Bitcoin Forum
February 07, 2023, 03:11:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 58591 times)
bokiminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 01, 2020, 03:15:27 PM
 #1041

Hello Eliovp, actually it is possible....

Hey! I also own a 5700 and i flashed a XT bios on it and copied 1500 straps to 2000.
I'm getting 57.3 Mhs out of it, but I saw your post. You said you changed "tRef (that gave me +1MH for ETH)". Where can I find this value in BIOS?
Can you help me? I dont use AMD MEm Tweak XL since I use HiveOS and I need to change that value in the BIOS itself.

Here you are, this is Micron 1500 Mhz strap (f0490202 in BIOS) example:
Quote
800900007D040000000000006A09000040020000142619133D00170006060002100000000508080 018000000218E06000000010101000101001C1800220B00000A0A0000B4000000B40000008A206C024C0000000A00040A130300011F2A0C00A500000002F 4130FA500000000000000

I changed 220B (tREF 2850) to E02E (tREF 12000)

1675739495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675739495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675739495
Reply with quote  #2

1675739495
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675739495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675739495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675739495
Reply with quote  #2

1675739495
Report to moderator
1675739495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675739495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675739495
Reply with quote  #2

1675739495
Report to moderator
Eliovp (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1293

Huh?


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2020, 12:39:39 PM
 #1042

Hello Eliovp, actually it is possible....

Hey! I also own a 5700 and i flashed a XT bios on it and copied 1500 straps to 2000.
I'm getting 57.3 Mhs out of it, but I saw your post. You said you changed "tRef (that gave me +1MH for ETH)". Where can I find this value in BIOS?
Can you help me? I dont use AMD MEm Tweak XL since I use HiveOS and I need to change that value in the BIOS itself.

Here you are, this is Micron 1500 Mhz strap (f0490202 in BIOS) example:
Quote
800900007D040000000000006A09000040020000142619133D00170006060002100000000508080 018000000218E06000000010101000101001C1800220B00000A0A0000B4000000B40000008A206C024C0000000A00040A130300011F2A0C00A500000002F 4130FA500000000000000

I changed 220B (tREF 2850) to E02E (tREF 12000)




Yeah i know it's possible :p
Already built a bios editor with encoding and decoding of those timings.


xMindx163
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2020, 01:34:36 PM
 #1043

Great news. Waiting for an advanced editor! A simple editor is already available.
https://www.igorslab.de/en/red-bios-editor-and-morepowertool-adjust-and-optimize-your-vbios-and-even-more-stable-overclocking-navi-unlimited/2/
arierep60
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2020, 06:22:44 PM
 #1044

Here you are, this is Micron 1500 Mhz strap (f0490202 in BIOS) example:
Quote
800900007D040000000000006A09000040020000142619133D00170006060002100000000508080 018000000218E06000000010101000101001C1800220B00000A0A0000B4000000B40000008A206C024C0000000A00040A130300011F2A0C00A500000002F 4130FA500000000000000

I changed 220B (tREF 2850) to E02E (tREF 12000)

Sadly I only got a bump of 0.15Mhs Sad
gdreporter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2020, 07:04:11 AM
 #1045

Hi Eliovp

Do Amd mem tweaker improves the hash rate on radeon VII?

I tried a little bit and I don't see any difference.

Thanks
lcbbcl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2020, 08:04:06 PM
 #1046

Hi, is someone using linux? I was using windows with claymore miner and i decide to start using linux, but straps and rxboost is not working on linux.
Using windows without OC my rx580 can hash with 28+ Mh/s and if i OC my vram i get 32+.
I decide to replicate in linux the mem straps from windows when my gpu is underload, but not too much success if i change REF to 30 i can see a boost but changing RC CL etc no boost or the gpu will give me black screen.
Another strange behavior is when i OC my vram, for some reason when i oc my hash is less, its not about how much i OC the gpu ram , default is 2000mhz if i set 2001mhz is the same effect.
I appreciate any hint.
Thanks
WARMANGALAXY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 04:22:46 AM
 #1047

Hi, ElioVP when a releases amdmemtweak Navi Huh
Eliovp (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1293

Huh?


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2020, 09:31:15 AM
 #1048

Hi, ElioVP when a releases amdmemtweak Navi Huh

I can only do a release with softpowerplay support.
Registers for the timings are obfuscated by the onboard PSP and so it's not possible to apply the same tricks.

I might release a navi vbios editor with timings decoding/encoding option (as seen in screenshot above).
But with the release of RBE, i'm not hurried :p

Cheers!

souvenir12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 10:07:28 AM
 #1049

I might release a navi vbios editor with timings decoding/encoding option (as seen in screenshot above).

It would be great to start!
bokiminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 04:48:53 PM
 #1050


Hey! I also own a 5700 and i flashed a XT bios on it and copied 1500 straps to 2000.
I'm getting 57.3 Mhs out of it, but I saw your post. You said you changed "tRef (that gave me +1MH for ETH)". Where can I find this value in BIOS?
Can you help me? I dont use AMD MEm Tweak XL since I use HiveOS and I need to change that value in the BIOS itself.

Can you tell me what memory temperature is on that XT-flashed 5700 when mining ETH ? Is it Sapphire 5700 Pulse ?
xMindx163
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 05:17:50 PM
 #1051

REF 5700XT 1300/1770/750mV Tref 65535 55.2Mh tmem = 70-72C.
bokiminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 06:40:32 PM
 #1052

REF 5700XT 1300/1770/750mV Tref 65535 55.2Mh tmem = 70-72C.
Thanks
pcbacon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2020, 08:02:47 PM
 #1053

Rx 5700 Asus Reference after copying 1500 timing straps I now get 57Mh PheonixMiner Ether on HiveOS with CORE 1375 CoreV 800 MEM915 Miner Reporting 118 watts
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751
Merit: 517


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
March 07, 2020, 03:13:00 PM
Last edit: March 07, 2020, 07:05:18 PM by deadsix
 #1054

Rx 5700 Asus Reference after copying 1500 timing straps I now get 57Mh PheonixMiner Ether on HiveOS with CORE 1375 CoreV 800 MEM915 Miner Reporting 118 watts

57 is too high, check for errors or bad shares. Theres no point running too high a clock / too tight a strap if you do not end up getting a benefit.
For accurate measurements check poolside stats over 24 hours to get to know if a change (overclock or strap change) had any benefit.

Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
track1911
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2020, 04:53:48 PM
 #1055

Rx 5700 Asus Reference after copying 1500 timing straps I now get 57Mh PheonixMiner Ether on HiveOS with CORE 1375 CoreV 800 MEM915 Miner Reporting 118 watts

57 is too high, check for errors or bad shares. Its not point running too high a clock / too tight a strap if you do not end up getting a benefit.
For accurate measurements check poolside stats over 24 hours to get to know if a change (overclock or strap change) had any benefit.

57 is fine. 3 out of 4 of my cards are doing 59+ stable, confirmed hashrate at pool side.

https://i.imgur.com/mbcOyQF.png
RentalService
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2020, 02:47:04 PM
 #1056

Cheers!

Anyone have results with Radeon VII?
hustleman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 6


View Profile
March 09, 2020, 03:37:59 PM
 #1057

Rx 5700 Asus Reference after copying 1500 timing straps I now get 57Mh PheonixMiner Ether on HiveOS with CORE 1375 CoreV 800 MEM915 Miner Reporting 118 watts

57 is too high, check for errors or bad shares. Its not point running too high a clock / too tight a strap if you do not end up getting a benefit.
For accurate measurements check poolside stats over 24 hours to get to know if a change (overclock or strap change) had any benefit.

57 is fine. 3 out of 4 of my cards are doing 59+ stable, confirmed hashrate at pool side.



What cards do you have? what overclocking and undervolting have you done to achieve that?
WARMANGALAXY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 12, 2020, 04:44:25 AM
 #1058

ElioVP when a releases programm Navi timings?
datspike
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 15, 2020, 09:17:23 PM
 #1059

@Eliovp I see you've changed your mind about bios mods on RX 5700 Smiley
Have you tried changing the default voltages the card uses at stock settings?
https://i.imgur.com/mRACsh3.png
We can use those to set an "offset voltage curve" (y=ax2+bx+c, y in Volts, x in Ghz).
I've changed my default voltage for 2000 to 1.05v instead of 1.17v by tweaking those. They are stored in ieee754 float format in the bios.

BTW I'm super ready to test the timing encoding/decoding Smiley
Eliovp (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1293

Huh?


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2020, 11:57:11 PM
 #1060

@Eliovp I see you've changed your mind about bios mods on RX 5700 Smiley
Have you tried changing the default voltages the card uses at stock settings?
https://i.imgur.com/mRACsh3.png
We can use those to set an "offset voltage curve" (y=ax2+bx+c, y in Volts, x in Ghz).
I've changed my default voltage for 2000 to 1.05v instead of 1.17v by tweaking those. They are stored in ieee754 float format in the bios.

BTW I'm super ready to test the timing encoding/decoding Smiley

Yeah, i've done my share of playing around with these navi's.

I don't think i'm going to release anything with stuff like "MorePowerTool" out there.
Let them have some fun.

Cheers!

Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!