Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2021, 06:13:47 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 57248 times)
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
April 18, 2019, 11:59:40 PM
 #361

AMDMEMTWEAK AND TEAMREDMINER V4.4 SUCCESS--

After reading this thread at least once a day since it opened, I finally set up AMDmemtweak on my Vega/ethOS box.  It was not a difficlult set up.  I simply followed these steps:

    1) Clone AMDmemtweak from git (https://github.com/eliovp).  Just follow the instructions on the README.md page.
    2) Compile the amdmemtweak.cpp file with g++.  Watch out for typos.  The instructions are in the README.md.
    3) Copy the executable binary to "/opt/ethos/bin".  This directory is in the system path and contains tools such as "OhGodADecode" and "ATIflash".    

You should now be able to run AMDmemtweak as a system utility.  After installing AMDmemtweak, I upgraded TeamRedMiner to version 4.4, setup a configuration using the new "15*15" mode, and launched TRM.

TRM boots and informs the miner when it is at full load.  When the miner is at full load, it is ready to receive a command from AMDmemtweak.  I ran the following command at the command prompt, utilizing pbfarmer's short string given in his attatched post below:

    "$ sudo amdmemtweak --RAS 32 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --REF 15600"

The result was an immediate ~0.2kh/s increase in each of my Vega64 cards' CNr hash rate.  At about 2.08kh/s each, they are finally over the 2.0kh/s goal.  I will worry about additional tweaks later, and post a detailed tutorial in my Notebook.       --scryptr

    

First - quick results for cn-trtl, w/ efficiency-focused settings, using timings mostly borrowing from others here, w/ some minor tweaks:

Vega 64 air, ubuntu 18.04 + amdgpu-pro 18.50, TRM 0.4.3 (L18+18), 852 cclock (p0)/1107 mclock/818mv, power readings at the wall

stock timings:
--CL 20 --RAS 33 --RCDRD 16 --RCDWR 10 --RC 47 --RP 14 --RRDS 4 --RRDL 6 --RFC 260 (--REF 3900)
18.5 kh/s @ 135w (137 h/w)

modded timings 1
--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --RFC 248
19.75 kh/s @ 137w (144 h/w)

modded timings 2
same as above, plus --REF 15600
20.71 kh/s @ 137w (151 h/w)


Second - notes on power...  I don't see any appreciable power differences - nor would I expect to.  Clocks and voltages are untouched, we simply have a bit more data being transferred.  Even the 2w difference I'm reporting here is conservative - taking natural fluctuations in my readings into account, my actual increase could be closer to <= 1w.  People seeing large power increases (at least on vega 64) seem to have something else going on.


Last - some conjecture / educated guessing re: THAT --REF THO!!!  I'm assuming --REF is the refresh frequency, in nanoseconds, and unlike most timings, a higher value (meaning less refreshing) is better.  Refreshes steal bandwidth, and AMD seems to have gone majorly conservative (aggressive?) on this, probably due to the super high temps of the HBM during normal/gaming use.  As leakage increases w/ temps, more refreshes would be required when running your GPU/HBM at high clocks/voltages.  Since (efficient) miners tend to run cooler, the crazy high default refresh rate is really unnecessary.  I found 4x the default to be around where returns quickly diminish, at least at my clocks - i can get maybe another 50 h/s (turtle) going 4.5x.  HOWEVER - if you run super aggressive for max h/r, or just aren't effectively cooled in general, you may want to dial this back, or you may start seeing mem errors / bad shares from corrupted data due to insufficient refreshing / leakage.

nice test, can you test cnr algo, is it necessary  flash 56 to 64 for this algo?

Ok - now that the latest and greatest TRM is public...  here are my results for vega 64s (power is ATW)

Base GPU settings: 1375 (effective) cclock / 1107 mclock / 837mv (range across 8x64s is 825-843mv)

TRM 0.4.3, 15+15, no timing mods: 2120 h/s @ 165w or 12.8 h/w
TRM 0.4.3, 15+15, --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 248 --FAW 14: 2140 h/s (did not measure power)
TRM 0.4.4, 15*15, --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 248 --FAW 14: 2440 h/s @ 178w or 13.7 hw
TRM 0.4.4, 15*15, --RAS 32 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --REF 15600: 2420 h/s (did not measure power - assume same as previous)

As you can see:

1. Timings mods aren't doing much for CNR, w/o the latest TRM '*' mode
2. Many of the timing mods are just pushing at the edges...  You can get ~95% of the gain w/ just 6 (maybe less) parameters mods.


TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
1624385627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624385627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624385627
Reply with quote  #2

1624385627
Report to moderator
1624385627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624385627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624385627
Reply with quote  #2

1624385627
Report to moderator
1624385627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624385627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624385627
Reply with quote  #2

1624385627
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624385627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624385627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624385627
Reply with quote  #2

1624385627
Report to moderator
1624385627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624385627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624385627
Reply with quote  #2

1624385627
Report to moderator
pbfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 29


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 01:19:26 AM
 #362

AMDMEMTWEAK AND TEAMREDMINER V4.4 SUCCESS--

After reading this thread at least once a day since it opened, I finally set up AMDmemtweak on my Vega/ethOS box.  It was not a difficlult set up.  I simply followed these steps:

    1) Clone AMDmemtweak from git (https://github.com/eliovp).  Just follow the instructions on the README.md page.
    2) Compile the amdmemtweak.cpp file with g++.  Watch out for typos.  The instructions are in the README.md.
    3) Copy the executable binary to "/opt/ethos/bin".  This directory is in the system path and contains tools such as "OhGodADecode" and "ATIflash".   

You should now be able to run AMDmemtweak as a system utility.  After installing AMDmemtweak, I upgraded TeamRedMiner to version 4.4, setup a configuration using the new "15*15" mode, and launched TRM.

TRM boots and informs the miner when it is at full load.  When the miner is at full load, it is ready to receive a command from AMDmemtweak.  I ran the following command at the command prompt, utilizing pbfarmer's short string given in his attatched post below:

    "$ sudo amdmemtweak --RAS 32 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --REF 15600"

The result was an immediate ~0.2kh/s increase in each of my Vega64 cards' CNr hash rate.  At about 2.08kh/s each, they are finally over the 2.0kh/s goal.  I will worry about additional tweaks later, and post a detailed tutorial in my Notebook.       --scryptr


To maybe make things simpler - you definitely don't need to set timings under load w/ vegas on linux.  Locking your mem to p3 or whatever your top state will be, w/ something like

Code:
$ echo "3" |sudo tee /sys/class/drm/card[N]/device/pp_dpm_mclk

will be enough (replace [N] w/ your GPU number).  Honestly, i'm not even sure if this is necessary, but i was already doing it for other reasons.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
April 19, 2019, 05:12:03 AM
Last edit: April 19, 2019, 03:35:28 PM by scryptr
 #363

A QUICK TWEAK--

After running TRM for more than 5 hours with the AMDmemtweak values described in the quotes below, I made an on-the-fly clock change to my Vega/ethOS box.   I issued the following command at the command line:

      "$ sudo ethos-smi -c 1407 -m 1100"

This set my core clock to 1407 and my memory clock to 1100.  The system had been running at 1507/945 for the initial run.  A "stats" command showed a drop of about 20 watts per card to ~250W each.  The suprising result was that the hash rate increased about 300H/s per card.  See below:

    

Formerly, the cards had been running at about 2.08kh/s.  The "avg" and "pool" values are low because they were calculated based on the initial ~5 hours of the run.  Overall, not bad for an initial run!

A big Thank You! to Eliovp, pbfarmer, and the TRM coders Todd and Kerney, and to hammuh. whose clock settings I used.

AMDMEMTWEAK AND TEAMREDMINER V4.4 SUCCESS--

After reading this thread at least once a day since it opened, I finally set up AMDmemtweak on my Vega/ethOS box.  It was not a difficlult set up.  I simply followed these steps:

    1) Clone AMDmemtweak from git (https://github.com/eliovp).  Just follow the instructions on the README.md page.
    2) Compile the amdmemtweak.cpp file with g++.  Watch out for typos.  The instructions are in the README.md.
    3) Copy the executable binary to "/opt/ethos/bin".  This directory is in the system path and contains tools such as "OhGodADecode" and "ATIflash".    

You should now be able to run AMDmemtweak as a system utility.  After installing AMDmemtweak, I upgraded TeamRedMiner to version 4.4, setup a configuration using the new "15*15" mode, and launched TRM.

TRM boots and informs the miner when it is at full load.  When the miner is at full load, it is ready to receive a command from AMDmemtweak.  I ran the following command at the command prompt, utilizing pbfarmer's short string given in his attatched post below:

    "$ sudo amdmemtweak --RAS 32 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --REF 15600"

The result was an immediate ~0.2kh/s increase in each of my Vega64 cards' CNr hash rate.  At about 2.08kh/s each, they are finally over the 2.0kh/s goal.  I will worry about additional tweaks later, and post a detailed tutorial in my Notebook.       --scryptr


To maybe make things simpler - you definitely don't need to set timings under load w/ vegas on linux.  Locking your mem to p3 or whatever your top state will be, w/ something like

Code:
$ echo "3" |sudo tee /sys/class/drm/card[N]/device/pp_dpm_mclk

will be enough (replace [N] w/ your GPU number).  Honestly, i'm not even sure if this is necessary, but i was already doing it for other reasons.

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
carlosmonaco
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 07:59:07 AM
 #364

Hello,
I have some bad card ( vega 56 reference with blower ) running at 1407 / 900 at 930mV  and still not really stable ( no mod timing yet)
Can it be better with 64 bios and mod timing ?

Running on 18.6.1 driver.
datspike
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 08:42:22 AM
 #365

Hey all.
I assume messing with polaris is not relevant here, eh but here's a question:
I cant apply changes to CAS and MISC2 timings (causes "random colored screen" driver crash) as I assume changing those also needs changes to MC_SEQ_MISC straps (IMC straps)
Hovewer Wattman can successfully apply it's "level 2" timings and it's changing CAS and MISC2 aswell as reported by --current command.
Maybe I'm missing something?
evlo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 4


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 09:38:40 AM
 #366

so what settings would be great on rx570s with samsungs?
GordoLui
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 10:25:58 AM
 #367

But i have a general question for trying to run the program, whenever i try to start, i just get a quick pop up window and then it exits out. I tried already setting it to windows 7 compatibility mode and still get nothing. Can anyone help me get this thing going? My pc is windows 10 and using the latest firmware for amd gpu.

put this in a .bat file:

Quote
c:\<FULL PATH TO THE TOOL>\WinAMDTweak.exe --current
pause

and run it as admin

That helped. I was able to run this

WinAMDTweak.exe --rcdrd 19 --rcdwr 4 --rc 35 --rp 14 --rrds 4 --rrdl 5 --rfc 148 --REF 15600

and it said all gpus were updated. So i run TRM 0.4.4 and got an increase to 2110 for CNr! But only on one card. My other 2 cards get between 1880-1910 which was around where it was. I must be missing something here. Running on the TRM 0.4.4, 3x Vega 56 Hynix, 19.4 drivers.

For TRM settings, i just had to change it to cn_config 14+14 since it would fail and give me error 42 on gpu 1 if i had 15*15 or any of the older values.

Also having trouble with running the program on my other systems. I can get a command window but it just tells me that it can't find the file. But the pathing is good, same as it was on the other one that's working

c:\<FULL PATH TO THE TOOL>\WinAMDTweak.exe --current
pause

I'm not sure whats going on there now. All files where downloaded to a folder, path looks good, and im running as admin.

For now it feels like i can get all these running CNr at 2100 so i just gotta mess with it more. Later after i sleep.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1272

Huh?


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2019, 10:29:10 AM
 #368

Hey All!

Thank you for being so active and getting such nice results! Lovin it!

I tried my best to read through the comments, noticed some people with issues, most of them got resolved real quickly, so that's ok.

Due to that i'm currently busy completing some changes.

There's a bug in the code for CL (GDDR5), so that indeed won't work, even if the bug wasn't there, it still wouldn't really make a difference unfortunately.
The way those timings get applied/loaded differs very much from HBM2.

Next release will be a nice change  Wink


Continue tweaking!

Cheers!

Elio

vmozara
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 192
Merit: 59


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 03:50:55 PM
 #369



That helped. I was able to run this

WinAMDTweak.exe --rcdrd 19 --rcdwr 4 --rc 35 --rp 14 --rrds 4 --rrdl 5 --rfc 148 --REF 15600

and it said all gpus were updated. So i run TRM 0.4.4 and got an increase to 2110 for CNr! But only on one card. My other 2 cards get between 1880-1910 which was around where it was. I must be missing something here. Running on the TRM 0.4.4, 3x Vega 56 Hynix, 19.4 drivers.

For TRM settings, i just had to change it to cn_config 14+14 since it would fail and give me error 42 on gpu 1 if i had 15*15 or any of the older values.

Also having trouble with running the program on my other systems. I can get a command window but it just tells me that it can't find the file. But the pathing is good, same as it was on the other one that's working

c:\<FULL PATH TO THE TOOL>\WinAMDTweak.exe --current
pause

I'm not sure whats going on there now. All files where downloaded to a folder, path looks good, and im running as admin.

For now it feels like i can get all these running CNr at 2100 so i just gotta mess with it more. Later after i sleep.

you are missing numbers of your cards, so only gpu 0 was updated

make the command like this:

WinAMDTweak.exe --i 0,1,2,3,4,5--rcdrd 19 --rcdwr 4 --rc 35 --rp 14 --rrds 4 --rrdl 5 --rfc 148 --REF 15600

or whatever is the number of your gpus
sharmanov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 04:25:10 PM
 #370

Does anyone have the best timing settings for Radeon VII/Vega 2?
pinky1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 05:20:00 PM
 #371

try this timing let me know . am getting stable hashrate for each card.



CL 19   RAS 27     RCDRD 12        RCDWR 6
RC 44   RP  12       REF 1700             RFC 250



DECREASING RAS LOWER GIVE YOU BETTER HASHRATE BUT UNSTABLE . SO PLAY THE GAME
kibatronic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 06:05:34 PM
Last edit: April 19, 2019, 06:16:26 PM by kibatronic
 #372

Does anyone have the best timing settings for Radeon VII/Vega 2?

 --rcdrd 12 --rcdwr 8 --rc 44 --rp 12 --faw 20 --ref 7800 --rfc 250

TRM 4.4 3140H/s @ 170w

EDIT: 3150H/s 1802/1100MHz 945mv
pinky1234
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 06:54:54 PM
 #373

Does anyone have the best timing settings for Radeon VII/Vega 2?

 --rcdrd 12 --rcdwr 8 --rc 44 --rp 12 --faw 20 --ref 7800 --rfc 250

TRM 4.4 3140H/s @ 170w

EDIT: 3150H/s 1802/1100MHz 945mv


your timing its also good , but i dont know how did you manage to get 1802/ 945mv .>>>>.  gpu 0 crash after 3 minutes  945mv too low for 1802 >><
SamAlackass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 09:56:43 PM
 #374

Anyone else having this issue? I run the .exe with --current and it shows everything set at 0. Trying to apply any changes I get some confirmation but nothing really changes.

Obviously windows (10), testing with a hynix 56 on 18.5.1 and 18.6.1 with the same result.
kibatronic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 09:58:14 PM
 #375

Does anyone have the best timing settings for Radeon VII/Vega 2?

 --rcdrd 12 --rcdwr 8 --rc 44 --rp 12 --faw 20 --ref 7800 --rfc 250

TRM 4.4 3140H/s @ 170w

EDIT: 3150H/s 1802/1100MHz 945mv


your timing its also good , but i dont know how did you manage to get 1802/ 945mv .>>>>.  gpu 0 crash after 3 minutes  945mv too low for 1802 >><
It is just a case of plain old silicon lottery. :-)
joseph32
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 16


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 10:42:15 PM
 #376

Is it better to run the tweak before starting the mining software or after (when everything is innitialized and running)?
QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 10:47:56 PM
 #377

Thanks alot Eliovp for your efforts for the windows version. I have been learning this vague ubuntu thing for the last week until you released windows version.
Now, for the love of god, this 18.50 driver with Ubuntu 18.04 is installable?Huh As a desktop ubuntu NOT headless (i use the machine mainly to experiment on mining, and hell yes this linux is WAY stable than windows.) Can anyone tell me how i can get 18.50 GPU pro running? i tried installing amdgpu install and opencl only from amdgpu pro, tried alot and mostly end up in a stuck boot.


2nd issue! Windows, mate, i tried changing timings simply tRRD of elpida while its running..... (mining Graft with TRD 0.4.3) it succeds in changing tRRd to 4 for example, but when i use --current its back to old value (5) also tCKE/Pulse of Hynix AJR is wierd! 13/13 underload.... oO same with other wierd readings like bus_turn. are these things getting changed dynamically? also my gpus give memory errors while mining so that might explain failure to alter timings?
Bojcha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 848
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2019, 10:59:05 PM
 #378

Is it better to run the tweak before starting the mining software or after (when everything is innitialized and running)?
always before.
joseph32
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 381
Merit: 16


View Profile
April 19, 2019, 11:17:25 PM
 #379

Is it better to run the tweak before starting the mining software or after (when everything is innitialized and running)?
always before.

Thanks!
livada
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 416
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 20, 2019, 10:33:18 AM
Last edit: April 20, 2019, 12:23:01 PM by livada
 #380

how i see default(stock) timing for RP RC RRD and other?

any info for this card? for trtl/xcash
vega 64LE samsung=
vega 56nitro+ hynix(stock bios)= ??
Vega 56colorpower(samsung) 64bios=

thx

now i use for vega56 and vega 64 samsung this: --CL 12 --RP 10 --RC 44 --RFC 250 --RRDL 3 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RAS 28 --RRDS 3 --RTP 5 --FAW 20 --CWL 7 --WTRS 4 --WTRL 9 --WR 16 --WRRD 1 --RDWR 19 --REF 17550 --MRD 8 --MOD 15 --PD 8 --CKSRE 10 --CKSRX 10

and vega 64 on xcash have 1200hr
and vega 56 @64 on xcash have 1100hr
3*vega56+1*vega64LE = 4500+hr 740/750W from the wall : gpu=1220mhz/868mv, mem=1096mhz/870mv
http://imgbox.com/2ABO4caI

any have beter setup?

for other algo etc trtl or CNR i have identical or ui must use  different setup?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!