Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:07:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271501 times)
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
November 08, 2011, 03:09:13 PM
 #1401

Seems that it does not support 32 bit Sad
1481177262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177262
Reply with quote  #2

1481177262
Report to moderator
1481177262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177262
Reply with quote  #2

1481177262
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177262
Reply with quote  #2

1481177262
Report to moderator
1481177262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177262
Reply with quote  #2

1481177262
Report to moderator
1481177262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177262
Reply with quote  #2

1481177262
Report to moderator
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
November 08, 2011, 05:21:27 PM
 #1402

I tried removing all fglrx-realted packages and re-installing them, but this time the DKMS module compilation part failed with some odd error in firegl.c that I couldn't find a solution to anywhere. Seems like upgrading via apt-get doesn't work currently, *and* that it breaks the system.
rockofages152
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 07, 2011, 10:31:25 PM
 #1403

Sorry for bumping this after a month of no posts, but does anyone know if it's possible to install Bittorrent or uTorrent on this OS? I've tried, but either it's not possible or I don't know what I'm doing (probably the latter).

Any advice?
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 08, 2011, 01:04:37 AM
 #1404

Is source for image creation available anywhere?  Seems author is no longer developing this.

I would like to take this project add cgminer, bring it to current version of debian and some other improvements.    Would rather not reinvent the wheel.
Did you try emailing the author? http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/index.php?page=contact
Or maybe look at BitSafe (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=46916.20).  Both bitsafe and linuxcoin in that both are built on top of debian.

It is meant for secure wallet storage instead of mining, but there is no reason why you can't add mining utilities to it.

runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
December 08, 2011, 11:22:13 PM
 #1405

Sorry for bumping this after a month of no posts, but does anyone know if it's possible to install Bittorrent or uTorrent on this OS? I've tried, but either it's not possible or I don't know what I'm doing (probably the latter).

Any advice?
For uTorrent you would need WINE (since it's a Windows application). If available in the repositories, it should be installable using the below command, but substituting deluge for wine. I usually use a program called Deluge to manage my torrents. I don't know if it's available for installation on Linuxcoin, but if it is you could try installing it using the following command:

Code:
sudo apt-get install deluge

To run uTorrent using WINE, simply download the utorrent.exe executable, open up a command prompt, browse to the folder where you saved the download and run:

Code:
wine utorrent.exe
rockofages152
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 10, 2011, 03:50:43 AM
 #1406

Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
You might want to run 'apt-get -f install' to correct these:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 deluge : Depends: deluge-gtk (= 1.2.3+git20110209.8c36830-0squeeze1) but it is not going to be installed
 wine : Depends: wine-bin (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: wine-utils (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-alsa (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed or
                 libwine-oss (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed or
                 libwine-esd (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed or
                 libwine-jack (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not installable or
                 libwine-nas (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-gl (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-print (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-sane (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-cms (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-gphoto2 (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: libwine-ldap (= 1.0.1-3.1) but it is not going to be installed
        Recommends: ttf-liberation but it is not going to be installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt-get -f install' with no packages (or specify a solution).

Using the command you provided. Am I doing something wrong? I appreciate your help.
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
December 11, 2011, 11:17:29 AM
 #1407

I experienced those errors as well. I had to manually install the packages and it was still a bitch. It would be a lot easier if we could just upgrade via "apt-get upgrade", but this breaks the system. I can't really give you any directions on how to install it manually, as it requires a lot of user interaction. Sorry.

Put up a bounty for getting apt-get system upgrades to work in LinuxCoin if you really need it.
punningclan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 284


Making a better tomorrow, tomorrow.


View Profile
January 02, 2012, 12:46:01 AM
 #1408

Any news on an update since phatk has been upped:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25135.0

Happy New Year!

It was a cunning plan to have the funny man be the money fan of the punning clan.
1J13NBTKiV8xrAo2dwaD4LhWs3zPobhh5S
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2012, 10:00:38 PM
 #1409

Would definitely love a LinuxCoin update!!

runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 10, 2012, 12:31:27 PM
 #1410

Apparently the BIOS on Gigabyte motherboards kind of sucks, and it doesn't handle boot partitions that aren't in some extremely Windows-specific format, so if you have a Gigabyte motherboard and you're getting "Boot Error", here's what to do.  Stick the USB stick in a GNU/Linux computer and use fdisk to delete all the partitions (yes, you can't use Disk Manager in Windows 7 to do this, although other better partitioning programs probably can).

Then stick it in a Windows computer and use Disk Manager to create a new FAT partition 1 GiB in size.  Then remove the flash stick from the Windows computer, stick it back in your Linux computer, and create a new partition in the remaining space for your persistence volume and format that as ext4.
After doing this, and creating a USB stick that boots fine on a laptop I have, I am still unable to boot it from my mining rig that has a Gigabyte (GA-EP35C) motherboard. The only difference is where before it said "Boot error" when trying to boot from the USB stick (when it was created from Linux), now it says nothing, and just stops after "Verifying DMI pool data..." (or something similar. it's the text that is on the line before the line where the "Boot error" message used to appear). I can see that the USB stick is detected, "Corsair Flash Voyager" is displayed at the top of the screen where the "DMI pool data..."-message is displayed. But it's not detected by the BIOS as a bootable device. When entering the BIOS to change boot priorities, it isn't listed here either.

If I completely erase the USB stick and put it in my Windows machine, Windows only wants to fill the whole disk up with a FAT partition. In other words it wants to create a whole disk FAT partition, which means I am unable to create another partition on the rest of the disk, to be used for persistence.
If I let fdisk "create a new empty DOS partition table" then Disk Manager in Windows is willing to create a 1 GiB FAT partition on the USB stick, but it's not bootable on the rig with the Gigabyte motherboard (not even a "Boot error" message).

Any ideas guys?
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 10, 2012, 01:12:55 PM
 #1411

Apparently the BIOS on Gigabyte motherboards kind of sucks, and it doesn't handle boot partitions that aren't in some extremely Windows-specific format, so if you have a Gigabyte motherboard and you're getting "Boot Error", here's what to do.  Stick the USB stick in a GNU/Linux computer and use fdisk to delete all the partitions (yes, you can't use Disk Manager in Windows 7 to do this, although other better partitioning programs probably can).

Then stick it in a Windows computer and use Disk Manager to create a new FAT partition 1 GiB in size.  Then remove the flash stick from the Windows computer, stick it back in your Linux computer, and create a new partition in the remaining space for your persistence volume and format that as ext4.
After doing this, and creating a USB stick that boots fine on a laptop I have, I am still unable to boot it from my mining rig that has a Gigabyte (GA-EP35C) motherboard. The only difference is where before it said "Boot error" when trying to boot from the USB stick (when it was created from Linux), now it says nothing, and just stops after "Verifying DMI pool data..." (or something similar. it's the text that is on the line before the line where the "Boot error" message used to appear). I can see that the USB stick is detected, "Corsair Flash Voyager" is displayed at the top of the screen where the "DMI pool data..."-message is displayed. But it's not detected by the BIOS as a bootable device. When entering the BIOS to change boot priorities, it isn't listed here either.

If I completely erase the USB stick and put it in my Windows machine, Windows only wants to fill the whole disk up with a FAT partition. In other words it wants to create a whole disk FAT partition, which means I am unable to create another partition on the rest of the disk, to be used for persistence.
If I let fdisk "create a new empty DOS partition table" then Disk Manager in Windows is willing to create a 1 GiB FAT partition on the USB stick, but it's not bootable on the rig with the Gigabyte motherboard (not even a "Boot error" message).

Any ideas guys?

Are you setting the active (bootable) flag in the partition table?

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 10, 2012, 06:45:19 PM
 #1412

YES! I finally got Linuxcoin installed onto a HDD. It turns out the update-grub command in the last steps was blocked by the file /usr/bin/grub-script-check not having proper PaX permissions. I chose to perform the same command to all grub-related executables in /usr/bin as had already been done in /usr/sbin like this:

Code:
for i in $(ls /usr/bin | grep grub); do paxctl -C /usr/bin/$i; paxctl -cEr /usr/bin/$i; done

I now it finally works! I'm off to get p2pool up and running.
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 10, 2012, 07:00:04 PM
 #1413

Same thing.

Code:
Error mounting: mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so
Check out dmesg. It's another kernel module that udisks is being blocked from loading. I had to load the following manually in order to get it to work:
vfat nls_cp437 nls_utf8
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
January 24, 2012, 11:32:24 AM
 #1414

Hey guys !!

Been off the radar for a while dealing with real life. Was thinking about reopening this project for something to ease myself back into things. Anyone interested ? Cheesy Was going to leave the mining stuff to someone else and start with a fresh platform and all source made public.

If anyone's interested in getting involved PM me and get involved. Even if it's maintaining a few packages it would make the dev of this project more pleasurable lol !!
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 24, 2012, 06:51:23 PM
 #1415

Hey guys !!

Been off the radar for a while dealing with real life. Was thinking about reopening this project for something to ease myself back into things. Anyone interested ? Cheesy Was going to leave the mining stuff to someone else and start with a fresh platform and all source made public.

If anyone's interested in getting involved PM me and get involved. Even if it's maintaining a few packages it would make the dev of this project more pleasurable lol !!
Definitely open source this.  I'm sure someone will put some time into it.

runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 09:13:53 AM
 #1416

Hey guys !!

Been off the radar for a while dealing with real life. Was thinking about reopening this project for something to ease myself back into things. Anyone interested ? Cheesy Was going to leave the mining stuff to someone else and start with a fresh platform and all source made public.

If anyone's interested in getting involved PM me and get involved. Even if it's maintaining a few packages it would make the dev of this project more pleasurable lol !!
Hey dude. I'm glad you're back. I don't have the time to help you, but I just sent you 5 BTC as thanks for making Linuxcoin. I'm running it on a mining rig right now. Rock solid.
punningclan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 284


Making a better tomorrow, tomorrow.


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 03:27:38 AM
 #1417

Hey guys !!

Been off the radar for a while dealing with real life. Was thinking about reopening this project for something to ease myself back into things. Anyone interested ? Cheesy Was going to leave the mining stuff to someone else and start with a fresh platform and all source made public.

If anyone's interested in getting involved PM me and get involved. Even if it's maintaining a few packages it would make the dev of this project more pleasurable lol !!
Definitely open source this.  I'm sure someone will put some time into it.
+1

It was a cunning plan to have the funny man be the money fan of the punning clan.
1J13NBTKiV8xrAo2dwaD4LhWs3zPobhh5S
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:31:22 PM
 #1418

Linuxcoin hard crashes before starting X, I only get a black screen. What could be causing it?

Specs:
CPU: AMD A6 3650
RAM: 8GB 1333 ddr3
GPUS: 5850,5750, integrated 6550
MOBO: msi a75ma g55

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
runeks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 07:18:50 PM
 #1419

^ I need to see some logs in order to make any qualified guess concerning that.
REF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 08:18:00 PM
 #1420

Hey guys !!

Been off the radar for a while dealing with real life. Was thinking about reopening this project for something to ease myself back into things. Anyone interested ? Cheesy Was going to leave the mining stuff to someone else and start with a fresh platform and all source made public.

If anyone's interested in getting involved PM me and get involved. Even if it's maintaining a few packages it would make the dev of this project more pleasurable lol !!
Im a super noob when it comes to anything linux so i cant help but i love this project. an update would be awesome it would boost my hash by 15mhash/per card. I still run an old copy of this on and off.
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!