Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2019, 10:00:29 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 36794 times)
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 108



View Profile
March 24, 2019, 04:45:08 PM
 #41

For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

So that you can experiment with live values instead of BIOS modding every time?
1573768829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573768829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573768829
Reply with quote  #2

1573768829
Report to moderator
1573768829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573768829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573768829
Reply with quote  #2

1573768829
Report to moderator
1573768829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573768829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573768829
Reply with quote  #2

1573768829
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1573768829
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573768829

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573768829
Reply with quote  #2

1573768829
Report to moderator
windward
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 11


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 04:51:06 PM
 #42

can someone please share the config that they used for their vega and can someone explain or just give full forms of every parameter
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1214


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 05:15:57 PM
 #43

For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

So that you can experiment with live values instead of BIOS modding every time?
I'm sure those selling the modded bios are annoyed by this, it also keeps warranty's in place.

Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1030
Merit: 1251

Huh?


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 07:42:59 PM
 #44

Hey all,

Just pushed a new release.
Added some new timings for HBM2 to play around with.
Fixed a few small things and cleaned up a bit.
Especially the --help output is a bit more clear now.
The --current output is as well more clearer.


For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

I managed to increase the hashrate on my 470 by 0.8Mh with my tool. Bringing it to 32Mh avarage.
Yes, i have a custom strap in the vbios as well. Still, with live timings i was able to increase it even more.

If it wouldn't have any use for GDDR5, i wouldn't have even added it in.  Wink


can someone please share the config that they used for their vega and can someone explain or just give full forms of every parameter

This is the fun thing about this tool. Well, it is for me  Grin
Figuring out these things. What to adjust to increase speed. What to adjust to increase stability.
Every time you manage to improve the overall performance, you will get that satisfied feeling that you would never get otherwise.

I'm very well aware that a lot of people will use the "I don't have time to find out" argument, i'm sorry but i don't have time to help those that won't even bother to do a little bit of effort.

I'm hoping this could be a community effort, people helping each other to find out "better" settings..

 Smiley

Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 270


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 07:52:38 PM
 #45

For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

So that you can experiment with live values instead of BIOS modding every time?
I'm sure those selling the modded bios are annoyed by this, it also keeps warranty's in place.

Not having to mod a bios and worry about warranty etc is a big plus.  Now that this is available I have another reason to bite the bullet and try linux. Smiley
JFoxOne
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 356
Merit: 20


you need minerstat


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2019, 08:17:00 PM
 #46

Thank you for your amazing work!

Already added it to our minerstat OS, but it is "only" command line for now. Here is a short AMD Memory Tweak help page.

We have plans to include it in our dashboard with a memory timing collection.


Mahaprajapati
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 09:04:17 PM
 #47

anyone tested memory timings sticking over to windows?
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 556


VEIL - PRIVACY WITHOUT COMPROMISE


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 09:50:45 PM
 #48

We at ( my signature ) already have this solution for more than a month.

Very good, Laik2.
I'm assuming you're allowing users of your platform to tweak their GPUs' timings.
How do users go about doing it on mmpos? You're not showing the functionality itself on your screenshots - only hashrates and clocks.

Or is it that "smart tune" slider you set all the way to the right?



▄▄                                  ▄▄
 ███▄                            ▄███
  ██████                      ██████
   ███████                  ███████
    ███████                ███████
     ███████              ███████
      ███████            ███████
       ███████▄▄      ▄▄███████
        ██████████████████████
         ████████████████████
          ██████████████████
           ████████████████
            ██████████████
             ███████████
              █████████
               ███████
                █████
                 ██
                  █
veil|     PRIVACY     
     WITHOUT COMPROMISE.       
▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂
|   NO ICO. NO PREMINE. 
   X16RT GPU Mining. Fair distribution.   
|      The first Zerocoin-based Cryptocurrency       
   WITH ALWAYS-ON PRIVACY.   
|



                   ▄▄████
              ▄▄████████▌
         ▄▄█████████▀███
    ▄▄██████████▀▀ ▄███▌
▄████████████▀▀  ▄█████
▀▀▀███████▀   ▄███████▌
      ██    ▄█████████
       █  ▄██████████▌
       █  ███████████
       █ ██▀ ▀██████▌
       ██▀     ▀████
                 ▀█▌




   ▄███████
   ████████
   ███▀
   ███
██████████
██████████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███




     ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
   ▐██▄▄██████████████▄▄██▌
   ████████████████████████
  ▐████████████████████████▌
  ███████▀▀▀██████▀▀▀███████
 ▐██████     ████     ██████▌
 ███████     ████     ███████
▐████████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████████▌
▐████████████████████████████▌
 █████▄▄▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▄▄█████
  ▀▀██████          ██████▀▀
      ▀▀▀            ▀▀▀
cl4r0s
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 11:06:26 PM
 #49

For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

So that you can experiment with live values instead of BIOS modding every time?

There are a plenty of Polaris cards of different producer without any available bios and then the WX-x100 series (amd pro cards) which are not compatible with the timings “one click” or available on internet. Having a tool like this one available for Polaris cards would be a great advantage, at least for a wx-5100 owner like myself

Ciao

Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 11:17:43 PM
 #50

For rx580 this thing got no use, my opinion. You have allredy stripped firmwares all over the net, why you would use this for 580 Huh
This has use for Vega cards because you dont have other option Wink

So that you can experiment with live values instead of BIOS modding every time?

There are a plenty of Polaris cards of different producer without any available bios and then the WX-x100 series (amd pro cards) which are not compatible with the timings “one click” or available on internet. Having a tool like this one available for Polaris cards would be a great advantage, at least for a wx-5100 owner like myself

Ciao


If this card works under Linux, then the information about the memory and timings may reside in the driver sources. The vbios is also on the card, just a matter of dumping it, as for whether any tool can recognize structures or not, thats a different story.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
clousian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 06:41:56 AM
 #51

Anyone done an easy win10 port for this yet? Would be very much appreciated for someone who doesn't want to move to Linux.
smurfynet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 07:29:39 AM
 #52

We at ( my signature ) already have this solution for more than a month.

Or is it that "smart tune" slider you set all the way to the right?

Yes its "that" slider.. you have the option between, auto,low, med and high.  which automatically tunes all the timings you need for optimal performance on your GPUs.

Currently it is supported for Vega (samsung memory), Nvidia pascal familiy (yes not just 1080s).
Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 2


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 10:00:10 AM
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #53

I played with this tool during the weekend on Vega.
But to be honest I did not see any hashrate increase under CN algos.
I'm not an expert on timings, but I should see at least 1-2% increase when changing CL 20->19

That was the first time I put a Linux AMD system together and I am struggling with the different kernel and driver versions not working together.
The biggest problem is the GPU freq is affected by the voltage.
If I set in PPT P7 1600 950 then the GPU runs only at around 1400@950mV. If I increase the voltage the clock goes up, but quickly reaches TDP.
Also if I try to trick it and set P7 1700@950 then if load changes freq spikes up and card freezes obviously.
Tried with 3 different kernels and one is worse than the other.
Maybe I should try other than the 18.50 amdgpupro?
windward
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 11


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 10:55:57 AM
Merited by frodocooper (5), vapourminer (1)
 #54

this was tried on hiveos vega 64 these are my results so far

Okay seems like reducing rc gave me a slight boost

rc reduced to 45 from 47 gave about 0.7 mh rise
increased faw to 19 from 16 increased hash rate by 1mh, tried 22 and it shutoff the cards

seems like faw and rc are related changing only faw or only rc has no diff on hash

if rc goes below 45 it shuts of the cards
had to reboot

so far found how low rc can go and how high faw can go
gonna test if increasing rc has any results

turns out increasing rc reduced the hash so dont do that

changes to rp making no diff but increase by 4 from default seems to reduced hash

increasing rrd seriously reduced has like to 31mh

turns out increasing rfc reduces hashrate
and no point decreasing rfc value still no effect

increasing rtp also seems to reduce hash rate and reducing it to 1 from its default 5 is of also no use


increasing cwl has no effect tested till value of cwl 15 when cwl was set 20 it shut off the cards but until then had no effects to hash

will update this list when am done using the other two options remaining they are "wrts"  "wrtl" "wr"

I played with this tool during the weekend on Vega.
But to be honest I did not see any hashrate increase under CN algos.
I'm not an expert on timings, but I should see at least 1-2% increase when changing CL 20->19

That was the first time I put a Linux AMD system together and I am struggling with the different kernel and driver versions not working together.
The biggest problem is the GPU freq is affected by the voltage.
If I set in PPT P7 1600 950 then the GPU runs only at around 1400@950mV. If I increase the voltage the clock goes up, but quickly reaches TDP.
Also if I try to trick it and set P7 1700@950 then if load changes freq spikes up and card freezes obviously.
Tried with 3 different kernels and one is worse than the other.
Maybe I should try other than the 18.50 amdgpupro?

i got no results on reducing cl and when i tried increasing it , it shutoff the rig



kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1214


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 11:14:27 AM
 #55

I played with this tool during the weekend on Vega.
But to be honest I did not see any hashrate increase under CN algos.
I'm not an expert on timings, but I should see at least 1-2% increase when changing CL 20->19

That was the first time I put a Linux AMD system together and I am struggling with the different kernel and driver versions not working together.
The biggest problem is the GPU freq is affected by the voltage.
If I set in PPT P7 1600 950 then the GPU runs only at around 1400@950mV. If I increase the voltage the clock goes up, but quickly reaches TDP.
Also if I try to trick it and set P7 1700@950 then if load changes freq spikes up and card freezes obviously.
Tried with 3 different kernels and one is worse than the other.
Maybe I should try other than the 18.50 amdgpupro?
Not too sure how memory timings reliant can is.

cudapop
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 23


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 11:20:08 AM
 #56

Hey all,

I have done a lot of debating with myself whether i would share this.
Well, i decided to do so and on top of that, open source it.

Kudos to you! (and +merit).

Too bad for me I don't code for AMD cards though, lol. Any chance you'ld release the MMIO address offsets for Nvidia? (not source code, just the hex offset values)  Grin
Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 2


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 11:52:18 AM
 #57

Not too sure how memory timings reliant can is.

It's relevant in the way that if more people can test the tool the sooner we got better results (made public).
But if putting together a linux system is so much PITA only a few can use it.
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1214


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 12:07:07 PM
 #58

Not too sure how memory timings reliant can is.

It's relevant in the way that if more people can test the tool the sooner we got better results (made public).
But if putting together a linux system is so much PITA only a few can use it.
Linux isn't hard to put together, I still expect mining OS's to have it built in soon. Maybe not hive though, they are seeming hesitant for some reason.

Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1030
Merit: 1251

Huh?


View Profile
March 25, 2019, 12:16:50 PM
Merited by windward (1)
 #59

My apologies, there was a rather big bug in the code.
HBM2 RFC was wrong.
This would have most definitely crashed your gpu.

All sorted out now.


Small hint: Sometimes it's better to raise certain values before dropping others  Wink

JFoxOne
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 356
Merit: 20


you need minerstat


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2019, 12:31:49 PM
 #60

... I still expect mining OS's to have it built in soon. ...

Already added it to our minerstat OS ...

And it works.
User reported the increase from 38MH/s to 52MH/s on his Vegas.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!