Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2018, 08:24:17 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3229 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 415 (10.3%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 371 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 4013

Pages: « 1 ... 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 [723] 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 ... 1139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [2.5+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 4325902 times)
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 25, 2014, 04:01:07 AM
 #14441

hi newbie to the slush pool and bitcoin mining for that matter

i started mining using guiminer cos i am no good with the command prompt stuff.
if i get some usb erupter would that work with guiminer?

My first software used was GUI miner, and I'm not a techie either. Just jump into bfgminer and figure it out, a living brain is a learning brain. You will get good at everything through failing fast and getting mistakes out of the way early; GUI miner is a mistake, learn and move on, faster the better.

Everything you need to know is here:
https://forums.butterflylabs.com/showwiki.php?title=Tutorials:Getting+Started+With+CGminer+BFGminer
1524471857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524471857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524471857
Reply with quote  #2

1524471857
Report to moderator
1524471857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524471857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524471857
Reply with quote  #2

1524471857
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524471857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524471857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524471857
Reply with quote  #2

1524471857
Report to moderator
ccualumni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 04:44:29 AM
 #14442

I think I put in the wrong password in Multiminer as I have been mining for 2 days and have nothing to show for it in Slush's pool.

It asks for my miner name then password. I used the password for the site, but am thinking I was supposed to use my password for my worker.

Does anyone know which one I am supposed to use?

Thanks
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 25, 2014, 05:20:51 AM
 #14443

I think I put in the wrong password in Multiminer as I have been mining for 2 days and have nothing to show for it in Slush's pool.

It asks for my miner name then password. I used the password for the site, but am thinking I was supposed to use my password for my worker.

Does anyone know which one I am supposed to use?

Thanks

I still haven't messed with multi-miner, but I did buy his app because I plan to try it out. Typically (always) you will put the worker info into the mining software, and don't worry about making it strict, worst-case scenario is someone accidentally aims their miner at your worker account (very unlikely though). Also, make sure you use correct pool URL. Then go to Slush>my account login and make sure the "last share at" column says "0 minutes" for that worker and shares etc are accumulating.
ccualumni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 05:28:56 AM
 #14444



I still haven't messed with multi-miner, but I did buy his app because I plan to try it out. Typically (always) you will put the worker info into the mining software. Also, make sure you use correct pool URL. Then go to Slush>my account login and make sure the "last share at" column says "0 minutes" for that worker and shares etc are accumulating.

I like the set up and ease of use for multiminer. I have also used the bitminter software as well.

There are several others that I just cannot figure out.


I have the below information from slush's page.

I am not sure how to change or update the "Last share at" setting. I tried to use the EDIT button, but there was nothing there to change.

When setting up the pool settings in my miner would it be:
Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz
Worker Name: MYLOGINNAME
Password: XXXXXXXXXXX

Or would it be:
Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz
Worker Name: MYLOGINNAME.worker1
Password: XXXXXXXXXXX



Login........................Password............Found blocks...Current shares...Score....Last share at.....Mhash/s*...Actions
MYLOGINNAME.worker1.......XXXXXXXXXXX....0...................0................. ....0..........-   ....................0..........   Edit |

Thanks
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 06:36:03 AM
 #14445

Just noticed that network difficulty rose to 2193847870, which is about 23%.

Cheers
tom99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:28:09 AM
 #14446

I think HashFast shipped out miner h/w that why.
manubar82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:28:36 AM
 #14447

had some issues with my newly bought bitfurys.
just wanted to share this experience:
cgminer 3.8.4  did not work well with these things, i use bfgminer 3.10 right now. so far my HW Error rate dropped from 65%(!) to 3.2% (still dropping)

i am the one without any idea what he is doing, also i take donations ^^
19sipb75Up3TxKxVZbXC1L1Ah238oMvKwu
patnor1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:38:08 AM
 #14448

Hi guys, just quick question for people who do have some of those new 200+gh avalon units. I am not sure if I do have miner count set correctly it is at 16 right now. Second thing I do not know what HW means, number is sometimes equal, or higher, but mostly at one third of accepted number.

kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 10:08:55 AM
 #14449

had some issues with my newly bought bitfurys.
just wanted to share this experience:
cgminer 3.8.4  did not work well with these things, i use bfgminer 3.10 right now. so far my HW Error rate dropped from 65%(!) to 3.2% (still dropping)
Do you mean the USB Blue Fury or Red Fury or the bitfury based boards (there are quite a few of those including Drillbit and others)?
Both the latest cgminer and bfgminer support the USB miners, and some of the boards.  I also use bfgminer 3.10 with some of these and cgminer 3.10 with others.  What sort of hash rate are you getting?  There is a support thread for for the Blue/Red Fury at  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=319419.0

Cheers
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 10:16:57 AM
 #14450

Hi guys, just quick question for people who do have some of those new 200+gh avalon units. I am not sure if I do have miner count set correctly it is at 16 right now. Second thing I do not know what HW means, number is sometimes equal, or higher, but mostly at one third of accepted number.



I don't know the miner count for these (check mining support threads, and https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Cgminer_status_page), however  HW should be the hardware error count.  A small percentage (say less than 5%) is probably ok, but if it is high than too many of your shares are not effective and you need to find out why (power supply issues? cooling? settings?).
manubar82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 10:27:10 AM
 #14451

had some issues with my newly bought bitfurys.
just wanted to share this experience:
cgminer 3.8.4  did not work well with these things, i use bfgminer 3.10 right now. so far my HW Error rate dropped from 65%(!) to 3.2% (still dropping)
Do you mean the USB Blue Fury or Red Fury or the bitfury based boards (there are quite a few of those including Drillbit and others)?
Both the latest cgminer and bfgminer support the USB miners, and some of the boards.  I also use bfgminer 3.10 with some of these and cgminer 3.10 with others.  What sort of hash rate are you getting?  There is a support thread for for the Blue/Red Fury at  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=319419.0

Cheers

oh, sorry. to clarify:

Red Fury, right now at 2.3 GH/s each (along some Block eruptors, but they work great and without any hassle). i found that i had this problem in combination with slush's pool, those Red Furys and the aforementioned cgminer version.

a litecoin pool i tested worked better, still had around 20% HW Error rate. i just wanted to mention this because it seemed like it was a problem that occured with the Red Fury/cgminer/slush setup. and i am pretty sure this is a common setup.

thank you for the link Smiley

i am the one without any idea what he is doing, also i take donations ^^
19sipb75Up3TxKxVZbXC1L1Ah238oMvKwu
boylin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 11:15:36 AM
 #14452

what does everyone think of these: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=191048412931&ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250

Sentinel


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 11:31:21 AM
 #14453


Terribly expensive...
Typical "looking for the greater fool" sale (approx. less than 60% ROI)...

I think by now it's safe to say it's impossible not to get a "greater fool" sale on EBay, as well as any shipping-ready low-end/medium-end hardware from a manufacturer. The only people making money there are the resellers.
Nothing on the market (ready-to-ship) seems to be even remotely able to ROI.
Everything else (high-priced pre-order gear) is the usual gamble.

IMHO if you have 900 quid to spend, buy BTC directly at a price you deem attractive.

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 12:02:14 PM
 #14454

had some issues with my newly bought bitfurys.
just wanted to share this experience:
cgminer 3.8.4  did not work well with these things, i use bfgminer 3.10 right now. so far my HW Error rate dropped from 65%(!) to 3.2% (still dropping)
Do you mean the USB Blue Fury or Red Fury or the bitfury based boards (there are quite a few of those including Drillbit and others)?
Both the latest cgminer and bfgminer support the USB miners, and some of the boards.  I also use bfgminer 3.10 with some of these and cgminer 3.10 with others.  What sort of hash rate are you getting?  There is a support thread for for the Blue/Red Fury at  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=319419.0

Cheers

oh, sorry. to clarify:

Red Fury, right now at 2.3 GH/s each (along some Block eruptors, but they work great and without any hassle). i found that i had this problem in combination with slush's pool, those Red Furys and the aforementioned cgminer version.

a litecoin pool i tested worked better, still had around 20% HW Error rate. i just wanted to mention this because it seemed like it was a problem that occured with the Red Fury/cgminer/slush setup. and i am pretty sure this is a common setup.

thank you for the link Smiley
It looks like the latest versions of both cgminer and bfgminer provide a similar level of support for the Red Fury.  The main difference in the setup is that the device drivers used are completely different.  I have been mining on Slush with Blue/Red Fury devices using mostly bfgminer, but am using cgminer for other devices.  If it is working fine for you on bfgminer, perhaps you should stay there.
If you are interested in getting slightly higher performance from your RF miner(s) check out the thread mentioned before, as it has a lot of inputs from other users who over-clocked these devices.  There is a simple 'pencil mod' which gets something like 2.6 GH/sec.  If you want to explore this you should probably shift this to the Blue Fury support thread, as it is probably not unique to Slush's pool.

Cheers
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 12:49:32 PM
 #14455



I still haven't messed with multi-miner, but I did buy his app because I plan to try it out. Typically (always) you will put the worker info into the mining software. Also, make sure you use correct pool URL. Then go to Slush>my account login and make sure the "last share at" column says "0 minutes" for that worker and shares etc are accumulating.

I like the set up and ease of use for multiminer. I have also used the bitminter software as well.

There are several others that I just cannot figure out.


I have the below information from slush's page.

I am not sure how to change or update the "Last share at" setting. I tried to use the EDIT button, but there was nothing there to change.

When setting up the pool settings in my miner would it be:
Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz
Worker Name: MYLOGINNAME
Password: XXXXXXXXXXX

Or would it be:
Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz
Worker Name: MYLOGINNAME.worker1
Password: XXXXXXXXXXX



Login........................Password............Found blocks...Current shares...Score....Last share at.....Mhash/s*...Actions
MYLOGINNAME.worker1.......XXXXXXXXXXX....0...................0................. ....0..........-   ....................0..........   Edit |

Thanks



Or would it be:
Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz
Worker Name: MYLOGINNAME.worker1
Password: XXXXXXXXXXX


except : Host: http://api.bitcoin.cz should be Host: http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
pgminer01
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 04:14:50 PM
 #14456

I am using bfgminer , ant U1 < 10% HW error ( via usb hub ) , while bi*fury < 5% HW error( direct connect to pc ) , I guess my U1 might cause by cheap usb hub ...
boumalo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 08:22:08 AM
 #14457

why the reward is so low here : http://imgur.com/BIf0fw6

J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 26, 2014, 08:49:00 AM
 #14458

why the reward is so low here : http://imgur.com/BIf0fw6

Not sure, but my guess would be maybe a problem with the pool. I dunno, I notice this pattern where it seems on the weekends we usually have longer rounds and technical issues start happening at the same time. Perhaps the pool is having some glitches backstage right now?
patnor1011
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 12:06:11 PM
 #14459

Hi guys, just quick question for people who do have some of those new 200+gh avalon units. I am not sure if I do have miner count set correctly it is at 16 right now. Second thing I do not know what HW means, number is sometimes equal, or higher, but mostly at one third of accepted number.



I don't know the miner count for these (check mining support threads, and https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Cgminer_status_page), however  HW should be the hardware error count.  A small percentage (say less than 5%) is probably ok, but if it is high than too many of your shares are not effective and you need to find out why (power supply issues? cooling? settings?).


It got even worse as I presume that HW count is what I am losing right now.
Can someone have look at this and tell me what may be wrong I noticed different temperature on both modules... I really do not know what can I change in settings.
I have set it to balance so it mined on both pools I set.
This is new 200Gh unit with 2 modules and 160 chips.


J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 26, 2014, 06:07:39 PM
 #14460

Hi guys, just quick question for people who do have some of those new 200+gh avalon units. I am not sure if I do have miner count set correctly it is at 16 right now. Second thing I do not know what HW means, number is sometimes equal, or higher, but mostly at one third of accepted number.



I don't know the miner count for these (check mining support threads, and https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Cgminer_status_page), however  HW should be the hardware error count.  A small percentage (say less than 5%) is probably ok, but if it is high than too many of your shares are not effective and you need to find out why (power supply issues? cooling? settings?).


It got even worse as I presume that HW count is what I am losing right now.
Can someone have look at this and tell me what may be wrong I noticed different temperature on both modules... I really do not know what can I change in settings.
I have set it to balance so it mined on both pools I set.
This is new 200Gh unit with 2 modules and 160 chips.




What pool URL are you using?

Can you, or do you, run this through Slush's proxy?
Pages: « 1 ... 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 [723] 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 745 746 747 748 749 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 ... 1139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!