Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2021, 10:58:12 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Mem Tweak XL - Read/modify timings/pp/straps on the fly  (Read 57253 times)
pbfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 29


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 08:39:40 PM
 #421


I have now run ~72 hours w/o any issues with 24 Vega64 GPUs(good and bad ones) mixed in 4 separate rigs ... CNR with core 1407Mhz /860-970mV , Mem 1080-1100Mhz/860-970mV.

I would say this is pretty stable setup. Pool side 24h avg hashrate fluctuates in the range 54,1-54,4 kH/s

--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 250

I am happy and have in my mind... "dont touch when things go smoothly".




That’s an insane voltage range, and I can’t fathom how 970mv could possibly be necessary. Between 9 64s and a flashed 56, I run avg 834mv, none over 850, for similar clocks/timings.  That puts me @ 178w per GPU at the wall.

At 970, you’re running at least 35% higher power, meaning over 240w per card.

It sounds like you have some ppt issues or something, maybe you’re running your SOC @ 1200mhz unnecessarily (it should be 1107 @ your clocks.)  Although, even then, you prob shouldn’t need much more than 925mv.

Oh ! I'm far above that number too.
Could you share your PPT tables  and settings ?
Thanks

I'm on linux, and only use PPT (no additional settings.)  But you won't be able use my PPTs on windows.
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
1624575492
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624575492

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624575492
Reply with quote  #2

1624575492
Report to moderator
rebelmalangi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 09:10:44 PM
 #422

I know this post is for Vega, but can anyone timing for Rx 580 (appreciate) or process how-to play with the tool to get the best time for the cards. Github is with commands which we are not familiar.
Zorg33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 146
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 09:24:55 PM
 #423

For those having issues with running the tool as admin and from a bat file. Please keep in mind that you have to run the bat file itself as admin, otherwise the tool will open in another cmd instance and you won't see any otput (if run as admin is set in the tool's properties). Also you must use full path to the tool or first cd to the folder because admin cmd always starts from system32 folder.
I hope there won't be any more question in this matter as it makes this thread very noisy.
Kerppa77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 09:34:50 PM
 #424


I have now run ~72 hours w/o any issues with 24 Vega64 GPUs(good and bad ones) mixed in 4 separate rigs ... CNR with core 1407Mhz /860-970mV , Mem 1080-1100Mhz/860-970mV.

I would say this is pretty stable setup. Pool side 24h avg hashrate fluctuates in the range 54,1-54,4 kH/s

--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 250

I am happy and have in my mind... "dont touch when things go smoothly".




That’s an insane voltage range, and I can’t fathom how 970mv could possibly be necessary. Between 9 64s and a flashed 56, I run avg 834mv, none over 850, for similar clocks/timings.  That puts me @ 178w per GPU at the wall.

At 970, you’re running at least 35% higher power, meaning over 240w per card.

It sounds like you have some ppt issues or something, maybe you’re running your SOC @ 1200mhz unnecessarily (it should be 1107 @ your clocks.)  Although, even then, you prob shouldn’t need much more than 925mv.

Oops... I made a quick check with HWtool and yes... I really have SOC max @ 1199Mhz. I have used the Hellae 920mV PPT and then adjusted with Overdrive Ntool the Core P7 and Mem P3. I havent touch the SOC. After memory timings my rigs are pulling like 1420-1500w from the wall per rig. My rigs run like 150w w/o GPUs and after OverdriveNtool the wattage is ~250w before the miner starts and all the GPU led lights are fully on.
This sounds to me like 1270 to 1350w with 6 GPU and on avg. like 210 - 225w/GPU. :O

Thanks for pointing out the SOC. I need to drop to 1107.

kerney666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 654
Merit: 84


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 10:00:01 PM
 #425


I have now run ~72 hours w/o any issues with 24 Vega64 GPUs(good and bad ones) mixed in 4 separate rigs ... CNR with core 1407Mhz /860-970mV , Mem 1080-1100Mhz/860-970mV.

I would say this is pretty stable setup. Pool side 24h avg hashrate fluctuates in the range 54,1-54,4 kH/s

--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 250

I am happy and have in my mind... "dont touch when things go smoothly".




That’s an insane voltage range, and I can’t fathom how 970mv could possibly be necessary. Between 9 64s and a flashed 56, I run avg 834mv, none over 850, for similar clocks/timings.  That puts me @ 178w per GPU at the wall.

At 970, you’re running at least 35% higher power, meaning over 240w per card.

It sounds like you have some ppt issues or something, maybe you’re running your SOC @ 1200mhz unnecessarily (it should be 1107 @ your clocks.)  Although, even then, you prob shouldn’t need much more than 925mv.

Oops... I made a quick check with HWtool and yes... I really have SOC max @ 1199Mhz. I have used the Hellae 920mV PPT and then adjusted with Overdrive Ntool the Core P7 and Mem P3. I havent touch the SOC. After memory timings my rigs are pulling like 1420-1500w from the wall per rig. My rigs run like 150w w/o GPUs and after OverdriveNtool the wattage is ~250w before the miner starts and all the GPU led lights are fully on.
This sounds to me like 1270 to 1350w with 6 GPU and on avg. like 210 - 225w/GPU. :O

Thanks for pointing out the SOC. I need to drop to 1107.


When I tried to scribble down a new Vega tuning guide to include in the TRM 0.4.4 release, I was debating if I should have mentioned this or not. I opted not to, that text was long enough already anyway.

However, I know more than a few skilled and knowledgeable Vega tuners that ALL have been stuck with old PPTs from the fall of 2017 (brnsted, Hellae) that for some reason all have 1200 for SoC. At the time, I guess it was considered highly beneficial for stability. Fast forward a few years to times where you don't make $10/day/Vega and power draw is a crucial part of your setup, this trade-off no longer holds.

In the common Google sheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-rhYsaRXO1ahk3PyrEgT9gXzs7ImAzh-sbqtgwy8HQg) used for PPT tweaking you can edit the SOC clk value but guess what: it doesn't change any nrs in the PPT, the cells aren't connected(!!!). You have to change the SOC clk value in cell AE26, then manually copy cells AG-AI:26 to T-V:11. You can probably guess why I may sound a little pissed off  Grin.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
April 21, 2019, 10:08:14 PM
 #426

DEAD CARD DETECTION--

My Vega64 rig was stable for 2 days mining CNr on NiceHash with TeamRedMiner (2.2kH/s per GPU), but I noticed that poolside hashrate varied a lot, both on the NiceHash dashboard (wild swings +/-), and on the TRM console (more steady but low).  I thought to experiment with ETH.

Switching to ETH from CNr, TRM to PhoenixMiner, I initially achieved 48MH/s ETH per card.  But, very shortly 1 GPU was reported dead and not hashing.  The rig generally began behaving badly and I eventually pulled that GPU.  I tried ETH overnight with the remaining 3 cards but woke to a zero hash rate.

Unplugging and replacing the "dead" GPU a few times brought no better results, and switching back to TRM mining CNr still wound up with a dead GPU detected and failed launches.

So, I commented out my call to AMDmemtweak in my "custom.sh" file (a script file run at boot by ethOS to launch utilities and such).  After that I configured the rig to mine VertCoin (lyra2v3) with TRM.  Lyra2v3 is a compute heavy algorithm, and I have my memory clocked low (500mhz).  TRM booted just fine, both without and with my "undead" GPU.  The cards are hashing VTC at about 100MH/s each.

I sincerely expected to RMA the card last night.  Today it works fine mining Lyra2v3, but at a higher wattage (250+W/GPU) than when mining CNr (200W/GPU) and ETH (150W/GPU).

I need to do some more reading about the strap values, I think.  Any tips or comments left on the matter will be appreciated.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
pbfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 29


View Profile
April 21, 2019, 10:22:49 PM
 #427

DEAD CARD DETECTION--

My Vega64 rig was stable for 2 days mining CNr on NiceHash with TeamRedMiner (2.2kH/s per GPU), but I noticed that poolside hashrate varied a lot, both on the NiceHash dashboard (wild swings +/-), and on the TRM console (more steady but low).  I thought to experiment with ETH.

Switching to ETH from CNr, TRM to PhoenixMiner, I initially achieved 48MH/s ETH per card.  But, very shortly 1 GPU was reported dead and not hashing.  The rig generally began behaving badly and I eventually pulled that GPU.  I tried ETH overnight with the remaining 3 cards but woke to a zero hash rate.

Unplugging and replacing the "dead" GPU a few times brought no better results, and switching back to TRM mining CNr still wound up with a dead GPU detected and failed launches.

So, I commented out my call to AMDmemtweak in my "custom.sh" file (a script file run at boot by ethOS to launch utilities and such).  After that I configured the rig to mine VertCoin (lyra2v3) with TRM.  Lyra2v3 is a compute heavy algorithm, and I have my memory clocked low (500mhz).  TRM booted just fine, both without and with my "undead" GPU.  The cards are hashing VTC at about 100MH/s each.

I sincerely expected to RMA the card last night.  Today it works fine mining Lyra2v3, but at a higher wattage (250+W/GPU) than when mining CNr (200W/GPU) and ETH (150W/GPU).

I need to do some more reading about the strap values, I think.  Any tips or comments left on the matter will be appreciated.       --scryptr

If your cards aren't adequately cooled, a super high REF can cause hw errors.  My vegas @ 40 are fine w/ 15600.  My old, cranky, and hotter ref 56 doesn't seem to like that (it's temperamental even w/o timing mods.) That's what I'd look at first. After that, I've found RCDRD and RCDWR to be the most common culprits of hw errors.

As for poolside h/r variability - it is a fact of life w/ CN in my experience.  24hr h/r reports on the pool are helpful, but generally, those are not even long enough avgs (unless your diff is super low.)  Best bet is to look at miner reported pool rate, after at least a couple days, if you can keep your rig up that long.
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 02:57:08 AM
 #428

Hey Mashy, sorry sir, no XMR address.
You can always use a shift service if you want to tip.
coinswap, changelly.. etc..
Get yourself one, I'll be happy to mine some XMR for you Smiley

Haha, ok ok, you convinced me ;-)

Check OP Smiley

And thank you!

Your xmr address comes up with a space when copied and pasted.
SamAlackass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 03:50:41 AM
 #429

Anyone else having this issue? I run the .exe with --current and it shows everything set at 0. Trying to apply any changes I get some confirmation but nothing really changes.

Obviously windows (10), testing with a hynix 56 on 18.5.1 and 18.6.1 with the same result.

Still looking for a solution to that. It just works on one system (win10, 18.6.1 driver) but not the other. I didn't even download AMDMemoryTweak again, just copied the entire folder over to the second system. Something obvious I may be missing?
serg74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

ANdSqxxLkaYao5EQXWegcpPzyfHE22a6go


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 06:49:43 AM
 #430

Share settings for R9 390. Thank you.

ANdSqxxLkaYao5EQXWegcpPzyfHE22a6go
bobymoore
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 07:19:34 AM
 #431

For the noobs, could somebody explain the steps?
Exe don't open, do I have to create a bat file? Explain please....
PIOUPIOU99
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 293
Merit: 11


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 07:48:29 AM
 #432

I do not really use exchange, so I put my kh with your xmr on supportxmr for the day.
thx.
saltednutz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 08:02:33 AM
 #433

so this is where pbfarmer has been hiding
Mashy81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 1


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 08:37:55 AM
 #434

For the noobs, could somebody explain the steps?
Exe don't open, do I have to create a bat file? Explain please....

Yes, create a .bat file something like:

WinAMDTweak.exe --i 0,1,2 --rfc 248 --ref 15600     etc...

--i  is the gpus as per the bus order, if you are applying to all just leave it out. other commands are examples.

hope this helps

Kerppa77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 09:38:59 AM
 #435


I have now run ~72 hours w/o any issues with 24 Vega64 GPUs(good and bad ones) mixed in 4 separate rigs ... CNR with core 1407Mhz /860-970mV , Mem 1080-1100Mhz/860-970mV.

I would say this is pretty stable setup. Pool side 24h avg hashrate fluctuates in the range 54,1-54,4 kH/s

--CL 19 --RAS 28 --RCDRD 12 --RCDWR 5 --RC 44 --RP 12 --RRDS 3 --RRDL 3 --REF 15600 --RFC 250

I am happy and have in my mind... "dont touch when things go smoothly".




That’s an insane voltage range, and I can’t fathom how 970mv could possibly be necessary. Between 9 64s and a flashed 56, I run avg 834mv, none over 850, for similar clocks/timings.  That puts me @ 178w per GPU at the wall.

At 970, you’re running at least 35% higher power, meaning over 240w per card.

It sounds like you have some ppt issues or something, maybe you’re running your SOC @ 1200mhz unnecessarily (it should be 1107 @ your clocks.)  Although, even then, you prob shouldn’t need much more than 925mv.

Oops... I made a quick check with HWtool and yes... I really have SOC max @ 1199Mhz. I have used the Hellae 920mV PPT and then adjusted with Overdrive Ntool the Core P7 and Mem P3. I havent touch the SOC. After memory timings my rigs are pulling like 1420-1500w from the wall per rig. My rigs run like 150w w/o GPUs and after OverdriveNtool the wattage is ~250w before the miner starts and all the GPU led lights are fully on.
This sounds to me like 1270 to 1350w with 6 GPU and on avg. like 210 - 225w/GPU. :O

Thanks for pointing out the SOC. I need to drop to 1107.


When I tried to scribble down a new Vega tuning guide to include in the TRM 0.4.4 release, I was debating if I should have mentioned this or not. I opted not to, that text was long enough already anyway.

However, I know more than a few skilled and knowledgeable Vega tuners that ALL have been stuck with old PPTs from the fall of 2017 (brnsted, Hellae) that for some reason all have 1200 for SoC. At the time, I guess it was considered highly beneficial for stability. Fast forward a few years to times where you don't make $10/day/Vega and power draw is a crucial part of your setup, this trade-off no longer holds.

In the common Google sheet (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-rhYsaRXO1ahk3PyrEgT9gXzs7ImAzh-sbqtgwy8HQg) used for PPT tweaking you can edit the SOC clk value but guess what: it doesn't change any nrs in the PPT, the cells aren't connected(!!!). You have to change the SOC clk value in cell AE26, then manually copy cells AG-AI:26 to T-V:11. You can probably guess why I may sound a little pissed off  Grin.


Yeah.... I fixed my file so that these cell are now connected. Will test today what kind of mV I can get with 1107Mhz SOC.
cscheat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 10:24:55 AM
 #436

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
iRonNuke
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 3


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 10:29:52 AM
 #437

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll

Try to reinstall MSI Afterburner/other OC programs. Do you have an Asus monitoring software, reinstall or uninstall that!
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1514
Merit: 1003


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 10:51:32 AM
 #438

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((
JuanHungLo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 935
Merit: 1001


I don't always drink...


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 11:13:03 AM
 #439

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((

It does on v 1.8.4, not on the prior versions.

Bull markets are born on pessimism, grow on skepticism, mature on optimism, and die on euphoria. - John Templeton
dragonmike
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 556


VEIL - PRIVACY WITHOUT COMPROMISE


View Profile
April 22, 2019, 11:13:46 AM
 #440

Hey guys,

getting error message while trying to run --current

Failed to load EIO.dll
Are you using SRBminer? It blocks it ((
Hah. What a surprise.
SRB basically took eliovp's free tool and integrated a few self-compiled mem timing straps into his latest closed-source fee-including miner.

TRM had the decency not to integrate it. They chose to add a timing-optimised mode - should you want to run eliovp's tool whilst using TRM.



▄▄                                  ▄▄
 ███▄                            ▄███
  ██████                      ██████
   ███████                  ███████
    ███████                ███████
     ███████              ███████
      ███████            ███████
       ███████▄▄      ▄▄███████
        ██████████████████████
         ████████████████████
          ██████████████████
           ████████████████
            ██████████████
             ███████████
              █████████
               ███████
                █████
                 ██
                  █
veil|     PRIVACY     
     WITHOUT COMPROMISE.       
▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂▂
|   NO ICO. NO PREMINE. 
   X16RT GPU Mining. Fair distribution.   
|      The first Zerocoin-based Cryptocurrency       
   WITH ALWAYS-ON PRIVACY.   
|



                   ▄▄████
              ▄▄████████▌
         ▄▄█████████▀███
    ▄▄██████████▀▀ ▄███▌
▄████████████▀▀  ▄█████
▀▀▀███████▀   ▄███████▌
      ██    ▄█████████
       █  ▄██████████▌
       █  ███████████
       █ ██▀ ▀██████▌
       ██▀     ▀████
                 ▀█▌




   ▄███████
   ████████
   ███▀
   ███
██████████
██████████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███




     ▄▄█▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀█▄▄
   ▐██▄▄██████████████▄▄██▌
   ████████████████████████
  ▐████████████████████████▌
  ███████▀▀▀██████▀▀▀███████
 ▐██████     ████     ██████▌
 ███████     ████     ███████
▐████████▄▄▄██████▄▄▄████████▌
▐████████████████████████████▌
 █████▄▄▀▀▀▀██████▀▀▀▀▄▄█████
  ▀▀██████          ██████▀▀
      ▀▀▀            ▀▀▀
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!