Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2019, 02:33:36 AM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 35904 times)
pbfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 23


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 09:30:41 PM
Last edit: April 22, 2019, 09:42:09 PM by pbfarmer
 #461


1. With Polaris when we BIOS tweak we are setting up timing straps and matching timings.
However with the tool there is no option to actually configure those said timing straps. Do you think this is why people are having issues with Polaris not seeing much performance increase? Thus far the  most improvement our community has gotten is .2 hash on ETH.


If you already have a good strap for a specific algo in your bios, this tool can't do anything to help your performance - you are setting the same parameters.  This is useful for instances where you can't (or don't want to) edit straps in bios (e.g. vega,) have a bios strap good for one algo but not for another and don't want to reflash (e.g. going from ethash to cn,) or simply want to test new timings live.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
NefariousFool
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 7


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 10:03:05 PM
Last edit: April 22, 2019, 10:15:26 PM by NefariousFool
 #462


1. With Polaris when we BIOS tweak we are setting up timing straps and matching timings.
However with the tool there is no option to actually configure those said timing straps. Do you think this is why people are having issues with Polaris not seeing much performance increase? Thus far the  most improvement our community has gotten is .2 hash on ETH.


If you already have a good strap for a specific algo in your bios, this tool can't do anything to help your performance - you are setting the same parameters.  This is useful for instances where you can't (or don't want to) edit straps in bios (e.g. vega,) have a bios strap good for one algo but not for another and don't want to reflash (e.g. going from ethash to cn,) or simply want to test new timings live.



Trying to see what we can get for an improvement w/out flashing the bios for some of the new guys coming into the community. And save the hassle of flashing bios on older cards.
So all the fun.

Thank you for the response!


1. With Polaris when we BIOS tweak we are setting up timing straps and matching timings.

Use the tool under load when the last timing strap is active. The other straps do not matter.

Thank you!! I will mess with this some more. And post any results. I am trying to simplify some of the newer miners coming process and eliminate the need to flash bios for cards for the newbies.

Loving the tool!
higi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 11:33:20 PM
Last edit: April 23, 2019, 12:49:02 AM by higi
 #463

Hey,

i am trying to get some good tweaks for ETH mining with Radeon VII / RX580.

Radeon VII :
C:\amdtweak>WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --current
GPU 1:  Radeon VII      Memory state: 0x11E (1200MHz)
Timing 1          CL: 22          RAS: 33         RCDRD: 14       RCDWR: 10
Timing 2          RCAb (RC): 47   RCPb (RC): 47   RPAb (RP): 14   RPPb (RP): 14
Timing 3          RRDS: 4         RRDL: 4         RTP: 5
Timing 4          FAW: 16
Timing 5          CWL: 7          WTRS: 4         WTRL: 9
Timing 6          WR: 16
Timing 7          RREFD: 8
Timing 8          RDRDDD: 3       RDRDSD: 2       RDRDSC: 1       RDRDSCL: 3
Timing 9          WRWRDD: 3       WRWRSD: 2       WRWRSC: 1       WRWRSCL: 3
Timing 10         WRRD: 1         RDWR: 21
Timing 12         REF: 3900
Timing 13         MRD: 8          MOD: 15
Timing 14         XS: 270
Timing 16         XSMRS: 8
Timing 17         PD: 8   CKSRE: 20       CKSRX: 20
Timing 20         RFCPB: 160      STAG: 4
Timing 21         XP: 8   CPDED: 2        CKE: 8
Timing 22         RDDATA: 20      WRLAT: 5        RDLAT: 18       WRDATA: 1
Timing 23         CKESTAG: 66
RFC Timing        RFC: 260

- on GUI beta tool it looks differend names.
- anyone have any tweaks for Radeon VII for ETH? THX
- gui BETA tool on Radeon VII showing as:
https://imgur.com/a/e5vAf03 RAS2RAS 255 etc is this ok? or not yet implemented? If not could u please implement it.

is it possible to pass parameters with GUI tool? Like i want to apply original values (only some) for Radeon VII. Cant get thees parameters working with non GUI version:(
WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --TRCDW 31 --TRCDWA 31 --TRCDR 31 --TRRD 15 --TR 127
WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --TR2W 31 --TW2R 31 --TCL 31
WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --TRP_RDA 127 --TRP 63 --TRFC 511
WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --TFAW 31 --TCRCRL 7 --TCRCWL 31 TFAW32 15
WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --ACTRD 27 --ACTWR 22 --RASMACTRD 44 --RASMACTWR 49

- old tool showing as current: RFC Timing  RFC: 260 and BETA GUI showing  tRFC 511
- ohgodadecode showing me differend values WinAMDTweak.exe --i 1 --current (should be showing same)
 as C:\amdtweak>ohgodadecode.exe BBB000000000000022889D0073EE8D53805515133ECF560C004E26017E0514206A8900A00200312 01C143840C5303F17
When i get this working i will send my tweaking results. THX for this awesome tool

saltednutz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 04:50:39 AM
 #464

whats the real difference between trm .4.3 and .4.4.  I know obviously the intensity deal 14*14, instead of the +/-.  I can make thinks work great in .4.3 but in .4.4 my hash rate sucks ass
bobymoore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 05:19:48 AM
 #465

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:48:48 AM
 #466

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:51:37 AM
 #467

whats the real difference between trm .4.3 and .4.4.  I know obviously the intensity deal 14*14, instead of the +/-.  I can make thinks work great in .4.3 but in .4.4 my hash rate sucks ass


Using the *  instead of + activates a different vega mode which complements the memtweak tool.
clousian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:55:40 AM
 #468

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((

Simply use the --disabletweaking parameter and you can use ElioVP's tool with it.

Hey dok, will you be giving us non-bios modded Polaris types a hashrate boost in your next release?
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 609


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2019, 06:59:48 AM
 #469

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((

Simply use the --disabletweaking parameter and you can use ElioVP's tool with it.

Hey dok, will you be giving us non-bios modded Polaris types a hashrate boost in your next release?

That's the plan, maybe not in the next release but yes  Smiley

SRBPolaris thread - HERE   |   SRBMiner-CN thread - HERE    |   SRBMiner-MULTI thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
Kerppa77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 08:49:29 AM
 #470


I have now run ~72 hours w/o any issues with 24 Vega64 GPUs(good and bad ones) mixed in 4 separate rigs ... CNR with core 1407Mhz /860-970mV , Mem 1080-1100Mhz/860-970mV.

I would say this is pretty stable setup. Pool side 24h avg hashrate fluctuates in the range 54,1-54,4 kH/s

--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 250

I am happy and have in my mind... "dont touch when things go smoothly".




That’s an insane voltage range, and I can’t fathom how 970mv could possibly be necessary. Between 9 64s and a flashed 56, I run avg 834mv, none over 850, for similar clocks/timings.  That puts me @ 178w per GPU at the wall.

At 970, you’re running at least 35% higher power, meaning over 240w per card.

It sounds like you have some ppt issues or something, maybe you’re running your SOC @ 1200mhz unnecessarily (it should be 1107 @ your clocks.)  Although, even then, you prob shouldn’t need much more than 925mv.

Oops... I made a quick check with HWtool and yes... I really have SOC max @ 1199Mhz. I have used the Hellae 920mV PPT and then adjusted with Overdrive Ntool the Core P7 and Mem P3. I havent touch the SOC. After memory timings my rigs are pulling like 1420-1500w from the wall per rig. My rigs run like 150w w/o GPUs and after OverdriveNtool the wattage is ~250w before the miner starts and all the GPU led lights are fully on.
This sounds to me like 1270 to 1350w with 6 GPU and on avg. like 210 - 225w/GPU. :O

Thanks for pointing out the SOC. I need to drop to 1107.


When I tried to scribble down a new Vega tuning guide to include in the TRM 0.4.4 release, I was debating if I should have mentioned this or not. I opted not to, that text was long enough already anyway.

However, I know more than a few skilled and knowledgeable Vega tuners that ALL have been stuck with old PPTs from the fall of 2017 (brnsted, Hellae) that for some reason all have 1200 for SoC. At the time, I guess it was considered highly beneficial for stability. Fast forward a few years to times where you don't make $10/day/Vega and power draw is a crucial part of your setup, this trade-off no longer holds.

In the common Google sheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-rhYsaRXO1ahk3PyrEgT9gXzs7ImAzh-sbqtgwy8HQg) used for PPT tweaking you can edit the SOC clk value but guess what: it doesn't change any nrs in the PPT, the cells aren't connected(!!!). You have to change the SOC clk value in cell AE26, then manually copy cells AG-AI:26 to T-V:11. You can probably guess why I may sound a little pissed off  Grin.


Yeah.... I fixed my file so that these cell are now connected. Will test today what kind of mV I can get with 1107Mhz SOC.


please post the PPT for reduced SOC.Thanks in advance.

My initial findings.... so far stable rig with no hash rate drop(tested only one so far). 
Power draw from the wall dropped ~200w  Shocked
(1450w -> 1250w). So if my rig w/o GPUs pull like 150w it means that 6xVega64 are now pulling like 1100w or ~185w/GPU.

GPU_P0=852;860;0
GPU_P1=991;860;0
GPU_P2=1084;860;0
GPU_P3=1138;860;0
GPU_P4=1150;860;0
GPU_P5=1202;860;0
GPU_P6=1212;860;0
GPU_P7=1408;860
Mem_P0=167;860;0
Mem_P1=500;860;0
Mem_P2=800;860;0
Mem_P3=1100;860
Mem_TimingLevel=0
Fan_Min=3200
Fan_Max=3500
Fan_Target=75
Fan_Acoustic=2400
Power_Temp=85
Power_Target=-20
Fan_P0=24;11
Fan_P1=40;40
Fan_P2=48;60
Fan_P3=54;70
Fan_P4=60;85
Fan_ZeroRPM=0

Haven't yet tested to go lower....
bobymoore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 11:12:20 AM
 #471

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
It's 2 vega 56@64 reference watercool and 2 vega 64,asus,nitro,samsung memory all. I try lower settings than eviolp suggest but for some reason my rigs crash after while, I make changes on the fly, is it possible to crash from this? I use srb miner, Iam confused what's fault.
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 12:20:50 PM
 #472

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
It's 2 vega 56@64 reference watercool and 2 vega 64,asus,nitro,samsung memory all. I try lower settings than eviolp suggest but for some reason my rigs crash after while, I make changes on the fly, is it possible to crash from this? I use srb miner, Iam confused what's fault.

Don't use srb miner theres your fault. Use team red miner 4.4  they are about 10-15 higher hashrate.
They are the best public CN miner. Lowest power consumption also
nordmann666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 13


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 12:29:13 PM
 #473

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
It's 2 vega 56@64 reference watercool and 2 vega 64,asus,nitro,samsung memory all. I try lower settings than eviolp suggest but for some reason my rigs crash after while, I make changes on the fly, is it possible to crash from this? I use srb miner, Iam confused what's fault.

lower settings = tighter strapes...you have to use higher settings
clousian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 12:51:35 PM
 #474

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((

Simply use the --disabletweaking parameter and you can use ElioVP's tool with it.

Hey dok, will you be giving us non-bios modded Polaris types a hashrate boost in your next release?

That's the plan, maybe not in the next release but yes  Smiley

Awesome. Looking forward to it.
bobymoore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 01:53:16 PM
 #475

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
It's 2 vega 56@64 reference watercool and 2 vega 64,asus,nitro,samsung memory all. I try lower settings than eviolp suggest but for some reason my rigs crash after while, I make changes on the fly, is it possible to crash from this? I use srb miner, Iam confused what's fault.

Don't use srb miner theres your fault. Use team red miner 4.4  they are about 10-15 higher hashrate.
They are the best public CN miner. Lowest power consumption also
After two attempts with team red miner I got one crash and one dead gpu.
bobymoore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 03:42:25 PM
 #476

Red team miner 4.3 gives a better hash, which driver to use?
cscheat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 05:42:33 PM
 #477

<values cl="22" ras="35" rcdrd="16" rcdwr="12" rcab="44" rcpb="44" rpab="14" rppb="14" rrds="3" rrdl="5" rtp="5" faw="20" cwl="7" wtrs="4" wtrl="9" wr="16" rrefd="8" rdrddd="3" rdrdsd="2" rdrdsc="1" rdrdscl="3" wrwrdd="3" wrwrsd="2" wrwrsc="1" wrwrscl="3" wrrd="1" rdwr="19" ref="17550" mrd="8" mod="15" xs="270" xsmrs="8" pd="8" cksre="10" cksrx="10" rfcpb="160" stag="7" xp="8" cpded="2" cke="8" rddata="19" wrlat="5" rdlat="14" wrdata="1" ckestag="2" rfc="247">

VEGA 64 = 50MH

HBM Samsung
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:34:52 PM
 #478

Red team miner 4.3 gives a better hash, which driver to use?

"HOW"
4.4 is 15% better hash for me and others, you must de doing something wrong
Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:35:54 PM
 #479

@cscheat
Timings were published for 51.5mh around page 8 by N2DCRYPT

and also by me here
Try them.
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 223
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 23, 2019, 06:36:44 PM
 #480

Grate tool, thanks, but my 4 vega crash after while, I wonder what to use in pstates? Maby there is the fault?
[https://ibb.co/qrXvT7d]

Voltages are way higher than all of my vegas. Maybe drop your core down. But that shouldn't be the problem at that voltage
Maybe heat is the issue.
Or memory tweak options you have don't work with your cards.
Are all cards.the same?
It's 2 vega 56@64 reference watercool and 2 vega 64,asus,nitro,samsung memory all. I try lower settings than eviolp suggest but for some reason my rigs crash after while, I make changes on the fly, is it possible to crash from this? I use srb miner, Iam confused what's fault.

Don't use srb miner theres your fault. Use team red miner 4.4  they are about 10-15 higher hashrate.
They are the best public CN miner. Lowest power consumption also
After two attempts with team red miner I got one crash and one dead gpu.

You may have to use different straps for each GPU. Also if you really want anyone to help, more information is key, or maybe you don't want help and it is just a statement who knows.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!