Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:34:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: LinuxCoin A lightweight Debian based OS with everything ready to go.  (Read 271576 times)
Smalleyster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


I yam what I yam. - Popeye


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 02:11:31 AM
 #1121

Well I am extremely disapointed. The bitcoin client password tool does not work at all.

It does not matter what I pick, secured or unsecured I get the same wallet

In secured it does not matter what I type in or don't type as a password I see the same wallet

Feel like investing in a Miner?:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=30044.msg377773#msg377773
A soup to nuts newbee system for a secure, portable USB wallet (free instructions):
NoobHowTo: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27088.msg341387#msg341387
1481297666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297666
Reply with quote  #2

1481297666
Report to moderator
1481297666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297666
Reply with quote  #2

1481297666
Report to moderator
1481297666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297666
Reply with quote  #2

1481297666
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481297666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297666
Reply with quote  #2

1481297666
Report to moderator
1481297666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297666
Reply with quote  #2

1481297666
Report to moderator
sirky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 02:21:29 AM
 #1122

thank you for your new release...

Anyway I am sorry to tell you, that there are still the same errors than before:
If I try to login via SSH, it still is asking me for a usernam and a password. Simple pressing enter does not work...
Is there a password?


It talks about this on the first page.

Anyway it is:
user
live
Jessi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 02:24:11 AM
 #1123

thank you for your new release...

Anyway I am sorry to tell you, that there are still the same errors than before:
If I try to login via SSH, it still is asking me for a usernam and a password. Simple pressing enter does not work...
Is there a password?


It talks about this on the first page.

Anyway it is:
user
live

Oh. Thank you.   Embarrassed

www.Bitcoin-Tools.de - Price Alert & Calculator
A little tool to keep you informed or wake you up, if Mt.Gox reaches a defined price level and a calculator to convert  BTC or USD based on live Prices.
BTC: 1BQTankpeCZict849JRHxxYFnwZARV3YX7 | LTC: LecEsSJMYZK7wk493QvyNzA4BxHpXviAEA | PPC: PQdjfxTbjnXThwJ5bbEgJkc9GZcKpib9DM
Jessi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 02:47:52 AM
 #1124

I followed now this two tutorials, which where working for me:
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SSH_X11forwarding
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SettingupVNCremotely

But my initial question was another:
I do not want to start always over putty a remote session and I do not want to start remotely vnc.
My Question was, how to make vnc autostarting?
Is there no way to make it starting always after restart with the same settings like in the second tutorial?

www.Bitcoin-Tools.de - Price Alert & Calculator
A little tool to keep you informed or wake you up, if Mt.Gox reaches a defined price level and a calculator to convert  BTC or USD based on live Prices.
BTC: 1BQTankpeCZict849JRHxxYFnwZARV3YX7 | LTC: LecEsSJMYZK7wk493QvyNzA4BxHpXviAEA | PPC: PQdjfxTbjnXThwJ5bbEgJkc9GZcKpib9DM
Jessi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 02:50:53 AM
 #1125

Has anyone the same problems adding icons to the desktop with right mouse click on startmenu item and then on "add to desktop"?

It seem that I do not have any write permissions to the desktop?! I tried to write a text-file directly there, too, but it does not work either. I tried to set more write permissions, but that is not working, too.

www.Bitcoin-Tools.de - Price Alert & Calculator
A little tool to keep you informed or wake you up, if Mt.Gox reaches a defined price level and a calculator to convert  BTC or USD based on live Prices.
BTC: 1BQTankpeCZict849JRHxxYFnwZARV3YX7 | LTC: LecEsSJMYZK7wk493QvyNzA4BxHpXviAEA | PPC: PQdjfxTbjnXThwJ5bbEgJkc9GZcKpib9DM
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 03:10:14 AM
 #1126

Well I am extremely disapointed. The bitcoin client password tool does not work at all.

It does not matter what I pick, secured or unsecured I get the same wallet

In secured it does not matter what I type in or don't type as a password I see the same wallet

EDIT: yes it seems as if the latest bitcoin client deletes symlinks ? strange !! I'll ask about this now. but have you also noticed the client has the option aswell Wink

I followed now this two tutorials, which where working for me:
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SSH_X11forwarding
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SettingupVNCremotely

But my initial question was another:
I do not want to start always over putty a remote session and I do not want to start remotely vnc.
My Question was, how to make vnc autostarting?
Is there no way to make it starting always after restart with the same settings like in the second tutorial?

add @vino-preferences to /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart

Yhe Desktop permissions error is a weird one I didn't anticipate that. I'll add a fix but if you want to quickly fix yours

Code:
sudo chmod 777 /home/user/Desktop
Jessi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 03:52:36 AM
 #1127

I followed now this two tutorials, which where working for me:
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SSH_X11forwarding
http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/SettingupVNCremotely

But my initial question was another:
I do not want to start always over putty a remote session and I do not want to start remotely vnc.
My Question was, how to make vnc autostarting?
Is there no way to make it starting always after restart with the same settings like in the second tutorial?

add @vino-preferences to /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart

Yhe Desktop permissions error is a weird one I didn't anticipate that. I'll add a fix but if you want to quickly fix yours

Code:
sudo chmod 777 /home/user/Desktop
Thank you very much, both are now working for me. Smiley

www.Bitcoin-Tools.de - Price Alert & Calculator
A little tool to keep you informed or wake you up, if Mt.Gox reaches a defined price level and a calculator to convert  BTC or USD based on live Prices.
BTC: 1BQTankpeCZict849JRHxxYFnwZARV3YX7 | LTC: LecEsSJMYZK7wk493QvyNzA4BxHpXviAEA | PPC: PQdjfxTbjnXThwJ5bbEgJkc9GZcKpib9DM
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:43:34 AM
 #1128

bitcoin client updated !!

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install bitcoin
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:47:51 AM
 #1129

drgr33n, does your youtube video HDD install tutorial work on the final?
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:10:27 AM
 #1130

drgr33n, does your youtube video HDD install tutorial work on the final?

yes it should work as intended. i do have an installer on it's way just been very busy bud.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:33:15 AM
 #1131

drgr33n, does your youtube video HDD install tutorial work on the final?

yes it should work as intended. i do have an installer on it's way just been very busy bud.

Alrighty, I had problems with the tut and prefinal, read up after words, to find out, to wait for final, just double checking before I go through the long haul.

And that is definitely awesome about the installer!
solarpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:09:54 PM
 #1132

Ok downloaded the new final and switched over 2 of my miners from the old betas of linuxcoin.
(did a full format of usb and full reinstall of new linuxcoin)
First few things I noticed ...

I still cannot save to the desktop even after doing
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin

then did a full reboot

I thought that was one of the bugfixes that was fixed...

specifically what i did was save my miner info to a file and gmail it to myself ... opened gmail and downloaded the file and could not save it to the desktop.

Noticed hashkill is still just a tar file under miners.  If i want to try it i need to uncompress it, but when i tried to using any programs listed (in file manager) it would not do anything.  Probably a rights issue ...

Other then that currently working ok ... when i rebooted the first time i got a error that flashed quickly by saying do a restart -t or something similar ...
went by very fast then rebooted
 have not rebooted again on that machine and it is happily mining so i dont want to mess with it but thought i should mention it.

thanks for all your hard work on this release ..

Solarpower
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:30:11 PM
 #1133

Just tried the final version i got this error when i used Phoenix manually (either default kernel or phatk)

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 123, in <module>
    miner.start(options)
  File "/opt/miners/phoenix/Miner.py", line 77, in start
    self.kernel = self.options.makeKernel(KernelInterface(self))
  File "./phoenix.py", line 112, in makeKernel
    self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
  File "kernels/poclbm/__init__.py", line 132, in __init__
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: platform not found khr

What does it mean?

Thnks


ps. This is my phoenix command which worked fine with the previous version of Linuxcoin:
Code:
./phoenix.py -u http://yanz_1:pass@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -q 7 -k phatk BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11 DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=256

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
solarpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:54:21 PM
 #1134

Just tried the final version i got this error when i used Phoenix manually (either default kernel or phatk)

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 123, in <module>
    miner.start(options)
  File "/opt/miners/phoenix/Miner.py", line 77, in start
    self.kernel = self.options.makeKernel(KernelInterface(self))
  File "./phoenix.py", line 112, in makeKernel
    self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
  File "kernels/poclbm/__init__.py", line 132, in __init__
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: platform not found khr



Well hell I don't know anything but i would ask did you remember to goto system tools --> then sdk license ...and accept it?

it looks like a error you might get if you had not accepted the SDK license

Solarpower
drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 02, 2011, 04:57:15 PM
 #1135

Ok downloaded the new final and switched over 2 of my miners from the old betas of linuxcoin.
(did a full format of usb and full reinstall of new linuxcoin)
First few things I noticed ...

I still cannot save to the desktop even after doing
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcoin-bugfix-020811 smartcoin bitcoin

then did a full reboot

I thought that was one of the bugfixes that was fixed...

specifically what i did was save my miner info to a file and gmail it to myself ... opened gmail and downloaded the file and could not save it to the desktop.

Noticed hashkill is still just a tar file under miners.  If i want to try it i need to uncompress it, but when i tried to using any programs listed (in file manager) it would not do anything.  Probably a rights issue ...

Other then that currently working ok ... when i rebooted the first time i got a error that flashed quickly by saying do a restart -t or something similar ...
went by very fast then rebooted
 have not rebooted again on that machine and it is happily mining so i dont want to mess with it but thought i should mention it.

thanks for all your hard work on this release ..

Solarpower


There are fixes for the permissions error for the Desktop folder. Sorry it slipped my radar Wink Just open up a terminal and type

Code:
sudo chmod 777 /home/user/Desktop

Hashkill has been precompiled and installed on the system. Just open up a terminal and type

Code:
hashkill

I left the source files there for anyone that wanted to recompile with custom CFLAGS etc.

Just tried the final version i got this error when i used Phoenix manually (either default kernel or phatk)

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./phoenix.py", line 123, in <module>
    miner.start(options)
  File "/opt/miners/phoenix/Miner.py", line 77, in start
    self.kernel = self.options.makeKernel(KernelInterface(self))
  File "./phoenix.py", line 112, in makeKernel
    self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
  File "kernels/poclbm/__init__.py", line 132, in __init__
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: platform not found khr

What does it mean?

Thnks


ps. This is my phoenix command which worked fine with the previous version of Linuxcoin:
Code:
./phoenix.py -u http://yanz_1:pass@uswest.btcguild.com:8332/ -q 7 -k phatk BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=11 DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=256

It means you have not accepted the license or your running from the user account. if you look in system there's an icon called accept license. Click it and try again Wink
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:14:28 PM
 #1136

thanks a bunch, i really missed that.

Also do we need dummy plugs for our current linux drivers?

I remember from reading on http://blog.zorinaq.com, that we dont need dummy plugs now for linux.

However, i got a trouble booting linuxcoin with 4 x 5850s. After the boot screen, it just hang at the blank screen. It has a "_" on the top right corner. Upon tinkering with it, i found that it had something to do with X server.

While pulling my hairs out, i figured why not plugging my monitors to the cards. One monitor has VGA and DVI plug so i used all 3 monitors and it booted to desktop. Also, it switched to a different monitor for the desktop screen, not the original monitor when the computer booted from bios.

Does it mean i need dummy plugs ?

Or can someone explain/help me what i'm missing?

Thank you very much

ps. English isnt my native language, please ignore my horrible writing skills

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 05:23:29 PM
 #1137

I just accepted the lincense, But now i got this error (both with default kernel and phatk)

Code:
[02/08/2011 17:22:17] FATAL kernel error: Failed to load OpenCL kernel!

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
Jessi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2011, 05:33:19 PM
 #1138

Maybe it is a silly question, but maybe it is also easy answered... ;-)
I tried to get smartcoin working for me, but any of the lists where I should add/edit/delete something does not contain any predefined server or something else.
Also it seems that if I try to add something and call the list again to edit my entry it does not appear also.

What is going wrong here?

www.Bitcoin-Tools.de - Price Alert & Calculator
A little tool to keep you informed or wake you up, if Mt.Gox reaches a defined price level and a calculator to convert  BTC or USD based on live Prices.
BTC: 1BQTankpeCZict849JRHxxYFnwZARV3YX7 | LTC: LecEsSJMYZK7wk493QvyNzA4BxHpXviAEA | PPC: PQdjfxTbjnXThwJ5bbEgJkc9GZcKpib9DM
cyrusfox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 08:28:27 PM
 #1139

I just accepted the lincense, But now i got this error (both with default kernel and phatk)

Code:
[02/08/2011 17:22:17] FATAL kernel error: Failed to load OpenCL kernel!

Type sudo in before you run your phoenix line, only have to do it once, unless you change the kernel.
Jen4538
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167


View Profile
August 02, 2011, 08:47:16 PM
 #1140

i downloaded LinuxCoin 0.2b-final and cant figure out how to start smartcoin with this version .   does anybody know the commands to start smartcoin ?   


Jen
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!