Bitcoin Forum
October 14, 2019, 05:21:32 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 35513 times)
QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 13


View Profile
June 21, 2019, 11:47:50 AM
 #861

Does anybody tried on  Sapphire Nitro+ Rx 580 4gb?



Yes, increase REF to 12.
It can be increased up to 100+ for RX 5XX cards. But max stable amount depends on overclock and card quality. This parameter must be select individual for each card. Just need to try and if GPU start give incorrect shares lower REF parameter. Or increase it step by 10 and look into speed and stability...
what exactly is Refresh here? the 5 value added newly? why wasn't it around before? how it links to other refresh timings "tRFC"... so increasing it (beside the strap being already customized for CN or ETH) tends to give better performance? I do mine CN Heavy variants still. let me know Smiley
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571073692
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571073692

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571073692
Reply with quote  #2

1571073692
Report to moderator
1571073692
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571073692

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571073692
Reply with quote  #2

1571073692
Report to moderator
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 2


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 10:56:11 PM
 #862

I'm on the new Win10 May update and running Radeon driver 19.5.2.  I'm finding that I can run and apply AMDmemTweak changes prior to running Claymore 11.9.  However, once Claymore is running, changes in AMDmemTweak will not longer apply dynamically.  Occassionaly AMDmemTweak will throw an "application error" dialog box but otherwise continues to run.  I've turned off the new Tamper Control in Defender as well.

I can't run Radeon 19.6.2 because it throws a software error and exits when I attempt to enter the setting page.

A month ago, I had absolutely no issues of any kind running and applying AMDmemTweak settings.  I'm sure it's something in the new windows or newer drivers.

I'm using AMDmemTweak 0.2.3 BTW.
Bathmat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 1


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2019, 03:35:07 AM
Last edit: June 24, 2019, 05:07:21 AM by Bathmat
 #863

Hey everyone,

I started messing with the Tweak tool yesterday, and after a day and half and lots of reading through this thread, I think I've found some good settings.

I have several Polaris (RX4xx/5xx) rigs with flashed timings, but still found that setting
Code:
--REF 30
gave 3-5% increase on both CN/R and ETH on GPUs with Hynix memory. Elpida cards also saw a small increase (2-3%). Samsung with UberMix 3.1 timings did not get much of a benefit (maybe 10h/s on CN/R) and actually showed a few hardware errors in TRM, so I left the default setting on Samsung. Default value on all GPUs was 5.

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.

Edit: The above method might only apply to older drivers (18.6.1, 18.5.1). It might be possible to change the settings on the fly with newer drivers, but I can't confirm since I'm not using them.

Average CN/R hashrate: 970+h/s. Average ETH hashrate: 29-30+Mh/s

Clocks: 1200 core / 2000 mem (+/- 100 depending on GPU)

System: Win10 (various versions from 1709 to 1903). Driver: 18.6.1 on all rigs
Miners used: Teamredminer v0.5.x, PhoenixMiner 4.2c

I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV. The only parameters I changed were:
Code:
--RAS 26 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 7 --RC 36 --RP 10 --REF 15000 --RFC 248
which I adapted from Mashy81's settings here. Thanks.
Below are the rest of the settings showing remaining stock settings:

Quote
Vega 10 XL/XT [Radeon RX Vega 56/64]    Memory state: 800MHzMemory:    Samsung HBM2
Timing 1          CL: 17             RAS: 26         RCDRD: 12       RCDWR: 7
Timing 2          RCAb (RC): 36   RCPb (RC): 36   RPAb (RP): 10   RPPb (RP): 10
Timing 3          RRDS: 4         RRDL: 5         RTP: 5
Timing 4          FAW: 13
Timing 5          CWL: 6          WTRS: 3         WTRL: 7
Timing 6          WR: 13
Timing 7          RREFD: 7
Timing 8          RDRDDD: 3       RDRDSD: 2       RDRDSC: 1       RDRDSCL: 3
Timing 9          WRWRDD: 3       WRWRSD: 2       WRWRSC: 1       WRWRSCL: 3
Timing 10         WRRD: 1         RDWR: 17
Timing 12         REF: 15000
Timing 13         MRD: 8          MOD: 12
Timing 14         XS: 216
Timing 16         XSMRS: 6
Timing 17         PD: 6   CKSRE: 8        CKSRX: 8
Timing 20         RFCPB: 128      STAG: 7
Timing 21         XP: 6   CPDED: 2        CKE: 6
Timing 22         RDDATA: 16      WRLAT: 4        RDLAT: 14       WRDATA: 1
Timing 23         CKESTAG: 2
RFC Timing        RFC: 248

With these settings I was able to get 2130h/s on CN/R (increased from 1980) and 43Mh/s on ETH (increased from 39.5) with the same miners above. Additionally, 2055h/s on CN_Haven.

Apologies if this has been posted in this thread (while I did read a lot, I didn't read every post), but I hope this is helpful for someone else out there.

EDIT: After running for a few hours, I got 1 HW error in TRM. So I changed " --RC 36 --RP 10 " to " --RC 37 --RP 11 ". Hashrate only dropped to 2110h/s. New settings:
Code:
--RAS 26 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 7 --RC 37 --RP 11 --REF 15000 --RFC 248
I will update if I make any more changes.
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 252


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 04:53:37 AM
 #864

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Bathmat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 1


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2019, 04:56:06 AM
 #865

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I actually had someone else tell me they could change the setting while mining too. For whatever reason (something with the drivers I assume), I could only change it before the miner started. I just thought I'd mention it for those that were seeing the same thing as me.

EDIT: I Just saw your edit, so it appears you can change on the fly with newer drivers, but might not work with older drivers.
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 556


VEIL - PRIVACY WITHOUT COMPROMISE


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 09:00:12 AM
 #866

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I actually had someone else tell me they could change the setting while mining too. For whatever reason (something with the drivers I assume), I could only change it before the miner started. I just thought I'd mention it for those that were seeing the same thing as me.

EDIT: I Just saw your edit, so it appears you can change on the fly with newer drivers, but might not work with older drivers.
Also worth highlighting is that using the newer Teamredminer versions, you should set your overclocks, set your timings, and then run the auto-tuner for the algo you want to mine. Let it do its thing for a while and end up with a perfectly tweaked setup.

My Vega 56's (flashed to 64) are happily chugging XMR @ 2340 h/s each.



▄▄                                  ▄▄
 ███▄                            ▄███
  ██████                      ██████
   ███████                  ███████
    ███████                ███████
     ███████              ███████
      ███████            ███████
       ███████▄▄      ▄▄███████
        ██████████████████████
         ████████████████████
          ██████████████████
           ████████████████
            ██████████████
             ███████████
              █████████
               ███████
                █████
                 ██
                  █
veil|     PRIVACY     
     WITHOUT COMPROMISE.       
▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂
|   NO ICO. NO PREMINE. 
   X16RT GPU Mining. Fair distribution.   
|      The first Zerocoin-based Cryptocurrency       
   WITH ALWAYS-ON PRIVACY.   
|



                   ▄▄████
              ▄▄████████▌
         ▄▄█████████▀███
    ▄▄██████████▀▀ ▄███▌
▄████████████▀▀  ▄█████
▀▀▀███████▀   ▄███████▌
      ██    ▄█████████
       █  ▄██████████▌
       █  ███████████
       █ ██▀ ▀██████▌
       ██▀     ▀████
                 ▀█▌




   ▄███████
   ████████
   ███▀
   ███
██████████
██████████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███




     ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
   ▐██▄▄██████████████▄▄██▌
   ████████████████████████
  ▐████████████████████████▌
  ███████▀▀▀██████▀▀▀███████
 ▐██████     ████     ██████▌
 ███████     ████     ███████
▐████████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████████▌
▐████████████████████████████▌
 █████▄▄▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▄▄█████
  ▀▀██████          ██████▀▀
      ▀▀▀            ▀▀▀
Bathmat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 1


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2019, 12:19:49 PM
 #867

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I actually had someone else tell me they could change the setting while mining too. For whatever reason (something with the drivers I assume), I could only change it before the miner started. I just thought I'd mention it for those that were seeing the same thing as me.

EDIT: I Just saw your edit, so it appears you can change on the fly with newer drivers, but might not work with older drivers.
Also worth highlighting is that using the newer Teamredminer versions, you should set your overclocks, set your timings, and then run the auto-tuner for the algo you want to mine. Let it do its thing for a while and end up with a perfectly tweaked setup.

My Vega 56's (flashed to 64) are happily chugging XMR @ 2340 h/s each.

Yes. I didn't want to go into all that since this thread is for the Tweak tool, but I switched from "+" mode to "*" mode to get the best hr in TRM as they say to do in their readme with tweaked timings.
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 2


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 04:15:13 PM
 #868

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I used to be able to do this but can no longer change on the fly after the Win10 update and a driver update.  I may try to go back to older drivers and see if that changes.  To me, that was the best part about the tool ... changes on the fly to see the effects.

In fact, once I run Claymore, I can't change any values even after I stop Claymore.  I have to reboot to make the values modifiable again.

This is Claymore 11.9, not the newer 14.x stuff that uses this same mechanism to adjust the card timings.  I can see where that might conflict.  But 11.9 was allowing mods during mining previously.
lexele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 05:39:38 PM
 #869


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).
lstrike
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 07:34:49 PM
 #870


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).

Could you share you core/mem clocks and the whole rig power? Are the bioses flashed to 64?
Transporter33
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 08:44:12 PM
 #871

anyone found a fix for this?

"startservice() failed: this service cannot be started, either because it is
disabled, or because it has no enabled devices associated with it
     at WinFormsGUI.IOMap.LoadDriver()
     at WinFormsGUI.IOMap.Program.Main()"

lexele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 25, 2019, 06:57:49 PM
 #872


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).

Could you share you core/mem clocks and the whole rig power? Are the bioses flashed to 64?

With bios flashed they do 49.5 MH/S @1150 cclock/1050 to 1080 mclock depending the card and 843mv (set 863 to get 843).

This is my current setting and I don't remember the setting without flashing it was something like 950 Cclock/ 950 Mclock@800mV with stock timings apart from -REF 655535.
Depending the settings used you get beetween 145w per card (46mh/s) and 180 W.
mariano_quilmes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 11:37:31 AM
 #873

Hello, I have three Vegas 56 Gigabyte Turbine with Samsung memory. For CNr can someone tell me which are the most efficient settings? I do not want maximum hashrate, I prefer a good Hashrate/Power  ratio since I am planning to replace the cooling solution with an aftermarket one in order to achieve better temps.

Are Core 1250/875mv and memory 915/925mv safe and efficient?

Regards.

Mariano.

WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 2


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 02:44:15 PM
 #874

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 252


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 03:11:30 PM
 #875

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Maybe you run Claymore with it's driver, and it affects on this?
I use Phoenix miner with AMD Mem Tweak. Latest Windows 10 x64 1903. AMD 19.4.3 driver. All memory registers changes on the fly and change mining speed...
kamisama233
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 07:26:41 AM
 #876

Hah. I'd rather have you release them than your good friend Ohgoda*****. After all, I'm sure she'd be all over them and dying to claim them as her work...

Well, i made the decision a long time ago to never ever release this for several reasons that are absolutely not important Smiley


But i don't mind annoying you guys with some screenshots Smiley


http://eliovp.com/linuxnvtweak.JPG


 Cheesy

well done, but i have problem to running cli version, the error message was
"
C:\Users\3\Desktop\amdo>WinAMDTweak.exe --current
Failed to load EIO.dll"


how to fix it, thanks

you need to have the two dll's in the same directory as the amdtweak tool and that will resolve that. they are built in the download.
I have done that

I had the same thing happen with the newest release. The previous version works fine for me.

Redownload the binary from releases. It'll work fine now Smiley

thanks it work now

can you add { 0x1002, 0x699f, "Lexa [Radeon RX 550 512SP]" }

I add this in cpp file, and combine it in C++, but when i test it
it just show error message

C:\Desktop\win\win>WinAMDTweak.exe --current
Failed to load EIO.dll

I have put EIO.dll in the folder, it seems it need to be modify, but i have nothing know about how to modify dll file, so can your add 0x699f support in the cli version, thanks
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 2


View Profile
July 05, 2019, 05:55:32 PM
Last edit: July 05, 2019, 06:16:18 PM by WhackOBill
 #877

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Going back to the 18.9.2 driver allows me to dynamically update using AMDmemTweak again while Claymore 11.9 is running under the newest Win10.  19.6.3 still didn't work.  It took quite a while to crawl back to 18.9.2 to find one that worked.

EDIT:

Well, I spoke too soon.  I was able to do it briefly but then it locked me out again.  I don't know what the solution is other than making sure to modify before running Claymore.  But it sure was nice for a while to be able to bring up the GUI version and modify timings on the fly while Claymore was running to see the effect.
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 252


View Profile
July 06, 2019, 12:58:01 AM
 #878

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Going back to the 18.9.2 driver allows me to dynamically update using AMDmemTweak again while Claymore 11.9 is running under the newest Win10.  19.6.3 still didn't work.  It took quite a while to crawl back to 18.9.2 to find one that worked.

EDIT:

Well, I spoke too soon.  I was able to do it briefly but then it locked me out again.  I don't know what the solution is other than making sure to modify before running Claymore.  But it sure was nice for a while to be able to bring up the GUI version and modify timings on the fly while Claymore was running to see the effect.
I use 19.4.3 drivers with GUI version of tool. Latest Windows 10. All changes via GUI tool affects on the fly on 14.x Claymore miner. But Claymore must be launched without strap and rxboot options.
mononova
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 07, 2019, 07:19:58 AM
Last edit: July 07, 2019, 07:31:13 AM by mononova
 #879

Good morning folks... Grin

Since a week my mining rig has an ASUS Arez Strix Vega56 with Hynix memory.
After I have read a lot here and in other forums, so far I have the following timings and
frequencies / voltage determined. The card thus creates 45.5 Mh/s ETH at around 150W.
https://i.ibb.co/Y3TcynY/vega56.png

Does anyone have any idea what else could be changed to optimize?


Btw I stumbled on this post and changed this value in my 480/580. Result this
Cards now generate around 1.5Mh / s more !!! So, Giant thanks for pointing this out !!!
I have several Polaris (RX4xx/5xx) rigs with flashed timings, but still found that setting
Code:
--REF 30


scribonus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 07, 2019, 07:42:35 PM
 #880

Hey Folks,

can someone help my with vega56 undervolt.
My current conf entry for 6xVega56 :
amdmemtweak --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 246 --FAW 14
With this entry i recive 266 MHash ( 44.44 per GPU) with ETH but from wall 1997 Watt
Can someone advise what to change.
Thank You
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!