Bitcoin Forum
February 07, 2023, 02:56:49 AM *
News: Community Awards results
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 58591 times)
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 556



View Profile
June 24, 2019, 09:00:12 AM
 #861

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I actually had someone else tell me they could change the setting while mining too. For whatever reason (something with the drivers I assume), I could only change it before the miner started. I just thought I'd mention it for those that were seeing the same thing as me.

EDIT: I Just saw your edit, so it appears you can change on the fly with newer drivers, but might not work with older drivers.
Also worth highlighting is that using the newer Teamredminer versions, you should set your overclocks, set your timings, and then run the auto-tuner for the algo you want to mine. Let it do its thing for a while and end up with a perfectly tweaked setup.

My Vega 56's (flashed to 64) are happily chugging XMR @ 2340 h/s each.
1675738609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675738609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675738609
Reply with quote  #2

1675738609
Report to moderator
1675738609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675738609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675738609
Reply with quote  #2

1675738609
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Bathmat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 3


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 12:19:49 PM
 #862

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I actually had someone else tell me they could change the setting while mining too. For whatever reason (something with the drivers I assume), I could only change it before the miner started. I just thought I'd mention it for those that were seeing the same thing as me.

EDIT: I Just saw your edit, so it appears you can change on the fly with newer drivers, but might not work with older drivers.
Also worth highlighting is that using the newer Teamredminer versions, you should set your overclocks, set your timings, and then run the auto-tuner for the algo you want to mine. Let it do its thing for a while and end up with a perfectly tweaked setup.

My Vega 56's (flashed to 64) are happily chugging XMR @ 2340 h/s each.

Yes. I didn't want to go into all that since this thread is for the Tweak tool, but I switched from "+" mode to "*" mode to get the best hr in TRM as they say to do in their readme with tweaked timings.
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 04:15:13 PM
 #863

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.

I used to be able to do this but can no longer change on the fly after the Win10 update and a driver update.  I may try to go back to older drivers and see if that changes.  To me, that was the best part about the tool ... changes on the fly to see the effects.

In fact, once I run Claymore, I can't change any values even after I stop Claymore.  I have to reboot to make the values modifiable again.

This is Claymore 11.9, not the newer 14.x stuff that uses this same mechanism to adjust the card timings.  I can see where that might conflict.  But 11.9 was allowing mods during mining previously.
lexele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 05:39:38 PM
 #864


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).
lstrike
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 07:34:49 PM
 #865


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).

Could you share you core/mem clocks and the whole rig power? Are the bioses flashed to 64?
Transporter33
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2019, 08:44:12 PM
 #866

anyone found a fix for this?

"startservice() failed: this service cannot be started, either because it is
disabled, or because it has no enabled devices associated with it
     at WinFormsGUI.IOMap.LoadDriver()
     at WinFormsGUI.IOMap.Program.Main()"

lexele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 25, 2019, 06:57:49 PM
 #867


I also have one Sapphire Vega56 with Samsung (not flashed, stock bios) that I tested with. Core/Mem settings: 1407/975 @ 905mV.


I have 3 of those, for ETH mining, push -REF 65500.
=> 46 MH/S with much lower clock and much lower power (140 to 150W@wall).

Could you share you core/mem clocks and the whole rig power? Are the bioses flashed to 64?

With bios flashed they do 49.5 MH/S @1150 cclock/1050 to 1080 mclock depending the card and 843mv (set 863 to get 843).

This is my current setting and I don't remember the setting without flashing it was something like 950 Cclock/ 950 Mclock@800mV with stock timings apart from -REF 655535.
Depending the settings used you get beetween 145w per card (46mh/s) and 180 W.
mariano_quilmes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 11:37:31 AM
 #868

Hello, I have three Vegas 56 Gigabyte Turbine with Samsung memory. For CNr can someone tell me which are the most efficient settings? I do not want maximum hashrate, I prefer a good Hashrate/Power  ratio since I am planning to replace the cooling solution with an aftermarket one in order to achieve better temps.

Are Core 1250/875mv and memory 915/925mv safe and efficient?

Regards.

Mariano.

WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 02:44:15 PM
 #869

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 253


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 03:11:30 PM
 #870

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Maybe you run Claymore with it's driver, and it affects on this?
I use Phoenix miner with AMD Mem Tweak. Latest Windows 10 x64 1903. AMD 19.4.3 driver. All memory registers changes on the fly and change mining speed...
kamisama233
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 04, 2019, 07:26:41 AM
 #871

Hah. I'd rather have you release them than your good friend Ohgoda*****. After all, I'm sure she'd be all over them and dying to claim them as her work...

Well, i made the decision a long time ago to never ever release this for several reasons that are absolutely not important Smiley


But i don't mind annoying you guys with some screenshots Smiley


http://eliovp.com/linuxnvtweak.JPG


 Cheesy

well done, but i have problem to running cli version, the error message was
"
C:\Users\3\Desktop\amdo>WinAMDTweak.exe --current
Failed to load EIO.dll"


how to fix it, thanks

you need to have the two dll's in the same directory as the amdtweak tool and that will resolve that. they are built in the download.
I have done that

I had the same thing happen with the newest release. The previous version works fine for me.

Redownload the binary from releases. It'll work fine now Smiley

thanks it work now

can you add { 0x1002, 0x699f, "Lexa [Radeon RX 550 512SP]" }

I add this in cpp file, and combine it in C++, but when i test it
it just show error message

C:\Desktop\win\win>WinAMDTweak.exe --current
Failed to load EIO.dll

I have put EIO.dll in the folder, it seems it need to be modify, but i have nothing know about how to modify dll file, so can your add 0x699f support in the cli version, thanks
WhackOBill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 3


View Profile
July 05, 2019, 05:55:32 PM
Last edit: July 05, 2019, 06:16:18 PM by WhackOBill
 #872

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Going back to the 18.9.2 driver allows me to dynamically update using AMDmemTweak again while Claymore 11.9 is running under the newest Win10.  19.6.3 still didn't work.  It took quite a while to crawl back to 18.9.2 to find one that worked.

EDIT:

Well, I spoke too soon.  I was able to do it briefly but then it locked me out again.  I don't know what the solution is other than making sure to modify before running Claymore.  But it sure was nice for a while to be able to bring up the GUI version and modify timings on the fly while Claymore was running to see the effect.
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 253


View Profile
July 06, 2019, 12:58:01 AM
 #873

Important: The setting MUST be applied before mining starts or the value won't change. Even if I closed the miner and tried to apply the setting, it would not take. However, applying via .bat after reboot before the miner started worked great.
This is not true. AMD driver 19.4.3. I change REF on my RX 580 cards during mining and it applyies and changing the mining speed.
Once I got the new Win10 update, I could no longer change the timings on the fly with Claymore running.  Even with the 19.4.3 driver.  I tried all of the recent drivers I could find.
Going back to the 18.9.2 driver allows me to dynamically update using AMDmemTweak again while Claymore 11.9 is running under the newest Win10.  19.6.3 still didn't work.  It took quite a while to crawl back to 18.9.2 to find one that worked.

EDIT:

Well, I spoke too soon.  I was able to do it briefly but then it locked me out again.  I don't know what the solution is other than making sure to modify before running Claymore.  But it sure was nice for a while to be able to bring up the GUI version and modify timings on the fly while Claymore was running to see the effect.
I use 19.4.3 drivers with GUI version of tool. Latest Windows 10. All changes via GUI tool affects on the fly on 14.x Claymore miner. But Claymore must be launched without strap and rxboot options.
mononova
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 07, 2019, 07:19:58 AM
Last edit: July 07, 2019, 07:31:13 AM by mononova
 #874

Good morning folks... Grin

Since a week my mining rig has an ASUS Arez Strix Vega56 with Hynix memory.
After I have read a lot here and in other forums, so far I have the following timings and
frequencies / voltage determined. The card thus creates 45.5 Mh/s ETH at around 150W.
https://i.ibb.co/Y3TcynY/vega56.png

Does anyone have any idea what else could be changed to optimize?


Btw I stumbled on this post and changed this value in my 480/580. Result this
Cards now generate around 1.5Mh / s more !!! So, Giant thanks for pointing this out !!!
I have several Polaris (RX4xx/5xx) rigs with flashed timings, but still found that setting
Code:
--REF 30


scribonus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 07, 2019, 07:42:35 PM
 #875

Hey Folks,

can someone help my with vega56 undervolt.
My current conf entry for 6xVega56 :
amdmemtweak --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 246 --FAW 14
With this entry i recive 266 MHash ( 44.44 per GPU) with ETH but from wall 1997 Watt
Can someone advise what to change.
Thank You
ggarbi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 08, 2019, 08:17:15 AM
 #876

Hah. I'd rather have you release them than your good friend Ohgoda*****. After all, I'm sure she'd be all over them and dying to claim them as her work...

Well, i made the decision a long time ago to never ever release this for several reasons that are absolutely not important Smiley


But i don't mind annoying you guys with some screenshots Smiley





 Cheesy

well done, but i have problem to running cli version, the error message was
"
C:\Users\3\Desktop\amdo>WinAMDTweak.exe --current
Failed to load EIO.dll"


how to fix it, thanks

you need to have the two dll's in the same directory as the amdtweak tool and that will resolve that. they are built in the download.
I have done that
Hi dude
You can download  EIO.dll from github of eliovp amdtweak (if you cant find it , go to lower versions,  its under exe file in github release page.)
Download it and put it at the same folder of your amdtweak.exe.
Good luck
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 276
Merit: 104


View Profile
July 08, 2019, 03:10:06 PM
 #877

Hey Folks,

can someone help my with vega56 undervolt.
My current conf entry for 6xVega56 :
amdmemtweak --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 246 --FAW 14
With this entry i recive 266 MHash ( 44.44 per GPU) with ETH but from wall 1997 Watt
Can someone advise what to change.
Thank You

Holy crap
You must be like 500 Watts over where the power should be.
Do yourself a favor and read up on undervolting Vegas.
Heck I am doing 220 MH with 8 x RX570 at 850 Watts total power

Fellow miners, get your thens and thans in order and help other forum readers understand what you are writing. Remember the grammar basics:  B larger THAN A (comparator operator). If something THEN ....
Zerberfert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2019, 03:08:27 AM
 #878

I would like to share my experience with RX 470/480's

My settings:
Win 10 1703
19.4.1 drivers
No MSI Afterburner installed
No Wattman installed
Claymore 14.7, faster than PhoenixMiner
AMDMemoryTweak
OverdriveNTool 0.2.8
All Gpu's have modded straps, mix of 4Gb/8Gb

Notes on Claymore Straps:
Strap 1 Works best on all my Samsung memory and some Elpidia
Strap 2 Works best on Hynix and some Elpidia
I use rxboost 21 in Claymore (most stable for me), changes the tREF to 25 when viewed with AmdMemTweak.

Here is the order that I do everything:
1. Set all settings in OverdriveNtool/AmdMemtweak (it works the same) core/mem/volts/fanspeed
2. Start Claymore with rxboost 21 and strap x (see above)
3. I let Claymore run for about 5 mins (The hashrate is not max yet)
4. I then toggle the timing level in overdrive/amdmemtweak from 0 to 1 and click apply
5. Wait about 15 seconds and then change the timing level back to 0

For some reason the toggle increases the hashrate for all my cards (not sure why, since I put it back to 0).

https://i.imgur.com/ZaAhHPM.png
I have a 10 gpu rig hashing at 313.9 Mh/s using about 1416 watts. I am still working on getting the power down but each card is using between 115-122 watts. I know I am not breaking any speed records and using more watts than some. I just wanted to share my experience with everyone.

I hope this helps,
Zerb

ggarbi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 09, 2019, 08:17:41 AM
 #879

Hey all
I have a problem with my vega 64 rig. when mining one of my GPUs going down (its working but its lights are down and its not mining).

19.4.1  driver
7x Vega 64 XFX
Teamred miner v 0.4.5 ( its most stable one for me)
Registery edited  ( it might be problem causer)
Win 10 64bit 1803

Using
WinAMDTweak.exe --gpu 0,1,2,3,4,5,6 --CL 19 --RAS 30 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 6 --RC 44 --RP 13 --RRDS 5 --RRDL 5 --RTP 4 --FAW 18 --CWL 6 --WTRS 4 --WTRL 9 --WR 15 --WRRD 1 --RDWR 18 --REF 17000 --RFC 248

And i dont have overdriventools installed
Using Msi afterburn for tweaking ( core to 1175 clock / 925 volt)  ( memory 1025 / 905 volt)
If someone have any idea what should i do to make it more stable please help
sometimes crashing in 1 day and sometime in 5 hrs and sometime in 3 days.
i could not find any video to show how skip using power play table and use same power with overdriven tools.

etnMillionaire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 10, 2019, 09:43:26 AM
 #880

Hey all
I have a problem with my vega 64 rig. when mining one of my GPUs going down (its working but its lights are down and its not mining).

19.4.1  driver
7x Vega 64 XFX
Teamred miner v 0.4.5 ( its most stable one for me)
Registery edited  ( it might be problem causer)
Win 10 64bit 1803

Using
WinAMDTweak.exe --gpu 0,1,2,3,4,5,6 --CL 19 --RAS 30 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 6 --RC 44 --RP 13 --RRDS 5 --RRDL 5 --RTP 4 --FAW 18 --CWL 6 --WTRS 4 --WTRL 9 --WR 15 --WRRD 1 --RDWR 18 --REF 17000 --RFC 248

And i dont have overdriventools installed
Using Msi afterburn for tweaking ( core to 1175 clock / 925 volt)  ( memory 1025 / 905 volt)
If someone have any idea what should i do to make it more stable please help
sometimes crashing in 1 day and sometime in 5 hrs and sometime in 3 days.
i could not find any video to show how skip using power play table and use same power with overdriven tools.



Try to reduce REF to 15000 and memory 1000/930...if you get stable rig try to reduce and increase...
You need to find out your GPU settings...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!