Bitcoin Forum
February 07, 2023, 03:09:29 AM *
News: Community Awards results
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 58591 times)
jeca
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 31, 2019, 03:09:24 PM
 #901

Hello  Grin

Would it be possible to convert the current settings back to a timing strap? (so we can put it inside a bios file and make it permanent)
It could be even just a location reference, like "tREF is located in the x-th byte inside the timing strap".

Btw, really a nice app I'm tweaking the hell out of my GPU.

Yes, i've implemented this into the Extended XL version.

Check OP for more info

Cheers!

Hello, Eliovp!

I was happy to be able to apply the changes made by Memtweak to the strap. I made a change in the REF of an RX470 4gb and clicked on ">>" to generate the strap. I changed the strap on bios and flashed on RX. The hash dropped from 29 to 17mhs in Ethash. Is there anything to note besides changing the parameter and clicking ">>"?

See the generated strap:

Elpida:
777000000000000022AA1C10315A5436A0550F15B6191B0620550F117C041420CA8980A9000004C 00C09141734161D0B

Samsung:
777000000000000022CC1C10AD615C41C0590E152ED88D0840590E110B031420FA8900A00300000 008091922651C220D

REF didn't exists in memory straps.

Ohhh i don't suspected... thanks...
1675739369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675739369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675739369
Reply with quote  #2

1675739369
Report to moderator
1675739369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675739369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675739369
Reply with quote  #2

1675739369
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
July 31, 2019, 11:33:14 PM
Last edit: August 01, 2019, 06:39:50 PM by WhackOBill
 #902

With the new XL version, I can only occasionally update the the values on the fly.  Most often not.  The added tools are nice to have though.  My system always fails to read the injected strap ... pops and error dialog box to that effect.

I still regret moving to Win10 1903 as I think that's what took away my ability to modify things real-time, while Claymore is running.

You probably need an option or button to revert out of test mode.  Obviously, you can flip into test mode if you don't detect it running but then there's no automated way back out in the XL Win tool.

Edit:

bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF

just in case someone was looking for it.
Eliovp (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1293

Huh?


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2019, 07:28:50 PM
 #903

With the new XL version, I can only occasionally update the the values on the fly.  Most often not.  The added tools are nice to have though.  My system always fails to read the injected strap ... pops and error dialog box to that effect.

I still regret moving to Win10 1903 as I think that's what took away my ability to modify things real-time, while Claymore is running.

You probably need an option or button to revert out of test mode.  Obviously, you can flip into test mode if you don't detect it running but then there's no automated way back out in the XL Win tool.

Edit:

bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF

just in case someone was looking for it.

I've tried to recreate your problem with the straps not injecting ..

Just to be clear here, you can only inject a strap at the selected frequency.

So if you're currently running your memory at 1900 Mh and you do a modification/strap injection for freq 2000, you're not going to notice any differences.
However, that doesn't mean that you should get those error messages.
It's the driver that fails to inject the strap.
Probably something to do with Claymore's driver

Button to turn test mode off has been added to latest release

As well as NAVI10 support  Cool

Only Strap injection and Power Play support (read from vbios/registry and write to registry for now)

Latest version

Cheers!

himiwop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2019, 09:26:41 AM
 #904

Cant find CoreControl and MemoryControl Command line options for windows batch file,tried almost every option eg.
GPU_P0 853;800;0
GPU_P1=991;800;0
GPU_P2=1084;800;0
GPU_P3=1138;800;0
GPU_P4=1150;800;0
GPU_P5=1202;800;0
GPU_P6=1407;800;0
GPU_P7=1407;875
Mem_P0=167;900;0
Mem_P1=500;900;0
Mem_P2=800;900;0
Mem_P3=875;900
Is there an option to modify/disable/enable theses P-states with commands under windows batch?
maximus63
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 05, 2019, 08:19:26 AM
 #905

Please! Add feature to control Core voltage and mem P states from BAT!!!

For example:

....WinAMDTweak.exe --i 0,1,2 --RAS 17 --RCDRD 15 --RCDWR 4 --RC 34 --RP 12 --rtp 4 --faw 12 --REF 15600 --CoreP7 1407 --CoreP7V 875

or

start.bat ->

....WinAMDTweak.exe --i 0,1 --load mySettings1.xml
....WinAMDTweak.exe --i 2 --load mySettings2.xml
anatolikostis
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2026
Merit: 1005



View Profile
August 06, 2019, 12:37:45 PM
 #906


See the generated strap:

Elpida:
777000000000000022AA1C10315A5436A0550F15B6191B0620550F117C041420CA8980A9000004C 00C09141734161D0B
it`s completely broken strap, I`d not use it at all.

Quote
Samsung:
777000000000000022CC1C10AD615C41C0590E152ED88D0840590E110B031420FA8900A00300000 008091922651C220D
\
the same trash  Sad
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
August 06, 2019, 09:27:49 PM
 #907

With the new XL version, I can only occasionally update the the values on the fly.  Most often not.  The added tools are nice to have though.  My system always fails to read the injected strap ... pops and error dialog box to that effect.

I still regret moving to Win10 1903 as I think that's what took away my ability to modify things real-time, while Claymore is running.

You probably need an option or button to revert out of test mode.  Obviously, you can flip into test mode if you don't detect it running but then there's no automated way back out in the XL Win tool.

Edit:

bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF

just in case someone was looking for it.

I've tried to recreate your problem with the straps not injecting ..

Just to be clear here, you can only inject a strap at the selected frequency.

So if you're currently running your memory at 1900 Mh and you do a modification/strap injection for freq 2000, you're not going to notice any differences.
However, that doesn't mean that you should get those error messages.
It's the driver that fails to inject the strap.
Probably something to do with Claymore's driver

Button to turn test mode off has been added to latest release

As well as NAVI10 support  Cool

Only Strap injection and Power Play support (read from vbios/registry and write to registry for now)

Latest version

Cheers!

Thanks.  I'm on Claymore 11.9 so I'm not using his newer strap injection version.  I'm only trying to mess with the REF at this point, but other timing regs also refuse to update.  I'll d/l the latest and keep at it ... see if I can find the common thread.
xMindx163
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 06, 2019, 09:41:45 PM
 #908

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Gtteb5MIp6Ex1vHLuofiNBIfdKBFcXX6
Clay strap mod (Mind163). 36.4 (580 8GB Sams)
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
August 07, 2019, 03:29:00 AM
 #909

Not sure I understand the reference to the file c:\windows\system32\drivers\AmdGpuTweak.sys on GitHub.  Where is this file and is it required?
livada
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 417
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2019, 10:32:32 AM
 #910

how close test mode?

every reset win go in test mode.

c:\windows\system32\drivers\AmdGpuTweak.sys not exist
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 131


View Profile
August 07, 2019, 10:46:02 AM
 #911

I always get a "NullReferenceException" window asking me to activate the test mode. I allow it, then reboot. My system is then running in test mode (indicated on the bottom right of the windows desktop). But when I launch the AMD.Memory.Tweak.XL, I get the same "NullReferenceException" window.

How can I solve this please ?
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
August 08, 2019, 12:51:42 AM
 #912

how close test mode?

every reset win go in test mode.

c:\windows\system32\drivers\AmdGpuTweak.sys not exist

Look 10 messages back.  bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF
pstarSR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2019, 01:40:59 AM
 #913

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Gtteb5MIp6Ex1vHLuofiNBIfdKBFcXX6
Clay strap mod (Mind163). 36.4 (580 8GB Sams)

Can we get the actual setting used to achieve this? Vega settings are posted like they are the new HOT instagram whore.

I ( and so does everyone else ) realize that bios mods/straps are available for the Rx series cards. so what, post settings so others can see what works and what doesnt.

so if you have settings for the rx-series cards post them. so others can see what changes are actually working vs guessing.


so far I have changed

tRFC setting down in 10's till 150 (from 219 WHEN MINING ) - stable
REF to 30 - stable

this gets me about 1kh more on an rx580 samsung memory 8gb ( MSI OC armor ) stock bios - for Turtlecoin algo ( CN/pico CN/trtl ) - 7khs @ 80watts ( 1150/2150 OC, undervolt -162 MSI AB )
SulliJM1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 08, 2019, 03:21:55 AM
 #914

I gotta say, this tool is cool as hell.

Although, I'm having some trouble with it. Probably because I'm a noob.

I went ahead and downloaded it and installed it, manually with the terminal, running HiveOS, the VEGA supported version.

I'm running 6x 1070s, 1x 1070ti, and 4x Vega 64s.

The trouble I'm having is HiveOS kinda sucks at overclocking when it comes to AMD. Claymore isn't doing the job either; and my Linux illiteracy and lack of Google returns isn't helping.

I love how you can modify the hell out of the stuff with this tool, but I can't seem to get the GUI working so I can modify the DPM/Memstates (which, honestly, is all I'm tryna do). Is there a way to get the GUI working in HiveOS that I just don't know about? Or a command line? Or do I just suck at life?

fr4nkthetank
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2294
Merit: 1180


Now the money is free, and so the people will be


View Profile
August 08, 2019, 01:15:57 PM
 #915

Thanks for the update, looking mighty fine.
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1510
Merit: 1003


View Profile
August 08, 2019, 05:55:48 PM
 #916

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Gtteb5MIp6Ex1vHLuofiNBIfdKBFcXX6
Clay strap mod (Mind163). 36.4 (580 8GB Sams)
nice result but not reasonable ))
livada
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 417
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2019, 06:14:56 AM
 #917

how close test mode?

every reset win go in test mode.

c:\windows\system32\drivers\AmdGpuTweak.sys not exist

Look 10 messages back.  bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF

thx
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 387
Merit: 13


View Profile
August 12, 2019, 01:22:40 AM
 #918

Great tool.
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 131


View Profile
August 12, 2019, 07:11:43 AM
 #919

I always get a "NullReferenceException" window asking me to activate the test mode. I allow it, then reboot. My system is then running in test mode (indicated on the bottom right of the windows desktop). But when I launch the AMD.Memory.Tweak.XL, I get the same "NullReferenceException" window.

How can I solve this please ?

Still get this issue, if anone can help please.
eltech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 14, 2019, 10:46:51 AM
 #920

Can't wait to see linux version of XL tool !
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!