Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 11:58:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 282889 times)
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:22:03 PM
 #1201

Just FYI, the UNetBootin download in the first post doesn't work at the moment - server gives a 404.
http://linuxcoin.co.uk/downloads/unetbootin/unetbootin-windows-555.exe

1511438310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511438310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511438310
Reply with quote  #2

1511438310
Report to moderator
1511438310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511438310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511438310
Reply with quote  #2

1511438310
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 02:45:18 PM
 #1202

You guy's ready for 1.0-alpha ? Cheesy Auto secure memory wiping even if you don't shut down and just pull out the media ? irqbalancing ? TCP/IP load balancing for clusters ? Using LinuxCoin as an VPS to store coins ? Stand by for more info lol

Just FYI, the UNetBootin download in the first post doesn't work at the moment - server gives a 404.

Sorry I'll refresh the link.
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 05:16:46 PM
 #1203

I should be rolling out the HDD installer with a nice QT interface over the weekend Wink

How far did you come?

mameise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 561


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 06:44:22 PM
 #1204

Hi,

very nice one! I am using it some days now and its great. Actually i only use it as a safe wallet, but maybe i will give it a try on my mining rig when i have the time.

I would have some questions.

I was able to change the clock for my timezone. But how can i change the keyboard to german layout? And i also tried to use tor, but when i but it on in browser it says that proxy test was not succesful and i cannot browse any site... what am i making wrong?

thanks and regards
happy LinuxCoin User Smiley

You might have to restart the services

Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/tor restart



Hi,

tried it, but doesnt work... i get following error

root@linuxcoin:/home/user# sudo /etc/init.d/tor restart
ABORTED: Tor configuration invalid:
Aug 08 20:39:12.616 [notice] Tor v0.2.1.30. This is experimental software. Do not rely on it for strong anonymity. (Running on Linux x86_64)
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [warn] Error setting configured user: debian-tor not found
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [warn] Failed to parse/validate config: Problem with User value. See logs for details.
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [err] Reading config failed--see warnings above.
root@linuxcoin:/home/user#

So whats wrong

Sorry for missing signs, but its hard to find on en keyboard....
changing to german keyboard would help a lot.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:27:44 AM
 #1205

Installer is now live !! Still very experimental so expect bugs Cheesy

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer

Hi,

very nice one! I am using it some days now and its great. Actually i only use it as a safe wallet, but maybe i will give it a try on my mining rig when i have the time.

I would have some questions.

I was able to change the clock for my timezone. But how can i change the keyboard to german layout? And i also tried to use tor, but when i but it on in browser it says that proxy test was not succesful and i cannot browse any site... what am i making wrong?

thanks and regards
happy LinuxCoin User Smiley

You might have to restart the services

Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/tor restart



Hi,

tried it, but doesnt work... i get following error

root@linuxcoin:/home/user# sudo /etc/init.d/tor restart
ABORTED: Tor configuration invalid:
Aug 08 20:39:12.616 [notice] Tor v0.2.1.30. This is experimental software. Do not rely on it for strong anonymity. (Running on Linux x86_64)
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [warn] Error setting configured user: debian-tor not found
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [warn] Failed to parse/validate config: Problem with User value. See logs for details.
Aug 08 20:39:12.619 [err] Reading config failed--see warnings above.
root@linuxcoin:/home/user#

So whats wrong

Sorry for missing signs, but its hard to find on en keyboard....
changing to german keyboard would help a lot.


Looks like a corrupt install ? can you try

Code:
dpkg-reconfigure tor
mikeo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 06:31:03 PM
 #1206

Quote
Patched version of UNetbootin for windows that has linuxcoin included in the drop down menu and will create a persistent USB install.

Downloaded this right after it was posted. Seemed to build a good v0.2-Final persistent flash drive and it booted into Linuxcoin just fine. However, persistence did not work.

I went back to the standard UNetbootin f/Windows and this is working great for me.
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 06:37:07 PM
 #1207

Sometime this week I'm going to be releasing linuxcoin-1.0. There have been some pretty major changes to the kernel etc so I'm afraid its another ISO. More changes to come but here are some of the initial changes made.

VPN support via network manager
OpenVPN startup sctipt for running a local VPS
gzip filesystem compression dropped for xz ISO is now under 700MB !!
AMD SDK 2.5
32 bit support !!


Quote
Patched version of UNetbootin for windows that has linuxcoin included in the drop down menu and will create a persistent USB install.

Downloaded this right after it was posted. Seemed to build a good v0.2-Final persistent flash drive and it booted into Linuxcoin just fine. However, persistence did not work.

I went back to the standard UNetbootin f/Windows and this is working great for me.

This is very strange persistence was working when I tested ? I will take it offline and see what I can do bud Wink
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 08:28:57 PM
 #1208

Installer is now live !! Still very experimental so expect bugs Cheesy

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer

The installer does ... nothing!?! It asks for the HDD to install linuxcoin to, I select HDD then sda (an unallocated Partition) and OK, then it asks me if I would like the program format this partition and I click Yes. Then the window closes. End, and nothing happened.

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 08:48:16 PM
 #1209

Installer is now live !! Still very experimental so expect bugs Cheesy

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-installer

The installer does ... nothing!?! It asks for the HDD to install linuxcoin to, I select HDD then sda (an unallocated Partition) and OK, then it asks me if I would like the program format this partition and I click Yes. Then the window closes. End, and nothing happened.

It's because you didn't choose a partition you chose your whole HDD lol you need to setup your partitions with gparted. The select a partition ie: sda1
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 09:24:39 PM
 #1210

It's because you didn't choose a partition you chose your whole HDD lol you need to setup your partitions with gparted. The select a partition ie: sda1
Thanks.
OK, now I get on reboot:

Code:
GRUB loading.
Welcome to GRUB!

error: file not found.
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue> _

Any idea?

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 09:44:56 PM
 #1211

It's because you didn't choose a partition you chose your whole HDD lol you need to setup your partitions with gparted. The select a partition ie: sda1
Thanks.
OK, now I get on reboot:

Code:
GRUB loading.
Welcome to GRUB!

error: file not found.
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue> _

Any idea?

bah sounds like it's not working for everyone. I'll take a look now. If you like and you have time can you mount your partition and check the grub cfg.

Code:
mkdir mount
mount /dev/sda1 mount
chroot mount
cd /boot/grub
ls | grep cfg
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 10:00:26 PM
 #1212

If you like and you have time can you mount your partition and check the grub cfg.

Code:
...
root@linuxcoin:/# cd /boot/grub
bash: cd: /boot/grub: No such file or directory
root@linuxcoin:/# ls boot/
config-2.6.39-3-amd64 System.map-2.6.39-3-amd64 initrd.img-2.6.39-3-amd64 vmlinuz-2.6.39-3-amd64

!?!

Can your program output a debug file?

STP
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:09:47 PM
 #1213

What Catalyst version will this release have? 11.6 or even 11.7?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:12:24 PM
 #1214

What Catalyst version will this release have? 11.6 or even 11.7?

11.7 & sdk 2.5 Its a shame about the cpu bug because I'm getting 325MH/s of my 5830 and 455MH/s of my 5870 with phoenix Sad Lets hope they fix this real soon !!


If you like and you have time can you mount your partition and check the grub cfg.

Code:
...
root@linuxcoin:/# cd /boot/grub
bash: cd: /boot/grub: No such file or directory
root@linuxcoin:/# ls boot/
config-2.6.39-3-amd64 System.map-2.6.39-3-amd64 initrd.img-2.6.39-3-amd64 vmlinuz-2.6.39-3-amd64

!?!

Grub has not been installed ? Just checking but you did install with an internet connection right ? If not grub will fail to install because it cannot be downloaded.
deti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 10:22:15 PM
 #1215

Grub has not been installed ?
Looks like the same problem as before using your video guide.

Just checking but you did install with an internet connection right ?
Right, the PC is connected to the internet, I used the final iso plus apt-get updates and installs.

PS: I will go to bed now. In five hours I have to get up for work ...

bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:35:19 AM
 #1216

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:43:31 AM
 #1217

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

It's in the first post

user=user

pw=live

I think, best for you to go check.

I tried using live as the password and it doesnt work. I also tried logging out and back in as user with password live but it doesnt work. So please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 02:56:09 AM
 #1218

Grub has not been installed ?
Looks like the same problem as before using your video guide.

Just checking but you did install with an internet connection right ?
Right, the PC is connected to the internet, I used the final iso plus apt-get updates and installs.

PS: I will go to bed now. In five hours I have to get up for work ...

I will take a look in the morning.

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

You must of saved a keyring password ? To reset

Code:
sudo killall gnome-keyring-daemon
sudo rm -r ~/.gnome2/keyrings

And reboot.

Just a head's up guys here's a little mock up of what I'm trying to get working with an easy setup. Most of you guys are running mining rigs at home ? Why not put them to good use Cheesy The openvpn server will be run from a chrooted jail or sandbox ? and then communicate with bitcoin via the daemon. Thoughts ?

bak3donh1gh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:04:49 AM
 #1219

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

It's in the first post

user=user

pw=live

I think, best for you to go check.

I tried using live as the password and it doesnt work. I also tried logging out and back in as user with password live but it doesnt work. So please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Sarcasm? You'll know it when I post it. Last time I try to help you. Enjoy.
Last time? that was the first time and you didnt even help

Sharecoin: SQapxnvnCZUkEUV6E9xwXXhsP6pHZEpVyX
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 10, 2011, 03:08:46 AM
 #1220

Guy im trying to change my Internet setting but its asking me to authenticate. I cant find a password anywhere.

It's in the first post

user=user

pw=live

I think, best for you to go check.

I tried using live as the password and it doesnt work. I also tried logging out and back in as user with password live but it doesnt work. So please take your sarcasm elsewhere.

Sarcasm? You'll know it when I post it. Last time I try to help you. Enjoy.
Last time? that was the first time and you didnt even help

Comon guys if you want to argue amongst yourselves then do it through PM. I have enough crap to sift though on this post without you adding more.
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!