can give you the rig uptime.


Thanks!
Strange message for size issue . It was running for 200hours or so .

Wanted to ask about the uptime of the miner Smiley sorry .
Want to know if it crashes and reboots...no idea if genoil can do that as I haven't used it until now but for 1060 I get about 11 more MH - 176 with less overclock then in Claymore where I get around 164-165 with more OC but both rigs that I used genoil on ... reported 0 hashrates (I could only see " - " in the section for that miner but it had average hasrate displayed ) but the miner looked to be running and I had the right address in place. If I changed to Claymore everything its fine.

Great job guys ... its developing very fast into something complex but easy to use for the average user . Not sure if its good or not if everybody mines ... but for me ... more people in crypto is + EV in the long run Smiley


Please do everything you can to help Crypto go Mainstream.  Grin


For new members: I recommend reading this topic regarding the current Bitcoin situation:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2012799



1594363172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594363172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594363172
Reply with quote  #2

1594363172
Report to moderator
1594363172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594363172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594363172
Reply with quote  #2

1594363172
Report to moderator
Best ratesfor crypto
EXCHANGE
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TenaciousJ
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2017, 10:50:37 PM
 #1802

fullzero - I just got the new TB250 12 x PCI slot mobo, testing 12 x Zotac Minis 1070s and Zotac 12 x 1060 Mining cards.
I see the new bash file now goes up to 15 cards so it should run.
Will post results and pix in a few days. Thanks

I'm interested to see how it goes; I am projected to receive my 12x biostar tomorrow; but tracking number shows no data which is questionable.  I might end up getting the ASRock 14x mobo first.

Its already working with 12 x GA-RX470s with smOS in the ETH farm.
Cant wait to get nvOC running on this board with the Zotac 1070 Minis and Zotac P106-100s.
I wish I had more 2400w power supplies  Grin

I can now confirm that the AsRock H110 13 GPU mobo works with at least 9 Nvidia GPUs (8x 1070 1x 980 ti) running nvOC without any additional modifications to the o/s other than running update and dist-upgrade.  Asrock's marketing limited the nvidia gpus to 5, which must be the max for windows, but linux runs at least 9 without any trouble at all.  If I had more power and cards I'd test it up to 13, but that'll have to wait a while.



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 12, 2017, 11:30:08 PM
 #1803

fullzero - I just got the new TB250 12 x PCI slot mobo, testing 12 x Zotac Minis 1070s and Zotac 12 x 1060 Mining cards.
I see the new bash file now goes up to 15 cards so it should run.
Will post results and pix in a few days. Thanks

I'm interested to see how it goes; I am projected to receive my 12x biostar tomorrow; but tracking number shows no data which is questionable.  I might end up getting the ASRock 14x mobo first.

Its already working with 12 x GA-RX470s with smOS in the ETH farm.
Cant wait to get nvOC running on this board with the Zotac 1070 Minis and Zotac P106-100s.
I wish I had more 2400w power supplies  Grin

I can now confirm that the AsRock H110 13 GPU mobo works with at least 9 Nvidia GPUs (8x 1070 1x 980 ti) running nvOC without any additional modifications to the o/s other than running update and dist-upgrade.  Asrock's marketing limited the nvidia gpus to 5, which must be the max for windows, but linux runs at least 9 without any trouble at all.  If I had more power and cards I'd test it up to 13, but that'll have to wait a while.

I have had other members confirm the ASRock mobo works with 9x GPUs as well, I will test with 13 + 1 via m2 adapter when I get mine.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 12, 2017, 11:31:50 PM
 #1804

I keep getting a database error when I try to update the OP:  I have pm'ed the Admins about it.  For now here is a link:


THIS IS THE NEWEST VERSION

LOCALorREMOTE_oneBash + additional files (includes newest Watchdog, SRR,  switch_v3, reboot, AutoTEMP, Claymore 9.7) Link





This has the newest version of all the files; and a global switch ( LOCALorREMOTE ) which works with all COIN selections and SALFTER_NICEHASH_PROFIT_SWITCHING :

# LOCAL will attach the mining process to the gnome or guake terminal
# REMOTE will leave it unattached / ready for SSH

LOCALorREMOTE="LOCAL"       # LOCAL  or  REMOTE


salfter your newest version of switch was causing problems when run with a monitor connected (LOCAL); I would recommend relying on the:

IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG

to handle miner crashes / 0 hashrates.

I spent a couple hours testing this, and it is very effective;

Also even if your crashes are perfectly handled; if your OC is so high it crashes every 7 minutes or less: you are losing more time restarting the mining process then you are gaining with a slightly higher hashrate.


I did notice a bug in the Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL when it attempts to lower pl due to fan 100 and temp rising:

/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 119: [: missing `]'
/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 130: let: NEW_POWER_LIMIT=75.00-5: syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is ".00-5")
Missing value for -pl argument. Please run 'nvidia-smi -h' for help.

In v0018; at firstboot, oneBash will be copied from the windows partition to the home directory (folder)  dos2unix will run on it and the windows partition will be zeroized.

This version of oneBash and files are all in line with that setup.  I realize that 2unix will also need to be changed after adding the new files and oneBash.

In the home folder there is a file called:

2unix

find it and open it in gedit:

it should look like:



Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="gjjUqLXd"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
fi

sudo dos2unix /media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash

sleep 2

bash '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'

change this to:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="z7SH8VzS"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/home/m1/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
sleep 10
fi

bash '/home/m1/oneBash'

and save; this should change to using the new oneBash you copied to the home directory (folder)

modifiy the new oneBash in home with your settings / addresses

and you should be good to go with the new files / oneBash

kw1k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 04:08:22 AM
 #1805

I keep getting a database error when I try to update the OP:  I have pm'ed the Admins about it.  For now here is a link:


THIS IS THE NEWEST VERSION

LOCALorREMOTE_oneBash + additional files (includes newest Watchdog, SRR,  switch_v3, reboot, AutoTEMP, Claymore 9.7) Link





This has the newest version of all the files; and a global switch ( LOCALorREMOTE ) which works with all COIN selections and SALFTER_NICEHASH_PROFIT_SWITCHING :

# LOCAL will attach the mining process to the gnome or guake terminal
# REMOTE will leave it unattached / ready for SSH

LOCALorREMOTE="LOCAL"       # LOCAL  or  REMOTE


salfter your newest version of switch was causing problems when run with a monitor connected (LOCAL); I would recommend relying on the:

IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG

to handle miner crashes / 0 hashrates.

I spent a couple hours testing this, and it is very effective;

Also even if your crashes are perfectly handled; if your OC is so high it crashes every 7 minutes or less: you are losing more time restarting the mining process then you are gaining with a slightly higher hashrate.


I did notice a bug in the Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL when it attempts to lower pl due to fan 100 and temp rising:

/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 119: [: missing `]'
/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 130: let: NEW_POWER_LIMIT=75.00-5: syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is ".00-5")
Missing value for -pl argument. Please run 'nvidia-smi -h' for help.

In v0018; at firstboot, oneBash will be copied from the windows partition to the home directory (folder)  dos2unix will run on it and the windows partition will be zeroized.

This version of oneBash and files are all in line with that setup.  I realize that 2unix will also need to be changed after adding the new files and oneBash.

In the home folder there is a file called:

2unix

find it and open it in gedit:

it should look like:



Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="gjjUqLXd"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
fi

sudo dos2unix /media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash

sleep 2

bash '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'

change this to:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="z7SH8VzS"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/home/m1/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
sleep 10
fi

bash '/home/m1/oneBash'

and save; this should change to using the new oneBash you copied to the home directory (folder)

modifiy the new oneBash in home with your settings / addresses

and you should be good to go with the new files / oneBash




Ive done all of this my mining process starts and then it leaves the screen and only shows nvidia-smi over and over and over
ADN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 08:25:26 AM
 #1806

Hello,
I'm using a Z87 Fatal1ty Killer, the OS loads and then I'm getting a reboot loop caused by this line.

Code:
if [ $XORG == "FAIL" ]
then
sudo cp '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup' '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'
echo ''
echo "Xorg PROBLEM DETECTED"
echo ''
echo "Restoring Xorg"
echo ''
echo "Rebooting in 5"
sleep 5
sudo reboot
fi

Any ideea what is the cause? It should stop after the first reboot if I'm reading the script correctly.
nklak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 9


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 09:21:17 AM
 #1807

Hello,
I'm using a Z87 Fatal1ty Killer, the OS loads and then I'm getting a reboot loop caused by this line.

Code:
if [ $XORG == "FAIL" ]
then
sudo cp '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup' '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'
echo ''
echo "Xorg PROBLEM DETECTED"
echo ''
echo "Restoring Xorg"
echo ''
echo "Rebooting in 5"
sleep 5
sudo reboot
fi

Any ideea what is the cause? It should stop after the first reboot if I'm reading the script correctly.

Yes,

please do not connect monitor to the motherboard...also make sure that in BIOS integrated graphic is disabled...this causes error. Please make new image on usb stick and connect monitor to only GPU in the main x16 slot (GPU0).

Best regards
WarwickNZ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 10:05:09 AM
 #1808

Hey Everyone,

Just wondering what additional switches if any you use with the Genoil miner for the most consistent share count? So far for me I've only added "--farm-recheck 10000" since switching back from Claymore as I don't think it needs to check as frequently because It's pushed from the pool if i'm thinking correctly, seems a bit more stable.

Thanks as always, awesome project.
ADN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 10:37:32 AM
 #1809

Hello,
I'm using a Z87 Fatal1ty Killer, the OS loads and then I'm getting a reboot loop caused by this line.

Code:
if [ $XORG == "FAIL" ]
then
sudo cp '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup' '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'
echo ''
echo "Xorg PROBLEM DETECTED"
echo ''
echo "Restoring Xorg"
echo ''
echo "Rebooting in 5"
sleep 5
sudo reboot
fi

Any ideea what is the cause? It should stop after the first reboot if I'm reading the script correctly.

Yes,

please do not connect monitor to the motherboard...also make sure that in BIOS integrated graphic is disabled...this causes error. Please make new image on usb stick and connect monitor to only GPU in the main x16 slot (GPU0).

Best regards
This is kind of a bad idea because GPU cards are known to fail occasionally, if the GPU card that I'm connected to failed it can cause a big problem managing the platform.

Any workaround around this limitation? It should be possible to use the on-board GPU without any issues.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 13, 2017, 11:49:57 AM
 #1810

I keep getting a database error when I try to update the OP:  I have pm'ed the Admins about it.  For now here is a link:


THIS IS THE NEWEST VERSION

LOCALorREMOTE_oneBash + additional files (includes newest Watchdog, SRR,  switch_v3, reboot, AutoTEMP, Claymore 9.7) Link





This has the newest version of all the files; and a global switch ( LOCALorREMOTE ) which works with all COIN selections and SALFTER_NICEHASH_PROFIT_SWITCHING :

# LOCAL will attach the mining process to the gnome or guake terminal
# REMOTE will leave it unattached / ready for SSH

LOCALorREMOTE="LOCAL"       # LOCAL  or  REMOTE


salfter your newest version of switch was causing problems when run with a monitor connected (LOCAL); I would recommend relying on the:

IAmNotAJeep_and_Maxximus007_WATCHDOG

to handle miner crashes / 0 hashrates.

I spent a couple hours testing this, and it is very effective;

Also even if your crashes are perfectly handled; if your OC is so high it crashes every 7 minutes or less: you are losing more time restarting the mining process then you are gaining with a slightly higher hashrate.


I did notice a bug in the Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL when it attempts to lower pl due to fan 100 and temp rising:

/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 119: [: missing `]'
/home/m1/Maxximus007_AUTO_TEMPERATURE_CONTROL: line 130: let: NEW_POWER_LIMIT=75.00-5: syntax error: invalid arithmetic operator (error token is ".00-5")
Missing value for -pl argument. Please run 'nvidia-smi -h' for help.

In v0018; at firstboot, oneBash will be copied from the windows partition to the home directory (folder)  dos2unix will run on it and the windows partition will be zeroized.

This version of oneBash and files are all in line with that setup.  I realize that 2unix will also need to be changed after adding the new files and oneBash.

In the home folder there is a file called:

2unix

find it and open it in gedit:

it should look like:



Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="gjjUqLXd"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
fi

sudo dos2unix /media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash

sleep 2

bash '/media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash'

change this to:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

pasteBIN="NO"

pasteBASH="z7SH8VzS"

if [ $pasteBIN == "YES" ]
then
wget https://pastebin.com/raw/$pasteBASH
cp $pasteBASH '/home/m1/oneBash'
rm $pasteBASH
sleep 10
fi

bash '/home/m1/oneBash'

and save; this should change to using the new oneBash you copied to the home directory (folder)

modifiy the new oneBash in home with your settings / addresses

and you should be good to go with the new files / oneBash




Ive done all of this my mining process starts and then it leaves the screen and only shows nvidia-smi over and over and over

possible reasons:

you are using LOCAL and: SALFTER_NICEHASH_PROFIT_SWITCHING which attaches the screen in the guake terminal (press f12)

There is already an instance running in a screen that isn't attached; and thus the screen isn't attaching, but launching more instances instead.

You can kill all mining processes by entering this in a terminal:

Code:
pkill -e miner

alternatively you can reboot your rig.

you are using REMOTE and so the screen is not attached.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 13, 2017, 12:15:57 PM
 #1811

This is kind of a bad idea because GPU cards are known to fail occasionally, if the GPU card that I'm connected to failed it can cause a big problem managing the platform.

If a GPU hangs; there is a problem regardless of how your monitor is attached.

nvOC can be used full headless; you don't need to use a monitor.

In v0018 nvOC will have; mining client error mitigation, GPU soft crash mitigation, and if you have an SRR: hard crash mitigation.  As far as I know this is the most advanced of any mining OS.


Quote
Any workaround around this limitation? It should be possible to use the on-board GPU without any issues.

This has previously been requested by another member, and it has been added to the list.  I will make a version that supports integrated graphics eventually; but it is not a priority as it is not really a limitation.  It is only a limitation to those who are inclined to use the integrated graphics.

A real limitation is: only being able to support 8x GPUs when there are 13x GPU motherboards.

BTW I just tested the:

ASRock H110 PRO BTC+ and have confirmed that v0017 supports 13x GPUs out the box with no bios changes.
  Grin

As the Biostar 12x GPU mobo uses the same chipset I would expect it to be fully supported as well.



Avarets
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 12:34:03 PM
 #1812

Waiting for Biostar tb250 pro and 12 Zotac P106-100 to start mining using this OS.
Is it possible to quickly update to the latest version if it is installed on hdd/ssd?
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
July 13, 2017, 12:47:20 PM
 #1813

Waiting for Biostar tb250 pro and 12 Zotac P106-100 to start mining using this OS.
Is it possible to quickly update to the latest version if it is installed on hdd/ssd?


I will release v0018 soon.  Currently you must reimage to upgrade; I will add an updater in a later version.

You can change v0017 into almost v0018 by following this post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg20099702#msg20099702


However; v0018 will support any storage type; USB key, SSD, HDD, m2 SSD ect. So, I would recommend waiting to download v0018 if you don't have your components yet and plan on using a HDD or SSD.


ADN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 01:30:07 PM
Last edit: July 13, 2017, 01:45:09 PM by ADN
 #1814

Thank you.

Can you add an additional condition regarding GPU temp?

if (CURRENT_TEMP == TARGET_TEMP and CURRENT_FAN_SPEED == MAX) then POWER_LIMIT = POWER_LIMIT-10% ?

Or something similar, do prevent GPU's from crashing it they reach max temperature and fans can no longer catch up. I realize that it involves multiple variables not just the simple condition above, but should be a good start.

P.S. Are you planing to release v18 today?
dittie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 02:56:15 PM
 #1815

Can you add SIBCOIN ?

Thanks!
idle_shell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 05:13:19 PM
 #1816

Waiting for Biostar tb250 pro and 12 Zotac P106-100 to start mining using this OS.
Is it possible to quickly update to the latest version if it is installed on hdd/ssd?


I will release v0018 soon.  Currently you must reimage to upgrade; I will add an updater in a later version.

You can change v0017 into almost v0018 by following this post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg20099702#msg20099702


However; v0018 will support any storage type; USB key, SSD, HDD, m2 SSD ect. So, I would recommend waiting to download v0018 if you don't have your components yet and plan on using a HDD or SSD.



Excellent!  Was just going to post about some challenges I was having getting the 0017 image running (oneBash loops repeatedly before ever starting the miner).  But sounds like we're close to 0018--which I hope solves my issues.

Sent you some hashes last night testing gear.  You're doing awesome work here!
vlasic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 05:17:00 PM
 #1817

Add, pls, SIB (Sibcoin) and CHC (Chaincoin) support.

THNX
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 05:28:39 PM
 #1818

Can you add SIBCOIN ?

Thanks!
As far as I know that is X11, not in nvOC. Might be better to use an ASIC for that?
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 05:29:44 PM
 #1819

Thank you.

Can you add an additional condition regarding GPU temp?

if (CURRENT_TEMP == TARGET_TEMP and CURRENT_FAN_SPEED == MAX) then POWER_LIMIT = POWER_LIMIT-10% ?

Or something similar, do prevent GPU's from crashing it they reach max temperature and fans can no longer catch up. I realize that it involves multiple variables not just the simple condition above, but should be a good start.

P.S. Are you planing to release v18 today?
Something similar will be working in V0018 I believe.
jlbaseball11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2017, 08:05:01 PM
 #1820

Does anyone know why all shares are being rejected because of "low difficulty share?"  It only happens with DMD and ZCOIN.  Every other coin works fine.  I've tried different pools and oc settings with no change.
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 419 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!