Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:06:35 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271435 times)
bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:04:49 AM
 #1221

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

It's in the first post

user=user

pw=live

I think, best for you to go check.

I tried using live as the password and it doesnt work. I also tried logging out and back in as user with password live but it doesnt work. So please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Sarcasm? You'll know it when I post it. Last time I try to help you. Enjoy.
Last time? that was the first time and you didnt even help

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
1481054795
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054795

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054795
Reply with quote  #2

1481054795
Report to moderator
1481054795
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054795

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054795
Reply with quote  #2

1481054795
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054795
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054795

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054795
Reply with quote  #2

1481054795
Report to moderator
1481054795
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054795

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054795
Reply with quote  #2

1481054795
Report to moderator
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:08:46 AM
 #1222

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

It's in the first post

user=user

pw=live

I think, best for you to go check.

I tried using live as the password and it doesnt work. I also tried logging out and back in as user with password live but it doesnt work. So please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Sarcasm? You'll know it when I post it. Last time I try to help you. Enjoy.
Last time? that was the first time and you didnt even help

Comon guys if you want to argue amongst yourselves then do it through PM. I have enough crap to sift though on this post without you adding more.
bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:30:41 AM
 #1223


Comon guys if you want to argue amongst yourselves then do it through PM. I have enough crap to sift though on this post without you adding more.
So do you know why even though i can login with the password user/live it wont let me change basic settings like internet or looking at the file system.

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:37:02 AM
 #1224


Comon guys if you want to argue amongst yourselves then do it through PM. I have enough crap to sift though on this post without you adding more.
So do you know why even though i can login with the password user/live it wont let me change basic settings like internet or looking at the file system.

I already said You must of saved a keyring password ? To reset

Code:
sudo killall gnome-keyring-daemon
sudo rm -r ~/.gnome2/keyrings

And reboot. When you are asked to save a keyring password again jot it down Wink
bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:45:58 AM
 #1225


I already said You must of saved a keyring password ? To reset

Code:
sudo killall gnome-keyring-daemon
sudo rm -r ~/.gnome2/keyrings

And reboot. When you are asked to save a keyring password again jot it down Wink

sorry didnt see it in that post.
tried that but gave me no such file or directory, restarted anyways still prompts me for unknown password.

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:22:24 PM
 #1226

Grub has not been installed ?
Looks like the same problem as before using your video guide.

Just checking but you did install with an internet connection right ?
Right, the PC is connected to the internet, I used the final iso plus apt-get updates and installs.

PS: I will go to bed now. In five hours I have to get up for work ...

Got to the bottom of this. It appears that zenity need to be updated for the installer to work.

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install zenity


I already said You must of saved a keyring password ? To reset

Code:
sudo killall gnome-keyring-daemon
sudo rm -r ~/.gnome2/keyrings

And reboot. When you are asked to save a keyring password again jot it down Wink

sorry didnt see it in that post.
tried that but gave me no such file or directory, restarted anyways still prompts me for unknown password.

You could try

Code:
apt-get purge gnome-keyring
apt-get install gnome-keyring
oyster2000
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 11:56:26 PM
 #1227

ver 0.2-final keeps freezing up and giving me kernel panics .......... might go back to a earlier version, and btw with the AMD licence having to be found and accepted on every boot, doesnt help much for autostart automine rigs

oyster2000
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 03:00:29 AM
 #1228

0.2a is working sweet running 6 cards now on stock clocks, looks more stable for now, must be the damn intel chipset

zargon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 01:30:14 PM
 #1229

I got a .2b machine up yesterday but its locked up twice now hard.  its a machine room at an office so I cant always get to it to restart it......

6950 running phoenix

the display is just locked up when I go look at it Sad

its been years since i used linux much(went to MS admin job for work), where shouldI be looking for answers in logs?
zargon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 03:38:35 PM
 #1230

0.2a is working sweet running 6 cards now on stock clocks, looks more stable for now, must be the damn intel chipset

hmmm
TeaRex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 10:29:52 PM
 #1231

Unetbootin link in first post is dead yet again. Maybe link to parent directory? There's only one file in it after all...

*Image Removed*
I'm not asking for donations, but if you think YOUR post is deserving a donation FROM me, send me a message.
BitVapes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


BitVapes.com


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 10:14:45 AM
 #1232

just dropping in to say I think a bitcoin-centric linux distribution is great and it looks like you've done a great job with this one.  My only pet peve is that its named LinuxCoin, which to me indicates its a new blockchain/fork of bitcoin that is somehow linux-related.   CoinLinux would the more logical distro name choice imo, which to me indicates a linux distribution that is bitcoin/namecoin/ixcoin/*coin centric


'types of coins'
[descriptor][noun]
[bit][coin]
[name][coin]
[ix][coin]
[linux][coin]

'types of linux'
[descriptor][noun]
[redhat][linux]
[damnsmall][linux]
[debian][linux]
[coin][linux]


suppose I wanted to start a new bitcoin fork with the goal of distributing the linux kernel code in a p2p fashion that governments can't shut down, if they wanted to for example force all companies to use microsoft products instead of free software to "boost the economy" and made linux illegal.  So I made a way to distribute it via a bitcoin-like blockchain and make sure miners verify the code or vote for new changes to the code somehow, I'd want to call it linuxcoin to fit with all the rest of the *coins.   I guess I'd have to call it GNU/linuxcoin

Buy Electronic Cigarettes with Bitcoin @ http://bitvapes.com
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 11:06:41 AM
 #1233

Ive created a HOWTO to use the modified unetbootin version of drgr33n to create a LinuxCoin bootable USB from windows: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36663.0

drgr33n I have also taken the liberty to edit your first post to correct the link to the modified unetbootin.

EDIT: Also, LinuxCoin only boots in computer with ATI/AMD graphic cards. I know it has to have the propietary AMD drivers to be able to mine, and I understand that having two versions is trouble and work. Its not ideal.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:13:55 PM
 #1234

Ive created a HOWTO to use the modified unetbootin version of drgr33n to create a LinuxCoin bootable USB from windows: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=36663.0

drgr33n I have also taken the liberty to edit your first post to correct the link to the modified unetbootin.

EDIT: Also, LinuxCoin only boots in computer with ATI/AMD graphic cards. I know it has to have the propietary AMD drivers to be able to mine, and I understand that having two versions is trouble and work. Its not ideal.

LinuxCoin boot's onto any computer ? I've tested with Intel / nvidia and amd cards ?
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:20:42 PM
 #1235

Is it so that everytime I change the graphics card, I have to reinstall the linuxcoin using unetbootin?

I just replaced one of my 5870s with a 5970,  lspci showed the card, but aticonfig can not get the clock/temp of the 2 added gpus...

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:24:48 PM
 #1236

Is it so that everytime I change the graphics card, I have to reinstall the linuxcoin using unetbootin?

I just replaced one of my 5870s with a 5970,  lspci showed the card, but aticonfig can not get the clock/temp of the 2 added gpus...

It because you have to refresh your config Cheesy You don't have to reinstall.

Code:
sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf

And reboot. LinuxCoin will regenerate the configuration file and your good to go. I think I'm going to release a bugfix now to fix this.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:27:39 PM
 #1237

just dropping in to say I think a bitcoin-centric linux distribution is great and it looks like you've done a great job with this one.  My only pet peve is that its named LinuxCoin, which to me indicates its a new blockchain/fork of bitcoin that is somehow linux-related.   CoinLinux would the more logical distro name choice imo, which to me indicates a linux distribution that is bitcoin/namecoin/ixcoin/*coin centric


'types of coins'
[descriptor][noun]
[bit][coin]
[name][coin]
[ix][coin]
[linux][coin]

'types of linux'
[descriptor][noun]
[redhat][linux]
[damnsmall][linux]
[debian][linux]
[coin][linux]

suppose I wanted to start a new bitcoin fork with the goal of distributing the linux kernel code in a p2p fashion that governments can't shut down, if they wanted to for example force all companies to use microsoft products instead of free software to "boost the economy" and made linux illegal.  So I made a way to distribute it via a bitcoin-like blockchain and make sure miners verify the code or vote for new changes to the code somehow, I'd want to call it linuxcoin to fit with all the rest of the *coins.   I guess I'd have to call it GNU/linuxcoin

You do have a point about the name, I was going to change but I didn't in the end. Maybe I will call the next version something else. There's a lot of work going on in the background atm and some big changes for things to come Wink
zargon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:41:21 PM
 #1238



You do have a point about the name, I was going to change but I didn't in the end. Maybe I will call the next version something else. There's a lot of work going on in the background atm and some big changes for things to come Wink

any chance I can get .2a, or some thoughts on why my .2b keeps locking up every 6-8 hours requiring a reboot?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:44:24 PM
 #1239



You do have a point about the name, I was going to change but I didn't in the end. Maybe I will call the next version something else. There's a lot of work going on in the background atm and some big changes for things to come Wink

any chance I can get .2a, or some thoughts on why my .2b keeps locking up every 6-8 hours requiring a reboot?

You will have to send me some more information about your system and how you have things setup for me to diagnose ?
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 12, 2011, 12:54:48 PM
 #1240

LinuxCoin boot's onto any computer ? I've tested with Intel / nvidia and amd cards ?

Well, LinuxCoin booted in a computer I have with a ATI card but it didnt with some Xorg problems in another computer I have with Nvidia card, so I supposed that because of the AMD propietary drivers it was AMD graphic cards only.

Glad to know it can boot in any system. Going to correct the HOWTO.

I will try in my Nvidia computer again. Any logs I should check when/if it fails?
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!