Bitcoin Forum
May 29, 2020, 04:58:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 157 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Cast XMR] high speed XMR/CryptoNight miner for RX Vega GPUs (2 KHash/s)  (Read 205444 times)
MickDaster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 02:41:56 AM
 #361

Hi,

I got rx VEGA 56 8gb POWER Color with micron RAM, bought this card mostly for testing and haven't managed to do any good results.

I've managed to hit 35mhs / 160-175watt on ether while i only got at 750hs on monero and 350 on zec both at around 200 watt.

I have not found bios mod for this type of card.

What is the best coin to mine with this card and what should my settings be to use it's full potential?


Card running on:
win7 latest update
Crimson relive 17.10.2
Afterburner 4.4.0 19 beta
atikmdag-patcher YES





★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion  ✔  Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency  ✔  TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️    ★    ✔ VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
FAST DICE GAME $500 DAILY CONTEST BEST AUTOBET MODE 30% RAKEBACK FOR VIPS PROVABLY FAIR Play Now Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
1590728333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590728333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590728333
Reply with quote  #2

1590728333
Report to moderator
tf2addict
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:42:23 AM
Last edit: November 09, 2017, 03:07:08 AM by tf2addict
 #362

deleted
tf2addict
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 02:43:38 AM
 #363

Hi,

I got rx VEGA 56 8gb POWER Color with micron RAM, bought this card mostly for testing and haven't managed to do any good results.

I've managed to hit 35mhs / 160-175watt on ether while i only got at 750hs on monero and 350 on zec both at around 200 watt.

I have not found bios mod for this type of card.

What is the best coin to mine with this card and what should my settings be to use it's full potential?


Card running on:
win7 latest update
Crimson relive 17.10.2
Afterburner 4.4.0 19 beta
atikmdag-patcher YES

Well first of all you have to use the blockchain driver.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-Edition-Beta-for-Blockchain-Compute-Release-Notes.aspx
MickDaster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 02:47:27 AM
 #364

Hi,

I got rx VEGA 56 8gb POWER Color with micron RAM, bought this card mostly for testing and haven't managed to do any good results.

I've managed to hit 35mhs / 160-175watt on ether while i only got at 750hs on monero and 350 on zec both at around 200 watt.

I have not found bios mod for this type of card.

What is the best coin to mine with this card and what should my settings be to use it's full potential?


Card running on:
win7 latest update
Crimson relive 17.10.2
Afterburner 4.4.0 19 beta
atikmdag-patcher YES

Well first of all you have to use the blockchain driver.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-Edition-Beta-for-[Suspicious link removed]pute-Release-Notes.aspx


this thing crashed instantly as i get into win7, i cant even get a picture with this driver, any suggestion why is that?

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion  ✔  Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency  ✔  TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️    ★    ✔ VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1502



View Profile
November 09, 2017, 03:43:01 AM
 #365

hey, does CAST work properly on GPUs connected via risers (1X to 16X) or only on 8X and 16X PCIe mobo lines?

All my Vega's connected via risers and CAST work good.

thanks
VaynardW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 09:04:48 AM
 #366



this thing crashed instantly as i get into win7, i cant even get a picture with this driver, any suggestion why is that?

I think I heard somewhere that the blockchain driver doesn't play well with claymore miner in Win 7 even though it has no issues in Win 10, maybe you set claymore at startup which makes it crashes right away?

IT IS broken under Win 7, there's an alternative though, you can refer to this link https://community.amd.com/thread/219303
MickDaster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 11:31:55 AM
 #367

i guess that might be the case yes.

So in order to increase my hashrate i should change OS ?

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion  ✔  Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency  ✔  TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️    ★    ✔ VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
l1xx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 01:12:31 AM
 #368

After a bit more than 24 hours of running, I don't really see the point of using this.
While my xmr stak setup was running like a champ for weeks, with the same settings this thing is just not stable. Had to restart 4 times during that time - all after several hours of working, because suddenly one card freezes and starts hashing at 0 for a few seconds, and then the program freezes. That thing happened to 3 different cards. And these same cards were running at these settings for weeks with XMR Stak with no issues ...

The output hashrate looks higher, but with the sudden drops of hashrate for every card in the rig (all at different times) the average hashrate looks only around 100 H/s higher (for the whole rig).
That at the time when the miner is running, the ~1 hour I lost to downtimes + the payment system of nanopool cost me far more than this.
Not to mention, that on top of that xmr stak has 1 (or even 0% fee) and a slightly lower rejected shares rate, than the one I am having with the cast.

The neat feature for showing temps I like a lot, but that cannot compensate all the drawbacks. So I moved back.

I must mention, that it was working good on a single Vega 64 at 1407/870 1100/850 , expect the random hashrate drops that I mentioned earlier with a screenshot (same as on the 6 card rig). So it had 50 H/s more before calculating fee and higher % stale/rejects.

Still - with some work on the code, the program might be worth trying again. I will defnitely follow it and give it a try with next versions, but several things just need to be improved. Starting with:

1) Adjustable intensity settings.
2) Fix or at least explanation for these random hashrate drops. Is this being cause by collection of the dev fee? This is my suspicion, and if this is the case ... Well, it looks like the fee is not 1.5% but way higher.
The program gives no indication when this dev fee is being collected anyway ...

3) Lower dev fee Smiley I don't mind paying 1% tbh, at least for some time, but 1.5% is just too high, when there is a cheaper (and probably better) client on the market.
4) Maybe a way of restarting the program, or even the rig if nothing is happening for some time.

R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 306
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 01:46:54 AM
 #369

After a bit more than 24 hours of running, I don't really see the point of using this.
While my xmr stak setup was running like a champ for weeks, with the same settings this thing is just not stable. Had to restart 4 times during that time - all after several hours of working, because suddenly one card freezes and starts hashing at 0 for a few seconds, and then the program freezes. That thing happened to 3 different cards. And these same cards were running at these settings for weeks with XMR Stak with no issues ...

The output hashrate looks higher, but with the sudden drops of hashrate for every card in the rig (all at different times) the average hashrate looks only around 100 H/s higher (for the whole rig).
That at the time when the miner is running, the ~1 hour I lost to downtimes + the payment system of nanopool cost me far more than this.
Not to mention, that on top of that xmr stak has 1 (or even 0% fee) and a slightly lower rejected shares rate, than the one I am having with the cast.

The neat feature for showing temps I like a lot, but that cannot compensate all the drawbacks. So I moved back.

I must mention, that it was working good on a single Vega 64 at 1407/870 1100/850 , expect the random hashrate drops that I mentioned earlier with a screenshot (same as on the 6 card rig). So it had 50 H/s more before calculating fee and higher % stale/rejects.

Still - with some work on the code, the program might be worth trying again. I will defnitely follow it and give it a try with next versions, but several things just need to be improved. Starting with:

1) Adjustable intensity settings.
2) Fix or at least explanation for these random hashrate drops. Is this being cause by collection of the dev fee? This is my suspicion, and if this is the case ... Well, it looks like the fee is not 1.5% but way higher.
The program gives no indication when this dev fee is being collected anyway ...

3) Lower dev fee Smiley I don't mind paying 1% tbh, at least for some time, but 1.5% is just too high, when there is a cheaper (and probably better) client on the market.
4) Maybe a way of restarting the program, or even the rig if nothing is happening for some time.



Maybe you tried it already, but looking at your settings I would bump the GPU up to 900 to 904 (keep it at 1400-1408, e.g., 1405/900), and on memory keep 850 but try dropping to 1070 (1070/850).

I've tried both XMR-STAK and Cast.  Both are stable in my particular setup.  I think Cast gives just slightly better total speed and just a hair less power usage.  3 cards so far but adding more this weekend.

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
rpm604
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 06:29:20 AM
 #370

Okay, I've had the miner pretty stable at 2040 H/s for the past day. The same two errors appeared, but a quick close/run or reboot solved them both.

The strange 1950 H/s dips every few reports - closing and rerunning the algorithm seems to fix it. I don't know what is doing it. It just happened now when I opened Calculator, and then it stopped when I closed it... I don't know why calculator would have anything to do with it, but I was literally just calculating my daily hashrate and watched it start misbehaving! Lol.

The 200 H/s drop, down to 1850 H/s - rebooting is the only thing that fixes this once it starts, it seems. I've tried reinitializing HBCC, and it's not enough. I haven't tried going into registry and disabling/reenabling the card, which Mythic mentions in his Oct.27 post if you want to look that up.

I have a new concern though...

https://i.imgur.com/m1SMKmb.png

What's going on with this miner? Is this how the dev fee is implemented? I'd love more information about the workings of this algorithm. Does anyone else have dry spells with no shares? I'm literally having another one while writing this post, it's been almost two minutes with no shares submitted. It's very odd for this card... I get consistent shares between 20-40 seconds, sometimes faster, but to then jump to a 4 minute dry spell seems very odd.
Jackkyy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 07:53:40 AM
 #371

you use GPU-z or other similar soft?
du_ku
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 08:22:18 AM
 #372

Cast XMR - Highspeed CryptoNight (Monero/Bytecoin/DigitalNote/Intense) Miner for Radeon RX Vega GPUs

Update to version 0.6 on 2017/10/27
Hello.
Thank you for your work.
Some time I have 0 (zero) hashrate on one card.
Will be great if in future release you add zero hashrate detector for restarting miner.
lakerz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 09:01:51 AM
 #373

Is it possible to downgrade a Vega 64 to get the same hashes and power consumption as a Vega 56?

According to http://www.gandalph3000.com/cast_xmr/howto-mine-monero-rx-vega/ Vega 56 has the exact same hash rate with 50W less, so I wonder if anyone tried Vega 64 with the same frequencies as 56 etc.?

Why: Because Vega 64 are available here, 56 are not.. and I wouldn't like to spend more bucks on a worse card Wink

Thanks for this great thread!
MickDaster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2017, 12:03:48 PM
 #374

Yesterday i test my Rx Vega 56 8gb Powercolor on a  win10 system with blockchain drivers from AMD.

The weird thing happen with gpu-z, on win7 it shows that vega has got micron ram and on win10 system it shows Samsung ram, right now i dont really know which one is it.

Results:

Win7 with latest Crimson driver
35mhs at ETH with 165watt
700hs at MONERO with 155 watt
200-250hs at ZEC with 160 watt

Win10
38mhs at ETH with 170watt
1070hs at MONERO with 170 watt
400hs at ZEC with 160 watt

I will do even more testing but the only thing that bugs me is that GPU-Z because i am not sure which RAM i have and if i want to mod the card how and with which mod should i do it?

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion  ✔  Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency  ✔  TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️    ★    ✔ VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
bytiges
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 04:42:05 PM
 #375

I have a new concern though...



What's going on with this miner? Is this how the dev fee is implemented? I'd love more information about the workings of this algorithm. Does anyone else have dry spells with no shares? I'm literally having another one while writing this post, it's been almost two minutes with no shares submitted. It's very odd for this card... I get consistent shares between 20-40 seconds, sometimes faster, but to then jump to a 4 minute dry spell seems very odd.
I expresses the same concerns as you a few posts back. The reported rates from cast-xmr and way higher than what my pools (more than 1) report after long periods (24hrs).

In my case, there is about 4.4% unaccounted hashrate loss on average.

I my case, I too see these long periods with no hashes sent to the pool followed by a normalization.

Also, at times the fans of the cards will go suddenly from 3200 rpm to 4400 rpm for about 30 seconds then normalize. This is what happens when they're reloaded with new kernels. I think however this is normal (fee collection on another pool and / or the resync of the ndqueue that cast seems to do to speed things up).

However, where's that 4.4% lost ? I don't know. I'm currently using it *only* because it's more stable with my rigs. It does eat more energy than stak howeve (in my case).
carlo_0000
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1251
Merit: 1003


View Profile
November 10, 2017, 04:58:12 PM
 #376

you probably have unstable gpu  oc you ram to much ?

looks like stop hashing and restart
agrippa4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 02:06:38 AM
 #377

Does anyone know how (or if) you can use Cast 0.6 on Nicehash? I'm not getting how to set up the .bat file correctly.

I have:
 
Quote
cast_xmr-vega -S cryptonight.usa.nicehash.com:3355 -u Wallet.Worker/email %* --opencl 1 -G 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7

This results in "no pool server and username configured."
tf2addict
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 02:37:52 AM
 #378

Does anyone know how (or if) you can use Cast 0.6 on Nicehash? I'm not getting how to set up the .bat file correctly.

I have:
 
Quote
cast_xmr-vega -S cryptonight.usa.nicehash.com:3355 -u Wallet.Worker/email %* --opencl 1 -G 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7

This results in "no pool server and username configured."

I think your user name is wrong.  I just use BTCwalletaddress.workername

Everything else looks ok I think.  This is my command line (BTC address changed to protect my privacy):

cast_xmr-vega -G 0 --opencl 1 -S cryptonight.usa.nicehash.com:3355 -u 1Ljdskfhsjdhfjsdfhkjsdhfkdshfksd.castxmr
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338
Merit: 1206



View Profile
November 11, 2017, 02:49:47 AM
 #379

For shits and giggles I tried this on my old old Radeon 6990 GPU, didn't work.


████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀████████
██████▀▄██▀▀▄▄ ████▄▀██████
█████ ███ ████ ▀▀████ █████
████ █████ ███▀▀▀▄████ ████
████ ███▀▀▀▄▄▄████████ ████
████ ██▄▄▀▀███████▀▄▄█ ████
█████ █████ █▀██▀▄███ █████
██████▄▀███▀▄█▀▄███▀▄██████
████████▄▄▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▄▄████████
██████████▀▄███████████████
██████████████████████████
.
.FORTUNEJACK..
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
.
.+250 FS....................
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
████
tf2addict
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 03:07:13 AM
 #380

For shits and giggles I tried this on my old old Radeon 6990 GPU, didn't work.



It doesn't even work on an RX 560, I tried.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 157 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!