Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2017, 05:48:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 277127 times)
evoorhees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Democracy is the original 51% attack


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:11:56 PM
 #1261

Is there a link to info about the difference between the default setting and the "persistant" setting? I heard that if I don't use persistant, that data can be destroyed including the wallet file? What are the differences between these modes?
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
1493012925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493012925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493012925
Reply with quote  #2

1493012925
Report to moderator
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:03:24 PM
 #1262

Is there a link to info about the difference between the default setting and the "persistant" setting? I heard that if I don't use persistant, that data can be destroyed including the wallet file? What are the differences between these modes?

The default or "live" boot will NOT save any data.  It's like booting a live cd of linux. The "persistant" boot will save data just like a hard drive.




Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 11:14:07 AM
 #1263

Have you tried this.. EDIT: made a quick correction. It appers the wiki is wrong Sad I will update as soon as possible.

Code:
ssh -X user@<yourip>
password: live
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all


Thanks!!! Now it works!!!

Code:
user@linuxcoin:~$ sudo su
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
xauth:  file /root/.Xauthority does not exist
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# export DISPLAY=:0
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    98%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# atitweak -l
0. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.0)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  800 - 6000 RPM
1. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.1)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  0 - 6000 RPM

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 11:54:31 AM
 #1264

Have you tried this.. EDIT: made a quick correction. It appers the wiki is wrong Sad I will update as soon as possible.

Code:
ssh -X user@<yourip>
password: live
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all


Thanks!!! Now it works!!!

Code:
user@linuxcoin:~$ sudo su
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
xauth:  file /root/.Xauthority does not exist
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# export DISPLAY=:0
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    98%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# atitweak -l
0. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.0)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  800 - 6000 RPM
1. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.1)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  0 - 6000 RPM

No problemo Wink Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki

We could see another release real soon Wink Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ? Cheesy 2G of persistence space packed into 600MB of data ?
zargon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:17:18 PM
 #1265

You will have to send me some more information about your system and how you have things setup for me to diagnose ?

its a biostar p4m89-m7 with a c2d e6600
VIA P4M890
VIA VT8237R+chipsets
 2x1gb sticks of ram

lam is realtek rtl8201CL


and a XFX reference 6950 2gb

running off a 4gb USB key
[/quote]

I am sorry but you will have to remind me of the full situation ?

[/quote]

machine locks up about every 8-12 hours
hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:39:38 PM
 #1266

We could see another release real soon Wink Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ? Cheesy 2G of persistence space packed into 600MB of data ?

eh, DOUBLE-SPACE didn't work out so well for DOS! personally, the space of the persistence partition is of little concern, i am more interested in performance of my miner at full load.

I have successfully updated my fglrx, which first required uninstalling all the packages, then re-installing to properly apply (and several 'apt-get -f install' fixes). at full load, the entire system is definitely bogged down, more so than any previous version, with the upside of better performance which is acceptable, but makes it difficult to do anything else.

output from: dpkg -l fglrx*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name                       Version                    Description
+++-==========================-==========================-====================================================================
un  fglrx-amdcccle             <none>                     (no description available)
ii  fglrx-atieventsd           1:11-7-4                   external events daemon for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display dri
ii  fglrx-control              1:11-7-4                   control panel for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
un  fglrx-control-qt2          <none>                     (no description available)
un  fglrx-control-qt3          <none>                     (no description available)
ii  fglrx-driver               1:11-7-4                   non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
ii  fglrx-glx                  1:11-7-4                   proprietary libGL for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
ii  fglrx-glx-ia32             1:11-7-4                   proprietary libGL for the non-free ATI/AMD display driver (ia32 libs
ii  fglrx-modules-dkms         1:11-7-4                   dkms module source for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver

even the PXE ideas you've had are interesting, but i've returned to creating one single persistence partiton (~2.25gb) on a 4gb USB cruzer and copying that to another USB for another machine. I have modified your PXE scripts slightly to accommodate my specific needs, focusing on making sure they include my management network adapter, and more options in the PXE boot menu.

Still, i have to say using 11-7-4 introduces more complications after X11 loads, 80% of the time it works fine, the other 20% is a crapshoot. prior to 11-7-4 i had no issues booting at all. however, using 11-7-4 my MH/s is slightly better, which is reason enough to tolerate it.

personally, i feel the distribution should return to its roots.... as in focus on mining, and mining well! the additional security is a welcomed event, but I would like an unsecured kernel option, as i feel these items (PAX,selinux) impede performance/administration even so slightly. I am not storing a wallet, these are pooled miners working in an obscure network behind several layers of NAT with little access to anything other than my pool login/pass. i understand the need here, but would like a simple way to dumb that down, a multi-kernel choice, and a slick PXE boot menu allowing for the choice would be my direction.

keep up the good work Dr.Green!
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 12:42:01 PM
 #1267

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ?

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:58:43 PM
 #1268

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

I don't know how to show you, but i commented my solution a few messages back.

Currently the installer fails when you begin the grub install, this required me  booting off a ubuntu disk, mounting the hard drive image of the linuxcoin install, and installing grub from within ubuntu. then when i booted the HD, i had to manually boot linuxcoin (using the directions i posted), once the HD install booted, i had to modify the PAX security flags for 3 of the the grub tools, allowing me to properly run update-grub to complete the install.

Its not extremely complicated, but it is complicated by the PAX/selinux which is why I am requesting an option to include an unsecured kernel, or possibly just a path to remove it ourselves.

hope that helps...

btw: not using persistence on a rw hard drive (the rw is read-write and we don't need to deal with persistence), persistent is only required on a non-writable file system, such as a live-cd.iso
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:03:17 PM
 #1269

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ?

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install zenity

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

I don't know how to show you, but i commented my solution a few messages back.

Currently the installer fails when you begin the grub install, this required me  booting off a ubuntu disk, mounting the hard drive image of the linuxcoin install, and installing grub from within ubuntu. then when i booted the HD, i had to manually boot linuxcoin (using the directions i posted), once the HD install booted, i had to modify the PAX security flags for 3 of the the grub tools, allowing me to properly run update-grub to complete the install.

Its not extremely complicated, but it is complicated by the PAX/selinux which is why I am requesting an option to include an unsecured kernel, or possibly just a path to remove it ourselves.

hope that helps...

btw: not using persistence on a rw hard drive (the rw is read-write and we don't need to deal with persistence), persistent is only required on a non-writable file system, such as a live-cd.iso

You can just install the standard debian kernel if you like ? I have got to admit i haven't handled the kernel options well. Work in progress Wink
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 01:37:41 PM
 #1270

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Ups, I missed that! The HDD install worked perfectly now when I did the following with the final version:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Then System Tools => LinuxCoin Installer and wait ...  Smiley

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Did you miss this questions drgr33n?

hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:59:34 PM
 #1271

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Ups, I missed that! The HDD install worked perfectly now when I did the following with the final version:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Then System Tools => LinuxCoin Installer and wait ...  Smiley

wow, thats easier than my method! i will try this tonight on a new VM install, thanks guys!

I will try to sort thru my PXE changes too and post the significant differences.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 02:48:28 PM
 #1272

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 03:18:00 PM
 #1273

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Yup Wink
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:02:47 PM
 #1274

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Yup Wink

Receiving when I try to startup.
Code:
GRUB loading.
Welcome to GRUB!

error: symbol not found: 'grub_divmod64_full'
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>
skidz7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:12:45 PM
 #1275

I tried several times to install this on a 4GB Memory Stick.  Installs fine, I get the bootup menu, but then when it starts up my monitor says it can't display the resolution.  It's an old dell with a 1280x1024 max resolution.

I've read through this thread but so far haven't found any solution to this issue.

Other info:

Radeon 6870
ECS 945GCD-M(1.0) Intel Atom 330 Intel 945GC Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo
1GB Ram

I saw that someone else in this thread ran into that issue, any progress?  I can get in via SSH fine, just can't get into the gui.
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 08:52:19 PM
 #1276

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 03:35:05 AM
 #1277

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

Just a note from my experience with headless remote linuxcoin mining...don't use VNC.  I would much rather use a GUI than command line, but it just isn't efficient on a remote mining rig.  You will be losing time and hashing.  Other than accepting the license agreement, everything you need to do can be done through ssh with command line.  Efficient remote administration is one of the big advantages of linux.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 11:46:14 AM
 #1278

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

Just a note from my experience with headless remote linuxcoin mining...don't use VNC.  I would much rather use a GUI than command line, but it just isn't efficient on a remote mining rig.  You will be losing time and hashing.  Other than accepting the license agreement, everything you need to do can be done through ssh with command line.  Efficient remote administration is one of the big advantages of linux.
Good advice I'm sure. However, this linux ignoramous would need someone to do a SSH wiki of equal depth as gopher's VNC explanation or, alas, I could never make it happen.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:59:24 PM
 #1279

Which GPU driver is included in the final?

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 04:26:09 PM
 #1280

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Yup Wink

Receiving when I try to startup.
Code:
GRUB loading.
Welcome to GRUB!

error: symbol not found: 'grub_divmod64_full'
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>

Any word on this drgr33n?

Thanks.
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!