Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 02:51:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271896 times)
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 01:49:36 PM
 #1261

Hey guys !! Big progress with the PXE mining scripts !! LinuxCoin has been patched up to accept nfscow persistence !! Which means i can use a hook in dhcpd to run a script before the IP has been issued and setup persistence for each machine Cheesy I'm going to call this feature PnP cluster mining Cheesy

This means that if you have bought a new mining node all you have to do is plug it in and turn it on and it linuxcoin will boot it, setup persistence, add the node to munin etc, setup some swap space for suspend / resume (Probably use this for suspending & resuming if the cards get to hot etc ?) start mining. More on this to come Wink

Noob here - when running linuxcoin, how do I install a software like TrueCrypt?

Using apt-get ... ie;
Code:
apt-get update;apt-get install truecrypt
Or use the synaptic package manager included in the system menu.

well when stuf like the conection problem with the bitminer on all of the the pools I tryed is fixed I might look at it again,
Where is the install to hard drive? I rather not run from usb sticks if I have tons and tons of hard drives I can use as I have only two usb sticks
Why are there features like mp3 players and stuff included? if its a miner it needs to be close to bear bones,  My xp install may be big but for windows xp its quite about a gig or two
Im sorry but I think the fancey tesktops and stuff can be taken out to safe space and bandwith

the over clocking porgram fails to work.
The miner once again fails to work to mine and ive tested with all three of my miners, and they are all range of ages. (4 year old 5 year old 4week old)
all have ati cards I said yes to the amd licence crap,

see windows works easer for this, if I want my wallet safe then I put it in a tc file. tis not that hard

now if there is a v0.3 or even .4 then I will try it again but it needs the bugs worked out,

and whats the root password?
Dr.Green: can we get a rundown on what linuxcoin-patches-xxXX11 are suggested to apply to the -final build

Sure there's only two Cheesy I'll edit this post when i reboot back into my slackware box.

I love it how im not even trying to troll and you guys think that,
got to love that.

OKay first problem

guiminer in linux will not give me a read out on how many mhash my system is working,
just says coneting but I know it is because it gets shares. whats wrong?

This is a bug with GUIminer and not linuxcoin. Just create a new phoenix miner and everything will work.

Thanks Math Man. I'm basically just trying to encrypt my wallet.dat, so I can email it to myself and make backups.

I'm also having difficulty because this is installed on a 4gb usb drive, and it seems to be partitioned so that the amount of space available for the block chain is too small. Only like 50mb are left now =/  I'm assuming I can't reallocate size without reformatting?

My god how big is your blockchain ? Are you sure you've got the right persistent size ?

I have a similar situation, where I have to run the first GPU on my first 5970 at a lower aggression.  Otherwise the other 5 GPUs suffer.  It's not anything to do with the CPU, as the CPU has 2-3% utilization.  Maybe it's the drivers or SDK.  

Does WORKSIZE=128 increase your hash rate at all?  Also, try the first GPU aggression at 9 or 10.  One of my rigs likes the first GPU at 9, while the other one likes it at 10.

This is normal behavior, you just need to find the happy medium for your system. It's all about tinkering with your settings until your system runs smoothly.

've tried phoenix and poclbm

right out of the box and stock the 3 cards are doing 260mhps with BFI_INT VECTORS WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=12
If i set the first card to those flags it cranks the cpu to 100%.  This ends up reducing the performance of the other workers.
So I set the aggression down to 8 on the first card but now I can only get 150MHPS!!  What gives?
Currently I have to run the first card at 150mphs while the other 3 are running 260 completely stock.

I've tried all different flags, both kernels and the only way these cards do anything decent is with aggression=12
how can I run my primary card at aggression=12 without lagging the cpu?
I would love some advice on the issue, it may even be worth a tip, who knows.....

I will be sending a donation for the efforts put into linuxcoin, anyway.  Truely a great build.  Needs a little fine tuning/documentation but can get anyone who HAS A CLUE up and running in minutes.

Other than that this is my 2nd linuxcoin rig.  first one is 4x 5830's.  Worked flawlessy in minutes (maybe an hour)
whoever says getting linuxcoin to run is hard, obviously is not even familiar enough with windows, so probably should dodge linux altogether.....
that is coming from an avid windows users and a linux novice.  what parts are you guys having so much trouble with.  An easy windows tool to delete the partition and make a small first partition is EASEUS Partition Manager.  It is completely free for home use.  GPARTED is also another great program, just boot from the disc and make your two partitions.

Have you managed to update the catalyst to 11.7 ? Can you post the output of

Code:
dpkg -l fglrx*



You will have to send me some more information about your system and how you have things setup for me to diagnose ?

its a biostar p4m89-m7 with a c2d e6600
VIA P4M890
VIA VT8237R+chipsets
 2x1gb sticks of ram

lam is realtek rtl8201CL


and a XFX reference 6950 2gb

running off a 4gb USB key

I am sorry but you will have to remind me of the full situation ?

Sorry guy's been working real hard on some new projects and had some real life to take care of. I will be back in the land of the living tomorrow and will answer all your questions then.

Any chance we are going to see the new release this week? With CCC 11.7?

1.0-alpha will include 11.7 because of the SDK update it's a requirement. I'm hoping for a 11.9 release that fixes this CPU bug. It shouldn't affect mining performance.

@ drgr33n

Do you know why I can't use aticonfig with LinuxCoin coming from outside via SSH?

Code:
# DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --lsa
No protocol specified
* 0. 08:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  1. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990

* - Default adapter

# DISPLAY=:0 aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
No protocol specified
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands

See also my post # 78 on https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25750.0;all

Have you tried this.. EDIT: made a quick correction. It appers the wiki is wrong Sad I will update as soon as possible.

Code:
ssh -X user@<yourip>
password: live
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481381510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381510
Reply with quote  #2

1481381510
Report to moderator
1481381510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381510
Reply with quote  #2

1481381510
Report to moderator
1481381510
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381510

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381510
Reply with quote  #2

1481381510
Report to moderator
evoorhees
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Democracy is the original 51% attack


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:11:56 PM
 #1262

Is there a link to info about the difference between the default setting and the "persistant" setting? I heard that if I don't use persistant, that data can be destroyed including the wallet file? What are the differences between these modes?
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 07:03:24 PM
 #1263

Is there a link to info about the difference between the default setting and the "persistant" setting? I heard that if I don't use persistant, that data can be destroyed including the wallet file? What are the differences between these modes?

The default or "live" boot will NOT save any data.  It's like booting a live cd of linux. The "persistant" boot will save data just like a hard drive.




Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 11:14:07 AM
 #1264

Have you tried this.. EDIT: made a quick correction. It appers the wiki is wrong Sad I will update as soon as possible.

Code:
ssh -X user@<yourip>
password: live
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all


Thanks!!! Now it works!!!

Code:
user@linuxcoin:~$ sudo su
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
xauth:  file /root/.Xauthority does not exist
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# export DISPLAY=:0
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    98%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# atitweak -l
0. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.0)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  800 - 6000 RPM
1. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.1)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  0 - 6000 RPM

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 11:54:31 AM
 #1265

Have you tried this.. EDIT: made a quick correction. It appers the wiki is wrong Sad I will update as soon as possible.

Code:
ssh -X user@<yourip>
password: live
sudo su
chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
export DISPLAY=:0
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all


Thanks!!! Now it works!!!

Code:
user@linuxcoin:~$ sudo su
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# chmod uog+rw /dev/ati/card*
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# xauth merge /home/user/.Xauthority
xauth:  file /root/.Xauthority does not exist
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# export DISPLAY=:0
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    98%

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6990
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    970           845
             Current Peak :    970           845
  Configurable Peak Range : [500-1200]     [500-1500]
                 GPU load :    99%
root@linuxcoin:/home/user# atitweak -l
0. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.0)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  800 - 6000 RPM
1. AMD Radeon HD 6990 (:0.1)
    engine clock range is 125 - 1200MHz
    memory clock range is 75 - 1500MHz
    core voltage range is 0.9 - 1.175VDC
    performance level 0: engine clock 250MHz, memory clock 150MHz, core voltage 0.9VDC
    performance level 1: engine clock 500MHz, memory clock 500MHz, core voltage 1VDC
    performance level 2: engine clock 970MHz, memory clock 845MHz, core voltage 1.175VDC
    fan speed range: 0 - 100%,  0 - 6000 RPM

No problemo Wink Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki

We could see another release real soon Wink Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ? Cheesy 2G of persistence space packed into 600MB of data ?
zargon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:17:18 PM
 #1266

You will have to send me some more information about your system and how you have things setup for me to diagnose ?

its a biostar p4m89-m7 with a c2d e6600
VIA P4M890
VIA VT8237R+chipsets
 2x1gb sticks of ram

lam is realtek rtl8201CL


and a XFX reference 6950 2gb

running off a 4gb USB key
[/quote]

I am sorry but you will have to remind me of the full situation ?

[/quote]

machine locks up about every 8-12 hours
hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:39:38 PM
 #1267

We could see another release real soon Wink Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ? Cheesy 2G of persistence space packed into 600MB of data ?

eh, DOUBLE-SPACE didn't work out so well for DOS! personally, the space of the persistence partition is of little concern, i am more interested in performance of my miner at full load.

I have successfully updated my fglrx, which first required uninstalling all the packages, then re-installing to properly apply (and several 'apt-get -f install' fixes). at full load, the entire system is definitely bogged down, more so than any previous version, with the upside of better performance which is acceptable, but makes it difficult to do anything else.

output from: dpkg -l fglrx*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name                       Version                    Description
+++-==========================-==========================-====================================================================
un  fglrx-amdcccle             <none>                     (no description available)
ii  fglrx-atieventsd           1:11-7-4                   external events daemon for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display dri
ii  fglrx-control              1:11-7-4                   control panel for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
un  fglrx-control-qt2          <none>                     (no description available)
un  fglrx-control-qt3          <none>                     (no description available)
ii  fglrx-driver               1:11-7-4                   non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
ii  fglrx-glx                  1:11-7-4                   proprietary libGL for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver
ii  fglrx-glx-ia32             1:11-7-4                   proprietary libGL for the non-free ATI/AMD display driver (ia32 libs
ii  fglrx-modules-dkms         1:11-7-4                   dkms module source for the non-free ATI/AMD RadeonHD display driver

even the PXE ideas you've had are interesting, but i've returned to creating one single persistence partiton (~2.25gb) on a 4gb USB cruzer and copying that to another USB for another machine. I have modified your PXE scripts slightly to accommodate my specific needs, focusing on making sure they include my management network adapter, and more options in the PXE boot menu.

Still, i have to say using 11-7-4 introduces more complications after X11 loads, 80% of the time it works fine, the other 20% is a crapshoot. prior to 11-7-4 i had no issues booting at all. however, using 11-7-4 my MH/s is slightly better, which is reason enough to tolerate it.

personally, i feel the distribution should return to its roots.... as in focus on mining, and mining well! the additional security is a welcomed event, but I would like an unsecured kernel option, as i feel these items (PAX,selinux) impede performance/administration even so slightly. I am not storing a wallet, these are pooled miners working in an obscure network behind several layers of NAT with little access to anything other than my pool login/pass. i understand the need here, but would like a simple way to dumb that down, a multi-kernel choice, and a slick PXE boot menu allowing for the choice would be my direction.

keep up the good work Dr.Green!
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 12:42:01 PM
 #1268

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ?

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 12:58:43 PM
 #1269

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

I don't know how to show you, but i commented my solution a few messages back.

Currently the installer fails when you begin the grub install, this required me  booting off a ubuntu disk, mounting the hard drive image of the linuxcoin install, and installing grub from within ubuntu. then when i booted the HD, i had to manually boot linuxcoin (using the directions i posted), once the HD install booted, i had to modify the PAX security flags for 3 of the the grub tools, allowing me to properly run update-grub to complete the install.

Its not extremely complicated, but it is complicated by the PAX/selinux which is why I am requesting an option to include an unsecured kernel, or possibly just a path to remove it ourselves.

hope that helps...

btw: not using persistence on a rw hard drive (the rw is read-write and we don't need to deal with persistence), persistent is only required on a non-writable file system, such as a live-cd.iso
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:03:17 PM
 #1270

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Working on quite a few things atm but who like the sound of compressed persistence ?

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install zenity

I would like to see a working persistent HDD install  Wink

I don't know how to show you, but i commented my solution a few messages back.

Currently the installer fails when you begin the grub install, this required me  booting off a ubuntu disk, mounting the hard drive image of the linuxcoin install, and installing grub from within ubuntu. then when i booted the HD, i had to manually boot linuxcoin (using the directions i posted), once the HD install booted, i had to modify the PAX security flags for 3 of the the grub tools, allowing me to properly run update-grub to complete the install.

Its not extremely complicated, but it is complicated by the PAX/selinux which is why I am requesting an option to include an unsecured kernel, or possibly just a path to remove it ourselves.

hope that helps...

btw: not using persistence on a rw hard drive (the rw is read-write and we don't need to deal with persistence), persistent is only required on a non-writable file system, such as a live-cd.iso

You can just install the standard debian kernel if you like ? I have got to admit i haven't handled the kernel options well. Work in progress Wink
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 01:37:41 PM
 #1271

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Ups, I missed that! The HDD install worked perfectly now when I did the following with the final version:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Then System Tools => LinuxCoin Installer and wait ...  Smiley

Remember guys if you know something people might want to add it to the wiki
I can't find a "wishlist" there! Where do you want us to add things?

Would be nice if you add something like how to change keyboard configuration to non US-keyboard here: http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Category:Setup   Wink

Did you miss this questions drgr33n?

hack6500
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 01:59:34 PM
 #1272

The installer works if you update zenity Cheesy I said this already !!

Ups, I missed that! The HDD install worked perfectly now when I did the following with the final version:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Then System Tools => LinuxCoin Installer and wait ...  Smiley

wow, thats easier than my method! i will try this tonight on a new VM install, thanks guys!

I will try to sort thru my PXE changes too and post the significant differences.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 02:48:28 PM
 #1273

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 03:18:00 PM
 #1274

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Yup Wink
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:02:47 PM
 #1275

So these commands below will install the hdd install without a problem? And the hdd install will work without problems?

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer
apt-get install zenity
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-110811

Yup Wink

Receiving when I try to startup.
Code:
GRUB loading.
Welcome to GRUB!

error: symbol not found: 'grub_divmod64_full'
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>
skidz7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:12:45 PM
 #1276

I tried several times to install this on a 4GB Memory Stick.  Installs fine, I get the bootup menu, but then when it starts up my monitor says it can't display the resolution.  It's an old dell with a 1280x1024 max resolution.

I've read through this thread but so far haven't found any solution to this issue.

Other info:

Radeon 6870
ECS 945GCD-M(1.0) Intel Atom 330 Intel 945GC Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo
1GB Ram

I saw that someone else in this thread ran into that issue, any progress?  I can get in via SSH fine, just can't get into the gui.
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 08:52:19 PM
 #1277

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 18, 2011, 03:35:05 AM
 #1278

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

Just a note from my experience with headless remote linuxcoin mining...don't use VNC.  I would much rather use a GUI than command line, but it just isn't efficient on a remote mining rig.  You will be losing time and hashing.  Other than accepting the license agreement, everything you need to do can be done through ssh with command line.  Efficient remote administration is one of the big advantages of linux.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 11:46:14 AM
 #1279

If I follow the linuxcoin wiki procedures to

1. SSH X11forwarding, then
2. SettingupVNCremotely

will that allow me to reboot and manually start mining with a headless miner rig on my local network?

Ah, never mind. I see gopher has posted a most excellent wiki for creating a headless miner.

Just a note from my experience with headless remote linuxcoin mining...don't use VNC.  I would much rather use a GUI than command line, but it just isn't efficient on a remote mining rig.  You will be losing time and hashing.  Other than accepting the license agreement, everything you need to do can be done through ssh with command line.  Efficient remote administration is one of the big advantages of linux.
Good advice I'm sure. However, this linux ignoramous would need someone to do a SSH wiki of equal depth as gopher's VNC explanation or, alas, I could never make it happen.

If this post tickles your fancy or helped you make more bitcoin I'll gladly take a tip:
17DWhv9f5TkRDL6kyA45qiG34d4v1QiwqE
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
August 18, 2011, 02:59:24 PM
 #1280

Which GPU driver is included in the final?

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
Pages: « 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 [64] 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!